Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Bon Encontre 3 stars

rue de la Plane, 24200 Sarlat-la-Canéda, France

#3 of 26 hotels in Sarlat-la-Canéda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 513 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful and restoring
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except the uphill climb back to the hotel from the city center in the heat of July.

    Everything!!☺. This was our second stay, and we loved it as much this time. No disappointments. It is tops in cleanliness, privacy, comfort, and staff friendliness and service. We didn't take breakfast this time as we were traveling with young adult friends who found the 11 € price a bit high, but when we stayed there previously, breakfast was very good, with staff offering eggs or anything else we might want. We took them up on it two times and had the most delicious omelets. The pool is amazing!! Its proximity to the center of town is great, even though its a bit of a hike. I'll take that hike any day to have the quiet and peaceful surroundings of this wonderful hotel. The air conditioning was so very much appreciated. The private, free parking is also very welcome and not easy to get in France.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely views and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill up to property if intending to walk into Sarlat. Compact rooms

    Lovely views and pool. Excellent friendly staff, who were very patient of us trying to speak French ! Staff speak English

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning, Steep uphill walk back from town.

    Beautiful, well maintained hotel just out of town (up a steep hill). Great views though. Large private car park. Fabulous pool and very friendly staff. Good Breakfast . Comfortable room. Sarlat is a lovely place with a graet atmosphere, will return and stay for longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Incroyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said, the location is tough for someone with lesser mobility because you really can’t park easily in town. It’s a “walking town” and you need a place to leave the car.

    I personally loved the property. It was just my husband and me with a full carload - including 2 racing bikes - having come from a family wedding in Lanouaille, FR. We wanted to spend a few more days deeper into the Dordogne region and see all the beauty of which we’ve heard so much. So, the most important thing for us was someplace to leave the bikes and the car while we walked, biked, and toured. I thought Hotel Bon Encontre was perfect. My husband loved the facility (especially the infinity pool as it was blistering hot every day), but his knees are pretty shot, so walking 1-2 km down and back up every night for dinner (especially after having walked or biked all day sight-seeing) was really tough on him and he did complai about that!! Me? I loved walking into town for dinner and then walking home afterwards. Christine, the proprietor, was exceptional and she told us she had only taken ownership 10 days ago; amazing. Truly, it was in a perfect location for anyone who is mobile at all. We met a young woman and her mother (who is active and adventurous) whose knees were like my husband’s. Her remedy was to drive her mother down the hill; drive back up and leave the car; then walk down and meet her mother. We gave her a ride a couple times when we happened to be going out to another village. Worked out nicely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Our favorite stay in France!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The proprietor of this hotel is AMAZING! She offered restaurant & sight seeing recommendations, even rode in the car with me to take my friends to the train station so we were sure to find it. The swimming pool is wonderful! Just 12 rooms in a charming updated stone home; personal service made this stay our favorite of two weeks in France. Some rooms have as many as 3 beds which was perfect for us!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    New owner is coming in and promises improvements in all the above. I hope to go back to Sarlat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathrooms were small and tight, shower no tubs. Breakfast was over at 10 and the coffee was bad. If you want to walk into Town, take your hiking boots. We had bikes and it was steep.

    Pool was quite nice, but too cold after a week of storms to be comfortable. Bring your own wine there was none for sale, even by the glass. The bathroom was tight, only one at a time, and I would have preferred a tub over a shower. Those are only on the ground level but for a $20 EUR bump. scarlet is well situated to explore the Dordogne if you have a car. The train station was shut down due to a strike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Heaven... and can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave.

    This beautiful hotel is perched above the city of Sarlat-la-Caneda with fantastic staff, great breakfasts, privacy and quiet, and an infinity pool. Heaven!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful pool, quiet comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This three-night stay was our first visit to Sarlat. We chose this hotel for its location close to the old town. Yes it’s up the hill, but the walk up and down was no problem for us in our sixties and we did it twice one day. Our room number 1 was located at the rear of the hotel very quiet with an extremely comfortable bed. We loved the infinity pool and will use it more next time we stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant small hotel close to town center .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill up from the town to the hotel.

    Location close to town. Plenty of parking. Lovely swimming pool, loungers, chairs and terraces for relaxing. No air conditioning but rooms shady and cool. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast good value. Lovely view of town and surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    A little gem of a hotel found in Sarlat, very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough people using the superb pool on such a very warm day.

    The ambiance of the whole property, welcoming of staff and the overall feel. Well located to the town without being in the hustle and bustle. our reception to the hotel was super, we felt very welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. The peace and quiet and the garden surrounding the hotel was a little piece of heaven. The breakfast was fantastic, offer of fried eggs, omelette etc for a French breakfast is very good going. No faults at all. " Parfait"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Up and out of town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hearing the birds signing in the evening and the morning. Mark was very helpful with our daily plans. Breakfast was excellent and a good value for €11.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Close to center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This hotel is fantastic.

    Close to center of town. Very friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful swimming pool. Very clean. Quiet location. Great parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Facility, staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility, staff were excellent. Location is a short drive to the old city with a convenient parking lot at the foot of a long, windy hill. Once you get used to it, it’s fine. Marc, the front desk person was always very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Love this place! I would highly recommend it as a base to explore the beautiful Dordogne region!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, had to climb stairs, especially after a long day of sightseeing and walking. Lucky we had help with our suitcases brought up to our room. Also being on continuous climb, would need a car to get to the town even only 5 minutes away! Parking in Sarlat old town can be very busy with locals and tourists.

    The hotel was located at the fringe of Sarlat old town on the hill side. Gorgeous views of distant hills and houses! Large parking area! Well managed grounds with inviting outdoor pool. Beautiful interior, so pleasing to the eyes! Great breakfast served either in delightful dining room, or outdoor under the wide veranda looking into the garden or pool. Our room was an attic room, spacious and full of light with view! Beds were comfortable. Shower was very good with fluffy towels. The wifi worked well! One of the staff spoke good English and was very helpful with restaurant booking and advice on sightseeing! He helped us with bringing our large cases up into our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in a charming and peaceful hilltop oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying €5.5 for a small bottle of water. So get your water else where and take it with you.

    The fantastic views. The calming sound of constant bird song. Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The pool area was very well kept and so clean. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the pool having a drink. The hotel is a 10-15 minute (depending on physical ability) walk from the stunning medieval town, at the top of quite a steep hill, so we enjoyed the exercise it afforded us. Some may find it too strenuous and need to go by car. There is a large car park at the hotel. The Wednesday food market (8am-1pm) The area is famous for its truffles and fois grois, amongst other things.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could have been a little softer. Coffee a little stronger.

    Love the location. Beautiful nature and quite, not far from the center of Sarlat. Great staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Staff were very pleasant and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we paid for a superior room, the room we were originally given appeared to be a converted garage room, you walked from the carpark directly into the room, through a sliding door and it was very dark. We also had large centipedes coming through the drains into the bathroom. We were very disappointed with the room, having paid extra for a superior room and requested to be moved. The staff were very pleasant and did facilitate this the next day. The room we were subsequently moved to was on the 1st floor and was very nice and more in keeping with what we had been expecting. Avoid the basement rooms.

    Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel location although up a very steep hill from Sarlat is in a good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Delightful modern lodging in a fantastic medieval city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Automatic lighting in hallways would have been helpful

    This little hotel up the hill from medieval Sarlat is an absolute gem. The owner/manager is extremely gracious and helpful (helped us find a doctor the same day for a problem we had). The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast omelets were perfect. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice but you need a car to go into Sarlat centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had quite a few steepish outside steps up to reception with no handrail-quite difficult if you have any mobility issues. Hotel is up a long climb & is at the back of a housing estate-it is signposted from Sarlat centre but is in a rather odd place. Very long steep walk up from centre-no way could we think of doing it but if you are very fit then possibly you could try!!

    Friendly staff-hotel clean & in nice quiet position with trees & fields at back but not really central for restaurants etc. The pool looked good but sadly it was too cold to try it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good and comfortable. Very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size.

    The hotel is well situated and the walk to and from town not too far, although uphill coming back. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful and the breakfast very good value. The room was a little small but we stayed only one night. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    the perfect place to relax after a busy day walking in the French countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quiet spacious and clean. Friendly staff. The verandah overlooking the pool was a perfect place to relax over a glass of wine with a book after a busy day sightseeing and walking in the district.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Perfect vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can think of anything.

    The property was absolutely beautiful. It was immaculately maintained and it provided a panorama of what postcards are made of..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Sarlat hilltop hotel - beautiful building with fine views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel in Sarlat is even more beautiful to look at than in the pictures on Booking.com, it is lovely and set in fine gardens on top of hill with fine views. Staff, rooms, breakfast and facilities were all excellent, and they offer a bar service which was a welcome touch. Did I mention excellent breakfast... fresh figs and a wide range of other foods when we stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    The swimming pool was wonderful, the staff were all very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast buffet was uninspiring. You could have a plain omelette/scrambled eggs but no toast was served either with eggs or on the buffet. At 12 Euros per person I thought it was poor.

    The swimming pool was wonderful, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Apart from the very steep hill back up from Sarlat it was in a perfect position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    I highly recommend this property, it is quiet in an isolated location, but close enough to the main
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minute downhill walk to ancient city. Couldn't walk up too steep.

    Beautiful and charming location, close to ancient city. Property was difficult to find and was not recognized by our navigation system.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    staff were really friendly and helpful, lovely quiet hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    didnt stay there long enough

    staff were really friendly and helpful, lovely quiet hotel in lovely quiet location 10 min walk from centre of beautiful Sarlat-la-Canéda

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Host very welcoming even though we struggled to converse due...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kettle provided in room, but beware they charge €2 per tea bag/coffee sachet! Recommend going to the local supermarket to buy a box of 25 tea bags for €2 (Or Bring-Your-Own). Not enough plug sockets. Cramped setup - TV, phone, kettle, cups all bundled onto one table. No UK TV channels (only 2 english speaking channels (DW and CNN)). Toiletries supplied were very basic - Recommend Bring-Your-Own.

    Host very welcoming even though we struggled to converse due to language barrier. Lovely swimming pool area. Very clean hotel and quiet area. Close to local town (5 mins downhill in to town and 10-15 mins return uphill). Plenty of space in car park. Air conditioning was excellent. Comfortable beds and pillows. Window shutters blocked out all light and allowed for a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Immaculate room, good breakfast and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, every thing was ok, we have stayed here twice before as we liked it so much.

    Spotless room, excellent staff. Good pool, A quite and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is on our "return to list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please be aware that this hotel is on top of quite a steep hill. Ok for most but a tough walk for some.

    On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Adelaide who spoke very good English. Our room was very well appointed and very clean with a lovely ensuite. The pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds. At breakfast we were offered the usual croissant etc and they also cooked us some fresh scrambled eggs to order at no extra cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful swimming pool area with umbrellas and loungers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and had air con ! Bathroom very clean and modern. There was a kettle provided but no coffee or tea. The hotel only provides breakfast which is a shame due to its location. If they had a restaurant providing dinner we would definitely have eaten there as would other guests we spoke to. It's a long walk up a very steep hill from Sarlat.

    Beautiful swimming pool area with umbrellas and loungers. Very peaceful and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    VERY quiet Location bit out of town, family run most helpful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major just a bit of a hill to negotiate if you walk into or back from town which is 10mins on foot

    Seemed like a famly run place. Very helpful and a lovely terrace overlooking the pool to eat breakfast. As it's a little put of the town it's VERY quiet and our room01 had a little terrace to sit and look at the stars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice place, fabulous view, pool is terrific, staff very polite and helpful. Accommodation ace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asking €1.50 for a coffee in your room appears a little miserly.

    The location is up a steep hill but due to the very restricted parking in the town it was ideal for visiting. The walk back up after several glasses of wine is hardly noticeable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    The test is always would I stay again and the answer has to be yes, nice place excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike as such , but bloody hell the walk back on a night time certainly worked off the food you will have eaten in the centre , it was up a steep hill so anyone with limited mobility would struggle

    The staff were friendly and helpful suggesting things to see and do, nothing was a trouble. Breakfast was plentiful and things were replenished as used. Perfect omelettes and fried eyes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    A excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    personnel really lovely. I could write also about the pool and the view. or about the design of the house. but everything was so nice that I will just recommend you to visit it. well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Is it really necessary to charge 1.50 Euros for a tea bag or coffee sachet in the room ?. We didn't ask but others guests were told taxis wouldn'tcome up to the hotel as the journey to Sarlat was too short to be worthwhile (despite the hill)

    Nice hotel, lovely pool, good parking. Town is walkable downhill (about 15 minutes) but expect an uphill walk back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The property is beautiful in a private and peaceful setting. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was cozy, spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stayed very much and would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    nice place to visit Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room view next to the external staircase

    good location at ten minutes walking distance from the centre of the town (Sarlat). Very good breakfast but charged extra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant overnight stop in quiet area outside of main town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we easily managed the 10-15 walk into town centre, it is a very steep hill & anyone not very fit might struggle. No toiletries provided except soap.

    Very quiet location, reasonable breakfast selection, nice outdoor swimming pool (didn't use). Friendly welcome. Clean room & bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    3 nights at bon encontre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room was pretty tiny. Apart from that, it was all amazing to be fair!

    The staff were lovely. Very helpful and some spoke very good English. The pool and surrounding area is excellent. Very peaceful. Close to town which had amazing restaurants. Would definitely recommend a stay here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall a little gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Free tea and coffee in the room would have been a bonus. Charging 1.5 euros for each tea bag or coffee sachet used was just a little mean and quite out of character with the very generous breakfasts. The only real downside is the location at the top of a steep hill, but that is pretty well the situation with most of the small hotels outside the city centre. Unfortunately taxis in Sarlat are pretty well non existent.

    Everything about the hotel itself was excellent. The pool was a massive bonus. Room 6 was very spacious and had everything you could want. The staff were extremely pleasant, lent us guide books in English and offered good advice on places to visit, eat etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.9
    More of a motel than hotel but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor basic room facilities Very smelly toilet and bathroom Musty smelling towels blankets on beds are most unhygienic and I wouldn't expect to see them in a modern hotel No staff on site between 8pm and 7.30am No bar Air conditioning had a mind of its own The walk into town is not as advised, it is a much longer and steeper hill to descend and ascend for each walk into town. Impossible for the disabled.

    Having a pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and town. Pizza is excellent, friendly people and lots of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a steep walk to town so no good if both want to have a wine with dinner in town and drive.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was super comfy. Patio and pool area very nice. Fridge in room and able to picnic on patio was a nice way to finish the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Quiet, restful, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit expensive at 11 euros per day.

    The pool was gorgeous, and the staff were very accommodating, friendly, helpful, and made excellent recommendations for things to do and see. They even offered to make us omelettes or scrambled eggs for breakfast, which we took them up on, and they were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, very clean with friendly helpful staff. Wonderful pool area great for relaxing. Good location although the walk back up the hill after a good dinner in above 30 degrees was a little taxing..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of natural light Charging for teas and coffee facilities in room Breakfast not included within price

    Obliging staff Excellent pool Quiet and spacious hotel, well appointed and equipped

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay in Sarlat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower is a little on the small side.

    Although it's quite a hike back up after dining in Sarlat, it's worth it. The hotel is quite new and well furnished and we had most helpful advice about the region, and where to dine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Bon Bon...Lovely property, free parking and a pool. Loved it and wish we were still there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would definitely stay again although location adjacent to a housing estate isn't quite in line with all the beautiful architecture of the town and surrounding area. Be prepared for a steep 10 minute walk from the old town - fine for us but not for the less mobile. Much better than staying in the old town centre which is busy being a small town with lots of traffic and a busy venue for tourism.

    Lovely stone built property in an elevated position over looking the surrounding hills and town centre. I would have rated this as 4 star. Quiet location with easy access by car and free parking. Excellent pool. Air con, Coffee facilities and fridge in the room was greatly appreciated in the heat wave. Sarlat is an excellent central location for visiting the Dordogne.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    quiet location .great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    possibly a little difficult to get up and down the steep hill if your unfit. however we had no such issues

    great location up the hill just out of town. lovely pool,aircon rooms. staff are really helpful too. there;s a safe in every room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Great Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi could have been better. Definately not up to U.S. standards. Often had to stand in a particular spot in the room in order to reconnect.

    Stayed here with my wife and daughter for 9 nights, using Sarlat as a base to take day trips within Perigord and the Dordogne. The hotel was an attractive and modern, but with the look of a classical French structure. It up on a hill in a quiet, residential area, a 3 minute drive from the medieval center of town. The view of the town and the valley from the hotel was lovely. It was a 10 minute walk to/from town, but the return trip involved negotiating an extremely steep hill. The walk uphill was nonetheless do-able by a flabby, out of shape 60-ish American like me, however, it was not something that would be advisable during the heat of a summer day or, say, after a relaxing dinner. There was ample parking at the foot of the hill and it was free after 7 PM each night. The parking lot was a very short walk 3-4 minute walk from the center of town, so we found it more practical each night to drive to dinner. The rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. We experienced a few unseasonably hot June days (100 degrees plus) and the room's A/C handled the challenge extremely well (something which I not found to be the norm in Europe). The hosts were friendly, helpful and fully functional in English. Breakfast was good (€11 per person), although there were also no shortage of patisseries and boulangeries in town. All in all, a very positive experience. If I ever visit Sarlat again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep walk to and from town, good exercise but sweaty if hot.

    Helpful staff. Helped make restaurant suggestions and reservations. Carry bags up and down stairs. They make eggs as you request with the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful property in the quiet part of the town , feels like your private villa, with a pool, wonderful terrace where you can sit, chill, have your wine. Gorgeous olive and cherry trees around. Very clean hotel, very comfy bed, excellent breakfast,fruit, eggs, breads, pastries,juices, organic teas,honey, preserves, cold cuts. Super friendly staff, lots of smiles every day!!! 10 min walk down to the center, 20 min walk back(uphill), was alright for us to burn some calories. You could also drive down and park, parking is free after 7:00pm. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. And yes, easy Wifi, no password needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Encounter at the Encontre !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and functional property with large free parking area and lovely pool. The building although only 12 years old was constructed in local materials and blended wonderfully into its surrounds. Special thanks to Marc in reception who made our stay most enjoyable with his infectious smile and can do attitude. Our French certainly needed some work but he was always there with some English to get us over the hurdles.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having Wifi access in the bedroom and having to manouevre heavy suitcases up steep stairs.

    Excellent reception staff who kindly assisted me with tickets to Lascaux.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel but mind the hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up the hill from the town centre. You have to be reasonably fit.

    Wonderful staff and a great little hotel. The rooms were very clean, showers were good and a great view of the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    This is a very pleasant and relaxing hotel in Sarlat. We wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was only 15 minutes walk from the old town, and was peaceful and relaxing with comfortable seating by the pool and on the balcony. Everything was well organised and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good including fresh fruit. All team members were extremely helpful, including being very patient with my poor French. At least 2 of the team spoke very good English, and helped with matters such as arranging a taxi and recommending local restaurants. We can certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer. After we got home, we said it would be great to spend a full week to 10 days here.

    We loved this hotel. Spotlessly clean. Great breakfast - in addition to a wonderful assortment of breads, cheeses, and meats, they will cook eggs to order. Our room overlooked the parking lot, but that did not make any difference. It was extraordinarily quiet. Parking was easy. On the days where we did not feel like walking to town, we drove and parked in easy in/easy out public parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Very nice stay in Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were friendly and helpful an the pool was nice for a dip after a long day of exploring the local area. Breakfast was fantastic and the town centre was an easy walk downhill and not bad uphill. Hosts provided good recommendations for dinner and things to see.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good hotel, but not very convenient position for Sarlat itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location well out of town, though well signed. Have to take car if you want to go into Sarlat - pay by day till 7pm. Very unreliable WiFi.

    Lovely hotel, pleasant surroundings, good breakfast with very attentive but not intrusive staff. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was VERY disappointed with our double room, nothing like the pictures on booking.com. Very small, no wardrobe, no room for our big bags. Hard bed and flat pillows. Our fault I guess for not booking a superior room! Also, we didn't meet the friendly Mark til last full day. And yes, he was lovely! But til then there was an equally lovely Spanish (I think?) woman who spoke very little English and who we couldn't usually find. Looked for someone at the hotel for an hour our first day, just no one around! All that said, Mark did provide us with plates and glasses for our wine and cheese and our overall stay was good.

    The pool area was wonderful. And the walk to the beautiful town of Sarlat wasn't as bad as some reviews made out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    This property is extremely well presented, the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grumpy male tanning himself by the pool.

    This property is extremely well presented, the staff very welcoming and the environment pleasing. While a good walk up hill from town- it is manageable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Delightful accommodation in a marvellous French village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful in all respects. Staff friendly, room quant and spacious, lovely view from the terrace and our windows. On site parking, beautiful pool and breakfast was continental but with the choice of a cooked egg. Wished we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice room at the top of Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit loud ( badly sound proofed).. You can her the people on the stairs

    the location of this hotel is very good ( around 600 m walking distance to the city center). In my opinion the 🍳 is overrated ( too expensive for what it is 11 € per person, sure it is enough.. But the quality is not the best). the pool looks very nice however the view of the pool is blocked by the the trees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Lovely quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lovely quiet hotel with nice swimming pool. It's a short steepish uphill walk back to the hotel after eating dinner in the town, but this is offset by the free parking and quiet location. Also very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    I would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so expensive that we didn't take it. We walked down to the center of the medieval city and had a moderate breakfast with an excellent view.

    The swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    Quiet stay near lovely Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is pretty basic, but comfy. If you're walking, it's an uphill climb from town.

    It's a lovely little property on the outskirts of town. Beautiful porch to sit and gaze at the countryside. The people were very nice. Very quiet neighborhood area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked everything.

    Marc and staff are such nice,helpful people! They really do there best to make your holidays the max!! Breakfast is delicious and comprehensive, you are also offered omelette, boiled or fried eggs. Rooms are very nice and clean!! The car park is large and safe. We stayed 5 nights and walked into Sarlat every day, it take 10 mins to walk in and 15 mins to walk back, up the hill. We really enjoyed staying here and look forward to returning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for one night. We needed at least one more night

    The owners were so upbeat and friendly that it was hard not to like the hotel straightaway But everything else was really great anyway. Lovely room; fabulous pool; omelette for breakfast, what was not to like. Sarlat Le Caneda is a great town and we were there on a Friday night and there was great street entertainment. The Saturday market is supposed to be awesome but we could not stay for it. The hotel is above the town so has rural views and is only 10 minutes walk, but allow 15 to get back as the hill is quite steep

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.5
    A calm,relaxing oasis,perfect for a 2 night stay in Sarlat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little to dislike but the en suite bathroom was a little on the small side especially the shower cabinet.

    Very welcoming and informative staff.The whole place was spotless and tasteful and the pool was wonderful.We had no problem with either the walk down to Sarlat or the return walk in the evening....took just under 5 mins down and about 8/9 back and we are both in our sixties

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to

    The staff were brilliant and were full of information the pool was fabulous just what we needed on s very hot day. Breakfast had an enormous choice bed so comfortable will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent facilities, beautiful, peaceful setting. Our new favourite hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to drive into the town for restaurants etc. but it was only 5 minutes and parking was easy.

    Everything about this hotel is excellent. Beautiful setting, lovely building and gardens. Peaceful, idyllic. Immaculately clean. We loved our room and wished we could have stayed longer. Really friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast. The town of Sarlat is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Lovely pool and hillside location overlooking Sarlat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small with slanting roof and small bathroom - not much room for our suitcases!

    Amazing pool and great location within 10 mins walk of Sarlat. We liked the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Friendly, obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having arrived at Sarlat by train and without a hire car, we appreciated Marc's extra effort in arranging a taxi for us. Our attempt in ordering a taxi, was met with a 'no'. Also, the host of our next stay was arriving to collect us at 2pm, so the late midday checkout and the use of the pool for 2hrs was much appreciated. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    A wonderful site in the Perigord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was sufficient, but largely limited to packaged items (with the exception of custom prepared eggs), and not particularly imaginative.

    Wonderful location above Sarlat, and absolutely superb pool providing a very relaxing and enjoyable venue.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotelier was an excellent host

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The new owner has been in the industry for most of her working life, and it shows. First class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing.

    Nothing to dislike.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: