Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Mercure Carcassonne La Cite

18 Rue Camille Saint-Saens, 11000 Carcassone, France

#13 of 36 hotels in Carcassone

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1284 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    Easy to find, right beside the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor thing, my pet hate of staff clearing dinner settings in restaurant and getting ready for breakfast when there was at least one hour of serving time left. Felt uncomfortable as we had only just got our starters.

    Easy to find, right beside the old city. Plenty of secure private parking. Good quality food in restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. Small window in room made it feel smaller than it probably was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    An excellent base to explore "The City".
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are currently no USB ports in the bedrooms, which as a traveller from Ireland I would have appreciated as they cut down on the necessity to bring adaptors etc. Also public transport in the vicinity of the hotel is very limited.

    While this hotel is a bit far away from the "new" city, it is an excellent base for exploring the old city. However, as the old city is perched on a hill be prepared for quite a bit of uphill walking to it from whichever direction you approach it. Also, while reaching the main city is quite a walk, it is downhill, but the return walk is quite an uphill struggle towards the end, so unless you like walking as I do, I would recommend taking a taxi back. The hotel itself is modern, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and it also has a very good restaurant. The rooms are well equipped, with tea-making facilities, hair dryer, ironing board & iron. and a safe for your valuables. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and includes both hot and cold options which include the usual cereals, cold cuts, pastries, and a small selection of hot food. There are also newspapers on hand in various languages. All in all I enjoyed my stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, only five minutes walk from the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proximity to the castle appears to mean an expensive room rate in comparison to other Mercure hotels.

    Excellent location, only five minutes walk from the castle. Free parking. The restaurant is very good indeed and, unusually for hotel restaurants, is also reasonably priced for the quality of the food being provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    The receptionist at check- in was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small.

    The receptionist at check- in was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent , very close to la cite. The garden was nice , the bedroom was clean and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    Good location. Generally good but a couple of things let it down. Bed comfort is so important.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable - needs new mattress. Couldn't find any bar staff and when eventually got someone they were not very friendly.

    Great location. Nice to have the swimming pool. Well appointed bathroom with good shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable privilege room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly the outdoor swimming pool doesn’t open until 1st June

    Comfortable privilege room Wonderful view of the citadel Quiet Easy walk to the citadel Very good breakfast Easy parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception on arrival was very welcoming but on leaving the female receptionist could have been more pleasant eg enquire about our satisfaction level and general welfare

    Didn’t eat in house Very easy 2min walk to city Easy to find Everything you need in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient one night stop, with easy access to Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sun was shining brightly, but the pool was not open (May 2018). Lots of bus parties. Great location for castle, but a distance from the rest of Carcassonne.

    1 day stay, prior to return flight from Carcassonne. Very nice room, with direct view onto castle. Free on site parking. Good breakfast. No hassle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic bed, superb breakfast and a magnificent location for visiting medieval Carcasonne :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not down to the hotel, but my car's day nav thought that using the rat runs was good, this meant finding the car park was a challenge as the signs are all set for drivers coming in on the sensible route :)

    Friendly staff, as we arrived we were informed there would be a free guided tour of the old town, delivered in English, by a local historian. The tour was brilliant, Chevalier Geoff played the part well and proved knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although we were allowed to take our small dog into the restaurant they sat us right by the entrance which meant our dog was constantly on alert

    Good size room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Difficult.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the double room was below standard, very small. The restaurant was poor, the staff were rude and the last night we couldn't eat there because they were booked up. Very poor.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.9
    Suited our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist!

    We had to change room because the bed was very squeaky and we would have woken up everytime we turned over but the receptionist was slightly obnoxious. The rooms were very clean and the location was great. Good breakfast too! Just a shame about the staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Carcassonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is only 5 min walk from the old Cite, and has a car park. We stayed in a spacious family room that had a beautiful view over the garden and Cite walls. The breakfast buffet was amazing (and free for children!). Staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    8.3
    Well located comfortable hotel close to the Cite. Would happy stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    The hotel is extremely well located only five minutes walk fro the entrance to the Cite. It has plenty of free, safe, secure, car parking, which is a big bonus. The rooms are comfortable, without being spacious. The bathroom is a reasonably good size too. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which is handy. I liked this hotel. The view from the bedroom was fantastic as we were looking right up to the Cite, which is beautifully lit at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Nice, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little disappointed that I was unable to add points to my stay at the hotel. As an Accorhotels member, I have been able to add points at other properties even though I booked through Booking.com.

    The lady at the front desk was friendly and informative. The room was clean and it had a kettle for coffee or tea. Parking is ample and free! The five minute walk to the old town was a bonus!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    5.8
    Mercure Group should improve the quality of its facilities/services. Quality and price do not match
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service personnel reduced to one person ar reception desk. Personnel in restaurant and breakfaist room not up to par ( maitre d'hotel wistling while serving, waiters very young with limited experience). Food in restaurant was substandard for the price, breakfirst coffee was sour and croissants of questionable quality.

    Good location near medieval castle, few minutes walking distance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.9
    Nice view, OK breakfast, OK for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of staff help with luggage. Incorrect information given out. Some items in breakfast which were not that good. Fruit salad, egg, pancakes kept cold and were hard because of it and sausages were not nice.

    Nice view from the room to the castle. Breakfast was OK. Pancakes were put in the cold area in the buffet. Not hot pancakes. Sausages were disgusting. Rest of breakfast was OK. Lady in breakfast room could have been friendlier. Parking on site free which was good. Good location to castle. More information could have been given out at reception to guests. The info re the castle was incorrect that they gave in terms of opening and closing times so ended up not doing the castle because of. No one helped us with our luggage. Had to get the luggage trolley and do it ourselves. Some positives but also negatives.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.9
    Fun, adventurous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of it isn’t the best, we had to take metro and then walk around. The area around the hotel looks industrial and not as nice, there aren’t many restaurants to choose at the location, but the metro is quick and easy to get to downtown.

    The Hotel is bit older, but has everything you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.3
    Good and comfort hotel for Carcasanne medival's visit with free car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is less choice and be the same everyday. Dinner is needed improve while compare with proce

    Good location, just 5 min walk to Carcasanne medival Very comfort free Parking. Comfort and clean room. Elevator

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.6
    We would gladly return to the Mercure La Cite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant can get very busy at night.

    Very convenient location just a short walk from the walled city. Comfortable and clean rooms. Very pleasant staff. We would recommend the Mercure La Cite to anyone planning a pleasure trip to Carcassonne.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great location to access the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints other than have to drag bags up a few steps.

    The location was brilliant. Just a few minutes walk up to the castle which was the purpose of out visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    Reasonable, clean room, friendly staff, across from the train station - great AC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff very good, let us get into our room even though we arrived in the morning. The AC was great in the room. This is a very reasonable little hotel, so didn't expect the Ritz. Stayed here to take the train to Toulouse the next morning. the room was small, bed was comfortable, bathroom tiny but clean - and the price was right!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar. We were looking forward to a quiet drink but the bar staff were engrossed in the football on the TV, we felt like we were intruding. Not pleasant.

    The location was perfect for walking to the Medieval Cité. Parking was next to the hotel and secure. Breakfast was great, fantastic choice, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and romantic visit to Carcasonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is excellent as it's just a five minutes walk to the main entrance of La Cité. The bedrooms are very big and exquisitely decorated. The staff is great. The parking is right on the property which makes it really accesible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend you stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were a few steps I had to negotiate even after using lift. This did not apply to all bedrooms. We had several suitcases which was a little annoying. They should replace with a ramp!

    The location to the castle was amazing. Just a quick walk and you are there. The beds and pillows were perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and facilities. Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was amazing but freezing in August...breakfast good but was licking plates and cups when we came down. Bathroom needs a bit of improvement too as you can barely sit on the loo kid not sitting sideways

    Perfect location, great family room, friendly ataff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.8
    Great few nights stay with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe more staff on at breakfast, really not a big issue though.

    Location was great, pool area very nice, food was lovely & gardens/surroundings where beautiful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    6.3
    Accor group clearly don't like booking.com. They only want your loyalty if you book direct
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are part of Accor group yet they don't want your loyalty if you book via booking.com. They don't take your loyalty card if you show loyalty via booking.com.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    7.5
    Good location but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel pricing was expensive and on a par with Paris prices, the restaurant is particularly expensive and pretty much twice the price of food at restaurants in the town. Breakfast range was poor for English speaking guests.

    The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring carcasonne, with the medieval town only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are modern and comfortable and parking good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    6.7
    Got bitten during sleep, in room, by some sort of insect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got bitten during sleep, in room, by some sort of insect, possibly mosquito. Most of staff very friendly except one lady who would only give us one towel for the pool, between the two of us, and she was not apologetic and quite abrupt. Swimming pool had pigeons drinking from it. Excellent location however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    One to return to....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked the close location to the walled city and the attitude of staff at the hotel. Breakfast was busy but the team on duty kept it running like a well oiled machine - with a smile. Bar service in the evening involved ringing a bell at the bar - in our experience the staff appeared in a matter of seconds. Very easy and enjoyable stay.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was good as were the staff but the service was slow and the sweet presented was not what we ordered. They could do with a few more staff at busy times.

    Superb buffet breakfast. The pool was clean and well kept. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the old city. Great place for a short stay. The city is full of history. The canal cruise and lunch was an unexpected treat. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    4.6
    It was please
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need to be careful how they treat a foreign customer. They need to teach to some staff not to treat customers like idiot because they don't speak the language. After all, they are pay to do their jobs but not to pass judgment on foreign travelers.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    5.4
    Good facilities and breakfast, ok location but some staff let us down here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    uncomfortable bed, some inept staff

    Room wasnt available until after 3.30pm when check in should be 3pm. Room wasnt cleaned until after 3pm the next day either. The bed was rock hard. Some really nice staff were unfortunately let down by other inept staff. I went for this hotel as it was Mercure so I thought I would get a good experience but the overall experience was just ok here. They did take 20 euro off the bill but the late check in was a real day spoiler.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    A perfect place for a short break to Carcassonne. I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was really cold.

    Staff were really helpful. The location was perfect. The grounds were beautiful - we loved how our room opened out onto the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    6.7
    Nothing of note.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Abrupt staff, with exception of gentleman on reception. Room very cold despite air-con control. Inadequate storage very any stay longer than 3 nights. Very basic tea/ coffee provision.

    Nothing of note.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.3
    Typical stay in a large chain hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room felt a little dated, and for a 4 star hotel I would not expect paper cups and poor quality UHT milk for the in room refreshments. Aircon is a little loud but this is normal.

    Location was perfect for the area and the garden and pool was very nice. Room was very clean, bed very comfy and housekeeping were very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    9.2
    Would revisit beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff seemed stressed when we first got there,they seemed very busy in the hotel....but surely that is basic training in hospitality not to let the customer be aware. The bar is not customer friendly you have to ring a bell & then a member of staff appears....we all enjoyed a drink & even after being out its nice to have nightcap.Unfortunately the bar closes at midnight on the dot. This info was given to us by Alain the night manager with a very straight face at 2359!! At 2000 our friends went to order drinks & a member of staff was doing paperwork in the bar area & would not serve them. Also at 2200 one evening we rang the bell & Anna continued to empty bins with a most unfriendly manner,basic customer care is missing in this area. All this being said there were some very pleasant members of staff Aliza & Michel & the housekeepers are very helpful & friendly.Also the front desk staff were very helpful.

    The location is perfect for the Cite .....we all thought the beds were excellent. The pool is lovely & the gardens well tended. We ate some meals at the hotel from 21.50 euros menu they were excellent especially the beef skewers,all very french & delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.9
    Good stopover option, amazing medieval city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con not great, and it gets very hot in these parts. Room a bit tight, and felt like rather poor value (although this is a tourist hotspot).

    Location is good, close to old city main gate. Good view out of our room to the city. Easy parking, and free. Small pool looks like it would be welcomed on a hot day, but not many beds, maybe just count on a swim!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for visiting Carcassonne with easy links to all attractions and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were all friendly and helpful and the courtyard dining area was lovely to relax in. Fabulous salads available at lunchtime for 12 euros. Well situated for both old and new Carcassonne with eateries galore within the old city. Would recommend for those who want to visit both as buses and taxis readily available. The rooms were clean comfortable and linen towels or extras easy to request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no issues with anything

    We had travelled to Carcassonne for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and stayed 3 nights On the Saturday we were a group of 12 dinning in the restaurant. The hotel bent over backwards to make the night special and certainly went the extra mile to accommodate us and make it a night to remember. The table was decorated beautifully and the food was excellent and real good value and the staff very attentive, everyone had a great and memorable time and we were very grateful for the way we were looked after

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    6.3
    Never coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the hotel and Roms sete ok I was very dissatsified with the restaurant. Wrong food was delivered and had to wait on a new delivery while the rest of the table finished their food. When the dish finally arrived the meet was still raw inside...my advice is that you find somewhere else to dine

    Hotel was close to the old City

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.3
    3 minutes to the old walled city which is handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive bar, even for France. Even the touristy places in the medieval city weren't asking almost a fiver for a coke!

    3 minutes to the old walled city which is handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money at a very convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stronger wifi signal in the room.

    The accommodation is clean and comfortable. Very close to the walled part of the town, only a few minutes walk. Plenty of car parking spaces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Walking distance to the medieval cite and the breakfast is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything about this hotel-- the location is perfect, within walking distance to the medieval cite. The breakfast buffet they have is supberb, with varieties of meat, cheese, pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and espresso. It's by far the best hotel breakfast buffet we have ever had. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was superb. One of the group would have liked the bar to be open later!

    Superb location, lovely hotel, excellent price. We were a group of nine women celebrating a birthday. The staff were amazing and arranged a surprise cake at short notice. They arranged taxis to the airport for us, allowed us to use the pool after check out time and leave cases. Fantastic service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast very good and quite tired one evening ate in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms small and air con not the best

    Breakfast very good and quite tired one evening ate in hotel-food excellent taste and value in pretty garden Staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walk a little ways to the Narbonne Gate to the Cite and castle. Also to the hop on hop off shuttle train breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was a good value Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Perfect location for the old city in Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location with a short walk to the entrance of the old city. This allows you to pop in and out and so our little one could enjoy the pool late afternoon and then we could go back in for dinner. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we looked at this on booking.com there was a flier saying breakfast included. It was not. On the second day we paid for breakfast 30 euros for the two of us. There was very little to eat and the food that was out was dry and inedible. The orange juice however was very good but not worth 30 euros!!

    Room very clean and bathroom was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    7.1
    Ideal location for visiting the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were memory foam which I found difficult to sleep on. There was a coffee machine in the room would have been nicer to have proper cups rather than the paper cups that were provided.

    Close to the city, room was spacious, clean and comfortable and nice to have a pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    7.9
    Carcassonne is well worth the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was pleasant and met all my needs except for two things - the bed was too hard for my liking and the room service dinner was poor. The latter was offered as just lamb & potatoes with a roquefort dressing (no vegs) so I asked for a small salad and emphasised 'small please'. The meal turned with up with an inch thick slab of meat and a mound of green leaves with dressing covering more than 1/2 the plate. The potatoes were missing and there was not even butter for the bread. Ordinary!! I suspect the fellow who took my phone order did not speak enough English to understand my request - and obviously, because of what I received, my French was inadequate.

    The accom was very convenient to the tourist attraction and the breakfast was full, diverse and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel really close to Carcassone with rooms overlooking it provided you request!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My dessert was not cooked correctly and the waitress apologised and then gave me ice cream. On the next day my fish dish was OK but the vegetables were burnt but I didn't bother to complain again. We had 2 very hot nights and the staff were not allowed to put the air conditioning on until a certain date!! We chose this place because of the air con.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, too small a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was much smaller than we had expected for the price -- the second chair that we requested (and got without trouble) more or less filled up the last readily available space in the room. No drawer space at all, and little space elsewhere to store clothes. OK for a few nights but would have been very restrictive for longer. Overall, no better than the average Premier Inn room (say) in the UK.

    Location excellent -- away from the crowds inside the citadel but only 5 minutes' walk from its entrance. Very good breakfast (though pricey at 15 euros). We had requested a double bed and a bath, both of which were supplied. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.3
    Very close to the Medieval city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We payed for a "Panoramic view room to the castle" and there was a quite small window, where you could barely see the castle and to our surprise also there was a huge tree in front of our tiny window. So, we didn't understand the "Panoramic" think....

    Staff nice and responsive to any question you needed. Breakfast nice with some good cheese. Confortable room. The hotel is VERY close to the medieval city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    The staff were very helpful both before we arrived and during our stay. The beds are very comfy, the shower is great and breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    9.2
    Classy and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside was the matress felt a little old & tired.

    Really friendly staff, great room on the ground floor with patio doors that opened onto the garden (room was given to me as I mentioned I was a smoker), great food in the restaurant, and plenty of parking. Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffet Breakfast was excellent well stocked and the coffee great. Beds are are firm and comfy with good linen. Bathrooms decent size and very clean with quality towels. The stafff helpful and all very friendly. The Hotel sits a stones throw frame the Old Cite, and has good access to the motorway airport or railway. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, staff, parking, evening meal and breakfast excellent. When we arrived, because I had seen that the rooms may be a little petiite on the reviews I upgraded to the superior room which was EXTREMELY spacious. This was sorted out by the lady on reception who was extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you once again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    7.9
    Great location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the Front Office staff could have been a little more 'on the ball' First we were booked into a room which Housekeeping were still cleaning (Front Office had not checked with Housekeeping) and secondly, after being asked twice if we would like to book a table for dinner, our reservation was not made). Whilst neither was a major issue it wasn't a good start.

    Having a view of the old city was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    7.9
    Nice but no thrill stay super close to the old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small windows in the rooms not facing the city. Corridors are very (brown on brown on brown)

    Great Location. mall but well equiped room with big shower, great bed (yes, slept like a baby!), big TV and all very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    8.3
    Close to La Cité
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room..no safe

    Loved the breakfast...one of the best on our France trip...lots if choices! Loved the secure free parking and closeness to the old city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    10
    Absolutely perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were extremely comfortable and the location of the hotel was perfect. The staff were friendly and very helpful. the onsite parking was an added bonus. We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely room which was furnished beautifully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room which was furnished beautifully. Great view of and perfect location for visiting the medieval city; especially beautiful at night when it was lit up.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    6.7
    The hotel was near to medieval city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a walk to the modern city centre. Restuarants do not serve dinner until after 7pm so you need to walk back as public transport has stopped and taxi's are not plentiful.

    The hotel was near to medieval city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    5.4
    A hotel with 3* service in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't find the staff particularly helpful and at times felt like it was an inconvenience to approach them. The maids would enter the room when a do not disturb sign was placed on the door and tea, coffee and milk were not replaced on a daily basis. When we requested extra towels, they were charged to our room and then refunded on check out. When we required room service we were abruptly told to come down to reception. If you want to return late at night, this is not the right hotel for you. The entrance barrier is shut soon after midnight and we had to ring a bell for some time to wake up the night porter to let us in. This hotels A cappears to be suited to older clientele as the majority of guests where passing through on coach tours.

    The twin room was compact but clean. It was nice to have a pool, although the number of loungers available was inadequate. The hotel is only a short walk from the Medieval City so a good base to explore from without needing a car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    8.3
    Very close to castle
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed, too cold in the room (no heating), small room

    Professional atmosphere, kind employees, very nice sanitary installations (not leaking out too much water); could continue to freely park after checkout for sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    7.1
    Only a 5 min walk to the City of Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was good. On the up side I would say that we had a lovely view of the Castle from our room, so the location was very good. it was also very clean, but I was disappointed that there was only paper cups provided for the tea and coffee and barely enough milk for 2 cups. Probably not a big thing for most people, but I do like a nice cup of tea in a cup or mug. The bed was very comfortable though and it was a very quiet hotel. I was very happy with the breakfast, although breakfast was extra. There was plenty of choice between cereals, croissants, fresh bread, cold meats and cheese, fruit and yogurts, so overall I would say that I was fairly happy with our stay. I would recommend this hotel for its location and convenience to the castle. Only a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    4.6
    I WILL NOT RETURN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in the restaurant. One girl (with ponytail) was OK the others ignored us. So bad that we complained. We got a mumbled apology the next morning from the manager, but it really was bad. We saw other people be seated, given menus and bread provided, their orders taken and their food eaten, before we were even given the menus. We were the last to leave the restaurant but had arrived on time at 7.30 having pre booked a table. Not good enough. I would not recommend eating here unless you are French. It's like France back in the 1980s. This has influenced our stay in Mercure Hotels in the future.

    Convenience to the town and score parking. Bed was OK and view from our room was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    5.4
    Overvalued for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast second morning had run out of most things and long wait until put right. Staff not helpful over breakfast. Room has two paper cups for tea etc, as a couple only one drink each for most of day and night. Why not have proper China cups?

    Location, room size and quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    6.7
    Sullen staff in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have never been in a restaurant where the staff were so sullen, unprofessional and down right rude. We will not return.

    Location within walking distance of the "Cite".

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities were fantastic, and location to the old town was a five minute walk. The car park was very secure so bikes could be left on the car overnight.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.5
    Great locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning did not work at all in our room. We were told to keep the door shut and how to work the dial but it still did not work at all. The evening staff in the restaurant were a tad grumpy.

    Breakfast was excellent and having a pool which our room looked out on was great with children. Locations is excellent for the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    To see the walls ogf the medevial cité of Carcassonne from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To see the walls ogf the medevial cité of Carcassonne from your room late at night and early in the morning is a wunderful sight. Also the pool and the breakfast are just great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    7.9
    Excellent base to stay o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough sun beds, there was no chance of getting a bed round the pool, they could improve this area as there was some scrub like garden which could be converted. Nice having the kettle facility but no decent English tea bags!.

    Very nice modern contemporary style hotel. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely swimming pool which was nice to come back and relax in. Room very clean and the bathroom was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: