Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Champagne

30, Rue Eugene Mercier, 51200 Épernay, France

#10 of 14 hotels in Épernay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.8
    We did not complain as we were only staying one night, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a terrible smell of musty sitting water. The bed creaked, the plug sockets were hanging off the wall, I plugged my hair straighteners in and it tripped the electricity for the while floor! The bar has little or no atmosphere.

    We did not complain as we were only staying one night, and we had to get up early and leave, so what we did experience of the staff was very helpful, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Will stay here again if in Epernay =center of Champagne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room. Service at breakfast needed more staff. One person doing all was not enough when htl fully booked.

    Nice service minded staff. Good aircon. Good location with big parking space across the street. Very short walk to middle of center with all champagne bars and -shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Nice location - but much better elsewhere in Epernay for when we return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor breakfast - on first day they "ran out of cold milk, yoghurts, and just about everything else...." Room was very small.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal spot from which to explore Champagne region
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is very central and in easy walking distance from many nice restaurants in Épernay and of course Ave de Champagne. The room is very comfortable and clean and staff always helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but too thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are really small and you can hear everything your neighbours are doing. Bring earplugs!! Keep in mind you are in France, so they are talking way too loud ( especially after some alcoholic consumptions) and staying up way too late. Also they blocked Netflix. YouTube does work with the free WiFi. However, this is one of the cheapest options for a great location and clean room.

    The location is amazing; really central and on walking distance to the main spots. After 19.00 free parking, but there is a parking spot across the hotel. But if you are there in the weekends, best is to parc on the Streets; Sunday is free, this is not on the parkingplace across the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    It was in a very good location, very clean and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doors slammed a bit and the aircon in our room didn’t work (didn’t complain about it though)

    It was in a very good location, very clean and the staff were all lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Wonderful and comfy hotel with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here.

    This is a great hotel. At first I read some reviews and was a bit worried. But I was wrong. The hotel is owned by Best Western and it’s a great property. They must have revamped everything. The location is about 7 minutes from train station and two mins from Ave de Champagne. Room was very clean and had everything that we needed. The beds were also comfortable. The staff was kind enough to watch our bags for several hours while we wandered the city. Short distant to tourist office where they gave lots of information. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    3.8
    Only stay here if there are no other options
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff were both very unfriendly and unhelpful - room wasn't ready upon arrival - Bar was in a word bad - Room was dirty - bed was too small - bathroom badly needed maintenance

    Nothing to like really. Location is fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    5.8
    OK but would look elsewhere if passing through Epernay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hotel which claimed to have all smoke free rooms there was a surprising constant aroma of cigarette smoke, especially in the foyer and on 4th floor landing, Decor rather faded and old fashioned.

    Breakfast quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.8
    Good accommodation in the middle of Epernay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was huge, I mean you could wave on each other from sides of the bed :) We didn't have specific plan where to go and there were plenty of leaflets downstairs in the lobby which helped us. And also there was a wide range of jams for breakfast :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    practical and efficient accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Save 15 % - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very complicated long stay parking arrangements - hard to arrive at and need a credit card to pay. No cash.

    Location vis a vis restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    3.8
    The hotel was the worst of our entire, great, trip in a great region
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna and Fitness are a disaster! Staff was not polite at breakfast when we wanted to put two tables together. Bar is very limited with only two stupid beers. Rooms are too small and double bed is just good for one person. View from room is nothing. Old hotel and not maintained. Staff smokes in a separate room that you smell during breakfast.

    Ontbijt was OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nowhere to put your suitcase. The hall smelled funny. The bathtub is very high, not easy to climb out. Everything is very basic.

    Nice breakfast. Location and friendly staff are the best things about this hotel. The beds are comfortable though. We were happy that we could bring our dog with us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    9.6
    A great value, super friendly stay in Epernay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful taking time to talk to us, they booked a taxi to Reims for us at very short notice so we could make one of the tours on time. The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is within walking distance to some great restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.6
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There weren't any dislikes.

    Staff -Jillian-very welcoming and helpful. Clean and comfortable room. We were provided with an upgrade without request, which we appreciated. We were able to park outside the hotel in the street. Also, there was outdoor public car opposite the hotel. Well located with easy walk to restaurants and patisserie. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    5.8
    Good location, watch out for your stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My wallet went missing from the room. I'm pretty sure it was taken by one of the cleaners. If you are staying here use the safe!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    8.3
    Decent staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC didn't work in my room, so it was toasty , but the room was a bargain.

    One of the staff members was very nice and helpful, the other....begrudgingly so. But the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    3.3
    CONSTANT CIGARETTE SMOKE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    FALSE ADVERTISING. This hotel is NOT smoke free. As soon as you walk in the lobby the smoke smacks you in the face. I was on the first floor and it smelled like someone had a cigarette burning at all times. I had to stuff towels under my door to try to keep the smell out. The worst part about it is it was the staff or manager who was smoking inside. And at the front door there is a sign that says smoke free hotel. I am traveling with a 6 month old and was so mad he had to be around this. Seriously the worst problem with cigarette smoke I have had in 2 months in France. I you have asthma, children, or just hate everything stinking-stay away. This was NOT stale smoke smell but literally someone constantly chain smoking. Wish I could have my money back. Also, breakfast is 13€ and is nothing but bad pastries and cereal. They had an egg boiler but the water wasn't even hot enough to cook the egg.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While it was convenient it did smell a little bit like someone had smoked in there, and as with any "standard" chain hotel around that price it feels like poor value for money

    Great location. They also had a garage wr could keep our bikes in which was very handy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    6.0
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smoking, reception, bf average

    1) i did not receive a confirmation email 2) the hotel was smoke free but the receptionist was smoking outside the building 3) the price was 110e. I assumed all in but breakfast was added and taxes I ll never book a bw again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in our room was difficult to use as seem to have been installed the wrong way round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Price range of the hotel should be around €50 range not double - Airco is fixed and not adjustable

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    perfect for a stop over
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a bit dark inside and you could be in any city in the world

    Its a Great Western so the standards of cleanliness etc are high.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ran out of beer!!!!

    Good location, friendly staff comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.9
    An OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really

    Location and proximity of parking across the street. Tea making facilities in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.9
    No curtains
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No curtains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was way to expensive for what you received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was way to expensive for what you received.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    A Nice stay with walking distance to the main restaurant areas, bistros and some champagne houses
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had problems with a lampfitting, which was promptly replaced, good! The AC in two of our rooms had problems one night but was fixed, good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    6.5
    I have been going to this hotel for many years and will continue to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very poor for the money. Needed updating.

    Pleasant reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    A perfect Champagne weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location, pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smelt and too hot. You couldn’t lower the room temp under 20

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    6.3
    quiet room
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    buffet breakfast a bit 'light' lighting in corridors slow to start

    quiet room comfortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast price is very very high, too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast price is very very high, too expensive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.5
    The room was a bit small compared to price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small compared to price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.6
    Look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Close to town centre. Decent size room. Immaculate bathroom etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.9
    Good central hotel with basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No long term parking in the locality.

    Good value which was available to book at short notice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.1
    Perfect for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Few facilities at the hotel

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff and location made for a wonderful trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom tired Parking is on street and an additional fee

    Staff were wonderful Went the extra yard to tend to our needs Ideally located

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent overnight stay. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking but ample public parking close by

    Staff friendly; breakfast good; room what we expected with mini bar; excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.0
    Very nice self service breakfast, a little pricey at 13...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfy, but a little dated.

    Very nice self service breakfast, a little pricey at 13 euros each though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken fridge in room , which they knew about Room door wouldn't close

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.1
    Fine location in Epernay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room's somewhat outdated

    Value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    A great location and a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The courteous and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. Very clean. Good bathroom facilities. We did not have breakfast as we left early to continue our journey.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    10
    Well worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find, friendly staff, easy parking, great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    4.6
    Past it's sell by date.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dull, drab and in need of refurbishment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Staff friendly and helpful. Location excellent to walk to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.6
    Super champagne break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly? The bed was a little snug.

    Excellent location, staff super friendly and really helpful. Would definitely come back if in the area again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    8.8
    Location - great for visiting the big champagne houses and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit pricey since there are a lot of cheaper options nearby. Other than that, it was perfect.

    Location - great for visiting the big champagne houses and also for shopping and restaurants. Service - Check in with a smile and good English. we checked in early, which was not a problem. Bed - not too hard or soft. Had a great nights sleep. Shower - very good shower and tub with good pressure and detachable head.

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2015

    9.2
    Location great and great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor recommendation on lunch options yesterday - it was 2pm and they sent us to La Banque which was closed for lunch, and then the second recommendation was Progres brasserie which was disgusting microwaved food! Shame - get better recommendations please.

    Location great and great price

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    9.6
    The front desk staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk staff were very helpful. Franc went out of his way to make sure that we were happy and comfortable. The location was fabulous. Reasonable public parking across the street. The room was small but always clean.

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    7.5
    Location , clean and simple room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Attendants incorrect knowledge of the area, however they were friendly and attentive. Just gave us a lot of wrong information.

    Location , clean and simple room.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little expensive as stayed during December champagne festival.

    Great location. Friendly staff who spoke good English

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fairly noisy room with traffic Toilet door did not lock

    Good location Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2015

    8.8
    The location to the cellars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location to the cellars. Parking is not available on site but there is a public lot across the street. Good restaurant options nearby.

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    9.2
    Town Centre and good parking close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Town Centre and good parking close by

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location, in the middle of the town, large public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, in the middle of the town, large public car park opposite

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    8.8
    hotel bar available with champagne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel bar available with champagne

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    7.9
    Staff really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room but still comfortable for a night.

    Staff really friendly and helpful. More quiet than what I expected at first.

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2015

    9.6
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Central location

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! You can walk to everything in town. Good restaurants for a small town.

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    7.9
    Room tastely decorated and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner seem to operate, but did not cool or provide any air flow. Foyer was very warm also.

    Room tastely decorated and very clean.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2015

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell of smoke and stains on bedroom carpet

    Location.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast is really north worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is really north worth it!

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: