Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Caen Côte de Nacre 4 stars

155 Rue de la Délivrande, 14000 Caen, France

#24 of 38 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money and good fresh evening menu choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel accommodates coaches and groups and hence a bit souless but then this is a chain and offers good value for money.

    Novotel is a good and trusted brand. Clean rooms, usual facilities etc. On our stay the room was extremely hot and the aircon didn't work. But the helpful receptionist leant us an electric fan which cleared the air and as the evenign wore on the outside temperature eased up. The swimming pool was good and easy to get to and parking very good. They had a good evening menu with in-house cooking that we took advantage of. We chose the continental breakfast sitting at the bar at half the €16 price of the full breakfast and din't regret our choice. It is very convenient for travellers being close to the main Normandy and easy to reach the coast if that is what you want roads.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Ideal overnight stop
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Chaise Longue ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watching the restaurant tables being wiped with same cloth that wiped all the the tables and chairs without being rinsed or any cleaner spray being applied, good way to spread and contamination.

    Ideal for an overnight stay, very near the main hospital, so ambulances with sirens going past so fairly noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed, tired room and poor value. Other Novetel hotels I have used were superior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired room. Television did not work until re-booted by staff. As the receptionist knew how to correct the fault, I assume it is common.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Loved Caen, but would stay in the centre of town if we return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long walk into town and uphill on the way back. The map provided from reception was unclear and there didn’t appear to be much information for tourists.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pool area relaxing. A busy hotel with a good atmosphere. Parking was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff; room was clean, comfortable and the bed was comfortable. The pool was open until late night which was great for the children after a long drive! When we got there the hotel restaurant was fully booked due to a coach party; it is a fairly long walk down into Caen centre but plenty of good places to eat there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have used Cote de Nacre every year for the past 4 years. We find it very clean, staff friendly, excellent breakfast, good restaurant and look forward to our stay. The hotel is also very accommodating for our dog's.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Everything about this place was above all my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu needs more things adding and prices need looking at. Would love to see more fish dishes and meat dishes! Crispy chicken salad was boring and bland most things deep fried. Scallops were nice but not well accompanied. BBQ was good but not enlightening for the price. Please please please add some more interesting food dishes! It’s not hard to do. Massive potential to be one of the best hotels around if this is changed. Fresh food ingredients- all you can do is get better! Building right next door to hospital so sirens heard throughout the day, not a massive problem tho quite entertaining watching the air ambulance go over our heads once a day.

    Everything about this place was above all my expectations. Great prices great location great staff great swimming pool(heated) lush bed and pillows, fantastic garden ping pong table outdoor tables for eating children’s games computers no noises from outside locations, fab bar area and breakfast selection top marks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding district is not great but it’s a 15 mins walk down to the centre of Caen

    The outside Swimming pool area was a lovely surprise especially as the weather was hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great pool and really nice hotel, clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit from the city, but thats nothing the hotel can do something can do about it :). Little expensive breakfast - 17,90 euro each.

    Great pool and really nice hotel, clean and comfy. Great price. Easy to park the car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    the building itself is very old one, rooms are small and the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building itself is very old one, rooms are small and the same goes with the bathroom unfortunately. we stayed during D-Day and the price was extremally high

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corners of the room were dirty. Room was hot and stuffy. Woman at the desk in the morning was surly. Restaurant and bar staff seemed understaffed and overworked. And what’s up with commode in one room and sink in another. I cannot believe this would up to code.

    Decent enough for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall very pleasant and easy with help over car parking stay
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cold. No extra blankets provided. Lighting badly placed and bedside light not working.

    Clean, convenient for hospital and roads. Helpful desk staff. Parking. Comfy beds. Shower excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Once in room everything fine but not the best setting we've experienced with Novotel...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of reason for choosing Novotel is the good grassy areas for dogs but this hotel lacking such facilities within or nearby so disappointed with this.

    The comfort of the room and bed is consistent with the Novotel chain standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    good accesibility by car for staying over night, spacy and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no so beautiful from the outside, located in a suburb

    good accesibility by car for staying over night, spacy and nicely renovated rooms, elegant lobby/bar/restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    The rooms and bed is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not always cleaned too well; The menu isn't great; The quality of cooking can vary dramatically from good to quite poor. When busy, there isn't sufficient staff and services can be VERY slow!

    The rooms and bed is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel : well appointed, clean and new, in a useful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the difficulty explained above.

    Access not easy - approaching from the further side of the peripherique, it was not easy to find the entrance to the hotel car park. Some guidance instructions would be helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    It was clean, okay and served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was awful, way out of the town centre, on an industrial/commercial area of Caen.

    The breakfast and selection was amazing, and far better than any other four star hotel, and some five star hotels, I have stayed in, globally.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location for short drive to car ferry. Clean, comfortable room but restaurant let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very disappointing. Catalogue of errors - poor service. Really let the hotel down which was otherwise good. For the prices being charged the service in the restaurant should have been much better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good practical hotel on the outskirts of Caen with excellent parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One room needed updating.

    Good, practical hotel on the outskirts of Caen. Good stuff to keep kids occupied. One of the rooms was modernised, the other needed updating. Swimming pool a plus for kids in the summer (unheated and unusable in the winter, I guess).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Mediocre, after 3 Novotel stays in 5 days we won't be returning or recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn't heated, no working air conditioner. maintenance work was being carried out in a corridor by our room and I was told at one point I couldn't go to my room!! I argued with the work men but I don't feel should of happened. We should not have been given an inaccessible room.

    Pool area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel 7/10 (avoid restaurant). Booking experience and price with Booking.com 4/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Either Booking.com or the hotel messed up our booking. We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children and when we arrived we had been reserved a room for 2 adults. The result was that we had to use an airbed from our car for one of our children whilst the other slept on a sofa bed. The staff believed that this was booking.com's error and did their best to compensate us with 2 free breakfasts worth 30 Euros. I'm not sure which party was to blame or whether it was a combination of the two. Restaurant was overpriced for the portion size and quality. We only ate there as we arrived late otherwise we would have eaten out. I would recommend looking around for restaurants if you have the time. On the upside the breakfast was very good. We also paid 166 Euro via booking .com but the advertised rate for the same room when we got to the hotel was around 140 Euro so I will not be using booking.com again as they do not appear to be competitive. I suggest calling the hotel direct for a better rate.

    Staff courteous, efficient and helpful with good English spoken. Hotel recently modernised (outside doesn't look very good but inside is nice).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    room not clean enough, staff disinterested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room was not good at all, the high chair in the restaurant was really dirty - we had to ask for it to be cleaned, and then it was done. The receptionists rarely spoke english and the first one was rude.

    Breakfast was nice. Downstairs area has been renovated and was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Value for money and family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt of smoke to us even though it was a non smoking. On the drive it the building looks very run down - but thankfully it was nice inside. It looks like they've updated the dining and reception spaces and are working through the bedrooms!

    We liked the open reception with a small area for children to play. The restaurant was next to this area so it was a great space while dining and eating breakfast. Breakfast was great, and we were only charged for the adults, not our children even though they ate. Friendly staff and so easy to park, eat, sleep - it was a stopover for a roadtrip to our holiday destination.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location for the purpose of our trip - a battlefield...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices at the bar and the cost of breakfasts were high.

    Good location for the purpose of our trip - a battlefield tour. Clean and tidy.. Moderately helpful front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely room and a lot of refurbishment and modernisation has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Chaise Longue ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not advised when we checked in that we needed to reserve a table for evening meal. When we arrived at restaurant the manager completely ignored us and left us standing until we asked another member of staff for a table.

    Lovely room and a lot of refurbishment and modernisation has been done since our last visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable hotel with great breakfast but attention to detail could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle was provided but with paper cups, and no milk. Poor for 4 star hotel. A fridge but no bottle opener.

    Superb breakfast buffet. Large and comfortable room. Good access into Caen by nearby tram stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Its a great hotel chain, away from the noisy downtown areas.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a great hotel chain, away from the noisy downtown areas. The parking lot is secured at night, pets are welcome. Free breakfast and wifi. Gate around pool area, safe for babies. Fenced yard for kids to play. Overall its a great place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    We are our meals at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were okay but not amazing. The hallways were yucky but they were in the middle of putting up new wallpaper and new carpet. When that is done I think it will look great. The elevators were very small.

    We are our meals at the hotel. They had a nice breakfast although it seemed a little high priced. We enjoyed the dinner and the desserts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    The place itself is pretty ok, 2km away from city center, 10 euro by taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we ordered is with two single beds, the bed is so so so narrow, I almost fell down from the bed, besides that the bed itself is not comfortable. Both my friend and myself didn't sleep well. Additionally I suspect the room was newly decorated, quite some smell...

    The service is very much pleased, the staff is polite and very much helpful. We had dinner in the hotel due to late arrival, the food is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Very good hotel and restaurant. Kids friendly. convenient when traveling from UK to Brittany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kids friendly with a very pleasant and helpful staff both for the hotel and the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice overnight stop with family before ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks were expensive

    Pool was excellent, room very clean, good location for ferry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Chaise Longue ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Very contemporary, comfortable, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange traffic routing to get there, albeit easy distance off ferry

    Very contemporary, comfortable, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room, large room, air con good, breakfast great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff entering room without knocking

    Comfortable room, large room, air con good, breakfast great all good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Modern hotel, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and food expensive , and nowhere else to go unless by car Weak WiFi

    Modern hotel, comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Close proximity to Caen chateau and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, free parking, very comfortable bed, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Good for a couple of days visiting Caen. Only a twenty minute walk down to the chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Evening meal quite good. Value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be better

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location near car ferry at Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food very disappointing

    Great location near car ferry at Caen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Chaise Longue ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups in room, one bootle of water between two persons. Poor and lack of choice on menu in restaurant .

    Car parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Just a little dusty and stuffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little dusty and stuffy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved the local jams available at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Garden area was tired and not great for families and nothing locally so potential for improvement

    Loved the local jams available at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    All was well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find without a sat nav.

    Everything was as expected. Pleasant restaurant offering simple meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Too far from centre. This is a business hotel and not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service in the dining area

    Bedroom adequate breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly staff, and a good room with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent friendly staff, and a good room with a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool for kids, fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities and great breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and advice provided on how to get into the city centre and suggestions on where best to visit during a short break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit outside city centre, but clean and quiet. Pool was nice. Somewhat uncharmig neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Super place with friendly and efficoent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and convenient

    Not too far from the centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    pool and play area for young children.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    not many places to eat out in the area

    pool and play area for young children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and bar

    Comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.0
    Public facilities e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Classic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive.

    Public facilities e.g. Restaurant and bar area all newly updated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    We stayed here twice, on the same trip - will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit run down outside

    The rooms were perfect for our needs and budget, the pool was empty and the food was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent obliging staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent obliging staff. Cheerful. Helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Convenient from ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed for 2 people (2 Adults + 2 children max)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little utilitarian for what I expect of a Novotel and for the price.

    Convenient from ferry

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: