Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton Nice 3 stars

26 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France

#159 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1023 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant staff, excellent housekeeping, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not hotel's fault but we had a problem in that we had a booking.com email saying breakfast was included in our price but the hotel advised this was incorrect. The hotel tried to help but booking.com gave them incorrect information.

    Hotel staff were very welcoming and although we had a slight problem due to booking.com they handled it well. Great location and standard of housekeeping was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    3.3
    The dirtiest place I have ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirtiest place I have ever been. Below the bed, dust and rests of garbage of previous customers! (Rooms 101 & 102). Not corresponding the pictures advertised in booking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    It would be ok if they had provided me normal room initially without this smell and with clean air.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially they provided me a room where there was a smell of ash and moisture. And they changed my room only after first night. And I had a terrible first night because of this smell. Although I was very disappointed and had an awful first night they demanded me to pay for this first night.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room cleaning were great. There was a great balcony!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    2.5
    The hotel was the WORST hotel that i have stayed in a long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was the WORST hotel that i have stayed in a long time.the men at the receptiom was so rude and not helpfull at all.the room was sacanalous for that price.And they had a very unclear precedure for the payment.thay took my money by bank dhe then again in cash saying that they didnt take my money(my bank say odherwise) I DONT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.5
    The hotel charged a blocking fee to my card for one night -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel charged a blocking fee to my card for one night - made me pay the full thing again at the hotel and I have not yet received the refund for the blocking charge. Unacceptable - this is a very serious issue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The two rooms I was in had bedbugs and the reception couldn’t care more, mdr me pay a higher price for another room in the middle of the night, didn’t even offer compensation... Urgent sanitary renewal

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy area- property says it’s soundproofed- is not- we could hear all outside noise as well as the people in the room next door. Wifi unsecured- comes up quite clearly its unsecured & advises the property how to make it secure-young guy on the night shift understood perfectly & said he’d see about getting it sorted- they weren’t interested & never fixed it. Would never use an unsecure network & all our travels round the world France is the only place we have come across this-not happy to have no internet for our weeks stay here. Sliding door out to balcony did not lock- they had a note advising to pull down the outside roller cover when not in the room! So why not get it fixed! Next door room was basically on the same terrace as ours... Is not a no smoking Hotel- they provide ashtrays in the rooms next to a no smoking sign... our neighbours smoked outside with the smoke coming into our room when our door was open. Location is the only thing going for it. Rooms are dated but was a reasonable price but still not cheap at £108 a night- we had a weeks stay. Wouldn’t stay again,there are a lot of properties around the area.

    Great location. Easy walk to the beach promenade,main train station,main shopping centre,Markets etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Good location but disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning broken-director came in but unable to be fixed that night. No other rooms available. Room faced noisy street-but needed windows open as so hot in room. No mini bar or tea/coffee making facilities. Room very tired looking.

    Staff sympathetic re lack airconditioning but provided no alternatives. Reception staff helpful re where to go out that night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small. Smaller than that was on pictures. It was dark and dirty. There was only space for 1 luggage. Also there was a hole in the cyling (for air condition) but we could see room next to us and hear people talking.

    Great location! Close to the restaurants,bars and shops. Close to the beach!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Had enough that i could get by for the 4 nights I was there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny, limited English speaking TV channels.

    Lacked a few basics in way of kettle etc. No wifi at times. Bed was comfy. Needs an info folder about services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but lacking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 3-star hotel I thought there would have been a bar/restaurant or lounge. The breakfast room was very basic and the continental breakfast too expensive for what it was: bread, croissant, café, juice. I paid 3 Euros for a small bottle of water!

    Air con, a large comfy bed and plenty of towels, soap and shower gel. The location was great, just a short walk to the beach, the main shopping street and high end shops and cafes/bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book double room and we got single room. The receptionist was very rude and he lied about the free parking. First he told us that the parking was full and after that he told us that they don't have personal and free parking. In the bathroom the floor was all in water, and under the bed we found a female shoes. Such a shame.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel took an authorisation fee from my account as soon as we booked, on check in we paid for our room and were told authorisation fee would be realised back to my account this has not happened even though we checked out 8 days ago repeated requests to the hotel have been ignored booking.com no help either wouldn’t stay again because of this.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    5 min to: the beach, lot of resturants, old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. It was little better than we expected (from reading the comments), But it was limited what have to eat. Not worth 9€. My recomendation to the hotel. If the price should been 5€ and also with comment its ”simplier” breakfast,then I should have another expectarions and the price have been OK.

    5 min to: the beach, lot of resturants, old town. AC at the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    It is in a good location and the staff are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is dated and uncomfortable; the parking is not free which is not made clear when booking, and it is very expensive.

    It is in a good location and the staff are nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location but very noisy outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location but very noisy outside. The bathroom was very outdated . The room was very small but clean. Very Poor air condition in the room always hot . Staff very helpful but I would have no interest in staying at this hotel again .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location to shopping, tram way, old town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down room, smell of smoke but that cleared when air con was on. no towels in room on arrival, check out is at 11am, very small lift!

    Excellent location to shopping, tram way, old town, restaurants, main train station. English speaking staff, friendly, 24 hour reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    Would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and tiny rooms, small scary elevator, even if you pay online they still charge you in the hotel, the dirtiest hotel I have ever been there. The hotel view was terrible, not like in the photos!!

    Nothing good in there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff almost never Said hello or smiled once. The Wifi was not working for 2 Days and no information about that. When I was leaving I was screamed at and accused to leave without paying and other stuff, strange service thinking. The location were great. Five stars för location

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    I highly recommend this hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Credit card was pre-authorised in case the room booking was made for the same day check-in and for one night only. This precedure blocked my money for week (depends on bank). I would like rather make a prepayment in that case.

    Polite, nice and helpful staff. The ability to store luggage before check-in and after check-out. Cleanliness. Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location in the center, close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not so comfortable as we expected and the building is quite old. There is no iron in the hotel so its impossible to get ready after a long trip. The hotel doesn't provide water in the room as well and also there is no minibar. Only twin size bed available for the economy room otherwise you have to pay extra. I wouldn`t say that hotel corresponds to its price for the room because we saw a few other options for this price but with more services available for the guests. However, if you need to place just to sleep its ok but the price could be cheaper for that. We paid 170 euros for two nights.

    Good location in the center, close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Cheep and not so cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor, furniture, were dated and in need of a refurb. Tile grout was yellow and aged. Bed was hard, and the windows were like a prison - bars all on the outside and frosted glass so you couldn't see out. The staff were friendly enough and happy to help it was just a shame the standard of the place was low.

    It was old and tired for a hotel, if you want cheap and don't mind where you stay, this is it. But if you fancy something for more than one night I wouldn't advise this place at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Not satisfactory stay, very poor hygiene!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, furniture not renovated, the rooms have only the basics (no mini bar, no hair blower, no shampooing, no complementary water) although we had the superior room with balcony. And the worst thing is tha it is not clean!!!! I had to ask them to clean the toilet, it was soooo disgusting when we arrived, the bathroom was wet. We had our car, beside that parking costs 19euros a night, there is only 2 keys for the garage for the whole hotel, so everytime you reach the hotel u have to go to the reception take the keys, go open the garage, park your car and put it back at the reception. It is not convenient especially at night and if ur alone in the car. Why don’t they do a copy of the keys for each guest having a car? Overall experience wasn’t satisfactory.

    The only good thing about carlton is it’s location as well as the smiling faces of the 2 ladies at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.3
    I don’t recommend the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price per night is really expensive and it’s not worth it at all. The hotel needs a lot of maintenance and more facilities for customers and definitely friendlier staff!

    The only good thing about this hotel is its location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, close to see and old town, comfy bed, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was a bit dated, could do with fresh paint and garden view from balcony wasn't really garden view, it was facing street and roof.

    Comfy bed, had a balcony, could leave our luggage before check in and after check out, safe neighbourhood, close to sea and old town. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    I’m disappointed. Unfortunate situations happen but no one seems to be able to solve the issue here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a flood from a toilet at midnight and there was no one available to fix and no room move was possible. We were offered a refund for the 1st night, however, it has been over 2 weeks now all i heard first was promises and now no one even replies to my emails. Awful stay on my Birthday!!!

    The staff seemed to be helpful at the beginning and checked us in earlier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    Very shabby room, not very clean, carpet very dirty, walls...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very shabby room, not very clean, carpet very dirty, walls need to be painted, furniture very old and shabby, bad smell from bathroom. I don´t understand where they found 3 stars some of the hostels are better than this. Very bad WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. No room for suitcases and tiny wardrobe with 6 hangers No tea/ coffee making facilities. Small bottle of water cost 3 euros Noisy at night and people in room next door on shared balcony were smoking which blew into our room So called garden view was a view of tramway building works Bed was uncomfortable I had backache for the whole trip

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room we had was a little bit of a tight space in the shower cubicle and bathroom.

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Nice and welcoming airy and tidy foyer/common areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    You may pay the same for better service in nearby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fake availability of options offered by hotel on website, like type of bed . Photos on the website are overestimated. Quality of furniture is low, no enough facilities in bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    A focus on being brilliant on the basics - all good, nothing bad. Would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel got the brilliant basics right. Good customer service, clean and spacious room with a nice balcony and a good breakfast. The wi-fi was good and there were plenty of TV channels. Location very central too. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    À little gem in the middle of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find any reason for complaint.

    The hotel offered excellent value for money, friendly staff, big rooms and very good location with equal distance from city center, train station and Promenade des Anglais. I would certainly come back any time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointed, that hotel like this in city like Nice can survive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size, light and state of the room was very poor. The window facing to wall didn't let any light in. The room was missing the main lightning on the roof. We ordered double bed but get twin beds without even leting us now. And the bed itself was in realy bad condition. Bathroom looked liked from 20 years ago.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    3.3
    not satisfactory at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful, charged me twice, once for "reservation" that was supposed to be given back, and the actual fee. They haven't given a solution to it yet and it has been almost a month. The room (beds are small and not comfortable, the room smell of humidity, old covers and furniture, the bathroom accessories, etc), not a good experience. They have one or two bedrooms that look similar to the photos, the rest are not worth staying in.

    the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location although the tram line construction in the road outside restricted access a little
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in the reception or anywhere to get coffee other than breakfast and the internet did not connect in the bedroom, had to sit in reception and then a very poor connection

    Lovely croissants for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    It was quite good but it could have been way better if only the stuff would have been more willing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't understand why the reception and so the hotel's doors closed at 2 a.m. In the website I read that it was 24h, I wanted to go out at 1.30 a.m but I couldn't because the receptionist told me in bad tones that it would be better not to go out because he was about to go to sleep; and it hasn't been clear if I could go out and return whenever I wanted or not. It was very annoying.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was tidy and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    Just a regular stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pre-authorization payment. I paid two times and I had to wait 3-4 weeks till I had my money back.

    The balcony and the view was amazing. The beds are comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a noisy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Poor sound insulation. Noise from the street and from other hotel rooms can keep you awake all night.

    1. Central location close to Shopping, site seeing and train station for day trips to Monaco, Cannes, Marseille, etc. 2. Good size room, clean and with comfortable beds. 3. 24 hr front desk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    Uneven - some good but some bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls too thin - could hear the other room!!! Toilet was not that clean. Coffee at breakfast was awful!!! Parking was very expensive and access was difficult.

    Location is excellent. Beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location but adequate hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had no iron for clothes!!! They eventually provided one but it had to be used in the lobby which is not really satisfactory.

    Hotel location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Nice was good city to visit but stay out all day if you stay at the Carlton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was 9 euros for a croissant, half a baguette, chocolate pastry, cheese triangle and a coffee. No tea making facilities in room, shower was either scalding or freezing, room was at rear of hotel so light were needed all day, very little room to store clothes for a week for two people.

    Location of hotel and it was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Adequate hotel, well located, clean room, lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude evening staff on front desk, only one man - he would not look at me when I talked to him and was very dismissive - the hotel should not have him working on the front desk, the others were very nice especially the young man who was new on the job and the mature lady. No help up the steps or down the steps with our suit cases - both women over 60 so help would have been appreciated. No tea or coffee making in room.

    The location, nice cafe next door, property has a lift once you have lugged your bags up the outside steps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    The worst 3 star hotel we have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist carried on doing paperwork and it was a full 2 minutes before he acknowledged us. Even then his greeting was far from friendly. We booked a room with a balcony and views of the garden but the room we got looked out onto a construction site for a new metro station. The so called garden (next to the church) was full of site huts. Every day we woke to the sound of digging equipment. The bedroom was small and the bathroom absolutely tiny. Sitting on the toilet my knees touched the opposite wall. There wasn't a shower curtain or screen so water sprayed everywhere. Neither were there tea or coffee making facilities and the hotel didn't offer room service. The wi-fi reception was patchy, sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't.

    Good location within a 5 minute walk of the beach/promenade, shops, restaurant area and train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.8
    Don't be fooled by the name of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know where to start... - Rude staff on arrival: we kindly asked if we could have a double bed instead of 2 singles. The answer: you don't have to pick, WE choose who we give OUR rooms to... :( - Room was small, bathroom was small, both pretty old. - We didn't buy the breakfast as we wanted to have it on the beach. Although, I tried to buy a coffee from the "bar". They refused to sell it as "the coffee is too weak, you won't like it!" All in all, not the best experience and I have to be honest, we don't recommend this place.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Basic boutique hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the rooms were not very expensive, the rooms were very basic with not much provided, such as kettle, and bathroom essentials. The room could have been cleaner, and better wifi connection.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. A great price for a 3 night stay in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.0
    Chance to leave my suitcase in the hotel, however when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't a comfortable stay, the wifi was not great.

    Chance to leave my suitcase in the hotel, however when I came to collect it unnoticed that it had been left in the canteen area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Location is good, beds are big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, there were no towels in the room, so we had to ask for them. Also, there was some things left from the previous guests on the floor. When we checked out, we were asked to pay, being informed that the card was only pre-authorised, so we paid. Then, it turned out that the payment was taken twice, at the time of pre-authorisation and paid when checked out. Be careful.

    Location is good, beds are big and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of problems that we faced while we stayed here. Beginning with WiFi that was not working and the person at the reception told us "this is the problem in entire nice, we can't help it" which was really not helpful and weird because obviously that wasn't true. We had called them earlier asking if we could keep a luggage in the hotel for 24hours as we were taking a short trip, they had said yes. So we assumed that they had a cloak room for luggage. But turns out they just offered us the lobby to keep the luggage in so we had to buy an extra night of the room if we wanted our luggage safe.

    The location of the hotel was good. Close to the main city centre!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    A basic hotel in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no curtain and no drainage in the bathroom which made the bathroom full of water after shower. Also, no curtain was fixed in the room but with the hooks on the beam. Dont understand why the curtain in the room was taken away which made the room became bright in the morning and couldnt sleep longer

    the front desk looks ok and staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Comme ci, Comme ça
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is a bit old. Space seems to be clean but bedclothes and towels have old stains, which make you doubt if they are clean or not. I think that quality doesn't meet price.

    Very good location and friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.0
    Breathtaking Nice & Surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room did not contain a safety deposit box, please please do so!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! also a fridge in the room would be so good, required one to keep my medication cool, not available, this would be a major plus!!! Please consider this Management. Thank You.

    Beautiful conveniently located hotel in the heart of Nice. Room so clean, balcony, such a pleasure. So clean and the staff so helpful with any query/issue we had. All sorted so quickly and with a smile. Reception staff were a pleasure, good humoured and of great assistance to us. Did not have breakfast in hotel, went out every morning to a local cafe. My purse (money only) was stolen in the bakery/cafe close to hotel on the second day, so watch out!. Left down to place the money in the slot to pay for my goods and walked out without the purse. (over €100). Went back to the bakery within 10 mins of missing my purse, but to no avail!!!!!!!!! I was assisted by a tall guy coming in for his sandwich at lunchtime who had brilliant English who insisted that I report to the local police, he called them for me and offered to bring me to the police station to file a report - another statistic!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Other thank that we had a lovely stay in Nice, travelled by train to Antibes (fab), was in Cannes to watch the world go by at the Film Festival. Went to Monaco, what a day, lots to see and the weather and views were breathtaking. I will certainly be back to the Hotel Carlton.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff was rude when checking out, my ears phone disappeared after cleaning the room. No drinking water or any facility in the room accept some towels and shampoo. The breakfast is very poor. It's a two star hotel. Too expensive.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is major construction of a metro line in the road of the hotel, which would cause problems if one had a car.

    Nice hotel in very good location, convenient for beach, shopping and old town. Also close to bus stops. Safe area to walk around in evening. The hotel is well appointed for the price and we were happy with our spacious room and never had any issues during our 7 night stay. The bathroom had sufficient towels and daily maintenance kept room in good order. Breakfast was good, although after a few days, we took advantage of being able to sit outside one of the cafes along the Promenade des Anglais and enjoy breakfast in the sunshine instead. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.4
    Nothing like the picture. There's no kettle and basically nothing in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights

    #1: The room looks Nothing like the picture. #2: i asked for tea which is a normal thing in a hotel and when leaving I was charged £12 because I asked for tea 4 times. I was never told they charge for it, I hate financial surprises. #3: at midnight they would lock the hotel door, so when I am coming back from a club at 4am, I would have to wait for security to unlock the door. It's a hotel, you should be able to leave and enter as many times as you wish. #4: in the picture theres a tray on the desk with a kettle and stuff. Its a lie. there was nothing, not even glasses to drink water in. if you Do get that tray, you are charged for it without being told. #5: the way the toilet was positioned was crazy, my knees almost touched the wall infront of me in the twin room i stayed in with my friend.

    the staff were friendly & good central location close to restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Carlton was on a beautiful road. We had a standard double room with Balcony and Garden view. Great view. Central to everything. The staff were helpful and friendly. Fantastic value for money. The beds were so comfortable and clean. I travelled with my daughter and would definitely stay at the Carlton again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    It was a good hotel but I found myself missing home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was somewhat basic and a bit hard. The internet was quite slow, and had a strange login procedure that I was assuming is used to throttle the speed. However, the accommodation felt more appropriate for a short stay rather than a heaven away from home.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, with many good hotels and restaurants nearby. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. The view from the room was nice, there was a park and a beautiful church. The small size of the Hotel gave it some charm and it was a older building that was tastefully renovated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.0
    Do yourself a favor, find another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would not recommend staying in this hotel, because the staff is DISHONEST to put it mildly. They have a habit of coming and going in my room even after I explicitly asked the front desk to inform ALL of their staff to refrain from going into my room. In addition, a pair of very expensive shoes (that I left under the bed) were stolen, I contacted the hotel but they deny. The rooms are heated--there was a huge radiator in my room, but that, again, is a deception, it was heated between 5 and 7 in the evening, leaving the night freezing cold. The walls are made of paper--no, but might as well be, far as the noise from next room/s is concerned. All in all in was a pleasure. NOT.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't stable. They gave me the room with 2 single beds placed together so i felt like I slept on one narrow single bed anyway. The elevator was out of service so I had to climb up to the fourth floor everyday.

    Good location. The room was spacious, clean and cosy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Enjoyed our stay at Carlton and Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were some troubles with WiFi: sometimes it didn't connect. And be ready to log in every time you come in to the hotel room after being outside.

    The bed was extra comfortable! Location is great: walking distance to the tram T1, stores, cafes and beach. Hot water all th time. Nice view. Very good value for the money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    This hotel is a simple, small hotel in Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a simple, small hotel in Nice. The staff was really kind, helpful with us. Everybody served our comfort, so thank you for the staff! Our room was small, but clean. The bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the balcony and we were able to ask the morning coffee to our room. The hotel doesn't have so many services, but good value for money for a short visit to Nice and the surrounding. It's walking distance from the downtown, the sea and the railway station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Few days in Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 9 euro for Breakfast which in my opinion was a little bit too much.

    Location. Camera was okay even if was tricky to get out from the camera. The handle of the bathroom door was almost touching the handle of the main door.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent staff good locatiom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for a garden view which ended up over looking the road which we were told had a piece of grass on it we were quite disappointed with paying extra for this

    The staff were very friendly our room was the biggest in hotel which was nice but dated could do with a refurb

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    All togethet good and i might come back and recommend it to others
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks in the room

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    I would like free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like free parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    the location was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast was bad;

    the location was great; staff was frendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    above expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    rooms rather small

    Balcony was great. Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    3.8
    Dated and in need of repair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mound in bathroom tile grout Shower tiny and floor drain unsecured

    Nothing Overpriced and in need of repair

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    4.6
    Name of hotel not representative for its standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night

    Name of hotel not representative for its standard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    4.6
    overpriced overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dated room.. construction outside.. not value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Short break closing to all attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location of the hotel was excellent for getting to see the attraction of nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    The cleaness and the air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was'nt a boof breakfast.

    The cleaness and the air conditioner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely friendly helpful staff and a lovely room and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly helpful staff and a lovely room and balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    very comfy & very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wifi did not function for one and a half day

    the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    There is not a refrigerator or minibar in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a refrigerator or minibar in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Rear
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was occupied. Staff didn’t apologise. Room below standard and 2 separate beds. Bathroom door coming off the hinges

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: