Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse 3 stars

146, Avenue du Maine, 14th arr., 75014 Paris, France

#975 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 920 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at 1st floor. You can hear ppl open and close their door s easily. It was annoying sometimes.

    Clean and big bathroom. Better than I expected for this price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a little small but most are in Paris hotels.

    Excellent room. Very comfortable bed. Staff were fantastic and very helpful. No smell of stale cigarette smoke like other hotels. Decent breakfast. Really good area and safe to walk around. Not too far from main attractions/monuments. Metro stop close by. 10min walk to Montparnasse tower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the staff were unfriendly. We could tell that they were very impatient and not very willing to answer any more questions from us. There were many restaurants nearby but most of them are quite pricey.

    The location of the hotel. It was not a busy or noisy area but at the same time relatively central and not dodgy-looking. I would choose this area again. The facility and cleanliness of the room were excellent. We had a room with 2 single beds. The beds were comfy but really really small. In the morning, we wake up with duvets and pillows almost slipping onto the floor (Note: we are quite slim!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room were very small but ok. Bathroom super small with mold on the tiles. There were an restoration in the floor and the smell was very strong.

    Good location near Metro, restaurants and pubs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not sure if this happens a lot here but the fire alarm woke up us at about 6 am, after 10 minutes the siren stopped and we've returned to our rooms. Luckily nothing happend but it was really scary.

    The hotel is located in nice neighborhood close to the Denfert-Rochereau station so if you are travelling from Orly airport by Orlybus you should definitely consider this hotel. Metro stations Gaite and Alesia are close to the hotel so it has really good connection and it's located just few minutes by metro from the city centre. The rooms are cozy and clean, someone might say the rooms are small but for me it was fine. WiFi connection was really fast. Staff was helpful when we had problem with our TV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very... compact and felt a bit old and in need of a refresh

    Easy to get to from the main train station and was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and very small bathroom. The breakfast may have been included in the total price and not separately.

    Location, very kind and helpful reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways lights are always off. Everytime we're back to the room we have to use a torch light to find our way and manage to insert our room card. One Receptionist wanted to book us a taxi to CDG airport claiming that train will take a long 2.15hrs train. We did our research and took the train.. The journey was about 40mins and was very easy. The two other receptionists we dealt with were nice especially Steffany who was very helpful.

    Good and helpful staff. Clean toilet and room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size was very very small. If we had a bigger suitcase for sure there was no place for us. Also the bathroom was so tight. From the shower we jump directly to the toilet.

    I like the possibility to prepare a coffee in the room. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing it was fantastic.

    It was easy to find, room was a bargain, lovely staff, really enjoyed our stay, close to good food and transport into Paris lovely and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have at least 1 English speaking TV channel

    Very helpful staff who spoke very good English. Clean comfortable room. Nice breakfast. Good area with plenty of restaurants. Close to Metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds which were slightly on the small side. We were on the seventh floor with only a view of the backs of the buildings around.

    The hotel was basic as expected but clean and comfortable. We were staying for one night before travelling south from montparnasse train station. The station was slightly further away than I expected but still within walking distance. It took us around 15 to 20 minutes to walk there with suitcases. There were a couple of restaurants nearby for breakfast and dinner which were okay and not too expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two beds pushed together, Tiny shower Poor view and balcony Light was flickering Hall ways weren't always lit so we had to keep turning lights on.

    Comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was noisy and kept my partner awake at night. (It seemed not to matter whether it was swiched on or off). Traffic outside was also noisy, despite double glazing but we were at the front of the hotel. It may have been different in other rooms.

    Room was clean and had everything you would expect. Traveling to the centre of Paris was easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the hallway were not working properly only 5 out of the 20 worked which meant I had to use the light on my phone just to be able to locate which room was mine down a very dark corridor. I wouldn't stay there again.

    The room had its own heating unit which allowed for custom room temperature which was nice. The staff dole French and English which was a reason I chose this property, also its proximity to the train station was great as I had a early morning train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproofing was very bad. Could hear the lift tho our room was quite far from it. Could also hear people's voices from next door.

    Receptionists are all very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner does heating in room as well. Can be a little noisy.

    Location is very nice, especially if you fly from Orly airport. It's in walking distance to Orlybus stop. Beds are comfortable. Internet/WiFi quality is quite good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The light in the room were dim. Paris is cloudy for most of the time and there is not enough natural light, there should have been more lights or ones with more watts!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing: the hotel was noisy in the morning after 8 am. bring earplugs.

    The place was very basic but clean and comfortable. Very good value for money, the area is well connected with different underground lines and very handy if you are travelling for/from Orly airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was quiet and had a tube station near by. We asked for a bigger room and managed to get a beautiful balcony with a view of Paris! Staff were very helpful and nice! We would definitely come back to stay again! Great hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really very pleased. Everything was fine. Helpfull and pleasant Staff at the reception Can warmly recommend this hotel and shall certainly stay there when in Paris. Very good value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Teeny tiny bathroom (my husband had to sit sideways on the toilet to fit his legs). Beds weren't the most comfortable.

    Having air conditioning was amazing. I was also given a 'quiet room' because I indicated that my visit was for business. That paid off since there was a bus group during part of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful, the location was near metro station, the room was cozy, clean dhe very comfortable. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room

    Location, Staff, good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there is no fridge.

    Perfect location. Nice and helpfull staff which is unique in Paris.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Location staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Include the breakfast in the price.

    The location was perfect for my needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place, clean and warm. There is air conditioning, near there are Chinese buffet and metro. I liked this hotel😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very clean. great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were superb. We left something there and they are trying to help us retrieve it. The location to the train station was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable. I always appreciate clean linen. Spotless bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos showed much bigger rooms than the one we were given.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too small room and bath room.

    very good staffs and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cant get to the roof balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was good, espceially rooms. They were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small fridge in the room would have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs renovation....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was really small. Nowhere to hang towels

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good 2 star hotel in location convenient to public transportation. Clean comfortable room- nice to have electric kettle for tea or coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleanliness and pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    large bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fantastic and I loved the cleanliness of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, comfort, room size, price,

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor.

    Stuffs, location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room is small, bathroom area shower is very small

    nearly restaurant and supermarket, easy to walkto train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Excellent location for train station, clean, safe, very exciting diverse neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking distance to the airport bus leaving for Orly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful and area is nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely recommend spending a bit more and stay in a better hotel. This place is very very basic :(

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful. They also spoke English which was a bonus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Comfy bed, clean, quiet. Air conditioning effective and easy to adjust. Small room but well arranged.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and comfortable stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Great location near to Metro and major Train station for convenient travel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred a walk in shower to a bath and shower. More hooks and towel rails in bathroom.

    Able to leave cases on day of departure for collection later in the day. Good facilities and excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a good location close to the metro and Montparnasse. Its really clean and functional and had everything needed for a lovely weekend in Paris.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. No complaints what-so-ever.

    The room, bed, washroom everything was very clean and was cleaned everyday. We found everything very neat about the hotel. Has 3 metro station nearby, most notably Montparnasse, which is a big station.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and very small bathroom. The breakfast may have been included in the total price and not separately.

    Convenient location in a very nice neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean and quiet. Very nice breakfast and overall facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hair dryer is not in the room. In the bathroom there is no power plug anywhere and the illumination is very poor. Internet was not working 90% of the time

    Location, very kind and helpful reception.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was apparently clean, and during our stay in the hotel we confused the small insect bites on our body with mosquito bites. When we came back home, we started having a strong allergic reaction: at the hospital said that they were bedbug bites. We threw away most of our luggage, since they are highly infesting. I wish not to overlook this thing when we were in the hotel.

    The position of the place was what my girlfriend and I were looking for.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No bar or place for coffee in the hotel even though enough places outside so not really a serious disadvantage.

    Clean rooms. Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a thing.

    Everything about this Campanile is the best! One doesn't go to Paris to stay in a hotel room, but this hotel really delivers. It's location is tremendous--an easy walk to and from train and airport transit. The staff is very friendly and very accommodating to folks who don't speak French very well. The room is comfortable, the bathroom meets every need, and the breakfast gives you a great start for your day's activities. I can hardly wait to go to Paris again, and the Campanile will be the first hotel choose.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we came back from a stroll(roughly about 5hours after check-in), the toilet smelled like "poo"; the toilet window was left open. We let it pass thinking it was probably us who opened the window. But my doubt came back, the morning we checked out, when a domestic pretended to do something on the door and looked surprised that someone was inside the room.

    The location was perfect. Quiet and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was quite small (particularly shower cubicle, which would struggle to accommodate those of a more rotund body shape).

    Clean and friendly hotel in a good location, close to metro stations.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please make sure the fan is turned off. I was woken up at 4am in the morning by a hot fan. Also the lift is tiny but that seems par for the course in Paris.

    Good location, facilities and price

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no face cloths. The hair dryer required a €20 deposit.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was small but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Good location and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff on reception-not eager to help and rude

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom, triangle shaped inconvenient room. Breakfast was 12EUR. It was OK, but did not worth the price.

    Helpfull, caring staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony should be kept clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room very small

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not have a bath in room.

    We liked the comfort of beds.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, good room size

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Couple

    Convenient for rail station, night manager welcoming.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: