Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brit Hotel Essentiel de Granville 2 stars

57 Avenue Des Matignon, 50400 Granville, France

#20 of 33 hotels in Granville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 883 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Well placed hotel for centre of Granville, quiet surroundings, free parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and worried that insects would come in through open window.

    Comfortable room for three people although not much room for three people's luggage! Nice bathroom with good shower facilities. Good buffet breakfast for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    A lovely end to a lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better for the price we paid

    The hotel was perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll into the bustling port of Granville. The room was comfortable, the self serve buffet breakfast was marvellous, so much choice. There was storage for our bikes. Granville itself was a great place to see at the end of our holiday before going to the ferry at Cherbourg. I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is closed during the afternoon so there is no option of early check in (prior to 1600).

    We spent one night here on a bicycle trip through Normandy. It was convenient for us to get in and out of town and there was a secure spot for our bikes for the night. The room was very small (double room for two) but was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Due to the open layout, noise from the reception area travels but was quiet after 2100. The breakfast was quite good for the cost. Maybe not top quality food but good and plenty of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    basic hotel, more like a guest house
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some staff not friendly,meals expensive, Brit hotel is a chain of hotels but its a different name on sign at roundabout in Granville. This makes it difficult to find

    bed for night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Value for money but a long way out of town and the smallest room possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small and nowhere to sit except on the bed. Wardrobe was a rail to side of the bed

    Spotlessly clean, good choice for breakfast, private parking, good wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Relatively good location with easy parking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a dumb practice to authorize client's credit card for full amount immediately after booking (it was ''pay at hotel'' type of reservation), and then charge again upon check-in second time. Thus, I still have two payments pending on my CC. WiFi signal was weak in my room, and with limited capabilities (for instance, remote video surveillance and remote GPS tracking programs on my phone didn't work). I booked a triple room for single person, yet still it was very small. There was a tiny table with a tiny electric kettle and 3 tiny paper cups (100 ml each!) and - surprise - no electrical socket anywhere near that table! Little or no soundproofing.

    Relatively good location with easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Good location out of town. Near enough to walk to the old centre. Pleasant, helpful staff. 'Boutique' sized rooms comfortable and well provided. Good variety of food at breakfast ...decent sized portions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Proximity to town not too bad as long as you like a walk, rooms hot and stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a walk from town, and at the top of a hill, although there is a bus stop near by. No air-con or extra pillows. No fruit at breakfast left although I did ask for some more but Receptionist seemed to forget about my request when someone came to the desk.

    There was outside seating area, which was good, as we were late checking in so ate a Dominos pizza

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in time, we got there at 13.00 hours to be told that room was not ready until 16.00 hours. We were not asked if we wanted to leave our luggage or that we could leave our car and jgo for lunch somewhere. The receptionist was not at all helpful & was somewhat indifferent. Why do booking.com ask for your estimated time of arrival when the hotel takes no notice.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Great breakfast, very helpful staff, front desk staff spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely small. It was hard to move around even without any luggage inside.

    Great breakfast, very helpful staff, front desk staff spoke English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Looks like a chain hotel but is run like a family hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The best thing of all was 'Yannick'. He single-handedly represented the hotel with his guest-friendly approach. He welcomed us at reception, provided extra pillows, happily gave us a jug of milk to take up to the room, and gave us a map of Granville when we went exploring. He told us in detail about the evening meal option - how the chef was out during the afternoon choosing locally sourced ingredients for dinner. Then at dinner he waited at table! The room was great! It had everything you need and the decor was fresh and contemporary with a clean en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money, better inside than first impressions from the road. Ok for breakfast Small room for 3 people all single beds, didn't leave much room for bags etc etc Parking round the back was good too. Helpful friendly staff. Typical business stopover hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.3
    you absolutly need a car to go to this hotel and stay no more than one night!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location ,and the unconfortable room. The rate of the room was low but if you add 2 breakfast ,the total become 77 euros which is really to much regarding the location !

    the breakfast served as a little buffet with fresh , various and delicious breads as well as various choises of warm and fresh cold drinks. Perfect regarding the price 7,50 e per personne

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.3
    Good budget hotel for sleeping only.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms missing chair and a desk. Very poor sound insulated. Avoid rooms facing the street.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast value for money. Very good parking facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.5
    Small is almost beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a tad tight fitting for two grown ups and the bathroom was even more congested for one! The in room coffee/tea supplies were almost non-existent.

    Just what we wanted where we wanted close to Granville centre, but nevertheless plenty of free parking and very quiet at the rear of hotel. Comfortable bed and a remarkable choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    It is convenient very much for a short stay, price, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like everything very much.

    It is convenient very much for a short stay, price, location, breakfast, clean. English speaking staff. Super!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Receptionists were excellent and they spoke English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant could have been a little better

    Receptionists were excellent and they spoke English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    clean, close to town centre, parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looked bigger on the site

    clean, close to town centre, parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did exactly what we required

    Very helpful member of staff, she seemed to do everything for the whole of our stay, one night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed Excellent breakfast, extensive choice Powerful shower Friendly staff Secure place to store bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Even though the building is old and the rooms quite small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the building is old and the rooms quite small. They have cleverly invested in upgrading the bathrooms and decorating the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.7
    The rooms were clean and renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old 2 star hotel, old infrastructure, lots of noise in the hallways.

    The rooms were clean and renovated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    clean comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    manager grumpy

    clean comfy room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed it enough to look for other Brit hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room, receptionist spoke English and the room was a bit more spacious than others we have had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Decent value short term stop.clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Easy to find ..handy for several eating places.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    O.K. for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cramped rooms.

    The dinners on a very limited menu were surprisingly good and cooked from fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms but fine for an overnight stop

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Whilst at a distance from the centre by foot, it provides reliable facilities and good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, clean and quiet room on the first floor. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay, lovely gt
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great value.

    Quiet and clean. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient for the center of town and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower didn't drain very well but was a minor issue

    Very convenient for the center of town and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Homeward bound
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice setting

    Excellent location for returning tourist

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.2
    not friendly to uk citizens.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the reception was ..surly.

    the dinner was very gooid

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.0
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Family short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room, great central location, staff most professional and polite and willing to offer local information and maps etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    Staff friendly but breakfast left a bit to be desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like my coffee served fresh in the morning. I would like more space in the breakfast area. Eggs should be served fresh.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Friendly staff,good choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff,good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Really good buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room and bathroom

    Really good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.1
    Staff speaks a little english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small beds could hardly turn around (single bed) would have loved stronger coffee in the morning

    Staff speaks a little english. Breakfast pretty good over all, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.6
    For the price this hotel was great value clean , breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price this hotel was great value clean , breakfast was very nice and not to far to walk in to town would def stay there again if I was in the area ?

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Very clean with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One small thing I would suggest to the manager . (I know he is a good listener and always willing to improve) . There was too much noise coming from the reception area (I was just 2 or 3 doors down the hallway from there. Perhaps after 9pm the door to the hallway should be in the closed position to help us tired travelers sleep.

    Very clean with good facilities. Nice rooms . The manager was a very nice chap , it seemed nothing was too much to ask of him. The Lamb I had in the restaurant was really very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable bedroom (with kettle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast disappointing (no croissants) and shortage of seating probably due to large number of guests on this occasion.

    Comfortable bedroom (with kettle!), courteous staff and good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location not ideal as I arrived by train and needed to get a boat from the harbour which was a long walk..

    Comfortable room. Breakfast served from 06.30.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    I was staying with my baby for several days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was staying with my baby for several days. Everything was perfect and the staff were really kind if I need something. The only minus for me was the distance to the beach : 20-30 minutes walking as I was with stroller but the hotel was perfect, clean, prepared for little babies and reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Attractive modern building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No negative comments.

    Attractive modern building. Rooms had high quality fittings, comfortable beds and simple, clean decor. Our room for mature couple and adult son was fairly small but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Evening meal very enjoyable and a good, varied breakfast offered.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    The staff were lovely, room was nicely decorated, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the hotel didn't have an iron and ironing board, which I think should be standard in any hotel. Also the rooms were very small, even for the low price.

    The staff were lovely, room was nicely decorated, bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. Staff were helpful in providing extra towels etc.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.5
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny cramped room. Ground floor room with no window lock - hence unable to keep window partly open. Written offer on booking confirmation of free meal on first night was refused. Hotel needs refurbishing.

    Not much.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    This is a great budget hotel made fab.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bit of a walk from the port.

    This is a great budget hotel made fab. by recent renovations. Excellent modern showers and full lenght heavyweight curtains. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    The decor of our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 3rd party supplier of wifi was a bit unreliable so had a day without it and the next day it dropped out too.

    The decor of our room. The outdoor picnic tables to have our self catered meals at. Short walk to town. They were able store our tandem. Great pizza just down the road. Boat trip to Chausey was fanastic.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.1
    location, parking, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small room

    location, parking, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable, compact and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, compact and clean rooms. Good carparking and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise was coming from the floor No shampoo in the bathroom

    Comfortable stay Water kettle in the room Coffee and Tea in the room

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.5
    Clean & comfortable room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean & comfortable room, Close to town, railway station and other amenities

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Really comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really comfy bed. Room a little small but really clean and they take dogs too.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    The new decoration and bathrooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The new decoration and bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    Excellent value for money;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent value for money; clean and in a v good location.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.5
    On a trouvé un cafard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On a trouvé un cafard

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.1
    good location, good staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slightly larger room.

    good location, good staff, good food.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    kind
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location, so far from gare

    kind

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Very good staff, very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms

    Very good staff, very nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Helpful staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms rather small.

    Helpful staff, very clean. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly English speaking staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room too small

    staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    People are the main value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People are the main value!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not really a problem to us but single beds are as narrow as they can get.

    Location. Easy to find. Modern. Good staff. Clean bathroom and good shower.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Room was pleasant and breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was out of town and dinner was late. Drove into town to enjoy and earlier meal.

    Room was pleasant and breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.9
    The Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.1
    The bed was small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was small.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    Place seemed well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place seemed well run. Dinner was better than we anticipated would be served. Place to Park the car

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.1
    pleasant enough for price;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pleasant enough for price; helpful staff; good value main meal; good & helpful chef.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. Very reasonably priced and comfortable. Would deffinately recommend.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.3
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Directions to the hotel were very bad. Wifi didn't work.

    Very clean. Staff were friendly

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: