Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carayon 2 stars

Place Du Fort, 12380 Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Delightful hotel in an amazing unspoilt area of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bumps in track that leads to the free parking.

    We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Caryon. The hotel has recently changed ownership and we were a little apprehensive .However we found the new owners to be very welcoming and we had a very comfortable stay. Our room was clean and we were given a room with a bath that I had asked for(often this request is ignored) We had a small balcony that had a fantastic view. There were good facilities including a lovely swimming pool and a tennis court. Breakfast was delicious with freshh bread, croissants and a wonderful swlection of cake each morning. We also loved the Cantal cheese and special ham, there were also boiled eggs and fresh fruit available. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Dreadful dysfunctional management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrive at 1615. The information from the hotel said check in from 1300 and we had advised our time of arrival as 1600 to 1700. We were cycling and were very cold on arrival and the had to wait an hour and a quarter for the hotel to open. The receptionist was hardly apologetic. Frankly this is NOT acceptable. Clearly the hotel management are more concerned with their own convenience rather than the welfare of their customers. We were also disappointing that the board outside the hotel advertised an evening menu for €15 and when we sat down the only option was a menu for €25, again with NO explanation. The al a carte menu was not good value and a 50 of very ordinary wine was €10.

    We had a large specious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    sejour insalubre au carayon
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chambre en sous sol sans fenêtre non à 20 m des poubelles!! ..extrême saleté....odeurs++.derriere il y a un cours d'eau ou se deverse les égoûts de l 'hotel(on voit les déjections et autres:lamentable!!!)piscine limite insalubre très limite!!!l'hotel est tres ancien et n'est plus entretenu à sa juste valeur.dommage car le village mérite le détour..

    La cuisine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Left early as it was very tired and grotty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reflected nothing of the pictures.

    The property was very run down.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Unfortunately it was public holidays and due
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good and the views were stunning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I guess if your totally accustomed to luxury accommodation you could argue the landscaping and outdoor space could have benefited from a little tlc.

    Everything ... Great little hotel offering brilliant facilities (covered pool,kids slides, sauna). Layout of rooms offer fabulous views with the added bonus of privacy. Owner couldn't have made us more welcome or been more accommodating despite late arrival (also spoke great English). Great location in rural traditional French village. An absolute highlight of the holiday. Didn't want to leave.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.7
    Beer tasted beautiful food was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner was an aggressive monster I thought he was going to attack me over a cost query he was behaving like a raving lunatic we had young kids with us that didn't bother him keep well away The pools were stinking we wouldn't let the kids swim because there it was too dirty

    Beer tasted beautiful food was nice

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    4.6
    Dinner was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hot weather, no airconditioning, room located on roadside, very noisy with traffic as well as loud music from nearby restaurant. Did not have a good night's sleep.

    Dinner was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    3.3
    The location in the centre of the village, next to a taxi...
    • Solo traveller

    The manager refused to help me book a hotel, saying "it was not his job". Very unhelpful and rude. Food is average. The whole lace is stuck in the 80's. Very little style. Nothing pleasant about staying here at all. In the end I didn't even stay the night.

    The location in the centre of the village, next to a taxi rank promised to be useful as I needed to be at the airport early the next morning...

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No windows in our room.

    Clean

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: