Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance

1 rue de Courtonne, 14018 Caen, France

#24 of 63 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    6.7
    All worked out fine but no thanks to Booking.com
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that booking.com had not passed on the reservation It was on your site but had not been received by Mercure hotel, same as booking for 21st. Fortunately they could find a room for us. We had a struggle to ensure the price you had given us as upheld which it finally was but I was disgusted with booking .com for this lack of service

    Location and friendly helpful staff at Mercure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    This is our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very central with multiple bars and restaurants on the same street. There is underground parking too at an extra cost but it’s secure. The rooms are well furnished and clean with a comfy bed too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location in the center of Caen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Moderate breakfast for a 4-star hotel. Poor wifi: we had to log in again several times a day.

    Perfect location in the center of Caen. Very good bed, clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Best place to stay in Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking facility could have been clearer. We would have booked sooner but had to spend extra effort making sure parking would be ok.

    Great breakfast. Eggs bacon continental whatever you like. Very good secure underground private parking worth paying for. Great Sunday market. Right in the centre. Will be the defacto place for us to stay whenever in Caen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road outside closed when the market operates so no taxi can get close. Difficult access on narrow roads with too many cars.

    Wonderful spot in the heart of the city close to the port. Castle and Grande Place just a few minutes walk. Lovely street culture in the sunshine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for what is provided and hotel always appears murky but comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in poor - had to wait for the reception staff to return from having a cigarette outside. Eventually appeared looking very sloppy and stinking of smoke. Hotel very dark, including the room which looked out on another building only a couple of meters away. Paper cups for in room coffee. Tried to overcharge me on checkout. Parking spaces in the underground garage really narrow and not suitable for anything bigger than a small family car.

    Nothing special especially for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in nice location. Secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Orange juice at breakfast was a little 'past its sell by date'. ( It was fermenting and going fizzy ! ) The rest of the breakfast was good though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and spacious hotel. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some wear and tear especially the carpets in the room and hallways.

    Great location, very large room, staff very helpful and nice. Breakfast was great with a lot of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great service, comfort and location - everything you need to take things easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was perfect; all of the main sights were within walking distance or accessible via the bus stops near the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast had a nice selection. Customer service was first-rate from all staff, especially Sabine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    8.3
    Central, Clean and Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the extra charges for parking and breakfast this did not work out as good value as it seemed when we made the booking

    Ideal situation in the centre of the town with on-site parking. We could walk easily to all the major sites and the WW2 museum was an easy bus ride away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.5
    Over all very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there were some very noisy people underneath our window in the street and that kept us awake in the early hours of the morning.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and room very comfortable with good facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.8
    I won't be rushing back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself is in a good location... we only stayed one night prior to picking up a hire car... the hotel seems to be fairl old and dated... the room was ok, fairly dark, the bathroom was nice and appeared renovated however when you have a shower it didn't drain properly so there was water everywhere! The breakfast is definately not worth the money.... it's one of the worst buffet breakfasts we have had! The scrambled eggs seemed like they were not real eggs and quiet possibly made from powdered eggs... the bacon was grissly and that's about it in terms of hot food..... I asked for gluten free bread and got gluten free rolls that were still frozen!!

    The Sunday market was on when we arrived...it was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    7.1
    Originally booked a 1 bedroom suite to sleep myself and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Originally booked a 1 bedroom suite to sleep myself and elderly parents thinking the bedroom would be separate from couch. In fact it was only separated by a curtain. I had to book another room at some expense. I was disappointed because this wasn't made clear when I booked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thought the car parking was rather expensive! The rooms smelt of smoke and yet it is supposed to be a non-smoking Hotel and we had a baby with us which wasn't ideal. We actually saw people smoking out the windows.

    Location was perfect for our sightseeing in Normandy. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.5
    Great break and happy with hotel choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea and coffee facilities in room were made in paper cups which was disappointing...

    Excellent location in city centre. Helpful and polite staff. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    8.3
    The Hotel staff is exceptional, friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at the Grill in the property is pasive/agresive, very unfriendly. A grill employee told me when I asked if she spoke english that when in France I should speak french. Very rude young lady.

    The Hotel staff is exceptional, friendly and professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    5.0
    Insomniacs would like a stay on a saturday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crowds of people drinking and shouting till 5am and a Sunday market at 7.30am. Sleep with window open impossible and with it closed was suffocating.

    Convenient for restaurants in the evening

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    My stay was good. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location for Caen. On Sunday there was a huge outside market across the street. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. We were close to the Normandy beaches and museums.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.2
    Great location close to restaurants, patios and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower flooded but staff did respond immediately to repair drain and offered another room for my husband to shower

    Staff super friendly and knowledgeable about the area and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    7.5
    Upgraded to priveledge room but needs a little work on cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilets needed a serious clean, sink plug did not work, shower difficult to control temperature.

    Friendly Staff and really comfortable bed. Great location in at the centre of most things or close to them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    The location is excellent, very close to the centre with a very quiet and clean room and a safe park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, very close to the centre with a very quiet and clean room and a safe parking as we requested. The staff at Reception (especially Amy) and at the restaurant (especially Julies) are very kind and helpful, taking special and good care of our low sugar food for breakfast. We would be happy to recommend this Mercure Hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    7.5
    Just good enough - due to one thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So one would think there's nothing to complain about, right? Well, if you're a business traveler and only there for one night, I guess it's okay. We were there for the second time in 4 years, passing through on our vacation because we were visiting friends in the region, and we will not stay there again. One and only reason: The windows are so small that they keep the rooms very dimly lit - reminds me too much of hotels in London, where you have one tiny window going onto a meager light shaft. Depressing, I find. Not helped by the *brown* decor of the rooms.

    Nice staff, very pleasant lobby, nice bar, decent underground parking. Rooms okay, bathrooms newly renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    8.3
    Good location, good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One wing has machinery that rumbles through the night, requiring a second room change after a very disturbed nights sleep. Also, we arrived on a Sunday afternoon with no warning that the area in front of the hotel, and all the connecting roads, were closed for a market. Although signs are posted in the hotel, we were not made aware of this prior to arrival.

    Staff were very helpful regarding the problems with the rooms we had; one requiring a change after a plumbing failure at 23:30.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    6.3
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Broken hairdryer in room. Shower cubicle leaked and flooded bathroom floor. Breakfast was very expensive so we ate out.

    Beds were very comfortable. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    8.3
    Overall very satisfied with hotel/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small shower screen so everything gets wet in the bathroom when you take a shower. Room was a quite dark as the windows are quite small.

    Comfy bed. Choice of pillows. Good location, near shops and restaurants. Plenty of room to store clothes and clutter. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay was had by myself,my family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about the hotel was great.

    Overall, the hotel was in a perfect location, the staff very friendly and helpful, very clean hotel and shall stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal for a short stay exploring Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not cheap! The price we were quoted at booking was considerably less than we actually paid at check-out.

    Particularly good location with everything within easy walking distance. Best breakfast in a hotel that I've stayed in for a very long time. Room large, quiet and comfortable with efficient air-con. Parking was a great boon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tea.

    The room and location was excellent..the breakfast was varied and full. BUT the tea was poor..looked expensive. .but the teabags had NO flavour

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very good hotel. Comfy bed. Very clean. Lovely atmosphere. A fantastic position. All minor problems were quickly sorted. I would have preferred to have my evening meal in the hotel,however we found an excellent bistro nearby called La Bistonome. A pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Clean close to transit great family community
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet is ad as free but shuts you off after 15 minutes they want you to upgrade and pay more to extend time

    Great lounge area Bar open late Great community safe by harbor Close to transit but the rail station is shady characters I wouldn't go at night with family Tram car walking distance few blocks Sunday outside flea market by harbor marina Very close to restaurant but very expensive Few blocks from castle and cathedral We didn't eat in hotel restaurant Bed real bed nice pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and great breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been helpful to have been told about the location of the car park BEFORE we arrived. Being a city centre hotel it is very difficult to park outside the hotel while you go inside to find out where to park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable stay with fantastic villages and countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free car park. Too many road tolls that U.K. Does not take from French. Beer is expensive.

    Comfortable and adequate in a nice area of the town. Very peaceful and supportive. Will return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Well done, Mercure Caen. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could possibly complain about

    A good selection of hot and cold options for breakfast. Laid out well for self-service. Very nice. The rooms are fabulous. More or less a full suite. free cold drinks in minibar, lovey bathroom accessory packs and tea/coffee facilities. Staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We intend to come back next year and will be delighted to book Mercure again. Centre of town location is ideal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    Good location and comfortable facilities except for comment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had paid, in full, 6 months in advance. When we came to check out we were asked to pay again, their system did not show that we had paid. Left a bad taste. Also, the car park barrier came down on the roof of my car. Needs to be checked thoroughly, could have caused an injury

    Efficient, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.9
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we got was not good and it had a bad smell it was also facing the front with a lot of traffic. The second room we got was good and facing the backside.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    9.2
    good facilities in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was the weak link. Kept running out of milk and appeared reluctant to replenish.

    The location, especially with the underground parking facility and the service from the check in staff. They were very helpful and constructive. Was impressed by the air conditioning during a local heatwave, it did the job well!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    "A great stay and lovely City to get your holiday underway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast a little expensive.

    Been here many times before, so had no hesitation on booking again. Everything about hotel, fabulous receptionist, very informative and a welcoming smile as well. Just love the hotel.Well done Mercure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    6.7
    Fine except for the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plug in bathroom basin didn't work and had to be lifted by fingernails to drain. The shower and shower stall were nice - but poor drainage from the shower tray meant the whole thing filled up to the height of say 5 cm and then leaked through the shower door to flood the bathroom floor. This was after only one shower so the next one in had to contend with the wet floor and towels laid to soak it up.

    I liked the view from the room onto an inner courtyard garden. The room was clean and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    6.7
    The bed was very uncomfortable needed replacing, then desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very uncomfortable needed replacing, then desk staff didn't want to know. In the end he reembursed the breakfast. Apart from that it was fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    Hotel very good, restaurant and attitude of restaurant staff bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meal in the restaurant in the adjoining Ibis hotel was appalling and the attitude of one of the waiters was "well you can see how busy we are". Out of 4 meals order d 3 were wrong and one of the meals was still inedible after the second time, wouldn't recommend this at all.

    The breakfast was very good and the hotel was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    8.3
    The location was very good, ideal for walks around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame about the lack of proper cups, only paper supplied. The tea and coffee facilities were rather sparse too.

    The location was very good, ideal for walks around the marina and to the shops. The breakfast was also good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The washbasin plug did not work so it was impossible to get a bowl of water in which to wash and/or shave. The door lock needs attention. The electronic keycard did not work at first and when replaced it took several swipes before the handle would open the door

    One of the most comfortable beds we found on this trip to France. Room very clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    9.2
    The hotel of very good cost / performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was a bit small and stiff for my preference.

    The staff at the reception was supportive. The room of 23mm2 was sufficient for two. Amenity, shower and toilet are fairly good. The location was very good with a lot of restaurants and cafes around the hotel. I found the breakfast very good, considering the price, with both cold and hot dishes and raw fruits like organes and grapefruits.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    7.5
    Fairly good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room décor was a little boring. Brown carpet, brown curtains and insipid off white walls. The independent restaurant attached to the hotel was a little pricey given the fairly ordinary fare on offer. The French staff very rarely ask " is everything alright" during the meal as they expect their service and cooking to be excellent, but they did pose the question here! The French customer is not shy in complaining if the service/food is unsatisfactory. Being British we answered the question with a non committal, " Yes, fine"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    9.6
    Very happy to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast there were only well-sweetened cereals, no basic cornflakes or muesli. There was granola, but this is too sweet for my taste. But there was plenty of choice otherwise, including a very nice fruit salad, good bread, and even Comte (a favourite of mine)

    Good sized room, nice and quiet. Good sized bed. There was tea making facilities (but the cups were small and made of cardboard). The breakfast was good by French standards (I'm English). The hotel is literally across the road from a large number of restaurants, we found a delightful Italian restaurant but really were spoiled for choice! Not far from an excellent cafe called "Keys & Co", their cheesecake is definitely worth the visit!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    6.7
    I had an issue with the drains that where blocked .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an issue with the drains that where blocked . I had to say that I was given 10% discount , just when I complain. It would have been better if the system worked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stress free break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Instructions on how to access the car park before arrival would of been helpful, otherwise everything was great!

    Excellent location, breakfasts great, room comfortable, parking a real bonus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    5.0
    Unpleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked this hotel mainly because of the gym facilities, this is however just enough to may even be called a gym. In the room the beds were seperate and opened up - don't expect a romantic getaway. Bathroom was ok but the bedroom marginal in space. We had two different matrasses?! Besides this our room was situated next to the elevator which kept on going up and down until at least 0000h and starting early in the morning, making a lot of noise clearly hearible in the room! After consulting the frontdesk we were told there was nothing they could do for us but we could look for another hotel if we pleased? (After 2200pm? Not very likely). At departure we were asked if everything was ok. After denying this fact no respons was given and we just had to pay €141 (than why do you ask?). Not spend your money here at this Mercure unworthy hotel. The breakfast is nice though with a lot to choose from.

    The location. It's in walking distance of the old centre with good shopping faciluties and tens of great restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    7.5
    A conveniently situated, reasonably priced well appointed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Comfortable and clean room, the bedsheets and towels were changed each day; for a three night stay, I thought this was a perhaps a little unecessary. Breakfast was buffet style with good quality fare and plenty of variety to suit most tastes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    7.9
    Adequate hotel in great location with good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here many times but now find that the standard rooms are overpriced and looking well worn. Lack of BBC World on the TV channels in an hotel mostly visited by foreigners is a shortfall

    Location and parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe hotel could do with a facelift, looking shabby, needs freshening up. Bedrooms very dark..Brown carpets and brown & Orange curtains. All a bit depressing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    6.3
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty dated room with miss matched furniture and VERY old bathroom. Not pretty but it didn't matter too much as we just needed somewhere to sleep.

    Good location, lovely staff. Nice big bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    5.8
    Rude receptionist ruining an otherwise good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist was quite rude when we were checking out! Was leaving our baggage to pick up later, simply looked into the lounge area and was directed towards the exit! After a two night stay being forced out the second we check out, will not be back!

    Really comfortable bed and great location!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    7.9
    Very good in parts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At 2030 is we went to the bar for a drink. We waited 5 minutes for a barman then asked at reception for help. After another 5 minutes we decided to leave to be met by the barman at the entrance who offered no apology. The toilet seat was very flimsy plastic.

    Superb location close to sights of interest and a really varied selection of restaurants. Good secure parking. Good sized room which was well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    4.2
    Convenient location but not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the main lobby/reception has been modernised, the corridors leading to the rooms and the rooms themselves are run down. No safe in the room. Hard bed.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    5.4
    Spoke English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was nice large head but needed a clean as only a few tricles so couldn't wash hair- reception said they couldn't do anything. Basin leaked badly.

    Spoke English

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    7.9
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lighting in the rooms leave something to be desired. Room service menu was very restricted. Breakfast charge appeared expensive at Euros 16 per person. Lack of weekend restaurant.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Safe and secure underground parking. Conveniently situated in the centre of Caen. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were amazing, really went out of their way to make our stay special. From kindly upgrading our room because we were celebrating our wedding anniversary to advising us where to eat, booking tables... Bar staff brilliant, too. They made our stay truly outstanding and memorable. Tres magnifique! Merci beaucoup!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2016

    7.9
    Hotel Mercure Port de Plaisance Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    appalling bathroom - shower literally soaked the bathroom floor when it was on . The floor was awash and slippery after a short shower even ! Very dangerous for health and safety aspect also tricky to adjust damp / mould on ceiling

    The room was clean and spacious Hotel well situated for town centre and parking nearby which was free overnight

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All good.

    The reception staff were very helpful - changed our room to a view of the quay when we checked in. Also helpful in arranging an "Express Breakfast" (ask for this as Mercure hotels) when all we wanted was a coffee and a croissant rather than a full breakfast. The bed was really comfortable. Convenient underground parking. Altogether, a very pleasant overnight stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    7.9
    Great city centre location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving at the hotel by car is far from straightforward since parking outside was all but impossible. This is only resolved once one gains access to the car park hidden around a back street which again has limited spaces. But then this is a consequence of a town centre location.

    No the eggs were not extra fluffy but then we did come down late for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    5.0
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was so dark with no windows in any corridors. Our shower drain couldn't handle the intake of water and overflowed into the bathroom every time we had a shower. We told reception and they just gave us more towels to barricade the water rather than fix it. Breakfast was very average and horrible scrambled eggs. A number of rude staff as well.

    Good amount of space in room. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not always easy to park, but once the daytime traffic has gone, you can park free at the marina.

    Easy to get to and very well situated at the marina, nice rooms, good beds and shower, good breakfast. Loads of restaurants and bars nearby for dinner. Short walk into the city centre and the castle.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    A good stopover hotel, lacks character but is clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room on the small side.

    Location very good in the city centre. Parking, once found, not cheap but convenient. Hotel ok, though not as nice as Tours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking difficult

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Very nice breakfast. Comfortable and clean room. Overall a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    Well located in town centre- good parking facs - staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room probably could do with an upgrading

    Well located in town centre- good parking facs - staff helpful on eating out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Helpful, friendly staff. Beautiful City, amazing weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was clean, tea making facilities good, excellent shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noicy, elevator and clattering doors.

    Comfortable beds. In the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.1
    Pretty good I loved the location and attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too low. Not complete enclosure for the shower.

    Breakfast, parking, checkin /checkout process, staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Ideal for a base whilst in Nomandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Clean and very comfy bed. All we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    6.7
    Bed too soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too soft. Street noise in early hours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    8.3
    The staff was super nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were not what i was used to and in my room i had no place to put my luggage on. The bathroom was not heated

    The staff was super nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive breakfasr.

    Comfortable lovely hotel. Wonderful staff and great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: