Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

4 rue Jussieu, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#5 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1250 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    21 euros for two cups of tea from room service was ridiculously excessive. There was also some sort of event going on in the bar so we were somewhat neglected. I love this hotel though and have stayed here before and will do so again.

    Stylish, comfortable quiet rooms with good air conditioning. Hotel well placed for all the shops and restaurants and only a short walk to the old town. Very good breakfast and a lovely bar area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    All in all an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling with a group of 13 friends. We had booked 7 Classic Rooms and one Standard Room. There was considerable variation in the Classic Rooms in terms of size and location ranging from one with balcony with table and chairs overlooking Place de la Republique (excellent) to one small room at the rear with view of brick walls (ours!). We feel there should be greater consistency in the rooms which were the same price.

    The hotel is in an excellent central location. The decor is very good as was the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Stay here you will not regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING WAS AWESOME!

    THIS PLACE OVER DELIVERED! The beds were super comfy! The room is so cute and efficient and comfy! The staff is amazing from the moment you step in! Great bar area!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great! There's a few halal kebab restaurants. Hotel is located only walking distance to Printemps outlet. The staff were very helpful and accommodative. Thanks for helping us out with the luggage storage while we were away at Paris :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    If the hotel's 1 guest lift is working, a good option for Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One problem was poor value breakfasts. For Euro 25, the food, drink and ambience was very poor value. This was our 9th 5 star hotel stop on this trip and this breakfast was a distant last. A potentially big issue for older guests and those with a disability is the hotel lift. The hotel only has one guest elevator and a very grungy staff one 50 yards / metres away around the corner. The guest elevator was broken for the duration of our stay and we ended up walking up what was effectively 4 floors about 8 times during our stay. It was a taxing climb even though we are very fit for our age.

    Very pleasant hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Room pleasant depute rather dark decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the main bathroom was good the seperate toilet was on the other side of the room sns despite ample space did not have a basin. This was somewhat strange.

    Room pleasant depute rather dark decor. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice but small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but we had classic double. No storage space for clothes but ok for a short stay.

    It was very central and nice breakfast. Staff were helpful as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice in Lyon for business and touring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small.

    The renovated hotel was comfortable in every way - excellent bed, linens, products, delicious breakfast, etc... Service was friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Location, Older Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had older accommodations (not the most updated or modern), but because of the great location, it was a good spot if you just want something simple, not too fancy, and easy to walk around.

    Great location—right in the middle of where you want to walk in Lyon. It is in an old historic building, very pretty on the outside. The staff was also very helpful and approachable. We had a balcony, which was nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, excellent service and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pricey per person.

    Very central location. Very clean room/hotel. Comfy bed/pillows. Excellent service and friendly, attentive staff. Breakfast was amazing with every kind of national and international choices but a tlittle pricey. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.5
    Great location for overnight and a ten minute walk across river to old Lyon for morning stroll.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really that we didn’t like. Even got parked very close on Rue Grollee overnight for €25.

    Good breakfast selection/great room/super comfy bed/helpful staff and a room with small balcony overlooking quiet side of hotel and a square. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Location is right at the heart of old Lyon, the building is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are comfy. The room size is relatively good (for a French Hotel). The washroom is extra clean and very chic. Balcony is a good extra. Storage space is decent. Lighting and curtains are at the right function. Carpet flooring adds a nice level of comfort. Breakfast is good enough to start your day. The bar is greatly priced with good variety of drinks. Staff are very helpful. Only issue, that may be an issue is a single elevator serving the 4 floors property. Waiting time is ok, but will be an issue if it breaks down! Finally, great hotel with great location. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Location is right at the heart of old Lyon, the building is well kept and offers a good taste of Lyon Architecture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    perfect stay in the most adorable French town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to not like as regards this hotel.

    Flawless. Perfect position. Extra-kind staff. Beautiful room, spacious, perfectly clean, every detail taken care of, absolutely nothing missing. Shared spaces nicely decorated. Old fashioned elevator a plus. :) It is placed on the main shopping street, just across the Old Lyon Centre. Just loved it. Best place I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable and very central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location for this renovated and very comfortable hotel. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, and the hotel is very quiet, due to its location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Break fast, It was expensive. Tea and coffee is not self service. And you have to ask for refill almost every thing (Bacon, Croissant, ...) -They didn't change our wet towels in our stay. -Towels are not smell fresh.

    Location Air condition

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    This is a great hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only gripe is the old school elevator. Access to it is kind of hard if you have luggage.

    The location of this hotel is hard to beat. It's just steps away from some very fine restaurants, and Vieux Lyon is just across the river. From there you can take the funicular to Fourvière.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Good, service, people very professional!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelant service!!!!...very friendly, however, cream for coffee,and a little less crowded room (little bigger, for money value), the writer is s hotel manager by profession...)....

    It will be nice to have better coffee instead of the instant, with very little cream. Which I requested. Constantly...😭

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The staff were fantastic and upgraded us to a very special room. The bed was fantastic, the view was very good. Valet parking was not very expensive. It is in the centre of Lyon and is a very luxurious hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Clean and quiet with an excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst pillows I've encountered. Like an over-inflated pillow balloon.

    Cool and quiet rooms. Not too tiny (like most European hotel rooms). The breakfast was excellent: scrambled eggs, meats, fruits, breads, cereals, cappuccinos to order, and friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel that we would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a restaurant through the hotel however when we arrived the restaurant had no record of our booking. We requested an iron & ironing board - the iron was dirty.

    On the whole the staff were friendly & helpful. The breakfast choices were great. The location was excellent. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel for short stay with excellent location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lobby ... spa shut ... only 1 small chair in room ... so for 2 persons 1 has to sit on the bed. Small toilet.

    Standard breakfast ... no surprises... cheerful but not extraordinary buffet. Quaint elevator. Rain forest shower!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    So good I would stay again. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent & friendly service plus the staff were very helpful & kind. The room was clean. The bed & pillows were so comfortable. It as a quite room. Everything worked in the room. Felt very comfortable & secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Location, the staff at the front desk it’s very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff is rude. It is difficult to obtain more than two towels and additional toilet paper in the room. There was no nightly turned down service. Our room was not ready when we arrived, they stated housekeeping was running late.

    Location, the staff at the front desk it’s very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Luxury stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just in the heart of Lyon - close to all possible destinations and shopping streets to see, great old building, fully renovated and spotlessly clean rooms. Nice small bar downstairs, quite a nice staff - helpful and accomodative. Great beds and sheets and HUGE bathroom with waterfall shower. Recommended, but little pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    A nice stay in an interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was somewhat hard to control and the air conditioner a little noisy. Local restaurants were overpriced and underwhelming in quality, particularly the one directly next door to the hotel.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the old town and good shopping. The bedroom was a good size, as was the bathroom. The room had a separate toilet. The desk staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good and the staff there very attentive. We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Service second to none
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really great and went above and beyond in terms of service. The reception and concierge staff in particular were very thoughtful and provided top class service. Look forward to being able to stay here again in the future

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are very clean, staff very friendly and I...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a minor inconvenience but the main reason I had booked the hotel was for its spa but when I arrived the spa was under renovation and there was no note of this on the website which was disappointing.

    The rooms are very clean, staff very friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful and kind staff and a great location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. If the closet door was open, one could not access the bathroom.

    The décor of the room was unusual and delightful--e.g. the closet was designed to look like a steamer trunk, and was painted glossy red on the interior. The rug was handwoven with a distinctly French design. Although the room was tiny, it was comfortable with an excellent bed. The location is superb, and the staff extremely kind and helpful. We enjoyed the petite balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the bustling square. The hotel was very quiet at night, and the breakfast was terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room: uncomfortable circulation at the displayed food serving area.

    Exceptional central location. Nice hotel bar with a lovely singer every thursday evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    A traditional touch of luxury with a friendly and service-oriented approach.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, ambience and the touch of modern to a classic hotel. Loved the quaint touches of yesteryear with the bench seat in the elevator. Overall, everything was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    good location, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is great!!! nice location and nice staff. I get a nice memory. Thank you for eveything about this hotel. I am sure i will come here and book this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    We loved it, and will return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one petty thing: the shower needs a bigger shelf.

    The room was very well-lit, including good reading lights by the bed. The bathroom, though small, was also well-lit--even the magnifying mirror was lit well enough to put on make-up easily. And the shower was roomy. The tiny balcony gave us a good view of Fourvière. The bed was a little soft, but comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The location is perfect: the fountain in the Place de la Republique is worth a visit, and it's an easy walk across the Saone to the rue Saint Jean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, forget breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t bother with breakfast. The buffet itself is ok, but the rooms they use are tiny and it is frankly uncomfortable to move about. The tables are squashed together, and it only takes 1 chair out of place and all circulation stops. The staff, all 3 of them, were overwhelmed, tables not cleared, the other room not indicated and I don’t want to start my day like that. For €25, they can do better than that, at least at a cafe you know what you pay for.

    The location is amazing, you are in the heart of the city, walking is easy and the sights are great. The hotel is tucked just off 1 of the main squares and there is easy access to shopping and restaurants. Good size room, with a lovely bathroom, although the shower had a really low ceiling for my husband at 1.9m! Would go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Served my needs in every way!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two issues that I found were that it was very hard to adjust the room temperature but more importantly, there was no availability of bright light. It is very hard for those of us over the age of 50!

    Location, staff and overall experience was fabulous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good and relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have reduced ceiling height to "normal" when refurbished the place. Some grand hotels still have old high rooms.

    Nice view from top floor, excellent insulation and good sleep. Brekfast very good. Nicely renovated and stylish grand hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely. Unfortunately the whole reason for booking the hotel was the Spa which was being renovated and out of action. I was not offered any discount which was a huge disappointment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful time in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location, very central, hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Very comfortable bed, quiet, clean and nicely decorated room. The hotel bar though is not big, but warm and cosy, they make excellent cocktails. We also enjoyed the breakfast - with plenty and good quality food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    We are quite happy with it. We can for sure prefer it if we ever come back to LYON.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decoration is litlle too much red and our suit room was little dark. The hotel can add more food option.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff was very friendly, helpful and positive. Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Memorable Lyon is a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, from delivering our luggage to our room, to recommending restaurants, where "local" eat to get the real Lyon experience, to suggesting sights if interested. Staff were fantastic. Definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit to Lyon!!

    We didn't have breakfast in hotel, we thought €25 each too expensive. We loved this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable modern room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar area is not very inviting Breakfast is very expensive for the offering Spa was closed and we were not told in advance Staff will only recommend the restaurant next door and one other...there are thousands in Lyon!!

    Very comfortable room, lovely view of square Excellent location Modern bedroom and bathroom furniture and fittings Quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Good room with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft and somewhat uncomfortable

    Good room with a great view. Best front desk staff I have met during any of my trips to Europe. Really awesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast and the room- beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at the property and no e-mail debt in advance by the hotel about the spa being closed.

    The breakfast and the room- beautifully decorated. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Elegant stay in the heart of Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was temporarily closed during our stay. It is true that we had been informed prior to our visit via a text box on the booking confirmation. Unfortunately, we have only noticed it at the time of our stay.

    The Junior Suite gave view on Place de la République in all its splendour. The hotel has an elegant traditional style tastefully combined with new / renovated elements. The location can't be topped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel in a terrific location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was on the small side, some furniture taking up unnecessary space ; the spa was closed during our stay

    well furnished rooms and very good concierge service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The location was wonderful a short walk over to Vieux Lyon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was wonderful a short walk over to Vieux Lyon the hotel is located in a shopping area with lots of smart shops nearby. The staff was delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay in a charming city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were rather disappointing. I like cereals and the few on offer were awful! Also the pillows in our bedroom were very uncomfortable - two were too high; one was too low!

    The staff were very helpful. The hotel was very clean and rather boutique-y in style. In a great position too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic central hotel for a special break in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Amazingly large, spacious, themed room. Bed was very comfortable, loads of electric power points, air conditioning was great. Huge walk in shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel was very nice, Bookin.com is not helpful and get a lot of mony form the hotel with no help
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was obliged to leave one night earlier due an emergency, but the hotel refused to reimburse me the night. Booking.Com refused to help. I'm not happy with the services of Booking.com.

    The location, the cleanliness, the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay at a great location, but get your own breakfast elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive breakfast for the selection not worth it. Lack of a fitness center was also disappointing.

    Location of the hotel is perfect! shops and restaurants are all nearby. Lots of variety to pick from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent customer service, rooms are smaller than normal but comfortable enough to enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of a fitness was a damper for us. The breakfast cost is too high for the quality of items on the buffet. much cheaper to go to a bakery for coffee and bread,

    Location was the best. Shops, restaurants, and subway all within walking distance. Very friendly staff always greeted as we walked in or our.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location to see the centre of Lyon but nothing else to excite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms outdated with over used furniture, some of the staff require proper training in handling clients. Price very similar to 5 star hotels in town but only getting a 4 star hotel

    Perfect central location with walking distance from all attractions, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Croissants and baguettes are awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish my ability to speak French was better

    Croissants and baguettes are awesome!! The hotel is perfectly placed between the Rhone and Saone Rivers. Food in Lyon is amazing!! The number of local people who speak English has really increased since 2009.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Well located and well appointed hotel with gracious and efficient staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel is small; a minor detail.

    The staff was extraordinarily efficient and gracious. We had to drop off our luggage before occupying the room, and they immediately got all of it out of the car and placed it in our room for us, then repeated the process when we left. We went in and out of the car several times, and they valet parked and delivered it to us. They were readily available with every service we asked, which greatly facilitated the enjoyment of our stay. Nice view from room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, with great rooms, and attentive staff all the time, but lacked amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fitness room was available. Breakfast for 25 euro is expensive given that there is no variety. Better off going to a cafe nearby. The same restaurant (Les Enfants Terrible) was the same restaurant every staff recommended, and it ended up being our least favorite.

    Location was very central to shops and many restaurants. A 7-minute walk to the subway. a five-minute walk will get you to no less than 15 local restaurants serving a variety of foods. Shopping center is across the street. This area has it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Good luxury hotel with an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not all staff members are exhaustively helpful.

    Excellent location - more than close to key sightseeings, in a nice street (which is not the case for some other 4-stars hotels in Lyon).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice Personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just stayed one night, but for a more nights staying (and more luggage) the basic rooms are a bit too small. Also the bed a bit too short and small for me and my 1,85m boyfriend.

    Nice Personal. Nice Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Great find for a quick trip to Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast seemed overpriced at 25 euros per person .. would almost always have the hotel breakfast - but not here.

    very comfortable and sizeable room and very well sized bathroom.. very helpful staff. Great location on presqu'ile... well located for vieux lyon but without being crammed with tourists

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the centre of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A cheaper option for a light Continental breakfast. No-one needs a 25 Euro buffet breakfast in France!

    Great position in the centre of Lyon - very helpful staff on the front desk. Also a very quiet hotel - I had a great sleep! Walking distance to llots of Lyon restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all I would even say it is the best hotels I've stayed in due to all positive factors combined to make it a perfect stay.

    Bed was excellent. Location is THE best for Lyon, you couldn't ask for a more central area with a beautiful surrounding. Staff were very good and helpful with whatever I asked or requested. You are walking distance from anything (in addition the area around the hotel is full of designer/top brand stores along with lovely restaurants with outside dining) and if you want to explore further then you are also a minutes walk from two metro stations (Courdeliers and Bellecour). I stayed in the Junior suite and the view from the balcony was beautiful along with a lovely clean room. I would say with confidence it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in because of convenience and comfort. Never felt uneasy or stressed at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Must be the best in Lyon - why stay anywhere else?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can think of nothing that the hotel could do to improve - it was an impressive experience.

    Very efficient front-desk staff who always provided answers to my questions. The system of fetching the car from a nearby car park worked very well. Excellent location in the centre of Lyon. The building - 19th century - has been heavily and tastefully improved inside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Terrific location for tourism in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While nicely furnished, the room was small, even by European standards. There was no coffee machine in the room and only instant coffee and tea was provided. This is inconsistent with amenities expected in a hotel of this style and was unlike the MGallery Hotel in Dijon which included a Nespresso machine and coffee selections.

    The location was excellent and afforded easy walking access to Vieux Lyon, shopping, dining and parks. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We used valet services for parking our car and our car was made available when we needed it without delay. Breakfast included varied offerings and was served in a pleasant room with very accommodating and friendly servers. We liked the lobby bar area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper restaurant in the hotel, only a breakfast room and room service provided by the restaurant next door. Replenishment at breakfast was a bit hit and miss.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Staff were excellent and the breakfast choice was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is too expensive and not really good. Only had it once.

    A great location. Very clean and well maintained hotel. What is really special is the staff. They will do anything to attend to your needs. They are friendly, charming and seems like they all speak very good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location and superb staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was too heavy relative to the temperature outside and the A/C capability.

    The service was incredible. Everyone spoke perfect English and nothing was too much trouble. The location was also superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Best location in Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, tea cups and fridge are tiny. Building works at adjacent properties but noise only noticeable when windows open.

    No business centre but staff particularly helpful with printing, scanning and posting business documents. Location is the best in Lyon - you can walk everywhere. Room is well fitted out with quality fittings. Well insulated from noise outside. Excellent air conditioning. Very recent renovation. Ask for a room with a view of the square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Simply Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After long days exploring the beauty of Lyon, we loved being able to walk back to this hotel, shower in the wonderful bathrooms and bask in the cool air conditioning before heading back out to all the great bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. This hotel was simply fantastic. The room was clean, the beds were puffy, the staff were friendly. Perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it

    I love the location and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome . And the breakfast was beyond any expectation absolutely superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Read several reviews before choosing to make sure you get what you are needing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smaller than we were led to believe. We understand that European rooms are smaller but this was too small and the dryer did not work. Also as "Accor Members" no-one would accept our "Accor" membership card. The reason we booked with booking.com and not with "Accor" was the fact we were booking other accommodation at the time that were not "Accor" connected hotels. We were told we only needed to provide our membership and it would be counted, and that is not what happened.

    the staff were bright and chirpy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Luxury at the heart of Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With this level of hotel you expect a generous seating/lobby area, but the only place to wait after check-out is a rather uncomfortable bar.

    A luxurious hotel in a classic building right in the heart of the Presqu'isle. Lovely big bathroom and a wonderful bed. Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Aix-en=-Provence is terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway carpets were surprisingly filthy and the bedroom not much cleaner. The rooms are tight, with no place to sit and read. We had to upgrade to get a room large enough to open our two (carryon size) suitcases.

    The staff was extraordinarily helpful, especially Vikash and Stephen. They went out of their way to assist us. Breakfast was excellent with a huge and varied selection on the buffet and lots of extras to order at no extra cost. The dining room was large and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    The Best Hotel in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't speak of any thing that I disliked . Some might think it was a bit on the High $$$ side, but I felt it was worth it.

    Eat at Le Centre it's there at the Hotel, not in side the Hotel, to the left of the front door. We ate Lunch there and was sorry we did not have Dinner. The Food was All Good, so was the Wine. The one reason I would go back to Lyon, to eat there and stay at the Hotel Carlton . Go on line and check out, Le Centre .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in the heart of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We completely enjoyed our stay at The Carlton.

    The room was attractive and modern, and the bed was comfortable. The staff at Hotel Carlton was exceptional, which made staying there a pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Brilliant central location - easy walking distance to the old town, restaurants etc. Easy access from airport via Rhone Express (Book tickets on line - cheaper in advance) and metro (station only 200m from hotel). We didn't have breakfast in the hotel (€25 seems very expensive) but there are places close by where you can get a great breakfast - sat outside if the weather is good) Cosy room is fairly small, but very comfortable and quiet, and perfect if you plan to be out and about most of the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    excellent staff that was courteous and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning in room was non-existent. Parking a challenge unless you use valet

    excellent staff that was courteous and helpful. good location. room was small but quiet and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in a great location downtown Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware that the direction of the street in front of the hotel has reversed during construction. Getting the car to the front of the hotel was tricky due to the many one-way and narrow streets in this part of the city.

    Great location in Lyon, close to the pedestrian mall. There is a very nice cluster of indoor/outdoor restaurants/cafes not far from the hotel which have excellent food and service. Walking around the city was great fun. The hotel has an excellent breakfast buffet. Valet parking helped to solve the problem of where to leave the car.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: