Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Les Bories & Spa

Route de l' Abbaye de Senanque, 84220 Gordes, France

#7 of 9 hotels in Gordes

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful quiet hotel, with no possibilities to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool restaurant offers limited choice, from which we could not find anything to eat. And works limited time only In the evening there is only Michelen restaurant, which we did not want to visit, as we were with baby. So it was impossible to eat in the hotel at all

    Big pool was amazing, the territory is also beautiful. Rooms and beds are comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    The gorgeous grounds and gardens with provençal herbs, olive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to find fault in such a beautiful place!

    The gorgeous grounds and gardens with provençal herbs, olive trees and lavender. One of the most beautiful swimming pools in Europe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were unaccommodating. No table could be found in the restaurant for dinner forcing us to go into town to eat. Lunch was strictly before 1.30 pm. Staff seemed more concerned with keeping the restaurant manager and chef happy than the requirements of guests. The Spa was closed on the Sunday afternoon when we arrived - for just one night- something I hadn't noticed when booking.

    Beautiful gardens and pool. Comfortable big rooms and great art work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.6
    Deluxe hotel and dining, right above Gordes, but in a beautiful and tranquil location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's all great.

    This is a great hotel, with marvellous views over the Luberon. Fantastic food, too, and all served by friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Beautiful , peaceful, heavenly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that we did not like !

    The staff , the location, the room, the gardens, the restaurant, everything was beyond our expectation . Highly recommend ! Guaranteed satisfaction !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic area to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WE were disappointed about the pool not working (maintenance!)and the noise in the other rooms = maintenance = Feb promotion was not the best Season 😖 offer should include B&B (breakfast +23€!)

    Chic and sober / staff is efficient, helpful and smiling faces. Spa is excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    5.8
    Good, but not sure it's worth the money unless you're looking for a 'resort' feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a little disappointed with some of the services. They say there's a free transfer to/from the town of Gordes. When we asked about this, they told us they could book us a taxi for 50 EUR (it's a 1.5km ride into town) or we could walk down a rocky, unlit path (this seems like an unsafe option at night). The dinner at the restaurant was good, but the room service was only so-so. Also, there was no hot water for a bath either night of our stay.

    This would have been a lovely place to stay if we'd been looking for a resort because it's kind of tucked away and has great views. Also, the dinner at the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    Staff more at the peak season. Each of them was doing excellent service but was stretched.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Serving at the dinner was too slow. Need to staff more. As it is one of the best restaurants in Provance, it was a really pity that each table was not looked after well. I could feel and see other guests' frastration uncomfortably.

    Very relaxed feeling all the way through!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    6.7
    Quiet, comfy bed, nice private terrace
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool restaurant was closed 2 out of the 3 nights we were there and the menu doesn't change for lunch or dinner. It is quite expensive and no real pool service during the day.

    Quiet, comfy bed, nice private terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    Incredible views,but slightly disappointing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast choice very poor for such a luxury hotel. Waiters didn't come round automatically to offer more coffee or clear plates. Poolside restaurant choice limited.

    Fab views from restaurant and pool areas. Wonderful pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    9.6
    It most definitely suited my stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better

    The rooms , service from all the staff ,receptionist to room service n turn down staff was very friendly n excellent n immediate ,and it was a very peaceful ambience in general

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    7.1
    Very pleasant but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Words used by reception in a telephone call at around 5pm on our last night stating that we could not eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked

    The restaurant staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    6.7
    There are better options in the old town of Gordes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location wasn't as described in Booking.com. It is a 30 minute walk to Gordes, where it would have been great to hang out and visit the shops for the evening. The room was not as described/pictured on Booking.com even though we opted for the higher priced/best option room. I felt it was falsely represented on Booking.com

    The Restataunt was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    A very happy week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps a little more variety or choice at the lunch time swimming pool restaurant but that is probably nit picking.

    Very beautiful secluded and peaceful country location with a fine view of the Luberon. Wonderful hiking. Really excellent food in the evening restaurant. Gorgeous swimming pool. Charming staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    5.4
    Bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality housekeeping. The housekeeping team did not change tablecloth. Garbage was taken out of the bin and put it on the table. Egregious case !! Also mattress consists of two parts, however is not convenient to sleep. I think it is not proper quality, which should provide a hotel of this level.

    Beautiful nature and silence around. It's the best place for relax. Gordes is nice village.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    9.2
    Memorable stay in this quiet and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A shame the pool restaurant was closed sunday evening, otherwise we would have gone there again.

    Excellent restaurant at the pool with great value for money. Very nice staff making you feel welcome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Very nice staff, very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Great location, Very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great, excellent 👍👍🎈
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is excellent, the staff is super efficient and helpful, the food delicious. We had a great stay at your hotel 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Fantastic breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic breakfast buffet. Bedrooms (and beds) were so comfortable and quiet. A really fabulous stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    Outside dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa team is not highly qualified

    Outside dining

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    8.3
    Unfortunately the bill was as spectacular as the scenery and the vista can be .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overrated and pricy

    The size of the bathroom the size of the bed the terrasse ,rhe breakkfast and the view and finally the swimming pool .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    7.5
    Nice but a little overpriced. Hotel needs a touch up, service at breakfast was a little sleepy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Description said 'in city' but it was not.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great everything Except that in the kids room some strange insects were present !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    10
    A perfect break in beautiful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything - from the views to the food to the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room decor

    Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    9.6
    The location and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanness of the room

    The location and accommodation

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Odd that no shower holder. Housekeeping timetable was random

    Pool area. Views from Room and private Terrace

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.2
    Amazing restaurant, friendly staff, superb decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing restaurant, friendly staff, superb decor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    8.5
    beautiful Luberon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no kids menu

    the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.6
    staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite Junior with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not easy to find the hotel the first time. If you could have more accurate data in Booking..

    staff was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    9.2
    Such a peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet is a disaster, really, not acceptable anno 2016!

    Such a peaceful place. We normally avoid Michelin star restaurants (too much blabla), but we had such a perfect diner here...

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel staff were the best I have encountered in the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    If coming by car and using a Tom Tom Sat Nav beware because it takes you to the centre of the postcode which is up a hill in the middle of nowhere! You are best to phone the Reception staff who will guide you there. We phoned and they met us in the hotel car park!

    The hotel staff were the best I have encountered in the hotel trade. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    7.5
    We really liked the staff-very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We do not think this property is a 5 star. Some of the hotel seemed a bit tired. We had water temperature problems, there was an elevator that was out of order the 4 nights we were there. WiFi was very slow. The linens were rather old in the bathroom. The tennis court looked like it could really use a good cleaning.

    We really liked the staff-very nice and helpful. Lovely grounds and landscaping.

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful swimming pool and sitting areas, both inside and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi very unreliable. Breakfast should be incorporated in room price. Lunch at swimming pool was very disappointing.

    Wonderful swimming pool and sitting areas, both inside and out. Very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    7.9
    Very slow dinner service for a Michelin starwred restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow dinner service for a Michelin starwred restaurant. We waited 45mins for our starter which makes for a long meal when doing the 5 course. Food was faultless when it finally arrived.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    10
    This feels like a luxury hotel, and is as such priced well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This feels like a luxury hotel, and is as such priced well. This hotel had really friendly staff, great facilities, and I'm so glad we stayed in Gordes instead of Avignon! Beautiful little town, well worth the visit. It was lovely to walk down the hidden trail to the village from the hotel, also.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    3.8
    Very good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had booked a suit with terrace, arrived late Friday evening to have to struggle in with luggage, push chair and small baby- no elec doors and no help given by staff, to be shown to a tired double room with small balcony. When I complained, got the feeling I wasn't the first via online booking to be fobbed off like this. When I complained the next morning I got the feeling I was certainly not the first, the manageress had a set speech that I was told not to interrupt, was rudely told that the photos on Booking . Com were of the views you might be able to see from the hotel and the terrace shown in the pictures of a terrace suit was of the main suit and not the terrace suit! When I complained that this was deliberately misleading and basically fraud we were offered a slightly better room. Stayed that night only because another far better hotel ( at pretty much same rate) was not available till the next day. In addition to the above , staff were unfriendly and thin on the ground eg only one waitress on duty at the pool who argued with me over the fact that that the tepid water she provides was hot Enough to make tea and a manageress who didn't seem to care that checked out 3 days early.

    Very good view

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    8.3
    Nice views, nice outside pool, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Arrogant chef, reassured more than a day in advance a vegetarian dinner will be prepared and on the evening was informed we will get the same food as in the room service, overpriced tin tasting cream soup and handful of tasteless vegetables. Basically a hell for vegetarians this hotel. Also wifi very weak, inside pool water very cold.

    Nice views, nice outside pool, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    5.8
    the view of the hotel is good, at the top of the mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we have a junior suite, and it has a really very bad smelling from the toilet. we asked for somebody to repair, but they only spray some perfume.. which was not helpful at all. in the afternoon around 3pm, all restaurants in the hotel closed, and only two dish can order from room service. we asked for travelers adopter, but they said it's all gone, no more left. and if we want to buy, it takes 30 min to drive…

    the view of the hotel is good, at the top of the mountain. the restaurant besides the swimming pool is good, especially the bbq.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    8.8
    Amazing place with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant was too pricy and the food was not tasty at all. The restaurant staffs were not as friendly and helpful. The drive to the hotel is narrow (which I know can't be helped) but the signboards were in french which made it confusing. I drove up the livraison path...

    Amazing place with an amazing view. The staff there were really friendly and helpful. Especially the Bellhop! He took the effort to ensure everything was in place.

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    8.8
    The location, the facilities and the staff were all really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the pictures on booking.com it gives you a choice of rooms we paid extra for a junior suit with a patio and private area. When we arrived we got a room that did not match the pictures it was a basic room. I complained and they upgraded us but it was still not the pictures that were on the booking.com it's a great place to stay but save your money on upgrading your room. On our second night there they were unable to accommodate us for dinner when you pay $579.00 per night for a room you would think they could fit in one more table of 2. Overall it was a great time but disappointed in the above.

    The location, the facilities and the staff were all really beautiful

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    6.7
    Lovely pool and restaurant area, reception staff and doorman...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, our room was positioned over the restaurant (double superior) and had only one very small window in the room. Felt like an upmarket maids' room. I was also woken by breakfast staff setting up for breakfast before 5am. Reception staff were not particularly apologetic. Admittedly, the booking was made the day before so I don't expect the best room, but at a 5 star hotel I expect a little more. Drinks by the pool are overly expensive.

    Lovely pool and restaurant area, reception staff and doorman great area. Free shuttle into Les box helpful

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2015

    8.3
    The hotel has a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant only serves Michelin style gourmet food in the evening and there is no alternative venue to eat. The menu has a very limited choice of dishes for each course and it is the same menu every day. It is necessary to eat out if staying for more than a couple of nights and you do not want to repeat the same meal.

    The hotel has a superb location. Room was ccmfortable with wonderful views.The gardens and swimming pool very attractive and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Light lunch at the pool bar very good.

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2015

    9.6
    have been 3 times before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't get confused between dinner menus for half board and just having dinner

    have been 3 times before. Location unsurpassable. Attentive staff and lovely rooms especially in the converted cottages. Food undeniably lovely

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    6.7
    Very nice garden and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had 2 rooms and one was in main building the other one was in separate building which has a very ugly, very old bathroom and Most of the doors of the room and teras were not working. They need an urgent renovation

    Very nice garden and view.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    9.6
    The room was too small but the surroundings and the tea room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too small.

    The room was too small but the surroundings and the tea room and outside seating area thankfully made up for this.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.2
    Everything :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection is very bad. The staff and the owner know the problem and promised to fix it.

    Everything :)

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    7.5
    The Porter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not up to 5* standard. We could not get a table for dinner and had to go to another hotel for it!

    The Porter

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    10
    beautiful grounds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful grounds!

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    quite expensive

    Beautiful location and facilities.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    8.8
    Poolanlage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant Personal

    Poolanlage

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    10
    The hotel was exceptional from the staff, the bedroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was exceptional from the staff, the bedroom, facilities and food. Highly recommend and will certainly return for a longer stay next time.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    10
    That atmosphere , the service , the pool lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner at the restaurant

    That atmosphere , the service , the pool lunch

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2015

    9.6
    Great service,great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is poor

    Great service,great food

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2015

    5.4
    The setting and grounds and pool area are nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No effort by hotel to enhance their old rooms.

    The setting and grounds and pool area are nice .pool service is poor.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    9.6
    Gourmet food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gourmet food

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2015

    7.5
    Staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower goes hot & cold. WIFI WEAK

    Staff very nice and helpful. The grounds are very nice.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2015

    7.1
    Hotel advertised with air-conditioning but not actually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel advertised with air-conditioning but not actually available.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: