Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B Hotel Caen Mondeville 2 stars

Centre Routier - rue des Frères Lumière, 14120 Mondeville, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Mondeville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 834 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location convenient but surroundings and building a bit industrialised and lacking welcome.

    Room was compact but had everything you need for an overnight stop on route. Pleased to find a kettle in room. Bed comfortable and big. Clean and basic. Easy to find just off the Caen ring road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't great, but for the price, it was fine. Room was small, tiny tv. Not a room to hang out. Just to sleep. Our view was a wall of a building on the adjoining property about 15 feet away.

    A very base motel. Not fancy. Had a bed and bath, small tv. Breakfast was very good, and well attended. Breakfast room was nicest of the entire place. Somewhat industrial location. The young lady at the desk was very friendly, and helpful, and also worked the breakfast. She was great to the guests, friendly, cheerful. For the price of the room, it was fine. We didn't find many local restaurants, and ended up having dinner at an extremely busy Burger King. Maybe we just didn't look hard enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't great, no food places in walking distance, other than the food offered by the hotel. but fine if you have a car to drive to plenty of places near. Bathroom was a little small.

    Absolutely lovely staff who went above and beyond to help us. Great breakfast and nice big bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny toilet

    Impersonal. Automatic check in, small room, okay for the night. Toilet and shower also tiny. No soap or toiletries. Otherwise clean and comfortable. No AC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It’s about three miles from the city. Only place to eat or drink is the truck stop bar next door. Which is full of truck drivers.

    Great staff. Friendly and helpful and spoke English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed to find that our room smelled of cigarettes which seemed to come from the neighbouring room where the culprits had obviously been smoking that evening and then lit up again first thing in the morning. This is not the fault of the hotel, of course, the staff were friendly and efficient and breakfast was very good. Excellent coffee!

    We arrived quite late from the Portsmouth ferry, but access was very easy with a computerised entry system. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the ring road and our route south. You get what you pay for - this was very inexpensive, but clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building a bit stark

    Clean comfortable room, very pleased that the two rooms we booked were adjoining. Easy to find after a long journey. Very glad someone there at reception both when we arrive late adn when we left early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very tight fit in the room -- we really lived in one another's pockets in the room. The automated check-in wouldn't work so we had to come back when there was someone at reception. It is in a very industrial area, so you must be prepared for this.

    The room was very basic and a right fit for everything. It was clean and did the job though. Breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy to find. Good parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Stayed the night after the late ferry crossing from Portsmouth. Booked 2 rooms which were adjacent in shared lobby which was perfect. Very good price and comfortable beds. we didnt have breakfast .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed. The bathroom was very small and difficult to keep the floor dry meaning there was a danger of slipping on the wet floor when using the toilet.

    We did not do the breakfast. We arrived on a banking holiday and public transportation was not available so needed to take a taxi to the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just what we wanted for a stopover. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Bathroom was small but shower excellent and hot. Bed comfortable. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was hard to find.

    I really enjoyed the cheerfulness of the girl at reception. She was very helpful. In the morning, instead of a 6.50 euros breakfast , since I barely eat anything, I thought the take away breakfast bag for 2.50 was great (included an apple compote, 2 "madeleines" and a cup of good coffee). It was an extremely hot day when I got there and I liked the coolness of the room. Had a great night sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom and toilet are together and no divider between the two which means if someone takes bath the toilet area also gets wet and till the whole area is dry its impossible to use the toilet without wetting your feet and cloths. In fact if another person wants to take a shower immediately after the 1st person has bathed its difficult for him/her as well. Under the above similar circumstances my 5 year old kid dropped a towel on the very wet floor and as per the instruction put up on the bathroom door we left the wet and dirty towel on the bathroom floor so that it could be replaced with a clean one. Upon our return we found that the towel on the bathroom was still lying on the floor. Surprisingly the room had been cleaned up but I guess the bathroom wasn't. I did not raise a big hue and cry, giving them a benefit of doubt and assuming it to be an act of human error. Good side was that I went and informed them and they promptly apologized and handed over fresh towels. Breakfast for kids are half price of the normal rate. My 5 year old kid has a very light appetite and hardly eats anything and I practically found it to be a waste of money. For little older kids the rate is fine but for younger children the breakfast charges are a waste. The room lacks any cooling system. It could be bit of an inconvenience during warm/hot days.

    The hotel is located close to the highway. Friendly reception staff. I also observed that the hotel has a self check in machine which I feel is a good idea as hotel doesn't have 24/7 reception desk and lack of manpower doesn't hinder the check in process especially at night if someone wants to check in with or without prior reservation. Room was clean on arrival. Breakfast is basic but sufficient to satisfy your hunger.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some selfish people smoked in the room and it smelt of smoke. I spoke to the cleaning staff and they done a deep clean to get rid of the smell.

    I have stayed at this hotel before and found it very comfortable. There is nothing around the Hotel but if you drive to the next junction there is a huge shopping centre and stacks of food outlets. As a regular traveler to budget hotels this I found was one of the better ones. I paid 30 Euros a night and was more than happy with what I got. A lot of people want to pay budget prices but want 5 star rooms you get what you pay for but trust me this I found was one of the better budget hotels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reached very late ( after midnight) and the automated check-in machine did not accept my Debit and Credit cards. But when I called the 24Hrs help line, they arranged for assistance in 10 mins. Its a value for money accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water Sunday morning, early. However, around 7:45 the hot water was available.

    Cleanliness and the receptionist. Nice bed, nice linens, good room layout.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Staff were friendly and helpful and happy... rooms were clean and comfy and very quiet....close by to mondeville shopping district.. great value good for families!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed had seen better days. The room otherwise was spotlessly clean, a basic room which is quite adequate for the price. Easy enough to find with a Satnav, without one probably rather difficult as it is on a trading estate . Parking is not secure but we had no problems whilst there for two days.

    The staff could not have been more helpful as far as we were concerned. 5 Stars to them.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms. Good value for money. Quick & comfortable automatic check in after formal hours. We were 6 people and had two.comfortably adjacent room. Friendly Receptionist gave us good advices concerning places to visit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped and the shower flooded the small bathroom too easily.

    Perfect for a quick over night stop with easy access to main roads and large localCarrefour. Due to motel-like layout was perfect if arriving very late with a easy to use machine to recurve room card.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were able to get wifi on my phone and the kids tablets but for some reason not on my husbands laptop. The hotel is more like a motel but is comfy and was right for the time being for our expenses. We had two adjoining rooms and the one bathroom shower head was broken so had to be held. Also, the toilet is right by the shower and the whole floor gets wet. However, I would not be opposed to staying again if I needed to. =)

    The beds were comfy and we were needing something that was not expensive seeing we had extra expenses due to our car breaking down while in France. The staff was excellent especially Audrey, the front desk attendant!!! She even acted as our interpreter for the rental car company who spoke no English. It is by a main highway, so easy to get to other parts of the surrounding area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet door had been replaced with sliding door which hit the wall light when opened. no handle on door inside or outside making it almost impossible to get out until opened from outside. no door on washing facility, only soap supplied was a broken piece that had been used. outside door to room 1 & 2 fell off bottom hinge when opened and I had to replace it.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bushes around car park could do with a trim!

    The reception staff were excellent and the breakfast food/drinks really varied and good value. Breakfast area always spotless. Wi Fi no problem at all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very close to the main motorway network, but very quiet location. We needed the room for an overnight stay and this was ideal. It was very clean, adequate ensuite, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no food available restaurant nearby closes on weekends ate there last time so rather disappointing as the food is good and reasonably priced had to find a supermarket instead with only 10 mins to spare!!!!!!

    good clean room, if only basic ,value for money tho'.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to park. No spaces left after ferry arrival at 10pm.

    Relatively easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean staff were very helpful and I would use there facilities again thx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice hot breakfast. Kettle in room, only hotel to have this on our travels. Ideal one night stop as really near A 13.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, well designed room, quiet area and very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were like a cheese grater - very rough and the beds were narrow so no room to turn over!

    Extra pillows were supplied immediately on request

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smoky smell in a room

    The area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great access to the motorway network

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rust in shower and not clean enough for me.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access very complicated due to roadworks

    The place is value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value basic overnight accommodation, good breakfast choice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    shower was to small and no bar

    staff where great and very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Showers needed a bit maintainence

    Quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough furniture .No table or small cupboard

    The bed was fine .clean and enough covers for the season

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea making in room

    top breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find way into car park needs a sign at side of road

    Good clean room good choice of food to eat happy helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy; a lot of trucks running generators the whole night...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hard to find..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money, cleanliness, very nice staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    Price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really expect more for the price.

    Very basic but a good, comfortable night's sleep. Couldn't argue for the price it cost.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was all good

    The staff were fantastic and made us very welcome even though we did not arrive until 21:30 due to delays at Dover

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing good value

    Breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on a trading estate and next to a lorry park which doesn't appear to be mentioned on Booking.com

    Breakfast was good, staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some noise from nearby apartments, but this quietened before too late in the evening.

    Close to the Caen Peripherique and near to a large retail park. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast was basic but good and started early enough to arrive in time for the ferry to Portsmouth.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager very accommodating and the handy restaurant that was excellent value. The room was changed at once when we complained of the cigarette smell .sent

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    &Quot;Hotel" was in middle of industrial units and security of car could not be provided. The only food outlet was a cafe for truck drivers. We should be offered our money back as taken under false pretences.

    Nothing. So bad did not stay and lost money as had to prepay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to find the way in at night in pouring rain, as poorly signed within industrial estate.

    Perfect position on Caen ring-road with lorry park adjacent for our car and caravan. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's located on an industrial estate. You can't get in until 5pm. The reception doesn't open until 5pm and the airport automated check-in style machine won't recognise pre-bookings earlier than that time, so you can only get to your room after that time.

    Easy access to the main road to the ferry

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to find from the peripherique, though the little flag on my satnav was visible I couldn't get to it without a lot of round the houses - probably my incompetence!

    Excellent for a quick stopover.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    Very difficult to find and no human contact on arrival. We hadnt realised that it would be like a parking machine to collect the key to the room. Horrible, when you arrive exhausted close to midnight and frightening in the dark.

    Breakfast. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet and shower in one cubicle and very cramped. Sliding door didn't have a handle.

    24 hour arrival facility. Good breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Julien made us very welcome

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Broken black out blind. Tobacco odour via extractor in shower cubicle

    Communicating rooms good for family with children

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff. Ideal for overnight stop.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our reception by Megane. Lovely clean and good quality bedding.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    City centre only reachable by car.

    The hotel was very clean and nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice clean hotel and rooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location - far from the city

    fair price good for short transit overnight stay free internet clean

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Apart from one restaurant, there wasn't anything else near so you had to drive.

    Cleanliness, friendly staff location for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    EVRYTHING

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, excellent price. Ideal for an overnight stop-over.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything close by

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in a good position, restaurant next door very good food and service

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike

    Easy access late at night. clean and tidy rooms and very good price. Excellent breakfast. Family run hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Affordable

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to ferry terminal. No frills value for money.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: