Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Mémorial 3 stars

36, avenue Montgomery, 14000 Caen, France

#38 of 38 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely overnight stop on our long journey back home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More power to the shower and a choice of hot items go breakfast e.g eggs, sausages, bacon. The croissants were not baked properly.

    The room was perfect for our family and we had lots of space. Everything was clean and tidy and we had all we needed. The staff were extremely helpful and saw to our every need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel but needs updating 're decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small for 3 people/We have been charged a triple room even that we didn't need the 3rd bed just a cotbed/room dated and not that clean/restaurant not opened the Saturday evening that we were there..

    Location/breakfast/nice breakfast room/parking available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Generally OK, but there was a terrible smell of sewage in hall and upstairs to room. Very unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell restaurant not open on weekends? Breakfast: Bread and cheese had been out for a while, this was obvious from the dryness and curled edges.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Plenty of food for breakfast, cereals, meets, cheese and pastries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower bracket broken/missing, clearly room hadn’t been checked. Set up for one person had to ask for more towels and cups. Not very clean, meant to be a 3* hotel ex Kyrid hotel needs a refurb. Name changed but panels behind doors still Kyrid

    Location for ferry back to UK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Staff tried their best to be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet didn’t work even after moving rooms and the shower was extremely hot. The breakfast was very small, little more then rolls and coffee, definitely not worth 9€. Over all the hotel was over priced for the quality of service received.

    Staff tried their best to be helpful. Hotel was easy to find and was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the cleanliness, bathroom not clean, empty wine bottle found. Also we payed via PayPal through your site but the receptionist insisted that we hadn't payed!

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Over Night Stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap room was not expecting the Ritz. However a standard level of cleanliness was missing. We've never made as swift and exit the following morning. Misleading photos of the room on booking.com what we ended up with looked drastically different and of a much lower standard. Shower in bath poorly positioned therefore difficult to shower, also the pipework made a horrific whining noise whilst in use. Dubious hairs all over the bathroom floor. Sheets stained ended up sleeping on top of the duvet. Even the simple things... no toilet roll, had to ask for more. And quite dusty. We didn't complain as there was a slight language gap at reception, and we just wanted to get on the road again.

    Warm and dry, cheap overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    All myfamily was satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No points to add

    I realy aprichiated the behavior of the personals, from the receprtion until the cleaning lady, they were kind. The Hotel is correct. As it is outside of the downtown, it has a huge parking area as well. Price are corect, and they relay searching on helping the tourists

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift for push chair

    A perfect place to stay on the last nights of our travels back to Cherbourg, easy access to the Normandy beaches, helpful and friendly service and a very comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot without any opening windows, the shower didn't work, and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We only used the hotel as a stop over travelling to a different destination (and back) but found that the price was not very good in comparison to what the room was like. Very basic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    Rooms were Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the bathrooms. We had 2 rooms and sinks in both rooms were very badly marked. Very dated and not at all appealing. Breakfast was very expensive for continental. Nearly €10 per adults! Also when I asked when breakfast was available and the response was from 8 - 8.30 as my only options! Very limited time for availability.

    Rooms were Ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.3
    We have stayed here previously but we will not be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were far too hot and were dirty under the beds. The water pressure was too poor for a shower. Tea and coffee making facilities had been removed by new management, the walls are paper thin and the whole hotel is run down. Room description states extra long beds - certainly not the case!

    Good location for Caen ferry terminal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Good breakfast the first day, the second breakfast was moved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed modernisation and were not very clean. The door towards the parking lot was hard to close properly. Photos must have been taken years ago. Sorry, but we cannot recommend this hotel

    Good breakfast the first day, the second breakfast was moved to a small room with much less variety on the buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Not what it used to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looks shabby -due a makeover in October. No tea and coffee facilities in the room that they used to have.

    Convenient location and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    You can survive one night there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel really needs a renovation. Bathroom ceiling was peeling off, bad smell in the bathroom, we found a used soap on the bathtub, very bad ventilation, lot of traffik in fromt of hotel.

    Very nice personnel, free parking in front of the hotel, within walking distance from the Memorial museum.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet leaked all night and didn't flush Got locked in the bathroom No tea/coffee making facility but there was the tray Only 1 light working in bathroom and shower gel holder empty Nothing like the advertised photos

    It was there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Holiday cut short by hotel disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security of the rooms. Locks were faulty. However, watch went missing from room. Only person with legitimate access (agency cleaner) could have taken it. Damp & mould on bathroom ceiling, faulty shower head. Grimy damaged wash hand basin. Dampness caused new towels to feel wet. At times room wasn't cleaned, nor bed linen changed, nor bins emptied. No hot option at breakfast. Disabled parking used by non badge holders, caused problem for disabled wife i.e. Further to walk. Hotel in desperate need of lock of paint & upgrade.

    Wi-Fi excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Location was good, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good, staff friendly. Beds were awesome but the bathroom was on the not so great side

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean basic friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too early so we didn’t have it

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect place for a quick stop overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was limited

    Perfect place for a quick stop overnight

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, very standard, think holiday inn Uk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good Location, very standard, think holiday inn Uk. (Alan Partridge)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good value for money. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit dated

    Great location for visiting war memorials.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Ok for a night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from downtown CAEN, with low frequency public transport options.

    The lady on the reception was very kind with my 2 kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    great helpfull staff, maids changed beds each day , always a smile , reception staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff, great, will be going back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    The weekend the restaurant and hotel bar is closed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weekend the restaurant and hotel bar is closed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service and helpful staff, very well located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    we asked for a triple bed room, but they gives a room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we asked for a triple bed room, but they gives a room with a double bed plus a single bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit sad needed refurb

    Good location.Hard to find because had been renamed and satnav became confused

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    ok for one night to break up a journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little tired and in of a refurb.

    The Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Secure parking area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    Lucky to have only booked one evening before onward journey, tired rooms need refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were dated, flaking paint in the bedrooms, dirty taps, kettle but no cups.

    Friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    the bed and the breakfast was superiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was terrible bathroom, i never saw bath like this...

    the bed and the breakfast was superiors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Staff friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel in need of a major refurb.

    Staff friendly. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Good room in Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone missing from room.

    Great location, awesome flexible staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Location, price, bathtub
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled mildewy and it was quite dated.

    Location, price, bathtub

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: