Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Campanile Beaune 3 stars

route de Montagny Les Beaune, 21200 Beaune, France

#35 of 43 hotels in Beaune

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom fan running all night, didn't get much sleep. Outside steps dirty and slippery. Meal poor value. Bad fruit on buffet, when staff were asked to replace it they said they didn't have more. It was still there in the morning.

    The location and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived, the booking was for two people and advised I was alone. When I came to check out, the male receptionist (with no name badge displayed)said again, 2 persons, I advised no, I was alone and therefore politely queried the price as it may have been cheaper for one. He became extremely rude that I had dared to ask this, slammed the card machine in front of me and then slammed my card back on the counter. I tried to explain that I was only asking and meant no malice, to the point where I had to remonstrate with him to ‘be nice’. His attitude was awful. The previous evening, I ordered salmon, French fries and green beans - my meal arrived without French fries and was not rectified despite asking.

    Campaniles are well set out and very close to the motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning found ants covering the bathroom shelf and the room desk. We have used this Campanille many times but this is the first time we have had this experience.

    Very handy stop on the motorway. Usually clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Motel like accommodation with onsite restaurant and bar. The room was basic but well fitted with a great shower. The restaurant was of a good standard and the choice of dishes was extensive. The cost of the meal we had was good value. Parking was easy as no height restriction and just outside our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite wifi being offered on my confirmation we were told on arrival that it was not available at this hotel, anywhere! We always try to use this group of hotels and have never not had it before. It proved most inconvenient!

    Location is very close to the motorway and access to it is very quick

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee from a can is not my favourite., but that's about it.

    Amazing shower and the bathroom felt new, nice firm bed, and clean feel to the room with a better than expected ambiance! Better than expected experience for a French motorway motel. I'll definitely stop here again in future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, if we were to be picky we could say that there was not a single English speaking to channel on the tv but that can be said of just about all the major chains we have tried.

    The room was clean and had everything we needed, access from the motorway was simply and this was why we chose it having seen the location on our outward journey .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bear the motorway, easy to get to, nice rom, but we arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning without any breakfast, so we can't rate this. Fine experience.👍

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I particularly asked for a room near the restaurant as I have a few walking difficulties but we were put in room 32 which couldn't have been further away. Bit annoying because I think someone just missed the message. I know it was there as it was printed on my booking form. However this was a very small thing as we could drive to the end of the car park and leave the car near us. It was just a problem walking for dinner.

    I love Campanile; you know exactly what you're getting for money and this one is a particularly good one. The staff were fab; we had a little problem when we were there so walked into breakfast 10 mins late yet they looked after us and made sure we were fed before our journey. This site has a lovely pool too which I think is rare. Very good experience at Zbeaune and will definitely use it again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very close to wall on one side, and top end tends to move away from wall when sitting up.

    Excellent position, very close to autoroute and easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems to us that the Campanile hotels in France are not as good as the same hotels in UK. Perhaps they are older, but the rooms are less welcoming, a little more tired. We have mainly stayed in these hotels but either we have outgrown them or they are falling behind the times, and they are not cheap once you have added food and drinks onto the bill.

    The hotel was where it was needed and reasonably comfortable, but after three nights in different Campaniles it was a little too much deja vu.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    choice of main courses could have been wider but our choice was very tasty and the buffet of puds were a dream

    i loved the way the staff made us feel so welcome with our dog

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It's perfect for what we use it for.

    Location is convenient when traveling. Staff seem really friendly, one guy even taught me a little French. The hotel hasn't been updated like some other in the chain but they are keeping it up well. Far enough from main roads to not be too noisy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were tired and small and poor value in comparison with other overnight stops on this trip.

    Restaurant and waiting staff were efficient and very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are getting a little "tired" but they are very clean and with plenty of hot water. A little more ventilation would make it much better

    Great location, quiet yet close/5 mins from the motorway. Rooms are adequate, providing kettle, provisions and a few biscuits

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially I thought room a bit gloomy - but it grew on me and was clean and comfortable. Loved the fact they had extra pillows and blankets.

    Food was excellent. Staff were very helpful especially the man in reception (unfortunately did not get his name). Luce the waitress was lovely

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rated highly the staff made every effort to assist us especially as my wife had difficulty in moving around the dining room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find, comfortable room, lovely terrace by the pool for meal. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kindness of the manager and the situation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay and found the staff and facilities, particularly the restuarant excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for a stopover on a long journey as it's 2 mins from the motorway. Simple but effective

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as good value as campanile used to be. Too expensive now.

    Love the choice of campanile breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The diner of the day -chicken- was not so good and the wine on tha Card was not available!

    It was okay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!!

    The room was great especially travelling with 3 dogs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet disastrously weak and poor. Could not cope with Iphone

    Excellent restaurant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location and good value for money. Good restaurant on site

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi kept breaking up.

    Food was very good. Staff great. Very helpful. Room clean and the added bonus having s kettle in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just off the motorway, as always Campaniles are great for stopovers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The location was great - quiet and outside the town - but it was hard to find using the satnav.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - 2 single beds & 1 extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool and the outdoor eating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Handy for our motorway travel, Restaurant was good.Staff friendly and professional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't that warm and friendly

    The buffet for dinner, highly recommended! Lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room

    Beane

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient stop close to highway A6 halfway to the Mediterranean Good restaurant facilities Great service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside rooms needed cleaning

    Basic but clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensice restuarant

    Rural

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stop here often a good hotel half way through France

    we did not use the restaurant but the beer was good and cold

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were excellent. We had a puncture on a Sunday morning,not good but the staffdid everything to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy. Close to the motorway, simple straightforward restaurant, just what you need after a long day on the road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast a bit sparse limited wifi

    excellent location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant Breakfast ,accommodation was good value for the price. Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Half the hotel was closed due to work, consequently we could not have room we asked for.

    Restaurant good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pet friendly, especially room facing to garden on ground floor

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find if you didn't come off the motorway. Small room. Appearance of a motel. Definitely not for a long stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, tidy, excellent welcome by reception, excellent service by restaurant staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faster wifi, but still ok.

    Price/performance is great at Campanile. So is breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a makeover

    Extremely quiet considering the closeness to motorway. Efficient wifi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the main course only, could have been better.

    Location is brilliant and excellent for dog owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size quite small

    Clean room with Air Con.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant was superb by the waitress

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A clean shower curtain would have been appreciated. Noise from passing traffic.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's close to the motorway and a place to get a comfy bed. Not a holiday hotel but good enough for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The everything about our stay

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet, generous width bed, tea and coffee making kit in room and a convenient autoroute stop over on the way to the South of France. Biker friendly with good parking outside room.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    As with all Campanille properties, rooms are a little "tired". However, functional and comfortable.

    Easy access from Péage. Semi rural but only 2kms from all facilities on road to Beaune centre. Restaurant good and waiting staff friendly. Reception staff efficient & welcoming. Tea making facilities & biscuits provided for those seeking a quick get-away without taking time for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    funny blind thing on the window. no fridge room smelt a bit smokey when i first entered

    skipped the pricey breakfast and just had the coffee and biscuits that were available in the room - had a long drive so wanted to hit the road early and that was perfect. good location from the motorway and attached restaurant meant it was an easy stop over. I was driving from UK to Italy and this was a good half way point to stop, rest and refuel.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We faced an unforeseen event with an alarm starting end of the night without any action to stop that !!!!! reason I put zero for facilities

    Confort and accessibility

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being able to take our well behaved small dog (who sits on his mat under the table) into the restaurant was really exceptional and very much appreciated. Needless to say we were seated well away from other diners. Rooms really clean and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating controls were up the side of the wardrobe and the strip light above it didn't work.

    Very Close to motorway. Very easy to put dog out due to individual units.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place REALLY needs to be upgraded as other Campanile hotels have been. It's very, very dated. We could hear the TV in the neighbour's room and the bathroom was old to the point of just looking dirty. There was no cleaning that to the point where it would LOOK clean. After our stay we've decided to only stay in the "Green Campaniles" (renovated ones) from now on.

    It was easy to reach from the highway and was convenient as a stopover. Comfortable beds with very clean sheets. Dogs were welcome.Cheap.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Couple

    Impossible to close the room doors correctly - therefore to keep warm inside! Also there were some terrible rows between a Japanese bus driver and the man on the desk!

    Good quality of dinner

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think it's quite over priced for the location out of town and the quality of the accommodation.

    Convenient for drivers as is near to the freeway, though is bit of a drive into town. The town of Beaune is beautiful, really worth the stop over. Though very small and basic, the room had everything you need, including a kettle and provisions for tea and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found location a little difficult to find and better signage and road entrance would be helpful. The winder for the shutters was not obvious.

    The restaurant was excellent with very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was most welcome after travelling all day in 35 degree temperatures. The restaurant was airy & the food & wine was good & resonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor in the rooms are a bit tired and could use a bit of refurbishment.

    Reception staff and dining staff were very helpful, and many of the staff spoke English, making communication much easier. The accommodation was modest, but the service and dining was very good.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was probably one of the poorest meals we have had.

    The bed is the best I have ever slept in. It must be a super king and is the first time in a hotel that my feet do not dangle over the end.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything, especially the pool after a long drive and the dinner was excellent. Bedroom and bathroom perfect with aircon! Great dog walks nearby:)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy access from the highway; quiet location and easy commute to/from Beaune centre; great staff!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everyone on your staff have always made us welcome we have stayed on numerous occassions

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort. Excellent buffet.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not far from the motorway

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant easy access off auto route

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: