Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brit Hotel Rennes Le Castel 3 stars

260 rue de Chateaugiron, 35000 Rennes, France

#26 of 34 hotels in Rennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 420 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little to small for comfort

    We had stayed there before on our way to the ferry port at Cherbourg, so we found this convienient to our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not open at weekends and there was no internet information about that. Our room was not cleaned or serviced after our first night.

    It was convenient for visiting Rennes and close to good road links.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced breakfast - €10 each for pastry and sliced ham. Well familiar with the continental breakfast but this was lacking for the price. Location not scenic at all - this is a roadside motel, mostly business travellers. Overall very, very overpriced for what it is!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and offered us options on our rooms and advice on the excellent breakfast buffet. A nice quiet hotel with clean and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a little small.

    Hotel is easy to access from motorway. Excellent bus service outside hotel into Rennes centre. Breakfast had good continental selection.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff, price and most importantly cleaning was perfect. Thank you Brit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and nice. Price was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The above

    The shower space was very small. There was no aircon so had to have the window open with traffic noise. Hotel dated but functional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even with this simple business model, a nicer staff would have been well appreciated

    plain and simple

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh orange juice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no kettle in the room, and they don't offer free tea/coffee/chocolate.

    I loved the bed. It was quite large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs to be kept cool during hot days. Breakfast is expensive so did not order it.

    All clean and comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eggs lasts on breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was hard and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking at night would have made my husband happier

    Yes

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food was very average for the evening meal.

    Parking on site and close to motorway. Satisfactory room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed but a couple of good restaurants close by

    just off the motor way , easy to find, good onsite parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant

    Staff and location Restaurant was not open on the night we stayed😳

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have liked some food to be available, even a light supper but appreciate this is not available at weekend. Enjoyed our stay

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel restaurant is closed at weekends

    Excellent staff. Clean new hotel very convenient for the route from Poitiers to Cherbourg or other ports. Nice restaurant a few streets away which is open also on Saturdays.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really. I wasn't expecting the Hilton for the price I paid. It's a standard budget hotel at a budget price.

    Value for money. I'd being on the go for 20hrs between driving and flying. I needed a clean quiet room to sleep. No complaints

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was closed but went to great local place.

    Excellent location enroute to the Limousin. Great value. Roor was comfortable, quiet and clean. There was even tea and coffee in the room! Free wi-fi!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Initially, they tried to give us a 2nd floor room, which didn't suit for baby and with no lift.

    The girl at reception is wonderful. She realised her initial error and sorted it out ASAP. The hotel is very lucky to have her and I hope they know that.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was gloomy. The shower head kept slipping down. No facilities in room to make a hot drink. Breakfast very expensive and there were no croissants left when we went. Very noisy corridor at night with other guests making a noise. We did not enjoy our stay in this hotel.

    It was clean. Close to city centre. Parking

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was closed for the month. For some reason the bed was a little uncomfortable.

    The convenient location and security of the car park. Cars were parked right up to the hotel and in clear view. The room was clean and fresh and facilities were new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would certainly recommend this hotel The value for money when booked online was excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Couple

    Inadequate signage at entrance. We had to drive back along the dual carriageway to the last roundabout twice before we discovered where the access point was even though we were beside the hotel. Breakfast staff person unfriendly.

    Just an overnight stay when passing through. The restaurant was closed (disappointment) but the restaurant immediately next door proved excellent with super friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit hard. Breakfast could of had a larger selection .

    The cleanliness, ease of WiFi access, free car parking, reasonable restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very rude staff.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant not open w/e evenings A bit out of the way,But good bus service

    Ample parking close to a good bus route. very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    humidity in the room and the heaters were not working.

    Friendly staff and good locatipn next to highway. Quiet room as requested.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant open in evening, had to visit nearby one to get a meal

    Convenience to Motorway Excellent room Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff weren't overly welcoming and no one available at check-out.

    Check-In was relatively easy, facilities were adequate to get a good rest.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personale cortese e disponibile stanza accogliente e molto spaziosa ottima pulizia friendly staff cosy and big room good cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy off periphique

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The disdainful air of the morning' receptionist

    The location near the bus station. The price. The modern room.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was alarm in the middle of the night whitout the reason.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: