Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Le Cèdre 5 stars

12, boulevard Maréchal Foch, 21200 Beaune, France

#5 of 43 hotels in Beaune

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike

    a lovely hotel at the edge of the centre of the old town, smart interior with excellent restaurant and a relaxing garden. very clean with friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little compact. €17 for inside parking . Breakfast an additional €21 each... For a 5* hotel , I was hoping for. Gym and Pool.

    Great location. Easy to find. Only a 5 minute walk to shops. Comfortable bedroom. Quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This really is one of my favourite hotels. Close to the centre of Beaune, with parking. The staff are amazingly attentive, the rooms immaculate and beautifully presented. I cannot fault it in any way. The restaurant is outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd keep the sommelier occupied with wine in the restaurant, and not pinch-hitting at the lovely, cozy hotel bar. He's not a great mixmeister, whereas the regular chap is excellent.

    Hotel restaurant was absolutely superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pet charge a bit exp at E22 for a very small, non shedding dog, but not sure if this would have been per stay or per night, perhaps if per stay and we had more than one night it would have been better value. Also not shown on the booking.com reservation which would have been helpful.

    breakfast a bit expensive at E21 each so we went into the village where there were plenty of choices and a lovely morning market

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel didn't justify it's 5 Star rating. The room had been repainted but was plain. Hot water arrived after 10 minutes. Parking was good but an expensive extra as was breakfast. The staff were friendly though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice indoor sitting area with books, magazines and sofas that this area extends out to a very nice and pretty garden area.

    Very specious room double room that I stayed in. Very cozy and elegantly designed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did think our welcome could have been a bit better. A nice warm smile and "Welcome to Beaune" etc. is so appreciated after a long day on the road. Our bedroom was perfectly acceptable - nothing particularly special but it was very quiet.

    This hotel would be lovely to visit in the summer as it has a nice setting for dining outside. The bar area is also warm and welcoming on colder evenings. The valet parking provided is also very welcome as parking in central Beaune might be tricky. Beaune is lovely with good restaurants and visiting the Hospices de Beaune is a must.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area for food was cramped. The egg cooker for soft-boiled eggs did not work well. The air-conditioning in our room did not work well at all. The rooms are older and the beds were very old and mattresses soft.

    The room was spacious. The breakfast terrasse was beautiful. It is a very quiet hotel with an old-time elegance, but not 5-star. The restaurant next to the Hotel was amazing. 5 star plus! from the greeting, to choosing the meal and wine was world class. The terrasse there was elegant and the inside also elegant, like a mansion. The team there was superior. Well-trained but friendly and not stuffy. Highly competent at their jobs, we had about 10 waitstaff for the 2 of us, one for each function. The food was excellent gourmet level. There is a small menu, typical of a french gourmet restaurant, so check it first online to see that it meets your tastes. The desserts were extraordinary as was the wine list. The sommelier nailed the selection of the wines perfectly (be prepared to pay $100+ per bottle, though they have by the glass and half-bottle for less).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the rooms was not particularly good. Not many electric sockets for appliances etc

    The location of the hotel is good. Everything in Beaune is walking distance. There is a small garden area to sit out in for breakfast which was a nice start to the day. The breakfast buffet was good. The staff were very helpful and obliging. Parking in their garage is limited and should be reserved to be safe but there is off street parking around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite we had was rather interesting as it was set on 2 levels and it was very spacious and comfortable. The whole stay was relaxing here. We also like the bar in this hotel because of its French style. Very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the Restaurant, the food was fine but service was very bad. The atmosphere was very good on the other hand Service was unprofessional. They mistook many times and they didn't show up even though we called several times.

    Wonderful location and service. But place was smaller than my expectations because of the photos on the website.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit weak!

    We gave ourselves a treat on our way to the Haute Savoie by staying here for the night. It is a beautiful hotel with attentive, friendly staff. Our room was lovely, comfy bed and stylish furnishings. Dinner in the evening was good, we had the gastronomique menu for a treat. Memorable fish and cheese courses. breakfast was served downstairs or outside, it was warm enough to sit out but we stayed in and had a lovely breakfast. Plenty of choice and nicely laid out. Nice touches were smoked salmon, speciality teas, and gluten free cereals.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly. Delicious breakfast. Beautiful, comfortable room. Accidentally in Beaune to charge Tesla on our journey home from the Alps, decided to stay the night here and very pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A resturant would have been good. I booked it yet wasnt told it would be shut.Next time it will be the Mercure at least you dont get overcharged for your room. We only stay at Le Cedre because of their good resturant.

    The secure car park

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was cold. The only communal place to sit was the bar with a log fire, but most of the chairs were occupied by four people all on laptops at 7.30pm. To be fair they were probably hogging the fire in grungy work clothes because they were cold but they ruined the atmosphere for guests who had dressed for dinner. An expensive hotel needs a code.. We had to find a barman. He took nearly half an hour to make two cocktails and finally cleared dirty plates and glasses off the lounge tables and poked up the dying fire. Then we had to go outside in freezing temperatures to the restaurant. We were put at a table in a cold room and given water. After 30 minutes of being ignored my husband became angry and we asked to move somewhere warmer and to get some service. Nearly 40 minutes after our 8pm reservation my husband had a glass of wine in his hand. I just wanted to find somewhere else. The dinner was good but having just spent three months living in Spain we thought it was very expensive and the price of a mediocre wine, extortionate. It was the worst experience of our travels. Badly managed and over rated.

    The room was quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint is that the bed was stiffer than I'd like.

    The staff were the most attentive I've ever experienced! There was so much attention to detail and everyone seemed to truly care about our comfort during our stay. This was especially welcomed since we were traveling with our 6 month old son. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, we had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful staff. Helped us with restaurant recommendations and booking when we became a little unstuck on discovering most restaurants in Beaune are closed on a Sunday! Cosy lounge and lovely garden. 2 min walk to centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only the problem with parking place - finaly it was solved but could be announced in advance that there are only limited parking places because this could be in this location a serious problem

    very comfortable location close to the centre of Beaune, the interest of staff before our arrival about our wishes/needs, very helpful staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was outstanding. I have nothing negative to say

    Superb service including for the dogs. Very comfortable bed, pillows and high quality bed linen. Meals and wine list outstanding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are all the same and rather bland. Also the toilet is separate from the rest of the bathroom but has no sink ..... most unhygienic.

    Very comfortable bed and good size bathroom. The staff, particularly the bellhop, David, and barman, Mathew, were first class :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service on the patio was poor in the evening. We had to go into the hotel to order the drinks.

    The setting was great with a lovely outdoor patio with lots of trees and greenery.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) booking.com indicted it hat a pool . it does not 2) the bed in our room was sub par ( caving the middle and a quite direct feel with the springs ) - not acceptable for a 200 euro a night - and this from a traveller who is quite familiar with europe . 3 ) your sites indicate its outside the city - it s not . 4) when i pointes out these discrepencies - front desk was rude and insulting to booking.com / suggesting we shoûd book direct instead of using booking sites . the ruddest response of a front desk experince in 3o years of travel in over 80 countries. this is the first time where booking.com just completely misrepresented a hotel - sufficient for me to cease the use of your services

    the hotel entrance / bar and gardens are hart to beat

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice not to have to pay extra to park on site and to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Minor points and wouldn't stop us going back or sending friends.

    Charming, helpful staff, lovely restaurant, nice room. Beaune is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a pool and spa onsite would make this place absolutely perfect, but also likely impossibe to leave!

    Wonderful property with exceptional service!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Third stay at this beautiful hotel. Extremely tasteful in every respect and cannot think of a more refined stopping point enroute south (or north)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service & rooms both comfortable & in fine decorative order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English speaking tv channels could expand into greater choice

    Staff very professional & friendly. Standard of room very good & very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine.

    All food was of a very high standard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The highlight are the warm and professional assistance of the team.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient

    Good hotel only complaint the shower was rather cool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very courteous,have

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed the month we went. We should have been told that when we booked as it was one of the reasons for booking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than charging for parking....

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superbly comfortable bed! Lovely stay, many thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not busy but had room on front of hotel and it was not that quiet

    Easy to find and close to the centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed quality was not good enough and room quite small.

    The bar is the best place of this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed but efficient atmosphere. Friendly welcome. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice restaurant attached

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff too inexperienced

    Room was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position, charming decor, cosy open fire. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real facilities worthy of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast not included.

    Nice B&B style hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole ambiance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just perfect.

    Great place to stay . Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower rather small.

    Friendly staff and good wine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With poor exchange rate for the pound it was expensive

    Friendly efficient staff, good location, lovely setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boutique hotel with the most wonderful restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All perfect

    Location and Magnificat decorated hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food in the main restaurant. Good location for walking around Beaune.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice location. Good character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant attached is very overpriced for the quality.

    Secure parking, ideal location for the town, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very professionel and accomodating service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michelin star restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was extremely small.

    Great staff, beautiful decor, good location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very high service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fitness room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything! The staff were very helpful and we felt very positive about our experience!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds put together, small bathroom.

    Breakfast, both with staff and food. The charming outdoor restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not to my liking.

    Nice room and facilities were up to spec. Food was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent restaurant. Service and food fantastic . Very good bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet did not have w.h.b. Poor for hotel of this standard

    Bed very comfy. Bathroom well appointed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could have been a little more powerful.

    Simply an all round wonderful experience!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rien!

    Very good restaurant. Valet parking with storage for wine cartons ( very important that the wine does not stay in the boot during hot weather)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast would have been nice

    Lovely hotel in beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave

    The whole Hotel and staff were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we were early into the restaurant, main courses off what was a limited menu already. Disapointing

    Nice hotel, all worked well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was understaffed. Food in retaurant looked very delicate, but lacked some taste and character.

    Calm, friendly staff, informal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    Everything but the bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As on many hotels, the wifi is not the best

    Excellent in almost every way Very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee/tea in the room

    Almond croissants

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included and would have been expensive at 20 euros each. We ate out at half the price. Lights and showers challenging to understand. See Jeremy Clarkson article in ST today. So true of many hotels! Quite expensive stay.

    Good venue and hotel clean with pleasant room and lounge. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Group

    Hotel amenities - all honey - quite cloying... Shower too small. One can barely fit in. A gap at the top of the shower in my room. Placed my razor blade over there and it fell; gone forever...

    One of the most amazing hotel teams I have ever seen... And i am not a novice...

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: