Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BestWestern Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hôtel & Spa 4 stars

251, Chemin de Saint Roch Les Tines, Les Tines, 74400 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, France

#27 of 46 hotels in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1490 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    stay was ok: room size; comfortable. bit dissapointed that the pool was closed from &st of October.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I did not like the deposit that was retrieved from my credit card long before our stay. The final bill was more than expected

    the free bus ride downtown

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Room, food and staff was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel, but unclear information about how long the outdoor sw.pool is with water - Pictures on booking.com and warning that it disappears about 1st of October. We had 20 degrees every afternoon, and 2 weeks more would be nice - Bain jet og what whirlpool is called in French was nice, but indoors.

    Room, food and staff was very good. Very nice view of Mont Blanc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    The cleanliness of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not overly helpful, just working from the handbook. The reception area is small, so when the coach bus load full of tourists arrived as we were checking in and the tour conductor started shouting some instructions to his guests, it was very noisy.

    The cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, staff were lovely. Little present left for us for our anniversary. Room was stunning, as is the location which feels very residential. Food in restaurant was amazing. Breakfast on the veranda was to die for, coffee in the sunshine looking at Mt.Blanc and seeing the pool can not be beaten!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    All my expectations of the hotel from their website were dashed within 24 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I struggled to find anything interesting on the menu, it was very limited in choice and of a poor quality. The same could be said of breakfast, and in both meals, the choices were repeated every day.

    The view of Mont Blanc from my room was incredible and the hotel was in a quiet location. Also they made an effort to persuade guests to use their bar by large screening football and rugby matches there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    Providing we had room 16 then I would stay again because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We wished to use the spa but the prices are ridiculously high. The amount of people that used the spa in 8 days were very, very few. Evening meal menu for 8 days was basically the same - we ate out each night.

    Providing we had room 16 then I would stay again because of balcony and views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Great pool with amazing mountain view, comfortable and new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the center of Chamonix, but ok to use bus or train.

    Great pool with amazing mountain view, comfortable and new rooms, nice and helpful staff (especially reception), great breakfast and very calm location, close to the bus and train stop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After being on the road for more than 6 hours to get there the wouldn’t allow me to check in at14:30, I came back at15;52 and still they asked to wait until 16;00 to check in!!!!!!☹️☹️☹️

    Quiet location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent property to relax and recooperate after 10 days of trekking the TMB. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant’s lunch menu was the same as the dinner menu so rather expensive for midday dining. Free Shuttle was very convenient but ended at 8pm (September). After 8pm,you had to book a time with a shuttle service for $2Euro per person-not expensive but inconvenient-not a big deal but important to be aware.

    Beautiful pool and patio area with amazing view of Mont Blanc. Rooms were extremely comfortable with robes and slippers provided. Building was extremely quiet so excellent sleep. Breakfast had lots of variety for European style buffet including some hot items and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Tidy modern room with breathtaking view of the Mont Blanc...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mont Blanc tunnel may be closed at night (22:00) making the trip via Italy to the hotel very difficult.

    Tidy modern room with breathtaking view of the Mont Blanc massif. Swimming pool with view. Spa was small and crowded, but included in price. Breakfast quality fluctuates, one day very good other day many foods missing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    A clean hotel with all the facilities, a small but cozy spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid as far as possible rooms on the entrance side of the hotel, very early in the morning come the supplying cars that make a infernal laugh. The staff generally liked me with two exceptions.

    A clean hotel with all the facilities, a small but cozy spa center and a swimming pool with clean and heated water. 4-star service with daily cleaning in the room and all the time at your discretion when needed. The exceptional landscape. I kindly recommend this location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Cosy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy bed. The pool is quite nice. The spa is a bit tiny and I can imagine that it gets easily crowded, but we were lucky and had it nearly for us selves. The hotel is outside of Chamonix, but Chamonix is easily accessible by train. The staff of the hotel was friendly and nice. We had some issues with our rooms and the staff dealt with it professional and tried their best to solve it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one person on reception when we arrived and she was on a lengthy call regarding a room booking so I was left standing waiting for 15 minutes whilst she dealt with it. After a six hour drive from Paris it was annoying that she couldn’t get someone else to either deal with me or the phone call. The meal was also really disappointing where my husband was served inedible, sinewy steak. We weren’t charged for it and the waiter gave us a glass of genepe each for free, so whilst he tried hard to make up for the problem it ruined the evening for us.

    It was generally what I expected for the rate I was paying

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Generally nice walk-in stay... for 2-3 nights it is all right with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was far away from 4 star, especially in France... Dinner was nice, however somehow restricting menu, especially for kids... They need more kid friendly gastro work out

    Location, atmosphere, staff was very friendly, rooms were nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely pool and nice to have the spa access though closes at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water founatin or ice facility , bottled water was €5

    Lovely pool and nice to have the spa access though closes at 8pm. Complimentary bus pass means we could easily get into and out of chamonix and to telecabines

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Spa and the swimming pool were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, there were only one bus to get the hotel and the last bus was just after 7pm from Chamonix centre. So many people tried to get on the bus, one evening we had to walk to the hotel from the town. ( we didn’t use the train as it cost extra )

    Spa and the swimming pool were great. Friendly staffs The view was fantastic, very peaceful Restaurant Food was very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    We absolutely loved Chamonix and the surrounding area. It’s breathtakingly beautiful and there is so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying there for our anniversary and had booked a room with a mountain view (this was confirmed). Instead we got the very back room of the hotel on the lower floor. The only thing we had a view of (unless we leaned out over the balcony to catch a slight glimpse) was the back corner of the car park and the railway tracks. We were out and about early every day and didn’t get back until late but it was still very disappointing. Before we arrived we recieved an email asking us about some preferences. One of the questions was if we preferred Champaign or a welcome basket. We said the basket, what we recieved was a note and a plate with 4 tiny dried friand type things and a couple of shrivelled up blueberries. It looked like the remains of someone’s afternoon tea. They would have been better to just leave the note or do nothing at all. The WIFI was very patchy and kept dropping out. We treated it as a bit of a digital detox but this could be very frustrating if you needed access to it while staying there.

    Once we familiarised ourselves with the bus and train schedules (very easy and conviently located near the hotel) the location of the hotel was great. The view from out on the balcony was amazing. The pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    On any return visit to the area would consider staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only criticism of our stay is that the room did not have air conditioning, although the hotel did provide an electric fan which helped a lot, the lack of a luggage trolley again was a minor inconvenience.

    The location for us was excellent, links to the free public transport for the valley are very good. The pool and spa are very good. The hotel staff for our experience were very polite & helpful and our room was cleaned to a high level everyday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was clean and quiet enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have 3 billings on my credit card for a hotel I thought cost 300 Swiss fr it turns out it's costing 500 Swiss francs. Not sure what this is about but my dinner cost 30 fr. So where is this extra 200 coming from? The hotel gave me a print out from the bill and it was 300 ...not so happy here

    Hotel was clean and quiet enough. Wellness was great Didn't eat breakfast but dinner the one time was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Happy vibes everywhere families , pets, children all seems...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Happy vibes everywhere families , pets, children all seems happy. Hotel very clean nice spa, i liked the view of swimming pool & mountains with breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was fine and the swimming pool in a good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised that the hotel has no air conditions every where and the weather was so hot as we had to open the window in the night althugh the mosqits are every where

    The room was fine and the swimming pool in a good condition. The spa is perfect for relaxation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Some issues but a good week at a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to hot and no air con staff did provide fan which did a little bit it was noisy during the night. The main reason for the problem was a lack of a window in the room. There was a door but it opened onto the car park (with a lovely view) but with a 3 year old you couldn’t leave it open. Doesn’t make much sense for a family room.

    The swimming pool was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    The view from around the hotel and in the pool, the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a room with a balcony and when we arrived the balcony faced the wall of another part of the hotel, you couldn’t see any of the views and the balcony got no sunlight. In fairness, when I complained they moved us but to a room with a much smaller balcony that you couldn’t really sit out on. We were travelling with someone else who paid less than us for a room with a balcony and they got a room with a big balcony, table, chairs on it etc and a great view. It didn’t seem fair to me when we’d paid more through booking.com than our friend paid on another site.

    The view from around the hotel and in the pool, the location, the pool, the staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful settings, we had a evening which was lovely but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room but very disappointed we didn’t have a balcony as stated on Booking.com we also had request robes twice for the spa which should be in your room and told by the not so helpful staff that they didn’t have any 😏 The WiFi at the hotel stated super fast WiFi this was definitely not the case. Please check your bill before you leave they tried to charge us an extra €1000. No English tv which is a problem when most of your stay it rained and we had no WiFi in the room. We would not rebook at this hotel or recommend it.

    Beautiful settings, we had a evening which was lovely but lacking some vegetables. Hotel is lovely and clean spacious. Some staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.8
    This is quite the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is quite the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in, although full price in a four-star international ‘superior’ chain: under a roof with no window and a tiny skylight only for ventilation (can’t be opened when raining, for example). No mechanical ventilation, so it was stuffy and airless 25-30 degrees centigrade although pleasantly cool outside. When I complained initially about the room the receptionist just smirked and said the hotel was full; the next morning the manager insisted that all the hotel’s rooms were 4 star standard and worth the 179 euro price. My wife and I passed a very disagreeable and sleepless night before leaving the hotel as early as possible. I believe that the room seriously contravenes French hygiene standards in terms of air supply and will be pursuing this question further (1.3 square metre minimum operable window, 30 cubic meters air change per hour). I have never had such a dismal experience in terms of customer service and deeply insulting and oppressive room standards. Best Western should be ashamed and immediately remove this room from sale; I will be seeking a full refund. Booking.com should stop promoting this property until the situation is clarified.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Idyllic location beautiful. Swim in summer under hot sun looking at glacial snow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really should be hand washing basin in the toilet. It is pretty nasty not being able to wash your hands straight after.

    Nice variety a little pricey. Check menu before entering. Scenery is truly breathtaking in Chamonix as it is in many parts of mostly beautiful Southern Europe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, room balcony overlooked Mt.Blanc. Helpful and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The external car park was full on our arrival, so we had to pay to use the underground car park, first night. The restaurant staff were a little careless.

    The location is good, a couple of miles from Chamonix where parking is ok. Recommend the gondola car park. Breakfast was very good, with hot courses available. Dinner was good, but mistakes over what was ordered, took the edge off it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel near to the delightful town of chamonix in the heart of the french alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot when we visited and room could have done with air conditioning or some others means of cooling I.e. Fan. However due to where its situated the fact that heating is available most of the year is probably more appropriate.

    The location just outside Chamonix is fantastic with views of Mont blanc from the restaurant and terrace. Very clean, well appointed room. Restaurant was very good for breakfast and dinner. Drove into Chamonix but I think there are buses and a train service available?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Just be carful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like how the stuff Who work there treated us when we wanted to check out! They took about 30 min to 45 min to finish the process, and also they wanted to charge us for the breakfast and we didn’t even had the breakfast not even for once during our stay!!! So just be carful and ask for the your bill. ماحبيت معاملت الموظفين بالفندق بشكل عام وبالاخص وقت الـCHECK OUT كان واضح التعمد في التأخير. نص ساعه الى 45 دقيقة تقريباً عشان بس الـCheck Out. وكل هذا بسبب اهمال الموضفين مضيعين اوراق ومعاملات وفوق هذا كانوا يبون ندفع لوجبات الريوق/الفطور اللي اساساً ماكلناها ولا حتى يوم! مطعمهم اصلا مادلة! اتمنى الانتباه عالفاتورة.

    The hotel was clean and neat. The pool was amazing with magical view of the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location, clean hotel and brilliant staff, the restaurant just needs much improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and hotel itself were good but the restaurant was pretty terrible. We had to ask for a menu three times after being seated and service in general was slow but the staff were gracious and attentive after we said something. The food however wasn’t great. My partner ordered the steak which was very tough and fatty - not great at €35 and my €20 vegan dish was very bland - though I was very pleased that there was a vegan option! Breakfast was also very disappointing. None of the tables on the veranda had been laid so we couldn’t enjoy the views outside over breakfast and the quality of food didn’t match the cost. I would recommend going into Chamonix centre for meals, we found a few great restaurants.

    The staff were friendly and helpful when we asked to move to a room with a better view. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully done. Though the pool was fairly small it was brilliant, well kept with incredible views of the mountains around, great sunloungers and attentive staff bringing drinks - we pretty much spent our entire stay by the pool and loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the most unhelpful and untrained staff u can imagine. Don’t know how to operate EPS systems. Dirty dishes in the breakfast buffet. Staff just shrugged and walked away.

    Pool and mountain views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one english speaking channel on. the tv. The kids room/kids wasn’t open 2 out of the 4 days we stayed there

    Great Pool. helpful staff. Nice Robes. Comfy Bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location, overall an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms got hot at night in summer as they do not have air con so had to sleep with window open. Check out took far too long - it took 1 person 25mins to check out 4 guests, which was very frustrating as we had an airport transfer company waiting for us outside. It says on the website there is a free shuttle bus, this is incorrect, but there is a bus which is free with a lift pass that runs along the valley every 30mins.

    The most beautiful view by the pool. Good location if you want to stay outside of chamonix town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Top place to stay in Chamonix valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was bit smaller than expected.

    Very nice clean design hotel, excellent heated swimming pool, and indoor Spa, and awesome Mont Blanc view. Easy to reach by car or bus or train and the best place to recover after long walks and trekkings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful view from our bedroom window as per our request
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal a little pricey

    Wonderful view from our bedroom window as per our request A wonderful quiet area with convenient access to the town well serviced by free bus or train transport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovley views and great pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room in the ground floor, it was very dark and warm and no air conditioning. No outside space. Staff was nice but we had to ask several times about the same things, nothing happened. Expensive breakfast and expensive food in the restaurant if you have children.

    Lovley views and great pool and spa. Spacious family room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Top place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen in the restaurant was not good. They ignored special wishes and also the quality was not worth it.

    Beautiful renovated old hotel - a great mixture of old and modern, extremely friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    A nicely revamped hote with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was a bit disorganized. I tried to set up a massage but no one was available to help mi with that. Some of the interior finishings feel cheap, especially when compared to the way the building looks from the outside. Located a bit far from the center. You need to drive to get to the downtown area.

    Located in an old building with an authentic feel and a great view toward the mountains. Nice outdoor swiming pool. Recently refurbished. pretty good breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely comfortable hotel but for us the wrong location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked the entrance to the underground car park . So very disappointing as the rooms are not cheap and it was our only night in Chamonix . The location did not suit us as it is several kilometres outside the town and we didn’t have time for the bus or train . Breakfast is expensive and car parking free only if there is a space .

    Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The pool was lovely as was the view. Friendly staff too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hotel met our needs on all the points we hoped for and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was fery good. The area was just brilliant for hiking. The views, well words don't descibe them they were just excellent. The pool was warm and oh so welcome after a walk. Overall a lovely hotel in a great position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a fan be included in the room, or screens to keep door open all night. It was so stuffy! With the neighbors smoking, we couldn’t keep our door open for very long.

    Location was great! Affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing we disliked there

    Me and my family loved staying here,amazing environment staff was great and really friendly,rooms are great comfortable and clean. And Breakfast really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Room was a decent size and there was free parking available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub wasn’t hot at all, like being in a regular heated pool, but with bubbles. Similarly, the water temperature in the room never got hot enough to take a shower without getting cold. Location-wise, it’s still a good 10 minute drive into town, so it’s not walkable.

    Room was a decent size and there was free parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Very delicious and varied breakfast, nice view to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa area is relatively small compared to the hotel's capacity, the jacuzzi and sauna should be a little bigger.

    Very delicious and varied breakfast, nice view to the surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    our room view was amazing and all perfect, beautiful,clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually chose and paid this much for spa and relaxation (as a gift for my BF birthday) but it was far from my expectation, I just spent 5 min around of spa because it was mostly out of working and closed and it was just a small sauna and Jacuzzi and relaxation room just for 4 people !!! 4 out of all that guests in the hotel!!

    our room view was amazing and all perfect, beautiful,clean and comfortable. the only sound you could hear was birds... breakfast in the balcony was the greatest one!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, shame about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. The portions were miniscule. My wife's fish was totally overlooked to the point of ruineous. Ordered a room with a view of Mont Blanc, but didn't get it. Don't have the scrambled egg for breakfast. It has a texture of wallpaper paste and I think probably tastes as bad. Must be powdered whisked up. Not consistent with a 4* hotel. Wine expensive. Coffee served in half cup sizes.

    Comfortable bed. Nice area. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Not for families, nice, but mediocre service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room advertised as "family" room was small, with absolutely insufficient storage, e.g no coat hangers, no shoe rack, not enough space for 2 luggage, minuscular wardrobes. They forgot to mention on Booking that the indoor jacuzzi is adult only, so no pool / tub for kids. Restaurant not child friendly either. The wellness facilities are quite small, I used the sauna and the relax room but even those few people staying at the hotel were in each other's face. By the way "tea room" = there is a kettle of - otherwise tasty- anise tea in the room. And overall, the marketing is a bit fluffed up, I would say. We got there on a very rainy day when there was not much to do, and although the hotel was basically empty they refused to allow us to check in early i.e. at 12:40.

    Modern, clean, nice decor Dinner in restaurant excellent, almost fine dining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Not a bad stay but definitely too pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very small for the price. The spa was dissapointing, the hot was not hot and it could barely fit 2 people in it. It is also about a 10 minute drive to downtown Chamonix

    The beds were incredibly comfortable!! The staff amaing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The view from our window in room superior on 3rd floor was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very poor in choice we had 1/2 board and the menu wasn't brilliant so I asked for the a la carte and there was virtually nothing different on it .. I thought for a 4 star it was poor.. but made up for with the position of the Hotel

    The view from our window in room superior on 3rd floor was fantastic open the window and Mont Blanc is framed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Chose a Room With a view or look for another hotel
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Mont-Blanc view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -very far away from Chamonix 10 min by car -spa prices are very high and not acceptable -you don’t have any privacy in the balcony - Nothing around the hotel no restaurants or shops or markets or anything it’s far far away

    -clean and nice -some parking available for free -the view is spectacular Most important thing to choose a room with a view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Best Western customer review
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is not amazing, not very accommodating to customer requests. Location of the hotel is good if you have a car to drive to the ski slopes, shuttle takes a while.

    The hotel is very nice and clean. Good 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in an amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a long walk from the city center. Ideal for people with rented car. There is free transport to and from the hotel to the city as well.

    Cery confortable hotel with gentle staff, spa, good room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    There is a free parking just outside the building, and a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a free parking just outside the building, and a paid underground parking in case of lack of space outside Room service includes the complete restaurant menu. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    lt was a lovely setting and a really relaxing place to stay and enjoy life.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely. Lots of 111aagood walks for the dogs and lots of sightseeing and shoppinh

    The staff are always friendly whatever the time of day. Our dogs were always made welcome and made to feel at home. We found parking relatively easy. The views of the mountains wère stunning ànd the snow we had was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant chef could be a but unreliable. Not always guaranteed dinner and as you're a bus ride away from town it's not ideal being turned away for dinner.

    Lovely facilities and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    A very good stay in Chamonix, the spa open until 8pm is perfect after the ski
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is not a problem excepted that after 6pm if you miss a bus you have to wait for the next one for 30 minutes. This is not very convenient after a whole day skiing.

    The bed was very comfortable and quite large. The restaurant offers good meals for reasonable prices and the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    I arrived at 21.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 21.00, since the moment i entered everybody was extremely kind. the restaurant was open til 22.00 so i could also eat something and the dinner was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was great for a weekend ski trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was great for a weekend ski trip. It is further out of the centre of Chamonix however we didn't have any troubles getting around on the bus and taking taxis. The rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast is far too expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good but room for improvement which would further enhance the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Given the location a dedicated shuttle bus to the main ski centres and Chamonix would have been great. Breakfast was a bit boring and could be improved. Spa facilities are too small i.e. sauna, jacuzzi etc..

    Nice and quiet location. Ambience of the hotel was nice and relaxed. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Poor and won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room apalling - not like the website advertisement of spacious family space with balcony and views of surrounding area. Our was like a box with oval window and view of roof and metal pipe only. No help with finding another room, told that the hotel was full and we could not change or even upgrade. Reception staff poor. My daughters teddy bear went missing with the laundry, poor attempts to retrieve it and consequently we came home without it, but with a heartbroken child!

    Lounge was ok, children enjoyed playing chess.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Very good overall, some minor things to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one key from ski locker for the room. We were two people and has to really squeeze our stuff in the locker. We asked for the second key but we were told that the hotel is full and there is no such opportunity. This is understandable but a little thing that could be improved. Breakfast: would appreciate some fresh vegetables and some sandwich sort of cheese. Cups for tea could be bigger. Very minor. Restaurant: Well, this is where we got a bit disappointed. We had dinner in the restaurant twice. Had a feeling that chef is trying too hard. Dishes are decorated so well but cannot say that they tasted the same as they looked. Portions are very small (3 tiny pieces for duck breast or one tiny piece of fish - but loads of decoration on the side of the plate with sauce etc). After a 3 course dinner I still felt hungry. Not talking about my fiancee who was disappointed with his tiny piece of meat. This is not what you want after a long skiing day. The price is set to the level of a very good restaurant but the level does not correspond. Overpriced. Not much "atmosphere" in the restaurant. Very plain painted walls and some paintings but no alpine spirit. Guess for the "alpine spirit" you have to book a chale while Best Western is more of a chain hotel.

    Great to have a ski room to store skis. The storage is equipped with heating element so your skiing boots will be dry next morning. Breakfast-very good: yogurts, fresh squeezed juice that you can make yourself, 2-3 sorts of cold cut meat, scrambled eggs, sausages (these were not great), two sorts of cheese that you cut yourself, pancakes, nice tea, coffee machine, croissants. Location: as other people said on their reviews the hotel is a bit far away from the city center. Not a problem during a day time as you can jump on a free bus. In the evening (from 8.37pm), you have to pay 2 euros and follow the timetable. Buses come mostly on time. No issues getting to the skiing places in the afternoon, all reachable by bus. Le tour and Legere are quite close as well. Room: Recently refurbished, spotless and clean. Stuff: All nice at the reception apart from one Asian lady who works in the restaurant: extremely arrogant and not a single word of English. I spoke French to her but other guests were struggling to explain themselves.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location close to buss route and central to most of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to buss route and central to most of the ski ⛷ slopes in the area, convenient ski rental in the hotel and great spa facility to relax in after a good day on the slopes!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Amateur key management in a fantastic property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Key management! They gave access to some other guests to our room - luckily we were there when this happened. Later that night when we came back after a night out in town, we found ourselves locked out of our room - what a buzzkill. Just to ensure that no more issues would crop up further, I confirmed that I was staying for 2 nights, upon which the front desk realised they'd only given me access to the room until next morning.

    The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Located a 2 stops (10 mins) by train outside of Chamonix city center, but very close to the train station Les Tines. They did provide us with transport passes thay covered all our travel by bus and train for the entire duration of the stay. Spa is great and well maintained, we didn't realise where the time flew.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Ski holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a little bit extra for this specific hotel as they had a spa. Just to be informed that children under the age of 16 are not welcome in the spa area. Very big disappointment. If we knew in advance we would not have chosen this hotel.

    Brand new. Nice staff. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    The tea/ coffee kettle and nespresso machine, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great

    The tea/ coffee kettle and nespresso machine, the mountain view, the free spa, easy access to city with free bus/ train given bybthe hotel. Breakfast was great with an amazing morning view of mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very clean, great décor and comfortable. Great helpful and welcoming staff. Ski shop in the hotel made it so easy, ski lockers for each room. Short walk to ski bus stop. Night bus runs till 11pm so a great hotel to escape the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful place, wonderful staff (for the most part) amazing room, good price, will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the staff blame booking.com if they wish to not help with room rate for an extra night!! the fact that you get charged a mandatory city tax which I am not happy about, you book a room on booking.com you should not end up with a bill fterwards

    Staff in the Spa were fantastic, we didn't eat in the restaurant because the food was not to our liking (too a la carte) but the staff we amazing, the room was perfect, the housekeeping was some of the best I have witnessed with such pleasant staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, really enjoyed this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could have done with more than one hot tub for a hotel of that size in a ski resort. It would have been easy to put a couple of extra hot tubs on the decking just outside the current hot tub room.

    The food was excelent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.0
    Mixed, still the ski slopes are nice. Nevertheless, you get the feeling you are on your own there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The management sent us before arrival mails promising us -11C temp. When we arrived it was raining at +2C. They do not seem to have to policy to inform the guests about the skiiing conditions and weather, like it is all over the case in IT, CH, DE, AT, even in Eastern Europe. They didnt bother to clean from the hotel parking the subsequent heavy snowfall for 2 days, after I complained that I had to work 2h in the cold rain to put my snow chains on my car wheels so that I can move my car out of the hotel parking. They provided shovels for snow, but did not move a finger to help, applying the method: DIY. The Fin/dry sauna is much too small for the size of the hotel. In the heavily crowded sauna the management allowed the guests to sit with the perspirated bathing suits directly on the wooden bench without any towel... Igit... Otherwise, they tried to be polite, but the feeling one got, was that they do not like they have to work, let alone to convey a joy for helping the guest feel well. Plus, directly upon arrivalthey ask a cash deposit of 100 EUR for safety... just in case you drink at the bar, leave the hotel and dont pay... haha... I mean i a week you could easily eat for 500, leave and still make a "profit" of 400 EUR... The rooms in the Excelsior are only half, the rest is in a new adiacent building at the back. But still, from the breakfast (admittedly tasty with a fresh juice making machine) room you can see the Mont Blanc.

    Nice breakfast. Nice fresh juice making machine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Would use the hotel & spa again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at 4pm is a bit late. Most hotels offer check in at 3pm A room was available for us much earlier though.

    Quiet location, there is frequent and free public transport to all ski stations.(bus, train) you actually don’t need a car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly, the accommodation was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, although excellent in taste and quality, certainly was not enough to fill you up. When you have been out walking all day or doing sports you need a meal that will fill you up. We left the restaurant hungry and didn’t feel we had enough food for the money we paid.

    The staff were very friendly, the accommodation was excellent. It is a little way out of chamonix and better if you have a car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok, staff very good, aimed at business clients/ seminars I think
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s soulless! Fine dining only ‘ no afternoon tea/ cakes/ snacks- useless for families unless planning to eat out Spa is tiny- four people and it’s full! Never any body in the bar/lounge except seminar clients

    Staff are friendly and very efficient, very clean rooms too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was ok but expensive for level of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is along way out of Chamonix. The hotel restaurant is very dull with very limited menu. Staff service was poor, had to queue for long time to check out, mistakes on bill.

    Room was large and comfy. hotel bar is pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and the main bed was not even a double in our room. The TV channels were limited and some didn’t work. The room was not cleaned at all during our 4 day stay- the housekeeping only came for a turn down service at 5/6 PM when we were all in the room (with small kids) getting ready for dinner. We were without toilet roll and tissues for a day. Our safe didn’t work. The half board arrangement was limited (one set menu) and every day the vegetarian option was the same and there was only one other ordinary option. The vegetables served were not fresh, not was a cauliflower veloute which was served everyday. There was no menu for children only pasta every day and a bowl of chips was added to the extras bill!

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    good hotel but don't book the dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the dinner was shocking! We tried to opt out of dinner but apparently that was not possible because we had booked it in advance. The staff asked what we wanted to eat since we didn't like the food provided, which was mainly a piece of meat every day, with no gravy and very dry polenta at xmas eve e.g. We asked for maybe a risotto which turned up looking and tasting like dog food. After that we never went back for our prepaid dinners and ate outside the hotel in town.

    we had a booked 2 double and 1 single room with breakfast and dinner included over xmas. The rooms were comfortable although the rooms are a little small. Breakfast was fine, staff was friendly enough and helpful. The location is fine. Trains and busses commute to town every half an hour or so and are only a few minutes walk away, the trains stop though at ard 19.00 and then it becomes more difficult. The single room was tiny and under the roof with a beam going across which was a dangerous thing as you could hardly avoid bumping your head on it.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: