Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smart Place Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels

28 rue de Dunkerque, 10th arr., 75010 Paris, France

#679 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1373 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For those who are larger in size, the shower stall in the bathroom may be a tight fit. Elevator is also small, as per most Parisian elevators. Laundry services are also a bit expensive for €8 (wash & dry).

    Location was very near Gare Du Nord. Easy to get around with public transport, and very near Montmartre. We had a room to ourselves which was a decent size. Clean too, with friendly cleaning ladies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Location is good only if u want to be near gare du nord, we had an early train so booked this hotel for only one night as we had a lot of luggages and wanted to be near the station to avoid any surprises -double room is good yet bathroom is so small -good for only 1 or max 2 nights stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The 6 dorms room was very narrow, It was not enough space for using with 6 - Electric plugs were not enough for all - The light in toilet did not work

    It is closed to Main station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is unpleasant, not smiling and not welcoming. When i came, my bedroom was not ready ; the staff told me "all i can do is giving you bedsheets so you can do your bed yourself". I had to complain and to tell i was going to give a bad grade in Booking to get a decent room. Next morning, i had to affirm two times they had my ID before the staff agreed to check if they had it.

    Location was good ; bedrooms are ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from check in staff, who was charming, the other staff didn't even acknowledge you or leave their mobile when dealing with you. Small reception and cafe area and room but quiet for the area and clean.

    Very close to Gare du Nord Eurostar. Near some good places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is kind of small, with four people it felt pretty crowdy, not enough electric outlets to charge phones for everybody.

    The guys at the reception desk are super friendly and nice. Very close to subway and railway station. A chance to use a kitchen anytime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a bed in a rum for 4 persons with shower and toilet, very clean, fresh withe sheets, good mattress, pillows, towels. Ventilation ok, adequate kitchen. Helpful staff, Free WIFi. Near Metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady who checked me in wasn't very helpful when it came to specific questions about sites/museums/things to do. She told me to wait until someone else came back in the afternoon, but then when I did come back, it was that person's first day on the job! He tried very hard to help me figure out the answers and was very accommodating, much more-so than the senior staff member earlier in the day.

    Conveniently located near the train station, Montmarte within walking distance, easy public transport elsewhere. Staff was friendly, facilities clean, bed comfortable. They even provided towels and shampoo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is too small to fit more than two person. I bought better breakfast at the close by baker with better croissants and pastries choices than what was offer on-site at the same or lower price. I chose to wash my laundries onsite but I can walk a couple blocks and do my laudries at EUR 4.5 instead of the higher price onsite. The staffs are superb helpful and accommodating; with the exception of the lady manager who I heard arguing with a guest for free breakfast (EUR 4 something).

    Close to Gare Du Nord and Eurostar, very impressed with the staffs: I asked them from where to eat, where to go, what does a French word or phrase mean in English. They are extremely nice and accommodating! Worth my every cents to stay there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds were squeaky and shaky. Bathtub has no curtain so floor always get wet after shower. No air condition. No electric outlet in convenient location at the beds.

    Great location. Easily walked to the Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were average, if a little tired and you would expect more modernity for the price. Plus the whole Hostel had the odour of cigarette smoke, someone definitely smokes inside the Hostel building All which one could look past is the atmosphere and vibe of the Hostel was fun and lighter. Staff are seriously moody and you can tell do not want to be there although it is work time they are fair to grumpy for the service industry and especially as Hostels live or die by their atmosphere. I know this is Paris and you generally expect some discourtesy but was a little surprised that the generally fun-natured Latin-American people who made up most of the staff here had clearly let too much of the famed Parisian service rub off on them. Don't get me wrong I love Paris and the people, in general, are brilliant but their infamy of Service is so heralded, for good reason.

    Location is decent, especially its proximity to Gare du Nord if a little 'rough and ready' suburb. In fairness like most suburbs right next to a large travel Trains station. Think Kings Cross in London, perhaps in the 1990's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected in an older place, we heard every footstep above us, and our neighbor showering at 5:30am... Which was fine once I realised that it had probably annoyed him when I showered at midnight!

    Very close to Gare du Nord. Everything as expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reality was a lot less like the pictures. This place is a hostel and a budget hotel. I suppose the price should have clued me in. No AC and there was a mop and bucket outside the door of our room when we first checked in. The elevator was so small and could only fit a person with one luggage.

    Lucy was so sweet, accommodating and very helpful. Even if there was no AC, she readily lent us a fan. And the Viviana, the other receptionist, sent us off with croissants for our long flight. So sweet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small and our room in particular had all the walls painted red. The facilities are basic but overall you get a good value for money.

    Location location. This is the best place to stay if you are travelling to Paris by train. Very close to Gare du Nord and within walking distance to Sacre Coeur and Notre Dame. As an added bonus, you also get access to a kitchen and fridge. Handy if you want to prepare your own meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matresses not comfortable and squeaky bedframes.

    Helpful, professional staff. Common area was nice. Close to many places to eat. Very close to Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smaller, as is normal for old buildings.

    The staff at Smart Place Paris were amazing!!! From the Manager, Viviana, to all the staff - Lucie, Sylvia, Seka, Henri, Sandro, Melan, and the rest - they always made my stay so comfortable - very accommodating and friendly yet professional with all my touristy requests and queries!!! So convenient to all public transportations - Gare Du Nord is 2 minutes walking, Gare de L’Est is 10 minutes walk, Groceries, post office, restaurants, Sacre Coeur, Moulin Rouge, Opera House, Galleries LaFayette...all so convenient!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was very close to the train station. its a clean hostel, rooms are small but beds are comfortable. can leave ur luggage after check out that was really helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is awful. WiFi is very important personally as I like to kick back and relax after a long day of exploring. If you need WiFi at hostel, I do not recommend staying here. Also, outlets are awkward here as there were three in front of one bed and none anywhere else in the dorm. Not a bad place for the money though.

    Good location. Clean and great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of the other people in the dorm came home late and would wake me up with the light and going up and down the creaky bed. If it wasn't for them I would have a good nights rest. The place was fully booked every night so staff couldn't move me. But if you are lucky you will get some French room mates who I find much more conscientious at night.

    Staff was friendly and customer focussed. Its clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is very small, only fit one person and one luggage

    Location near Gare du Nord, the balcony is small but have a great view, the receptionist lady was very helpful,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception attends keep changing and not always had the minimal knowledge to instruct the hostel guests.

    The location of the hostel was great and near the main train station. I stayed in a private bedroom so it was very comfortable. The cleaning service was impeccable. The kitchen had everything o need to prepare your meal and the fridge had a lot of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and a bit dingy (with barely enough water pressure to take a shower). Internet was very slow (don't even think about streaming anything!).

    Location, friendly staff, comfy bed, price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the noise! It’s so crazy. You for sure need ear plugs if you want to stay there. Rooms are really tiny which is typical for Paris. There is no air conditioning so the only way to keep fresh air flowing is to keep your windows open which is great but again downside of this is noise which doesn’t stop at any day of the week. It’s literally 24/7 and there is nothing you can’t do about it. But if u r okay with it then I would recommend to stay there. It’s oretty far from the city center places like Notre Dame is 45min walk which is pretty far but I knew that and I still decided to book this place. I think it should be cheaper. Out of 6 nights I could only sleep 2nights because of that noise. Also there was water dripping from the ceiling in the afternoon/ early evening when people were taking showers. It was pretty interesting definitely not in a good way.

    I like the lobby and people working at this hostel and also security.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t have any activities to visit the city and plus when I got there I had issues with the WiFi and the girl said if it doesn’t work it doesn’t, not helping at all and she said it in french but I speak perfectly. Anyhow, the internet wasn’t working properly in all my stay there.

    This hostel is really well located nearby the metro and buses and main train station. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Near to Paris Nord Station, some other metro station and bus stop. so easy to go anywhere in Paris from here. Restaurants and super market is also very close. Staff was very friendly and helpful, they gave me suggestions and recommendation about travel in Paris. Room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a little nicer. But overall its still an enjoyable experience.

    Clean bed. Bathrooms. Great ambience in the receptionists area . Place is near to Gare du Nord station. Thanks for an amazing experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 sockets for 4 people! And they were not near beds, so you can't really charge your phone at night. No personal lights near beds (but they are rare in hostels)

    It's very close to gare du Nord so for those travelling late at night it's a perfect place to stay. It was also quiet, big bathroom, average size room. Bathroom was not new and there was some painting flaking off and mould, but very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small, is practically impossible 4 people circulate at the same time. Lockers very small, can fit only a regular bagpack. Shower box very small, you can not move yourself to take a shower. For breakfast you can have only one croissant, one cofee/chocolate or cold beveragem, you might be hungry soon.

    I stayed in a room with 4 bed (only 2 outlets for the room), everything was clean and staff is gentle. Everything is clean as possible. The location is good, you have a lot of transportation options, also is possible go to some tourist points by walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big, and there’s a balcony with some chairs for me to enjoy the view. Perfect location for those who’s catching the Eurostar. Lucie is very very nice and she speaks English fluently!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a fair way away from the main tourist attractions. Was a decent hostel.

    Friendly staff, good kitchen, close to train and bus transport. Lots of nice restaurants and bars close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I tried to use the Kitchen one night but was dirty and microwave too and smell very bad. At night the area is unsafe I don't recommend walking alone very late at night, in that case try to use taxi to reach the place.

    The room was very clean, metro station about 8 minutes from the hotel, near of lot of restaurants. Quite place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tight for 4 people, not enough room to move around, but, ok during winter.

    The staff made my stay so fabulously relaxing!!! Viviana, Andy, Raissa, Lucy, Seka, Maria, Alexander, Melan, and Dita were all so professional, accommodating, yet wonderfully friendly!!! They helped me with every touristy queries/requests and recommendations were on par!!!! It was my 2nd time and going back for a 3rd stay!!! The hostel was so convenient to everything, especially the Gare du Nord station and Gare de L’Est was just a few minutes walk more. Lots of touristy sites one could walk to like Sacre Cour, Bastille/Republic, Galleries La Fayette and Opera, and public transports are just few meters outside the hostel!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms were cramped, and the showers made for kids not Adults.. no room at all to do anything. 2 euros for a espresso and 1.90 for a muffin and Espresso right down the road

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is only after 3, but this is similar to other hostels. Well conected but you always need to take some transport except for Montmatre.

    I took a single room, it is small but it has desk and wardrobe. Everything is new, the bathroom was clean and the kithchen common area downstairs has everything to do a light lunch or breakfast. Supermarket, buses and trains 5 min walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lockers didn't have any locks in them and you had to rent them or get your own. The room was a bit small and did get stuffy though it was winter so was tolerable however the lack of ventilation can become intolerable in the summers. There were no free towels or toiletries provided and they should try to add these in the stay. There were issues with the Wi-Fi speed and connectivity but only for a little while though they should try to improve the speed of the Wi-Fi. The breakfast was a little bland. Should be more in quantity and variety. Lack of a slice of bread and the ability to toast it was a bit off putting for me. They should try and offer a buffet breakfast with some French delicacies.

    The staff pretty much. Excellent and friendly, especially Dita who I would personally commend for all her help when I needed it. The fact that they had tickets to every major sightseeing place is a plus. The room was good, small but relatively comfortable with a decent bathroom on the 6th floor with a little city view. The sitting area is good and comfortable. The location is central being 5 minutes from the Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One toilet - 6 pax sharing and for those stay upper deck bed need to be careful of their head as it easily to get hit by the top wall.

    God location, near to the train station. 24 hrs reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was great. I lost my train from Paris to the airport and thanks to the information they provided to me, I could arrive by bus on time to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit smelly and not very well equipped, but it was ok and all in all, i thing i got exactly what i paid for.

    The kitchen, the staff, the location were excellent. Shops and metro station nearby. Had a great chat with other people checked in there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the towels, some soap and electrical plugs near 2 bed(only2, for 4persons).

    Was easy to find it, not far from Gare de Nore station in Paris. Friendly staff, easy accommodation, the kitchen with kettle, microwave, plates, tea and the ability to leave you baggage after checkout to go to see the city before your departure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While we stayed there, the wi-fi had a damage so we could not use it for two days. The fact that you can hear all that happens in the other rooms is uncomfortable and the smell of the bathroom is unpleasant

    The place is very well located, but the room is very small, you can hear everything that happens in the other rooms. The bathroom is clean, and they change the towels every day, which is really good, but it smells bad all the time, I guess that is because the building is old so the plumbing may need refurbishment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic - it would have been nice to have a wardrobe or at least a side table & lamp next to the bed!

    Great location for train station & metro. Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from everything, you have to take public transportation

    The hostel was wonderful, very organized and clean, the staff was so helpful and they were friendly. The room is nice, clean and the bathroom is very good .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleaner blankets. Mine had fresh food stains. Seems like it was only nicely folded but not washed? but thankfully theres 2 bedsheets given where I use it to line the bed and another as a blanket as a substitute.

    Croissants were good. crispy on the outside yet soft inside. Free and easy access to kitchen where we could heat up food and make free cups of tea. location. just 5mins walk from paris gare du nord. 20-30mins walk to galerie lafayette hausmann. nice halal "kfc" near gare du nord.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold, the blanket was thin. The location wasnt great and the breakfast was overpriced and boring.

    Nice hot shower, quiet room and it was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We booked the private double room which was as described, small and basic but with everything we needed and expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was secure luggage storage before and after check in. A few minutes walk from Gare du Nord.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower cubicle (but that's really a minor thing).

    Great location for coming in and out of Gare du Nord. Clean, friendly and amazing value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no coffee or tea in the kitchen

    very good location, some famous attractions walking distance. Staff attentive and flexible, multilingual. hostel offers airport shuttle and is walking distance from Eurostar train station. Room was looking nice and clean, a bit small but we were not expecting bigger as this is a hostel. It's a hostel but with the quality of a hotel, I would say. I would go back and I recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Love the warm friendly and helpful staff. The location is fantastic. I was allowed to drop my bag as it was too early to check in. I could go visit a number of touristic places at ease. Upon checking out I could leave my luggage again free of charge as my departure was in the evening. All this services is amazing and help my stay in Paris a wonderful one. Will come stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend to management to add recycling bins. So many empty tins and bottles going to waste!

    The lounge area was clean and the staff where very friendly. Location-wise it was very convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was way too much in the room and we could not reduce it, had to open the windows in the middle of the night, as all of us in the room were sweating profusely. The utensils in the kitchen are very dirty. Breakfast is okay at 4 euros for 2 croissants, tea/coffee and a juice can, but I wouldn't eat that more than once.

    Easy to access from the Gare du Nord station, although Nord is a tricky area post 9pm in terms of safety. Wouldn't advice you to take the metro if you arrive late in the night. Otherwise the location has easy access to almost everywhere in and around Paris.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly cramped but still enough room to move around freely .

    Very warm welcome from staff , friendly atmosphere close location to Gare du nord train station . Cooking facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could said that I don't like was the size of the elevator, but I think it's not important or even relevant for this query.

    I like everything in the hostel. The employees are very nice and helpful, the cleanness of the room and bathroom was perfect, the room isn't big but have everything that we need to rest. The location is perfect near from different kind of restaurants, coffees, and very near of the metro station: I really recommended the Smart Place Paris Hostel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets were very thin, so I'd recommend bringing your own. The room didn't have much space so it gets quite crowded with 4 travellers and all their luggage in the limited space, however still manageable!

    Staff were super friendly and helpful and speak your language. Comfortable environment, convenient use of kitchen. They've got guitars and a drum in the lobby! It was super fun to jam with other travellers. The open lobby space makes it easy to make friends which is awesome for finding out all the cool places to check out in Paris!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm rang in the evening but there was no announcement to tell us what had gone wrong. Thankfully, everything went back to normal after several puzzling minutes.

    Minutes away from the metro and Gare du Nord. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Overall a pleasant stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    honestly, a pretty bad stay other than the nice staff. the room had bad ventilation and the charging points were in awkward parts of the room, one bed had 3-4 charging points and the rest didn't have a single one. the toilet was a bit rundown and didn't really seem clean, and the bed was rather uncomfortable but i was tired as hell so i didn't find much of a trouble falling asleep. they could definitely improve a lot on the cleanliness and facilities in the room as it was rather bare. thank god it wasn't winter because the heater was pretty useless in the room.

    the staff were helpful at the very least, even if the rest of my experience was pretty disappointing. they were clear and friendly in giving directions around the area. the location was decent as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dorms are a bit small but it's comfy for resting after going out. Wish the electrical outlets in the room are placed near the beds than the desk.

    The staffs were very nice during my check-in and check-out. A good value of money for a place in Paris. Since it's located near Gare du Nord, there's an easy access to the metros,buses and RER trains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish that there were two washers/dryers, as I was up soooo late one night waiting for someone else to finish theirs, and then doing mine! Their smoking section in the back appears to be right by the air intake for the building -- sometimes you'd get the terrible smell of cigarette smoke coming in to the ground floor food/social area, even when the doors were closed. I guess Europeans are quite used to cigarette smoke, but Canada is much stricter with smoke laws, so I found it kind of gross. REALLY need to put some oil on the door hinges and locker hinges. SO SQUEAKY. Made it impossible to come in late without being disruptive to other people in the room. Would like more than one outlet for the room (a 4 person dorm!) Their public computer wasn't working, though luckily they let me use the one at the desk, but the keyboard was french and took me forever to type things out!! lol! Bathrooms were alright, but tub did not drain well, which was kind of icky. Had to ask for additional toilet paper several days. Lockers in room were not big enough to hold a carry-on type back -- you'll have to take your valuables out of your bag to stash them in there.

    Appreciated the ability to store food/make our own food. Staff were super friendly, even when faced with entitled British 16 year olds who freaked out at them because their dad did their reservation wrong online (lol, so if you see a review on here complaining about how the hostel didn't accommodate under-age minors by putting them in a private room, there was some user-error in making their booking, not the hostel's fault!!). Free wifi was great. Great bakeries and such nearby, and SO close to Gare du Nord! Really liked the social area by reception -- was great way to meet people from so many countries, and get tips from people who'd already been in the city for a few days! It was great to sit down with some local wine and cheese and sausage and chill:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms not in a best state

    Close to Gare du Nord and Gare d'Est. Classical hpstel with everything needed and nice, helpfull staff. I recommend for every not very demanding traveller

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Great free tea- coffe. The kitchen was well equipped and maintained. Great proximity to Gare du nord and had nice mini markets near by

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well from the pictures it looked like a smart clean place. I wish the blankets had duvet covers, not just a sheet on one side. Rooms were tiny, as was the shower. No soap or towels but I guess you get what you pay for. I would pay more to get that. You should have a black-list or some kind of guide of accepting guests. I shared a room with a lady that had some psychological issues. She did not answer when I talked to her (French or English although she talked to herself in French). She kept closing the window and it was closed, stuffed, hot air in the room. She was shushing the other guests in the kitchen while wearing ear-plugs. I think she took a photo of me without my approval. Worst she was snoring so loud that the bunk-bed was slightly moving. Another woman in the room was trying to wake her up by coughing but did not work. After 2 hours of horror and going down to the reception to escape it, I took my mattress and slept on the floor of another room (thank you to those guys for letting me sleep there). On the floor, with the window open, I slept like a baby. The staff told me that she stayed there before and they usually do not take her but the guy was new and did not know. Maybe she has nowhere to stay, I don't know what her story is, it is certainly a memory of Paris I can talk about.

    I liked the location close to the train station and metro. Also walking distance from Sacre Coeur and Moulin Rouge. If you go down the Poissonniere street you can find lots of cafes and patisseries that have nice combos for breakfast (6 euro for a quiche, a coffee and a dessert of your choice), then further down all kinds of restaurants. Staff was nice but needs better crisis management.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The westafle in the bathroom is not clean enough.

    I like staying at smart place hostel, it seems the cover bed is regularly changing and looks clean. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How the reception personnel attended to our safety concern. When they put us into a shared accommodation with a man who always undresses himself in front of us and offered to pay for sex. We ended up not having a rest during our stay because we are frightened.

    Near train station and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so small, and the bunk bed was too low that I couldn't sit on the lower bed.

    The place is nice, the staff were friendly, the room had a private bathroom, and I got to store my luggage for free :D

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is the pillow, it was uncomfortable.

    Great room with balcony and view on gare du nord, comfy bed. Many metro stations and stores nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room i stayed (4 bed) is incredibly tiny. You can barely walk past to get to your bed let alone have 4 people in there at once with everyone's luggage. The bunk beds seemed unsafe - no railing on one of the top bunks. It just wasn't really a comfortable stay.

    Location is good - very close to Gare du Nord Kitchen is kind of small but enough. The staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could have more power outlets, in more convenient places.

    Great place, helpful staff, convenient location, good rooms. I've stayed twice and both times were perfectly satisfactory. Can't speak to the breakfast or things like that though as each visit was a very brief stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeaky bed! Not much of a friendly hostel vibe. Probably wouldn't recommend longer than a night.

    Very good price for Paris. Rooms are obviously basic, but you get a nice decent sized bathroom... with a bath! Right next to Gare Du Nord station so ideal if you're arriving on the Eurostar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is definetely a budget hotel, so minimal comfort: rooms are tiny and no amenities, which is to be expected of a hostel. My only real problem was that my room smelled really strongly of old fabric and dust (not sure that's the best description, but like a basement), which I assume was from the huge, old curtains, which was terrible for my allergies. Other than that, if you don't expect luxury and you're staying for about one night, I recommend it.

    Staff was really great and the place was generally nice for the price. Location is about a 5 minute walk from Gare du Nord, which is great for travelling and metro, but not very safe at night. It was clean and seemed safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Posted to fb without my knowledge to log onto wifi. Elevator was ridiculously tiny. No barrier around shower left whole bathroom soaked. No breakfast. Gross coffee & no milk provided. Poor social area. Beds were extremely squeaky, worst Ive had yet.

    Staff was friendly & accomodating. Let me store my luggage for free after checkout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room quite small

    Great staff at reception Very clean Very good breakfast will set you up for most of the day ahead. Luggage storage facilities Safe for valuables Kitchen facilities and tables for eating your own prepared food. Close to Gare di Nord and transport TABLE FOOTBALL!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs improvement. Tub bath but no curtains. Mirror sledge was broken.

    The location near Paris Nord and EST station. All transport are available to go to sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Each bed has no lighting nor outlet, nor curtain. About outlet nobody in my room was using outlet so I could keep my one, but if not... :(

    *Inexpensive price *Smart staffs *Have hairdryers(need ID) *Free storing luggages

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hair dryer provided in the room and we had to use our passports to exchange and borrow a hair dryer. It was rather inconvenient.

    The hostel is within walking distance from the Gare Du Nord and there are a lot of eateries nearby. The room we stayed in was clean and there was a common area where we could cook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It could have more power outlets. The hotel was undergoing painting work that week, and it would have been nice to be warned about it upon arrival.

    Amazing staff!!!! Some of them spoke portuguese, and all of them were extremely helpful. They gave all sorts of directions and good tips. I had a problem with a weird lady staying in my room but the reception was very nice about. The location is AMAZING, right next to Gare du Nord and close to a supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast are in a hotel next door, all ok, just it prevents a bit from meeting people from the Hostel and networking.

    the Hostel is very ok, clean, personal is very friendly and helpful. I appreciated having bathroom in 4 room dorm.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Smart Place Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: