Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Campanile Bordeaux Nord - Le Lac 3 stars

Rue du Petit Barail - Centre Hotelier Du Lac, 33300 Bordeaux, France

#46 of 69 hotels in Bordeaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3283 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Good connection to the city (tram 15 mins approx), good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate area was just a bunch of hotels in an industrial area, but as mentioned good connections so wasn’t too much of a problem.

    Good connection to the city (tram 15 mins approx), good parking, easy check-in & good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place out of season
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Superior room but in fact it was a standard room with no frills, the room was okay but it was a hot day and the air conditioning was rubbish so we baked all night, it would be a good choice other than the summer!!

    The staff were lovely, the location was good, there was lots of secure parking and although we didn't have the opportunity to use it the restaurant looked really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Nothing more or less than you expect from a Campanile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room location difficult to access with only one set of stairs to the top floor set halfway along the rear of the block.

    Friendly staff speaking good English. Easy access to Motorway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Good rooms,location3-munite walk to tram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Good rooms,location3-munite walk to tram. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good breakfast.We left the car for the whole day after check-out and it was free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    This hotel is looking tired and tacky! Won’t be booking a Campanile again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was not working properly so the room was very hot. There were lots of mosquitoes in the room.

    The evening buffet was excellent with lots of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    Worst stay in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a motel style room with coach loads of people in an area of more prestigious hotels. Unfortunately this place was appalling, dirty room, a bath which you needed a step ladder to get into!! No hand towels provided, virtually empty soap dispensers and a TV from the ark in some kind of amateurish surround. Being on the ground floor people were passing our window well into the small hours of the morning which ruined our sleep. We had booked a return for 4 days from our trip which we have now cancelled. The restaurant food was awful albeit the staff did try to help but the food quality was bad as was the Chef who was extremely rude. One of the worst stays in a long time for which we had the privilege of paying for!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in good location with easy access into Bordeaux by tram
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cramped and basic. This perhaps could be an issue for people staying more than one night

    The location was very quiet and the free secure car parking was very welcome. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and the pre dinner drink on the terrace. There were lots of places to eat near the hotel which meant that we didn't need to go out in the car. The receptionist very helpfully told us that the tram stop was very near and we took the tram into Bordeaux and back. Very easy and cheap so would recommend that to guests!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    It was a reasonably pleasant stay and in a fairly good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast finished far too early and should have been open till at least 10.00am instead of 9.00am. This hotel was rather basic and too expensive for what you got.

    The staff were very friendly and quite efficient. Room was clean with a comfy bed and plenty hot water. The choice on buffet was adequate. It was very close to the main tram station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    That there were several good restaurants within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was motel style, run down, uncared for in every respect. I would never stay here again and advise against it strongly

    That there were several good restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Arrived and sat outside having a drink Great Stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking difficule as TWO coached were arriving so the near spaces to our room were blocked to leave room for the coaches

    Great Overnight Stay Very near the A10 Staff in the resteraunt and bar were very friendly and helpful Food for a Campanile was Excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Don’t eat at the restaurant!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was tired although some refurbishment was on going, our room had been renovated recently but the paintwork was already showing poor quality. The food was overpriced for what you got and poorly presented. The restaurant staff were unpleasant and unfriendly.

    Check in was good and the staff at check in were excellent. The location was good for transport into the city centre wit a tram stop two minutes walk away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Quaint & Quiet. 👍
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find. Breakfast was toast, but company was excellent.

    The oweners were extremely welcoming and polite. The property was spotlessly clean, warm and inviting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff, food and parking great, room could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door would not shut, the kettle worked but the lid was broken the room needs refurbishment

    The staff in the cafe were very friendly and helpful and there was a wide selection of excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Really meh stay. Better off in an Ibis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food offering was confusing and expensive for what you get. If you just want a light bite, you end up paying over the odds for the buffet. Breakfast for gluten-free guests is non-existent – despite GF options being available at dinner. The rooms are joyless and feel really dated – I have a horrible feeling they've been recently refurbished. We won't be using this brand again.

    The location is great, near a tram stop that takes you into central Bordeaux in about 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom size cramped for 2+ night stops.

    Good location. Secure site. Parking might be challenging when the hotel is full? Restaurant ok. Plenty of other restaurants around the hotel area to supplement choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    A good over night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The need to go outside to access the different parts of the building (it was raining).

    Good sized room. Friendly staff. Easy to find and near the ring road. Buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.5
    A great travel stop Bed very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A handy overnight stop. Comfortable warm accomodation with excellent bed Very happy and friendly staff. A good bar area for a drink prior to eating Good restaurant wuth a nice atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Good value and well positioned for the town. Public transport only a short walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside appearance of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The shutters could do with a good clean and a coat of paint wouldn't come amiss. It is a real shame as the hotel itself is ideally placed to the town. I felt really disappointed when I arrived as it really had a lack lustre feel. I dreaded opening the door to my room. But, I would stay there again. I have stayed in much worse hotels. The staff try really hard to make you welcome and they are charming.

    The staff are lovely. Very helpful, lots of information about the town, the public transport and what to see. The white cotton bedding was crisp and smelt clean. The parking is good and behind electric coded gates. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.2
    Adequate but would have chosen somewhere else for same money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    grubby. Tired. Shower not brilliant.

    The whole place could do with a makeover. It was adequate but I think there is probably better value elsewhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient for car travellers, excellent access into city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property, especially the external finishes and some structures are looking tired The rooms are a bit small, even for a short overnight stop

    The location of the property, near the motorway through Bordeaux and close to the tram stop for journeys into town. Secure parking Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Location very good for us. It done what it said on the tin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here a few years ago but this time the place looks very tired. It needs refurbishing, new carpets, bathroom fittings and a paint job.

    Parked outside room which was secured during the night. There were plenty of places surrounding the site to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all

    Staff were amazing particularly in the restaurant and the food and service was outstanding. Accomadation is basic but sufficient for a short stay. Great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Was in an easy to find location with free parking.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the restaurant didn’t have a large selection of food. The maid walked into the room 2 hours before check out and asked when we would be leaving which we were not happy about.

    Was in an easy to find location with free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, basic, ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic, but ok for just 1 night. Comfortable

    The staff were very friendly The breakfast was excellent, a good variety of food. It was great having a kettle in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rome were tiny, only 1 chair for 2 guests Restaurant dinner menu very inadequate, very poor choice/variety lacked basic cutlery. e.g. dessert buffet which included cheese and cheesecake only provided tea spoons, breakfast, while breakfast tea was available there was no cold milk for same,

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Easy parking if transiting through France en route to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Motel style with little in the way of amenities in local area, only for a short stay traveling through.

    Easy parking if transiting through France en route to Spain. Location just off the motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    A good stop on our trip from Malaga to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beware the mosquitos, use bug spray.

    location was good. North of Bordeaux with close tram stop to centre. Good walks around lake. Close to Rocard (ring road). Restaurant and bar on site, other restaurants close by. Secure parking, clean, quiet rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room. Clean and spacious and great value for money. We had a car so the parking onsite was perfect and the tram stop is 5 min walk Staff were really helpful with the tram information

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Expensive for a budget hotel stopover. Dark and dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't 100% clean. Bed had bits in. Room felt damp. No family rooms so had to get 2 rooms for family of 4. Very expensive considering it was a very basic 'budget' hotel.

    Conveniently located off the motorway for a stopover.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Slept well after a long day's drive.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant seemed to want you to have their buffet style meal and the choice of alternative hot meals was limited.

    The location is very convenient when travelling southwards into Spain. Because the hotel is surrounded by other large motel/hotel brands there are plenty of places to eat although we did eat in Campanile's own restaurant. This hotel is midrange in terms of facilities and décor but it does provide tea and coffee making facilities which is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, service and value for money!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, newly refurbished, and bed was really comfortable. Breakfast buffet in the morning was absolutely gorgeous, great selection and really fresh. We had a short stay as we had to leave early in the morning, but wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Great value for money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great accommodation for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone drank from our water bottle which we had left in the room - there was a distinct smell of marijuana on the rim of the bottle

    Located close to public transport; friendly, knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is good and fresh but the choice of vegetarian dishes is limited.

    Location, ease of parking, restaurant opening hours for late arrivals and early starts and the good choice of restaurants within walking distance make Camponile a great travellers' choice. It is clean and quiet and exactly what is required for an overnight stay. I believe there is also easy access into the city but we have never had time to benefit from that so far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value functional hotel with easy public transport links to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms lookout over car parks. They are a little dark and the air conditioning is fair weak. Breakfast at €9.90 per person felt overpriced, so we went into City and ate there.

    Very convenient for trams into the delightful city of Bordeaux. Stops five minutes walk away, trams every 10-15 minutes and 15 minutes into the city centre. Much more pleasant than driving. Set amongst many other chain hotels near the Bordeaux Expo centre and Football Ground. Hotel was clean and functional with a pleasant terrace area by reception. Rooms are pleasant enough with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Get your head down but not as cheap and cheerful as it could be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a room at the back of the block, which was accessed by a narrow, overgrown path, there was a patch of grass outside and some hedges, but as the hotel is based in the middle of a large complex of hotels, exhibition centres and restaurants, there wouldn't have been much to see anyway! We didn't have time to explore so no idea how far it actually was from the centre of Bordeaux. Didn't have breakfast because at 10 Euros each this seemed expensive for a buffet.

    Room was fairly large, bed was comfortable and shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Just convenient, comfortable and decent accomodation with...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just convenient, comfortable and decent accomodation with good staff, good restaurant and very well situated for the motorways. Good for our two dogs, as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Really close to the lake and to the conference center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting in the bath tub is a little awkward given the layout.

    Really close to the lake and to the conference center. Good choice of restaurants around. The anti fog mirror is a nice touch. Rather quiet although you can hear a bit of traffic at night. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Early morning wake up call Monday am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 173 last on site overlooking waste bins and bottle store of next door restaurant. Waste disposal trucks with alarmed reversing systems pick up of bins at about 04.30 AND 05.00. Flat-bed truck, drink/bottle crate delivery 05.45. No problem if you need a early morning wake up call.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    2.5
    Nonthing SPECIAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WC in my room smells horrible. !!!!We wanted to vomit. We were finally waked up by this horrible smell at 2.o'clock in the morning. I asked the reception to change the room. They did not even say a Sorry for that. The next day,This room is attributted to another couple. I hope they will not have the same extremely bad expwrience as us.

    Nonthing SPECIAL

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    An ideal location, secure parking, and an easy tram ride to the centre. Would use again, and recomme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the breakfast was expensive

    The hotel suited us perfectly. An added bonus was the kettle to make our own tea/coffee when we wanted.Easy access to the tram, which was perfect for exploring Bordeaux.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Irish Couple late 50's on a Road Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent the day exploring Bordeaux which we enjoyed, the motel is located about 5k out of the city beside other budget hotels, McDonalds and a range of budget restaurants and very convenient to the motorway. The room was big with a great walk in shower and lots of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    The food is ok
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a major renovation. Paint is coming of the doors. Under the outside door was at least 1cm space. A part of door sidebar was missing (rotten or otherwise). But the most embarrassing was, booking.com made 2 reservations in stead of 1 and both were paid by me. How is that possible? Is this the last time I used booking.com? Maybe I should book directly by myself with a VIP card. Than I had to pay only € 45 instead of € 65 times 2. What a difference isn't it?

    The food is ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    Staff was very accommodating and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd stayed at a Campanile the night before, and it was new and modern. Expecting the same, I was disappointed by this property. Not old and not modern. Felt like a throwback to a 1960s/1970s motel.

    Staff was very accommodating and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    Budget hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst clean the carpets were stained and in need of replacing. You don't want to stop a week here.

    Great location for the airport and the tram into Bordeaux centre. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. It's a one night budget stop hotel so manage your expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.1
    Clean & comfy but a little overpriced.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for what you got. Room was a bit small. Breakfast was OK but little choice. The hotel is located near to the lake and mosquitos can be a problem. Repellent needed.

    Clean & comfy. Pets allowed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Handy for the tramway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired. The outside temperature was 32 degrees and the air conditioning wouldn't work. The extractor fan in the bathroom was on constantly. The room was very small.

    All the staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant provided good food. The proximity to the tram way into Bordeaux centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and warm in summer, also didn't realise it's right by Bordeaux football ground so can get noisy and busy on match day, I liked that but if your not into football you won't

    Staff great, food great, bar great, tram right outside for 10 minute access to beautiful Bordeaux centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel info poor about large marathon being held
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Upon our return there was a marathon in Bordeaux With numerous road closures , it took us an extra hour after 8 hours of driving not knowing it's route I think a general e mail would have been polite to make us aware we could have made plans to come into town another route

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.8
    Decent industrial hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a building site as the complex was not finished. You had to drive over a road under construction to get to it.

    Easy access to Bordeaux on Tram C. This could be advertised more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Near Matmut Atlantique
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A vending machine for drinks and snacks would be nice to have - the existing facility required receptionists' assistance while the venue turns into do-it-yourself after 10 pm. Nothing major though.

    Very close to the Matmut Atlantique stadium (wanted to watch the Girondins match) and not far from the centre (Uber ride to Pont de Pierre cost us 14 Euros). For those who prefer public transport, the tram stop is just 5 min away. Smooth check in, friendly staff, very good money vs. value ratio (prepaid)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Campanile as good as ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately noise from next door bedroom in early morning was annoying. I didn't realise, however, that there was 24 hour reception who advised me that if I had thought of phoning them they would have 'sorted' the noise. Need Sat nav to find it in busy Bordeaux.

    extremely friendly staff excellent welcome perfect English.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.5
    Excellent stay and will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As far as I am concerned there was nothing not to like.

    Location convenient, plenty of car parking spaces. Very friendly staff. Room clean. Restaurant good value and enjoyable with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst I appreciate we are in France, my French is not brilliant and the menu could be a little friendlier

    The room is great value for money. Bed very comfy. A huge bonus there was a bath. We drive from the UK TO SPAIN,!! Also our car is always full and they have a fully locked gate after 11pm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Convenient to airport good food and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only thing I can think of is having a downstairs room as pensioners we had to carry bags upstairs to the furthest room.. 127

    The Waitress ( Valerie) was fantastic to us both and so helpful. Front desk people so friendly. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    5.4
    Good location, basic standard accommodation and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My overall impression is that this hotel is being run 'on a shoestring' and is below the standard of other Campanile Hotels we have stayed in. I believe there may be some staff training issues at this hotel. Some staff (probably the most experienced) are very approachable and helpful, whilst others come across as much less friendly, particularly in the bar and restaurant. The cleaning staff are not well trained on heath and safety - I came down the external spiral stairs with my luggage when leaving, to find the cleaner had left a hoover with its long hose and her supply cart blocking the foot of the stairs. She moved them as soon as she saw me, but along with the wet leaves that had been left on the stairs throughout our stay, this was an accident waiting to happen. This stairwell was the only access to our room, so we could not avoid these problems. Bathroom safety also needs a review. The bathroom door did not fit properly and so did not close completely (fortunately there are no privacy concerns between my husband and I !) The bathroom light switch is inside the bathroom, above the toilet and could have been in a much better position e.g outside the door as in other Campanile Hotels. The shower was over the bath and there was no safety grip or rubber mat, so not very safe or comfortable to use. Also the screen did not prevent water leaking onto the tiled floor, so safety getting out with no handgrip was a major concern. The bath mat provided to step out onto was not an anti-slip one. The air conditioning/heating did not seem to be very efficient. There was also no nformation in the room about its correct use, so it may simply have not been correctly set. Many channels on the TV were not available, particularly those that required a subscription by the hotel. No access to BBC World or CNN. The wifi access procedure was not well explained and was therefore difficult.

    Location - not diectly in the city but close to tram links. Parking on site, free and plentiful. Service in the reception area was good, many of the staff here were bilingual and spoke good English. Welcomed with free crepes (pancakes) on arrival. Some of the staff were exceptionally helpful. Free wifi in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff except for the surly waiter in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in room, broken down, but a portable heater was brought in. Room very basic & not high on comfort. It looked in need of a thorough clean.

    Friendly staff except for the surly waiter in the restaurant. Price was good. Food good as well. Effective shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for Bordeaux Lac but the cleanliness left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt of sweat and dirty linen. The bed linen was clean but the bedding smelt of stale bodies. It was most offputting. Also the toilet was not clean. Just under the rim of the toilet it was disgustingly dirty. It is an area easily reached with a toilet brush but it obviously hadnt been. Also the wifi did not work. I have stayed here before and it was very good but I dont think i will be staying again as cleanliness is my top priority when i am looking for a place to stay.

    It Was close and convenient to the venue we were visiting. Staff were friendlyl

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    A bit tired but a great breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated and tired. Like an old Butlins cabin.

    Having direct access to garden area to exercise the dogs. The breakfast was varied and really tasty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay there again, poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had already taken the room charge from our Master Card before we arrived there at 4.30pm, not impressed, Booking.com advertise pay on arrival. We wanted to pay with Euro card, they would not change it! Room was at the rear of the building and it was cold, it was 3 deg and the heater was not working. There was a gap under the front door big enough for small rodents to get in. There was insects on the table top in the room and the place was tired looking.

    Manageress was very helpful finding us a decent room after the one we were allocated was dirty and cold.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Simple quite rooms, with a good breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently located close to the French motorway for a quick getaway in the morning. I used the hotels restaurant, which was good in the evening and does a very good value E9 breakfast in the morning. Second time that I have stayed here and I would stay again...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Excellent Stopover Location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We have stayed here before and find the hotel clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly. The onsite restaurant is good and once again excellent staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    Convenient stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant could stay open a bit longer.

    Convenient location just off the ringroad and near the exhibition centre. A couple of chain restaurants on the doorstep - useful as the hotel restaurant had closed when we arrived. Free parking and tram link into city centre nearby. Good wi-fi in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.3
    Did just what we wanted - efficient, clean, comfortable,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did just what we wanted - efficient, clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay. We always try to stay in Campanile Hotels when travelling around France.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    The location as quite, there's enough parking and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like smoke, mosquitos and could of been cleaner.

    The location as quite, there's enough parking and restaurants in the area. The room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    3.8
    Don't stop here !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, not a little bit but very dirty. If it wasn't for the fact we'd been driving 13 hours I'd have left to find somewhere else. As soon as we opened the door you could smell the stink. Of what I wouldn't like to say, but it wasn't nice .

    Nothing about room, location was good for us

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff, location both good. Room needed a new carpet. Would still recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired, carpet worn out but effort had been made to keep it clean. Just needs a new carpet.

    Excellent location, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.7
    Fair enough but too expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit on the small side for 2 adults. Lighting in room very poor for anyone with poor eyesight. Worth £35 but not £69. Poor value.

    Location good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.7
    Very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported our air con was leaking on the first day, nothing was done by the time we left, more concerning is it was leaking onto the light switch to the bathroom.

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Good quality and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal menu was very limited. That said there are about 2000 restaurants in Bordeaux, so hardly a problem.

    The heated mirror is a stroke of genius. Love having a kettle in the room and free wifi. Hard to fault.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.3
    The deteriation of a once good hotel chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We seemed to be put in a run down out of the way block of the site.After returning from dinner in the restaurant,we discovered the cleaning and maintenance staff having what looked like a party outside our room,one of which was sitting on the floor,leaning against our front door,there must of been at least a dozen people drinking.they moved aside to give us access to our room. This went on until gone 21.00 when I said enough is enough and went to see the guy at the booking desk. After telling him what was going on he came over with me spoke to the party,who promptly dispursed,leaving us in peace. The room smelt of smoking when we arrived,and the grass outside our room was littered with rubbish. ,cigarette butts. We last stayed in a campanile hotel 12 years ago,and could not believe how much they have deteriated. If this is now the norm,we will be going elsewhere in future.

    Not Much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Difficult to find better for the price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard Campanile, clean, VFM, always friendly and helpful staff, in fact they went out of their way to get me gluten free bread for dinner and breakfast as I am a ceoliac.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay with really friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note. We had a small leak from the air con late at night, but the staff efficiently found another available room and moved us there.

    The hotel was clean, the bed very comfortable, breakfast was fresh and well-stocked and all the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.5
    Staff were helpful and rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside areas needed an update.

    Staff were helpful and rooms were clean. Although out of town, it was only a short walk to catch the tram into town so overall it was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    A quiet rest on the edge of a busy city. Secure parking and a five minute walk to tram .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been helpful but I should have booked ground floor so it was partly my fault not checking first

    Location, helpfulness of staff. We were travelling with 90 year olds! Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Great Value and easy access to the freeway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Le Lac. This is an overnight stop for me on the way from Calais to Portugal, so quick access to the freeway is important. The hotel itself is in a quite area, with some restaurants and bars a short walking distance away.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: