Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Mercure Bayonne Centre Le Grand Hotel 4 stars

21 Rue Thiers, 64100 Bayonne, France

#14 of 28 hotels in Bayonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments apart from the fact that unfortunately whilst we were there road works were being carried out near the hotel which was noisy and dusty - all of which was beyond the hotels control

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Ideally situated. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, lots of plumbing noises and generally the furnishings in the room and hallways looked tired.

    Good location,nice reception area nan staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was very pleasant in this quaint town. Our receptionist was very accommodating when we needed to park our car for a bit longer after our check-out time in the hotel parking spot. I enjoyed the hotel breakfast and using the lounge area to do a bit work. Overall a really nice stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The energy in this hotel is great. Pleasant and professional people. The comfort of the room. A lot of good investment in this hotel. A wonderful breakfast-room. I like this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were few places to eat in the evening in the area

    Beautiful period hotel exceptionally well maintained Our room was very comfortable with a modern bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only (tiny) complaint was that they need to replace the hairdryers. They're a bit outdated and don't provide strong or hot air.

    Very friendly, super comfortable bed--perfect for a disco nap! Breakfast was in a gorgeous room with a nice selection. The bar looked like it was getting renovated--progress looked cool. Great location walkable to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of the recently redesigned bedroom (312) was quite frankly, ridiculous! Large boxed cupboards to each side of the bed with the most stupid flexi lamps attached, were quite dangerous. Both of us struck our heads during the night and upon rising when exiting the bed. Also, the disproportionately designed wardrobe units opposite the bed, were totally unnecessary and made the room claustrophobic. Probably the result of an inexperienced young designer.

    The bathroom was excellent in design, space and layout. The original, but updated old fashioned open grill door lift was most charming, especially with the internal seat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator, at times had. "Mind of it's own" But loved the fact that it was vintage. Staff could have been more friendly

    Great location..clean room , comfortAble bed, quiet street and a good shower. .Arrival at hotel....no help and even hard to get luggage out of car on this one way street with one "stopping" space. First evening the hotel dining room was closed for a private party ....no warning at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room. The colours they applied in it were rather special. ( strange choice of the interior designer, totally different from the style applied in the lounge / breakfast room. The almost impossible parking place ( very narrow and on the 5th floor )

    The lovely breakfast area and lounge. The location was right in the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unclean bathroom, thinking positively. Noisy room, really old and noisy elevator with limited capacity.

    Extremely good position of the hotel, luscious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little updating would be nice for business people. A refrigerator would be helpful.

    The location was close to the Botanical Gardens and River. Excellent location to bus (Biarritz) and restaurants. Nice breakfast. The rooms are lovely. This is an older hotel with a lot of character. I liked that. It was quiet at night and our beds were comfortable. The staff was knowledgeable and helped us when we had questions about the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Interesting architecture. Lovely old fashioned lift which was always available without long waits and went at a good speed! Very pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website said there was an English style pub. There isn't one. The website also said there was a mini bar in the room. There wasn't one. We were told we could ask for an ice bucket. The women at the front desk weren't friendly as the man who helped us. They just looked at us. We said Bonjour and then they said bonjour.

    A man at the front desk helped us find a renovated room after we complained that the room on the 2nd floor was old and not up to our standards. We could see that the hotel was renovating rooms on the 2nd floor but ours wasn't done. We paid extra for a more modern room on the 4th floor but it was worth it although all the rooms on the 2nd & 4th floors are small. Convenient location. Shops, restaurants and grocery stores around the corner. 12 mins. walk to a covered market near the river. Bought food & wine and enjoyed a picnic by the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access into the shower

    The room was a good size, for me to use my wheelchair in, the bed was really comfy, the only problem i had when using the shower, i had a step up into it of around 10 to 15 cm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no free parking near the hotel.

    The hotel still retains a an air of "The Grand Hotel" Very friendly and helpful staff. Gluten free option for breakfast. Perfectly situated in Bayonne.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice staff with lots of information of the city helped us a lot. Thanks to her, we could visit lovely restaurants & bars for "Tapas" & shops in "le Pays de Basque"!! Also, very clean & large room!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't very good.

    The central location is unbeatable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable- great pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are in need of updating.

    The bed was really comfortable. A good breakfast.Lots of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups were awful, also the bathroom was cold. We asked for the towel rail to be put on this never happened.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking facilities

    cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking could have been provided

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff incredibly friendly as welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful bi-lingual front desk staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is efficient and well run.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access to the public car park was somewhat confusing.

    The hotel is located in a very interesting area of Bayonne.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value, expensive breakfast

    Location, staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive parking.

    Confortable bed, friendly staff, situation centre of town,excelent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive at 16 euros per night, but the hotel was very centrally located and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I got smell really bad

    The location is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position. The woman at the reception was very careful and helpful with us

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed...

    Room excellent. Bed was uncomfortable.too firm.fortunately had no nails!!

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: