Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Capao 3 stars

Plage Richelieu Centre, 34300 Cap d'Agde, France

Review score

Based on 324 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Expected much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall cleanliness, it was also outdated and needs renovation work! Very short answers in English as well, not too helpful...

    Close to the beach and some shops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Great beach, great massage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has a lovely place on the beach and offers GREAT MASSAGES (you may chose between Thai Massage and Oil Massage), also you can take YOGA LESSONS that are great too. The hotel may look a bit outdated (in the rooms), but the beds are comfortable and the pool area is very nice. The beach is lovely with a nice beach restaurant. Very recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff happy and friendly made us feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bathroom towels would have been welcome !

    Staff happy and friendly made us feel welcome. Keen to accommodate any requests nothing too much trouble. All areas spotlessly clean. Walking distance to restaurants. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, wish we could have stayed MUCH longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, (most of whom could speak English), great location, lovely walk along the beach to the bars and restaurants. As we stayed 'out of season', the parking was free!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok to have some rest, would not go for a vacation to this part of France.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not really have time to look for a hotel for the night - so we were using booking.com filters. One of them was 24 hours front desk, but when we arrived there a bit after midnight, there were difficulties with checking in, as they accept bookings before 9 p.m... well, there were some weird reasons which I don't remember, but all went ok in the end.

    We were on a road trip to Spain and just stopped there to sleep, for this purpose the hotel was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable thanks to the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk in shower. It is also a little pricey but in the summer would be snatched up for its location.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful. Polite and smiley. I am disabled and although they did not have a walk in shower, they supplied a stool to help me get into the bath to use the over bath shower and they put a non slip mat in the bath. They recommended a beautiful fish restaurant in the port for lunch. Dinner in the hotel was mainly cold platters beautifully served and perfect after a heavy lunch. The express breakfast option was great for us as we wanted to be on our way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Only reason to stay here would be friendly staff and location, the rest is meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price of the place it was very average, my previous AirBnB was half the cost and way, WAY nicer! The pool closed at 8pm? what the? a. it's heated, and b. it's light until 10pm... this made absolutely no sense to me. a relaxing dip after dinner with a cocktail would've been nice... but alas they don't do tourism in France like they do in Fiji...

    close to beach, very nice staff. Way too family oriented, not so good for solo or adult travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Good place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from dining options in main harbour area. Limited dining options nearby.

    Booked for one night and stayed 2. Good place to relax as very close to excellent beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed before 10 p. m . Breakfast seemed expensive. No other refreshments available after 10 apart from a vending machine.

    Location and heated pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location for a beach holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant for evening meal. Facilities in other restaurants opposite hotel.

    The pool area so close to the sandy beach -- shallow water for several metres.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.3
    Amazing beach on your door step.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the first place I have stayed in where there was no complimentary tea/coffee which was a shame. Occasionally there was a bit of a blocked drain smell from the bathroom.

    A great location for the amazing beach that went on for miles. Beach/pool towels are supplied as well as a beach bag from the reception area. Parking was easy as there is a pay and display just in front of the hotel. In season the charges are just 2 euros for 12 hours! We left the car park on 1st September just as the warden came to lift the barrier to make the car park free as it was the first day of the new season so we paid no car park charge. On the beach there is a great restaurant serving both a snack menu and a fish menu. We didn't use the facilities in the hotel eg. pool, jacuzzi, sauna but they were available for use.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.1
    enjoyed are stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could use some updating in the rooms

    The staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed. Location to the beach was nice. The food was delicious at the beach restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.4
    Very rude management. I won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived with our four children, three of whom were going to stay the night with the friends we were visiting. Only the baby was staying with us I the room. The hotel staff seemed to think all six of us were going to try to cram into one room. They treated us almost as delinquents - a lady I assume to be the manager came to my room as I was ladened down with bags and a baby, didn't introduce herself and said crossly - 'where are all these children staying? They can't stay here'. This was after the man on reception has asked us the same thing and we had already explained. Not a very warm welcome! I don't pay to stay in a hotel only to be treated like I am doing something wrong. I definitely will not be visiting again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    We will definitely be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very friendly. Our dog was also made very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Hotel Capao went out of their way to accommodate my stay as well as my transportation needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not apply.

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location but VERY expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the hotel was very very high.

    The staff were really friendly and passionate about the service they provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    On the beach, great rooms, excellent food and access to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the beach, great rooms, excellent food and access to many restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant location, hire bikes available, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location, hire bikes available, friendly receptionists, the best beach bar we have ever visited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My view.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    2.5
    Don't Go There
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC working, shower was broke overcharged €54, staff not interested.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Ease access hotel for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were awesome!! I meant to look a the label before I left but I forgot. They were a type of memory foam.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Small problem with cockroaches
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small problem with cockroaches

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Love it here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love this place stayed here a few years ago and its now evev better with there beach bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    large bed, wifi well worked. I asked them to call a taxi, but nobody answered. They took me at the station by only 10EUR

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff in hotel and on beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to know we couldn't guarantee eating in the restaurant as this was often booked out with coach parties. Would definitely go back again though.

    Great location, friendly staff in hotel and on beach.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.8
    The Hotel was nice,clean,friendly staff and very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AAA-all good..

    The Hotel was nice,clean,friendly staff and very spacious.We were at the end of summer season so not many guests. Don't know about mid high season..

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    4.2
    The beach bar/restaurant was this hotels saving grace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is generally shabby, although staff where polite there was no atmosphere in the hotel

    The beach bar/restaurant was this hotels saving grace. The food was good, although the service was only good from a few people.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Good family rooms, friendly helpful staff with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking, dragging our huge bags up and down stairs, struggling with the room key! Room snacks contained peanuts (our son is allergic).

    Good family rooms, friendly helpful staff with excellent English, nice bar area and swimming pools. Convenient for beach and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    Beach restaurant and sun beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Twin beds. Beds also hard if you don't weigh much Cancellation policy - had to leave a day early and was charged in full. Shower over bath not thermostatic.

    Beach restaurant and sun beds. Excellent staff Cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    4.2
    Location - walking distance to the beach, close to the free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard room we stayed in did not match the photo shown on booking. The hotel displays photo from better rooms for the standard room as a trick. Bathroom facilities are very old. Short of sockets for charging in the room. Staff are not willing to help on most of the requests. Very difficult to communicate with the staff on night shift.

    Location - walking distance to the beach, close to the free public car park, restaurants nearby. Wifi - strong signal, reliable

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    6.7
    Great location and nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not know the restaurant was closed or that one of the pools was closed Decor all a bit tired and dated. Surrounding area untidy, flowers in tubs all dead etc

    Great location and nice pool. Friendly staff Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.3
    Great location right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is very dated and our room was in need of modernisation

    Great location right on the beach

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Locaion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dinner inhotel

    Locaion

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Proximity to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance from the heart of Cap d'Adge

    Proximity to beach

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    Being on the water.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No elevator to get bags to second floor although staff ready to help.

    Being on the water. Nice staff. Basic amenities.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    Family friendly, very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family friendly, very helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Close to the beach and easy to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to the beach and easy to access. Warm pool even in April and great little spa facility with jacuzzi, sauna and haman.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: