Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Le Mans Country Club

Chateau De La Ragotterie, 72530 Yvré-lʼÉvêque, France

#5 of 6 hotels in Yvré-lʼÉvêque

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for special treat Beautiful Chateau with food to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from room to hotel especially if weather is adverse. No drawers of any kind in the room.

    The FOOD. Very pricey but out of this world. Our dinner was superb. Quality, Presentation & Service. Went out of way to thank the Chefs they deserved it. The location tricky to find but the drive down the Drive to the CHATEAU is extremely impressive which made it all worthwhile. Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    Will be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A liitle pricey but you get what you pay for.

    Very nice hotel with a new reastaurant. Great food, great parking, a bit out of town but that adds to it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could use a upgrade, maybe it is better in main building or more expensive rooms. That I don't know.

    Fantastic breakfast. Fantastic restaurant to have diner. Staff is very friendly and they are true professionals. Perfect WIFI even outside. I am definitely going back to this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with first class restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Driving into the hotel was a maze of small roads that were difficult to get to off the motorways. Maybe more lights

    The building, room and the surrounds. The restaurant was first class and food very special. They made us very welcome and we had the opportunity to sit out on the terrace. Large rooms with excellent bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    4.6
    Very underwhelming. A great shame because a very beautiful location.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were very surprised that the connecting door from our bedroom had been removed. But the hinges / door furniture was there! Also there was no toilet roll holder. The toilet roll was placed loosely on the disabled handrail. The Italian shower flooded not just the floor tiles but ran out if the bathroom on to the lovely parquet flooring in the bedroom. Looks good but totally useless. Very underwhelming The plumbing beneath the vanity unit was visible. A simple false backing would have finished the unit off to a high specification. ALSO this is not the first time we have booked with Booking.com and found we have been given a room with problems. We think you should look into this. Our stay last year in Seville was poor as the room was immediately above the kitchen fans (noisy day and night) and the bedroom next door was under complete refurbishment and noisy from 8 - 17.00 hrs.

    Bed and duvet/pillows were very comfortable. The lounge bar was warm and comfortable and had a good selection of wines. Bar man very knowledgable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.8
    a relaxing overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I still don't like a €20 charge for the dog!

    a return visit - as good as before, lovely property and grounds, helpful and friendly staff, the restaurant is the crowning glory, absolutely superb food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    8.8
    a relaxing overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a hefty €20 charge per pet - nothing provided for that, not even bins to put poo-bags in!!

    extensive grounds, great for walking our dogs and stretching legs excellent & elegant restaurant - pricey but food of a very high standard - and open kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.3
    The location is absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of the castle and the rooms have been refurbished. We found the design and the finishing not up to the standard of the building and the surrounding. Would have needed some more interior design refinement or simply some more investment to make it a really outstanding place. However, beds were comfortable, bathroom nice and large, Wifi very good.

    The location is absolutely stunning. The castle is situated in the middle of a beautiful park with plenty of old trees and is close to large riding stables. The restaurant offers excellent food and a nice "Ambiente". If the weather allows and you are lucky enough to dine on the terrace, a true "lord of the castle" feeling comes up. Our room was quite large, offering all comfort features that we were expecting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    Good Venue spoilt by noise
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has a outside Marquee for Private Parties. The function that was being held during our stay played extremely loud music until 3.30am keeping us awake most of the night. Not Happy!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.5
    Convenient comfortable and ticked all the boxes for short overnight stay with the dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for 2 gin and tonics. I can never understand why they have to charge so much

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel grounds were lovely especially if you have dogs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. Pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old property. Lovely grounds. It was all very relaxed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable, bright airy restaurant and good food. Our dog was very welcomed. Bit tricky to find location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay and will be visited again in near future
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very difficult to find something that I didn't like.

    the location was so tranquil. the food in the restaurant was first class. well recommended. even room service was perfect, and on time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.6
    A little gem!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What Genius Perk? We were neither offered nor received one! Hadn't realised, however, we were entitled to a "perk"! My only criticism would be pricing. I did feel the price of glasses of wine as well as the dinner menu/breakfast prices to be on the high side although, because we live in Spain, we are more accustomed to Spanish prices which are generally much lower than those in France. Would definitely stay there again nevertheless!

    Everything! The room was excellent - in the separate "stable" building - as was the bathroom. Spotlessly clean and with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The restaurant was first rate, the service just right, and the food delicious. We were even allowed to take our small dog into the restaurant and apart from one barking outburst she behaved impeccably! Is a wonderful place to stay and with the extensive grounds is ideal if travelling with a dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.2
    Very well located on the way from Paris to Brittany and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located on the way from Paris to Brittany and a great way to break the journey, as the hotel is a short drive off the motorway. The chateau is in a very peaceful and rural setting, surrounded by paddocks and a stream. The food is spectacular, and can be enjoyed from the outdoors terrasse in summer (keeping an eye on the kids running around the grounds)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.3
    Nice property - quite remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy. Staff were moving outside furniture around at 2-am.

    Recently tebutbished to a very high standard. Very comfortable room although the shower screen was too small. Would have preferred the shower and dunk to be in a separate room rather than in the bedroom. Restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    8.8
    A delightful stopover on our way to Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room temperature was over 30 degrees and it did not appear to have any air conditioning. The price of drinks was a little on the high side.

    Our room in the Orangerie was very spacious. The Chateau and grounds were delightful and the food was excellent. The restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    7.1
    The castle and the big garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room that was allocated to us definitely wasn't worth the price we paid. The room was tiny, the bathroom was bigger!

    The castle and the big garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent restaurant and family-friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite warm so we suffered a bit without air conditioning.

    Quiet, spacious location. Very clean and well maintained. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Missed opportunity if only I'd known beforehand
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we stayed for such a short time.

    Only time separated us from euphoria. It's not cheap but it's awesome and I guess that's fair. Staff were amazing especially given the flood they endured only days previous. Restaurant was terrific with great food and the Maitre'd made the meal all that more enjoyable. Atmosphere in such tranquil environment is not easy to achieve but they did it so well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    Great pet-friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer a walk-in shower to a shower over the bath but a very minor point.

    Room and bed very comfortable. Large bathroom with separate toilet. The building was very nice and the ongoing renovation works (which didn't affect our stay in any way) look very smart. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and were very happy for us to have our two small dogs with us on the terrace and under our table at dinner. Travelling with a pet can be quite stressful but as you never know how pet friendly hotels are going to be but as soon as we arrived they made us feel very relaxed. When we sat down on the terrace for a drink they brought out a bowl of water for the dogs. The dinner was superb with a decent choice of wines. We would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to friends and family and particularly those travelling with a pet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    8.3
    Quiet and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough tea bags/milk etc for overnight stay. With two of us having a cup of tea on arrival, no milk/tea bags left for next morning. Also, no English Channel on TV. CNN but BBC World or BBC News would have been welcome. No instructions for heating. Would have been nice to have the option of a light meal in evening, rather than 3 course meal. Food good though.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful hotel on the outskirts of Le Man with a very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower over the bath but bathfloor was not rigid and wobbled so with eyes closed in shower, difficult to stand upright.

    Restaurant is very good with an excellent choice of three courses for €42 Beautiful building in excellent surroundings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2016

    9.6
    A delightful overnight stay at Le Mans
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We only stayed in the standard double but that was absolutely fine but the food at dinner was incredible. I've eaten in Michelin starred restaurants that weren't as good. The highlight of our meal was the melt in the middle chocolate fondant - unbelievably delicious! All the staff were super friendly too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    10
    Location was perfect, building and area was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried to pay on arrival but told we should pay when we leave. Then when paying we had quite a few extra charges for breakfast when most of us hadn't had breakfast.

    Location was perfect, building and area was amazing, breakfast was very good, staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay close to LeMans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu for dinner was very limited but excellent quality.

    Excellent venue but a little hard to find. Staff were very friendly and spoke English. Food was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    7.1
    Great location, very comfortable but expensive to drink and limited menu!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive drinks, bought 2 x dark rum and cokes, cost me €52.00.... not realised until checked out and see the cost on my bill... Check how much drinks cost, I wish I did...

    Food good, quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful service in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot and although the staff provided a fan there simply was not enough ventilation as the windows were small (we were on the second floor of the main building). Air conditioning is needed in the summer.

    The staff was, without exception, very friendly and helpful. The setting is gorgeous. We had a very nice dinner on the terrace outside as it was a warm night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    10
    Peaceful location with relaxing grounds for a one night stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This property feels a bit isolated so if you don't have your own transport or want to travel out for dinner, it may be a bit of an effort. Also, the restaurant was full of flies and there appeared no attempts to tackle this. The cheese boards on display were uncovered and swarming with flies - it was unpleasant and no staff member seemed to notice! Very strange.

    Peaceful location with relaxing grounds for a one night stop over en-route south. Rooms were modern and comfortable. Staff spoke little English but we overcame this with only elementary French. Cosy restaurant with tasty food and the desserts were very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    3.8
    Don't judge by the looks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    booked a certain type of room. Was given a different smaller room. No a/c, empty mini bar. Eventually changed rooms but on check out was charged breakfast even though I was leaving.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    7.1
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs updating. Rooms are looking tired and in need of modernisation.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive! The food was excellent! Highly recommended! Location and grounds were very good!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    6.7
    Very disappointed, arrived after a five hour drive around 16.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed, arrived after a five hour drive around 16.00, checked in and asked for some tea and a snack. Was told kitchen closed and nothing being served, had to wait for dinner. Not rely acceptable !!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Overall an excellent stop on the way South from Calais to Bergerac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant service

    Comfortable and clean the property was the perfect overnight refuge from the autoroutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting, lovely dinner, friendly staff but we thought the rooms were a bit tired.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    A brief but memorable stay. We plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were helpful and the food in the restaurant extremely good. The calm setting of the hotel with its lovely grounds was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    10 minutes from motorway , quite park location, ideal as rest stop en route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast coffee from a machine, poor croissant s

    Comfortable bed and nice linen. Restaurant food very good, sommelier very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and refreshing as a stop over to SW France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bath in the bathroom instead of dual showers.

    Recently refurbished and excellent, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    restaurant excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    restaurant excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Rooms clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms clean and comfortable Food was very good October must be time of paragliding spiders Fortunately only in the grounds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely location. Nice grounds to walk a dog. Big bedrooms, and great food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ..

    ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    7.5
    Met expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast

    Comfy bed Great food in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant was absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was overpriced.

    The restaurant was absolutely brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.6
    Difficult to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.2
    Food excellent, friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Food excellent, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.2
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The food was sumptuous, hotel lovely and a great stay. Convenient for the journey south - brill

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.9
    Family overnight stay en route to holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Children could only have small versions of adult meals which were overpriced.

    Very comfortable family room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    6.3
    Nice castle. Poor services at l'Orangerie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size and value for money of the rooms at l'orangerie. No lifts. Breakfast not included.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    5.4
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor dining experience, non memorable fish and very poor main meat dish Reasonable afters Breackfast not that memorable either

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.7
    Grounds were pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning!!!

    Grounds were pretty. Food in restaurant ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    8.8
    Moto GP weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A social area near the bar.

    Friendly staff and excellent food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    9.6
    Not enough windows in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grounds to walk my dog

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    Fantastic friendly and helpful staff Superb upgrade for our elderly parents

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed, staff who were extremely helpful and polite. Lovely room, site and buildings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    9.6
    Deserves a stay of more than 1 night
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast price a little high (16€).

    Lovely setting, clean, spacious room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    6.7
    The cost of €20.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cost of €20.00 a day for each pet And a poor selection of food on the menu

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    9.2
    Great place if u are travelling foDogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was fab - food excellent but it cost us 400 e for the one might including dinner - so we would expect it to be good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    2.5
    Great
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great Grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The grounds are fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    7.5
    chateau by woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seating on lower front terrace extremely uncomfortable.

    Excellent dinner. Breakfast good. Surrounding of beautiful forest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    7.1
    24 hours near LeMans
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    terrace in the back close to a motorway dinner expensive; staff not very efficient

    old castle

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent facilities, rooms were clean and tidy. Food in the restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    9.6
    Staff are very attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer a separate shower not one over the bath, but it worked fine

    Staff are very attentive and helpful. Food is excellent. Room very good. Follow sat nav and its easy to get too,also is signposted from the main road

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2016

    8.3
    The peace and quiet of the property and the bedroom.
    • Couple

    The shower room was a little narrow. i gave my head a nasty knock on the towel rail whilst using the toilet.

    The peace and quiet of the property and the bedroom. If someone had not entered our room by mistake at 9 am I think we would have slept until noon!!!

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    8.8
    We liked the comfort of the bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not have any bad experience.

    We liked the comfort of the bedroom and bathroom. We found it difficult to find but the staff were excellent in giving us direction

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2015

    9.6
    Excellent facilities and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a room with a window that you could open during the night, but otherwise all very good.

    Excellent facilities and lovely location. Unfortunately we were just travelling through but would have liked to have stayed longer. Food was delicious, and staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    8.8
    Very impressive hotel in acres of countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A large wedding reunion was happening in the restaurant and it was so noisy that we had to shout to each other. More soft furnishings needed to deaden the noise!

    Very impressive hotel in acres of countryside. Rooms large and well equipped. Good food

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    4.2
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I upgraded my room. Wish I hadnt as I ended up in a dark dingy room and it cost me more money. Also hotel try to charge me 100 euros too much. Not happy with that.

    The bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    8.8
    Drinks on the terrace after a long drive followed by a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not the easiest location to find the first time.

    Drinks on the terrace after a long drive followed by a superb dinner, served by efficient and friendly staff. Comfortable room and a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2015

    6.3
    Room very good and staff very helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning and room very hot. Called a country club but no matching facilities. No pool, no spa etc. misleading name. Fourty euro taxi ride from town.

    Room very good and staff very helpfull and friendly.

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel and staff were charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was lovely but incredibly difficult to find. We had to get directions from 3 different people.

    The hotel and staff were charming. Food very good, room could not be faulted.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    9.2
    Very pleasant location, giving tranquillity and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some power sockets did not work. Dinner was dreadful. Foie gras had not been deveined and was very bitter. The salmon was under seasoned and the chef did not know how to make Hollandaise sauce. It was sweet and horrible. It is difficult to believe that a French chef put sugar in Hollandaise but this one did! The meal was over priced and very poor value.

    Very pleasant location, giving tranquillity and relaxation. Peaceful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    6.7
    very attentive staff and good meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find. (Nice when there) No pool or air conditioning

    very attentive staff and good meals. Nice location (but see difficulties. )Good walks in grounds

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2015

    8.3
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower broken. No Milk. Very limited tea & coffee. No air conditioning

    Nice room. Good bathroom. Almost good shower. Nice food but only tried the main course.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    7.1
    Lovely old building - when we finally found it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't speak any English - and as we were lost it was difficult for them to explain where they were (in the middle of nowhere!) - we were gold English speaking staff would be in following day - not much use as we were leaving the following morning!!

    Lovely old building - when we finally found it! Rather disappointing communal areas - bedroom comfortable - but no air conditioning and no window to open as door opened straight on to ground floor!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: