Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Ile de France hotel reviews
  4. Paris hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hôtel California Champs Elysées

Reviews of Hôtel California Champs Elysées

16 rue de Berri, 8th arr., 75008 Paris, France

#714 of 1,609 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1170 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    I have stayed in the hotel for two times in 10 days, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed in the hotel for two times in 10 days, this was my 2nd time and the room was very old! Also i have arrived around 1:30am and there was no one to help in the reception! Or to help me with my luggages

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is too soft for me, a personal thing.

    All the staff that we were in contact with were very helpful throughout our stay. Bath robes and bathroom great, small balcony was excellent. Location is near the top of Champs Elysees

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    The room was big and clean, the bathroom perfectly equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is quite expensive, even if it is not too bad. It stays a standard hotel breakfast, so I think the price is not really reasonable.

    The room was big and clean, the bathroom perfectly equipped. The location is very good and in this context the price is reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.0
    good position but value for money not good
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra bed was not ready when we arrived, and the room was too small for the extra bed. The price was really too much. I did not like also that I have been asked to pay when we arrived at the hotel, and not, as usual, when we leave. Very bad!!

    the position was really great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.1
    Typical inner city hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is too small really and we are not big people, European sized :D The breakfast... Well, it is normally 20 Euros. I received a booking.com genius discount to make it 16 Euro and it is a rip-off even then. Even considering Paris' normal prices, which are high, you need to eat like a horse to get your money's worth. The stuff they have on the buffet is not bad for the most part, and if you like sweets or European breakfast, maybe. Like eggs? Well, the 'scrambled' eggs would cause a riot in an Army chow line (gritty and under-cooked), fried eggs, omelette etc, cough up 7 or more euros please. That is if you can get one of the waiters to even look at your direction. I found it impossible to grab someone's attention to spend 7 euros for fried eggs, four days in a row. No I did not get up and walk up to one of them, I think in a 4 star hotel breakfast room I should not have to and I was not really that desperate to spend half of the cost of the breakfast again on two fried eggs anyway. The coffee though was quite good. Ice maker on sixth floor was running all four days.... without anyone ever filling up water to make actual ice cubes. (Disclaimer: I did not need ice, I did not tell anyone, I just watched with scientific curiosity how long an ice maker can run dry...) Oh and the Wifi. European internet speeds tend to be slower than what you might be used to. This however was even slower. My U.S. phone gives me free 2G speed for data, I fell back on that quite often because I could not get anywhere with WiFi. So if you need to work online, make extra arrangements.

    The hotel is at a great location in Paris. Right off the Champs Elysee, close to Arc de Triomphe. Many restaurants within walking distance, a bus stop for the hop on - hop off buses is also just around the corner. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, it couldn't be better. I really have to give them a extra star, since they were always quick to point us in the right direction and arrange for transportation back to the airport when our booked taxi failed to show up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    8.3
    Mr. Farid, the night manager, is all I can say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to transfer rooms because 1. We made a reservation for 3 but the extra bed was not prepared. Mr Farid did it personally 2. The A/C didn’t work at the room upstairs that my husband had to open the windows to make him sleep comfortably. 3. He used the robe to make it as his blanket. 4. Television was not working. On our second bedroom, the a/c was not working too so we had to transfer on our third bedroom which solved everything because of Mr. Farid. Thank you. 😊

    Mr. Farid, the night manager, is all I can say. Because of him, things became way better. He is an asset to the hotel. Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.0
    Great location, though over priced for overall quality and lack of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On and off hot water in room & shower not working, not great condition of lounge. Over priced for quality and did not include breakfast.

    Great location in walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit impersonal compared to other establishments. Missing in house dining.

    Excellent location, clean. Excellent places to eat, see and to take in Paris all in close proximity to the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location off Champs Elysee and accessible for all the main sights. Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is expensive for the price considering it is self-service; there was less range than might be expected and the coffee was not particularly good.

    Rooms are large for Paris, bed was very comfy and it was clean with excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.3
    Great location and decent hotel but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Also there were strange rules in room service where they charge 4 Euro to borrow a spoon - I felt that was unnecessary given the money they charge. Also the gym was quite average.

    although location of hotel is great, I felt it was a little over priced. Plus the hotel staff were not so well versed in English as I expected for a 5* hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It said room had a terrace over looking outside. That was false advertising.

    Very well located. Plenty to do in the neighborhood. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, yet discreet. The Sunday brunch with champagne was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    My two friends and I traveled here to see the sights of Paris. The hotel and staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We were able to store things in the mini fridge. Conveniently located off of Champs Elysses and near the Arc de Triumph. We took the Big Bus on the first day where the stop was not far from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not up to standard, cold and very little choice, toaster didn’t work . Have stayed here a couple of times before but would not stay again.

    Position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience, awesome location and very friendly& helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an amazing experience as I was only staying for 1 night in Paris on a business trip. I had a deluxe room booked but was pleasantly surprised to find that my room was upgraded for my 1 night stay into the presidential duplex suite. Needless to say, it was amazing very luxurious and spacious. In addition the staff were very helpful and friendly to deal with. Most of them spoke very good English. The location was amazing. Overall a 10/10 for me aside from the breakfast (7/10).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    4.2
    Location is great , everything else is bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charge money for each request ( I asked for a spoon and they made me pay 5 euro for each ! ) , also for 2 days they don’t give you tissues and they tell you you to use the ones in the toilet , to sum up , they do everything to take extra money from you without telling you until you check out

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Refrigerator was impaired, no facility, Noisy street , all noise polution transmitted to room, construction next to the hotel with its noises.

    Poor facility, very noisy room, no sound proof Windows, old system, not worth the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel. Small room. Old fashioned bathrooms. Loic the receptionist was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a normal taxi one day before departure. And i insisted that i would be getting a normal taxi. I was shocked that i was imposed on the minute i had to leave for the airport that the hotel had booked a mor expensive HOTEL taxim

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, relaxing and location right in the heart of where it all happens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could of been a little better, just had scrambled eggs. But that is a nice to have, everything else spot on.

    From arrival to departure,could not fault the process. Very professional and extremely welcoming staff, I was initially a little worried as I only knew few words of French. Most staff that I spoke to knew English fluently.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.2
    Location, steps from the Champs-Élysées
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet was not stable “Only” while I’m in the bed in my room. Otherwise it was good everywhere else I sat during my stay.

    Location, steps from the Champs-Élysées Cleanness Quiet for some rooms that are not next to the street Nice breakfast Nice staff Best of all, toilets are made easy for Muslims. Shattaf next to the WC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    A typical hotel close to the Champs Elysées shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got the two single beds joined together to form a double bed. You can always feel the divide between them no mater what.

    Close to the Champs Elysées and its shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    7.9
    I would certainly stay there again when visit Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was clean but some parts of the wall were rotten

    strategic location, very close to the landmark of Paris. The breakfast was fair but the waitress were all helpful to provide additional hot beverages

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Pleasant comfortable and homely feeling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing..I am fully satisfied by their services

    Staying there is always like home and the staff is very friendly and helpful and of course excellent location. The hotel has an old world elegant charm with modern amenities. I had been staying there since ten years now and could not think of any other option than this my favourite hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.6
    excellent hotel and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very positive : the room, the service, the facilities, the location, the bar However, we did not have cold water the first two days (so no showser) Problem was solved the third day)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    5.0
    I’m still waiting for them to give me my money they have on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m still waiting for them to give me my money they have on hold such con artist I paid for my room of £419 and then they hold £443 which I’m still waiting for them to put in my bank account . Such con artists I’m actually so angry with them not saying sorry to me and leave me waiting for them to give my money . Don’t go here it is not worth 4 star rating .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was very good, staff is kindly and friendly. They answered every question we asked and they help us a lot. Rooms are very comfortable and wifi is fast enough. Location: hotel is 2 minutes walk from Champs Elysses

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    6.7
    The staff were helpful when I asked to move rooms due to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was loud music playing in the room next door to mine at 11.30pm. It was so loud and the room was connected by a lock door which was paper thin. I would not have been able to sleep at all. Surely there are noise restrictions after a certain time? Stuff moved me to another room after my second complaint. In addition the hot water didn't get that hot in the shower or sink.

    The staff were helpful when I asked to move rooms due to noise in the room next door. They were friendly on my arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom... a tiny bath and a really shallow shower tray which meant it flooded after about 3 minutes.

    Excellent location, very comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    will repeat it again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing to mention

    it was a very good hotel , the recieptionest speaks my language , they were very helpful and we enjoy our stays in the hotel , my number #1 choice in Paris

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms & the hotel doesn't have a proper maintenance. My bathroom was not working when I arrived so I have to wait to next day to be fixed.They didn't change the room even though there are some vacancies

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.6
    comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing at all

    big thanks to Joseph ,Farid and Mamado , my warm regards to them they were helpful , pleasant to help and always recommend the right things for their guests me and my family like this hotel because of the kindness of it is staff and it is very near to chaps-eleysee sure i will stay here for the next visit to Paris and yes this hotel is highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed a couple of times before in this hotel guest rooms were well maintain, but my duplex suite this time is aging and it needs refurbishment.

    Friendly and professional staff in all sections. However Radwan from front desk was remarkable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A totally unprofessional staff Hotel smells very bad , cuz of old and wet carpets , had to change my room twice If u wanna have a cap .. u better do it urself I missed the train to Switzerland because of poor arrangement from hotel side with no appropriate apology Won't visit such a low class hotel !

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.6
    Worth the family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small petty things but nothing that would ruin our holiday.

    The location was pretty much central to everything (metro, shops, laundromat, pubs/restaurants, etc) and going to different tourist spots is really easy using the metro. We didn't feel unsafe while going through different streets as they are well lit at night. The complimentary mobile phone was an excellent tool for us to use instead of using our own mobile phone (which we get charged with roaming charges). It has really fast network and was so useful in finding our way around Paris.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    3.3
    The worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is bad in this hotel except location Staff not cooperative, room and corridors smelly, the bathroom ceiling was leaking, outdated hotel, they charged my credit card 2 times for my stay and they refund me after 3 weeks after my complaint email . There is boiling water machine but no tea or coffee?! I was cheated by the comments in the Booking.com about this hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    5.0
    We booked a family suite, and it costed more than 800 a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a family suite, and it costed more than 800 a night had no A/C and broken. We could not switch room. Paris was 38C during that 3 days we visited. Then the wooden chair broke, my father hit his head and back, they offered us breakfast the next day and big fruit platter. I am just glad he did not get hurt. Overall the experience was very average. Hotel relationship manager has been great to offer us help but the facilities are old and cannot keep up with its price. Will not stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    5.0
    Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff way of speaking, their was no air conditioning in my room, hat to speak with them several times to change the room, after changing the room the next room was also with bad air conditioning, so finally at the middle of the night i had to change my room for the third time

    In the hotel acctually nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    classy room, beautiful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastic stay.....the staff has been very helpful. there is a small and beautiful courtyard. the restaurant is also very good with good service. champs-elyees and metro is just within 1 min walk....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    4.2
    AC didn't work. Hotel nice but rooms too hot inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was so hot in our upper room (we paid extra for a duplex) that none of us could sleep up there. The bathroom which was upstairs was like a sauna without any bath or shower turned on. We complained several times but were not given another room or a discount. We only used half of the room (downstairs) with a family of 4 sleeping together on a pullout couch bed since it was too hot to sleep upstairs. One of my sons even slept on the floor! It made our experience very uncomfortable and no one at the front desk cared. I called many times, stopped by asking for a room change, so upset I was crying. DO NOT STAY HERE IF IT'S HOT WEATHER IN PARIS BECAUSE ALTHOUGH THEY ADVERTISE AIR CONDITIONING, IT DOES NOT WORK!

    Bathroom was great with a nice shower and large tub. Bell staff was very friendly. They have a nice lounge / restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    8.8
    Right location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are only just getting used to the fact that in France, you rarely if ever get offered a facecloth in the bathroom. Facecloths are provided in most hotels around the world. Finally went out and bought one to solve the problem. Otherwise thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the California Hotel.

    This was the first we'd stayed in Paris to close to the main attractions, and we loved being able to walk to many of the sites we wanted to see. We had breakfast on the Champs Élysées each morning, walked to the Grand Palace for the Rodin exhibition, walked to the Tuileries and the Louvre etc. You see so many little extra slices of Parisian life this way. We asked for a quiet room and were rewarded by one the back of the building, looking out onto greenery. The room was compact though very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had issue with our toilet flush the first night but they didn't have maintenance personnel to fix it. They offered to move in different room but we were with our family and wanted to be on same floor. When asked they said someone will be there to fix it first thing in the morning at 7am so we decided to stay in our room. Morning we reminded them 4 times no one showed up until 11am. It was very frustrating. Also, another incidence happened. We had booked Rideaway from airport to hotel. We planned to go too palace of Versailes the sam day after checking in. We talked to the same driver and he agreed to take us of $120.00 round trip. So we asked him to wait. Upon checkin staff mentioned that they also have transportation available and it will cost $160. So we decided to go with the driver who brought us. We wanted to freshen up so we went to our rooms. Mean while my husband told them we will go with you guys and let other driver go. But I immediately went down to tell Staff not to make any change and let the other driver stay backs we committed to him first we will go with him. I got a call after few minutes in my room that we let other driver go and you can take our driver. I wasn't happy with this. They should have not interfered. Staff said we settled with him and took care of him. They should have not done that.

    Very good Location, Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    4.2
    Near the champs elyse st only
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi at the lobby only/ too much noise early morning from the bars near the hotel because the window is not sound proof

    Near the champs elyse st only

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    7.1
    Room was comfortable and quiet, and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was free but very, very slow. For faster internet you had to pay. I didn't like that. Also, 25 euros for an average breakfast display is too much money. Should be more reasonable.

    Room was comfortable and quiet, and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    6.0
    The location was very near the main Champselyees
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I forgot my watch , when called to tell I forgot in bathroom, they said no watch was there , which I'm sure was there.

    The location was very near the main Champselyees

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    the staff especially the very kind receptionist who gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really

    the staff especially the very kind receptionist who gave us early check in which is something very rare to happen in Paris at least from my experience with other hotels. The reception lady decided to give us the room because we were really tired from our long journey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    4.6
    Staff over all okay. But not helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in , staff was aggressive , check out staff was okay. The hotel was not clean at all. It was an incedinet and the staff moved my room to a jenour suite. The Cheif refused in an aggressive way to help preparing a special order for my family as they are allergy from some items.

    Only staff. Not even all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel but horriable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was horriable. I did not had option to eat as i dont eat dairy food like cheese even after having package with breakfast was told if you want fried egg you have o be paid. Incase if i visit paris and stay there will not opt for breakfast.

    Location is great and staff are helpful . Hotel is maintained very nicely and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    5.8
    Good located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had the issue that the in room safe was not working from the very beginning. After we placed the same at the reception before the first night, it has not been resolved during our stay.

    The desk personal was friendly and helpful. The American breakfast was good. Offer for a room breakfast service (surcharge) with more options than the general breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had another booking a few days later. We requested them to keep some of our luggage since we will be coming back 4 days later. They didn't accept our request.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    9.2
    The toilet was realy small, over weight people can not fit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was realy small, over weight people can not fit in it ( this is not a joke ). I talked with the reception because i have one friend i plane to come with and he is over weight, the told me to book rooms thats ends with 11. My room number was 529.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    7.9
    We are frequent world travelers use to excellent services...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are frequent world travelers use to excellent services provided by esteemed hotels as California Hotel yet we were very disappointed that when we informed them that we had chosen their hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary they didn't offer us any complimentary services as other hotels.They listed charges to every service,we could chose to pay for.I think a small jest from the hotel could have gone a long way!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    10
    Location staff behavior .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have asked for drop off and remind reception staff at 11 pm .my flight was 4 am and driver didn't show up and staff at reception had no clue but they were kind enough to arrange taxi.

    Location staff behavior .water facility in the washroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    9.2
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite costly and they didn't do anything nice or extra for our anniversary like I had asked! I mean a free coffee, rose petals or cheap bottle of champagne would have cost them next to nothing and made our stay that more special. They also did not honour the price from Booking.com- so be careful.

    The location is great; walking distance to shops and restaurants! The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. The lobby was elegant, but the rooms a bit small and outdated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    7.9
    Was very close to city centre shops and attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Based on price it wasn't worth €164 as you also had city tax on top wich comes to nearly €170 no parking had to pay an extra €30 for parking Iv definately stayed on better hotels with an suite for €100 max plus we had to buy everything on top breakfast lunch or dinner if they were included on that price I would say yes it would be worth it but it wasn't.

    Was very close to city centre shops and attractions and eiffel tower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    9.6
    Good ambience, very central to metroetc, nice and clean staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Used to having super king bed to myself do bit cramped to share double with my husband

    Looked like it had just been decorated, no dust or cobwebs anywhere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    9.6
    In the top 7 of my prefered hotels in Paris.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited variety of TV channels; offer mainly aimed at an Arab audience.

    1) Perfect location 2) Quality of the 2 connected rooms we booked 3) Tasteful breakfast 4) Quality and attractive appearance and design of the public spaces.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    10
    Luxury at a last minute bargain price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little average for the luxury of the hotel. Eggs made to order, espresso included, would be the perfect touch ;)

    We booked this last minute and couldn't have been happier! Would go back again and again - bed was super comfy and the pillows were amazing! Lots of space, plus wonderful staff - Loved our visit!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room lacked some basic items such as slippers. Temperature control was a little fiddly and room kept getting too warm or too cold.

    Location was excellent! Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionists and door men. Room size was quite decent for a centrally located hotel in Paris.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, short walking distance to the Champs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being a family with a baby, we have requested a baby crib, it was dirty and not up to the hotel standard.

    Perfect location, short walking distance to the Champs Elysees. Clean. Cheerful staff and special thanks to Aysha from the house keeping for her lovely spirit and smile. Receptionist at the check in time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    7.5
    Treated as second class citizen on my Birthday😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in staff were very close to being rude. No charm at all. Felt like we were treated as a nuisance rather than valued guest. Kept waiting for 30 mins even though it was 4pm and we had been advised by booking.com we could check in early. Likewise check out was equally poor. Asked if we could check out late as advised by booking.com we could subject to availablity. When we requested this were told no message had been received, fair enough but the answer was still no until later I showed my booking.com email and then they said yes and we should have showed the email. Which made me feel they simply didn't believe me the first time I asked. Bottom line is for a 4star hotel I feel we were poorly treated. A pity as check in day was my Birthday and not even good wishes were forthcoming. Will find another hotel next time.

    Location is great and the hotel is comfortable for a city break. Breakfast was fine, not great, eggs were cold but overall just about okay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and will surely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower water adjustments can be improved with single adjustments. better air ventilation in toilets. non heated WC. bidet pressure was too high

    spacious room sofa bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    8.8
    Lovey Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They ask for deposite too much money as guarantee around 400€

    Location Very very Helpful and friendly staff e.g Ayoub,Radhoun,Nabil and Farid. Thanks a lot to Radhoaun for extended our stay few hours before check out

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2016

    7.9
    A lovely friendly hotel near the main attractions. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive breakfast for what was available. But other than that a lovely hotel.

    The bar and restaurant was comfortable although breakfast was expensive. Better to eat out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    It’s very close to the center of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s very close to the center of Paris

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and safe stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lightening is little dim

    The very friendly &helpful staf. The location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Staff were extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were extremely friendly. Who spoke very fluent English. Which helped a lot... very clean hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    It was an exceptional week made even better by choosing this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Superb customer service from everyone we encountered everytime! Facilities were well appointed and location, location, location!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is perfect Staff are friendly The hotel and the rooms are very clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.9
    Thanks to Mr.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Thanks to Mr.Fared in the front disc for his kindness and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    My first choice is California hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staffs in every location in the hotel from valet till cleaning staff t

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.8
    I like the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The refrigerator wasn't good

    I like the location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lobby. Location. Room. Staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Great service, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit pricy

    Front desk, bell men, service at the bar

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be a bit smelly, but a lot of Paris has drain problems

    Position

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Shattaf in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shattaf in the bathroom

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Staff sooooo friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no complimentary water on arrival

    Staff sooooo friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hôtel California Champs Elysées Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: