Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton 4 stars

3 Rue de Paris, 59026 Lille, France

#22 of 53 hotels in Lille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 978 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    A nice welcoming hotel where our guest from Laon were also welcomed. We really enjoyed Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to make local calls at no charge.

    The staff was friendly,professional & the room had a view facing the Opera. We were welcomed with watered lemonade which was very refreshing. Breakfast was great with lots of variety. It was well located for what we planned to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Lovely position friendly staff good breakfast clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to park outside the front

    Food at breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and what we expected, if they were larger then the hotel would be excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Great locations, friendly staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC in 506 was constant it was like an ice box. There was no manual control for it. I asked for it to be turned off several times but it wasn't possible. However, they did move me into an beautiful suite so I could have one nights rest without waking up in Antarctica.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just outside it was a bit stinky, sewerage I think.

    Great air con which was needed as we are in a heatwave. Lovely room, comfy bed, nice bathroom, no complaints

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Best location, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Splitting charges for two rooms at same booking and issue correct invoice proved to be a challenge Parking dear No space to put away clothes in room?

    Best location, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast, helpful staff, valet parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Right next to the Bourse, very helpful staff and easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow

    Right next to the Bourse, very helpful staff and easy to dump our luggage there for the last day. The room was a little noisy but considering there was an incredibly loud music festival was on the soundproofing was doing sterling work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Solid 3*+ hotel, unfortunately "paper walls" caused poor privacy, noise from neighbouringh rooms TVs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome -initially we were ignored at the arrival, had to ask for attention, then polite communication followed; Reception swapped the room key cards from our different rooms; Tax was as a surprise charged extra, was not included on the bill; "PAPER walls" this is an issue - a LOT of noise from both neighboring rooms till 00:30, including their TVs !!! On business one needs to basically overnight in peace to recharge for the following day. WC-the smallest one I have ever experienced at the hotels; Mini-cupboard for clothes was installed together with the fridge bar - small and really not convenient/nice;

    Location; Cleanness in the room; Website which usually looks much better then reality, this place was not an exception unfortunately; bottle of a water in the room is always handy and the coffee facilities as well (normal in a 4 * hotels); Parking looks tricky issue, but we were lucky to get a space in front of this hotel and were allowed to park till the agreed time (much appreciated)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Delightful stay at The Carlton in Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location , short walk from train station and adjacent to town square. Personnel very gracious and helpful. Very spacious room and very comfortable bed. Hotel is a smaller hotel compared to others that we stayed in during our two week trip but it was the most home like. Breakfast was outstanding-we have been on the road for two weeks- 5 different hotels and the breakfast at The Carlton was the best by a wide margin. This was our first time visiting Lille and we plan to return and most assuredly will stay at The Carlton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in a hotel located in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with the air conditioning in our first room. We were immediately moved to an upgraded room. Staff were exceedingly helpful. Chargers for iPhones readily available. Nespresso machines in bedroom!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    high price for bad isolated suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were staying in the junior suite which is more as double priced as a normal one, but certainly not worth it.... Very old plugs and switches, we could hear the noise from the street and the room next to us watched television where we could also ‘enjoy’ the sound perfectly until late at night, breakfast ok, but waiters rather uneducated and people had to ask all the time to refill the buffet

    receptionists ok, nice entrance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Opposite a nightclub so the noise is so loud all night long. No chance of sleep. Also, walls are very thin so you can hear everything from your neighbours. I was next to a family who's kids were loud and screaming the whole time. Don't go to this hotel if you want a relaxing, peaceful stay!

    Central City location was great, shame it's next door to a nightclub so you can't get any sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and accommodating staff. Modern hotel - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service, they were extremely accommodating with the valet parking and keeping luggage. The location of the hotel is absolutely superb - would highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    A quiet comfortable room after a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was more expensive than just walking across the road to a restaurant where they offered breakfast at less than 10 Euros a person!

    A quiet comfortable room after a long journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff needs to be trained to be at the front desk.

    Located in the middle of Lille, was a recommended location from the co-workers, staff was simply not in the mood to be on the front desk. Place was OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Good location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    We were able to check in early, the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Really pleased with the hospitality. Amazing views from our room, the room was very spacious as we have a little one, he had space to run around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    The location is great + nice quiet room with balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dificult to find with car (in the middel of the city with lots of one-way-streets). Name of street was changed (no longer rue de Paris). We parked outside the center after 1/2 hour driving around.

    The location is great + nice quiet room with balcony and good vieuw.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Completely overpriced for what they have to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area, poor room service, lack of urgency from staff when asked to sort issues out. I.e our room was absolutely boiling with us being unable to turn down the ac unit as there was no remote and the buttons on the unit were stuck. Informed staff who advised us to turn down the radiator and gave me a lesson on ac control It was so hot you could not sleep in the room.

    Proximity to centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, bit outdated room, valet parking downtown center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit outdated, bathroom and room were 2 different styles: classic room: modernish bathroom from the 90’s including a non-matching modern glass sliding door between the classic room and bathroom: The devil is in the detais. Same for the cheap laminate flooring in the room. It’s such a beautiful classic building! and heard pretty some noise at night. Valet parking guy received a tip and was gone the moment we needed some help with the luggage. Hotel room feels more like a 3 star instead of a 4.

    Breakfast, valet parking, price really ok for a downtown centre hotel (Sumday-Monday)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, helpful and pretty good recommendations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sauna was off and it wasn't clear at all how to turn it on/heat it or whether there are certain opening times etc. so maybe just check with the front desk before going there.

    Very friendly staff, helpful and pretty good recommendations for restaurants etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for a short romantic break in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a little slow and the room didn’t have a separate shower (only a shower facility over the bath).

    Hotel is very central but still has super quiet rooms. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not carpeted and that made them a little cold.

    It was a very traditional hotel and the location for the Christmas market and other parts of Lille was the excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Clean, large rooms, kind staff, good gym and 5 minutes walk from the Train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small elevator but who cares?

    The room was very big with good office space and sofa. Great view. The gym room was small but clean with the important core facilities, cycle, weights, running, towels, cool water, and showers. Nesspresso machine in the room, and excellent tea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    cost-quality rate is lower than expectation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Things are tooooo old. And the wood floor is not flat. When somebody pass by outside, I can hear the noice inside the room.

    room is big with good view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    The perfect place to chill, to visit local attractions from and to feel like a welcomed guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about the Carlton, the top location, our room with its view, the decor, the size of the room, the comfort of the beds, everything was of high quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    The best located quite hotel with and fashioned style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old fashioned style, the high extra cost of breakfast, the merged mattress, the unfixed stuff in bathroom.

    The location which is super great, quietness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Have been to this hotel before and will definitely keep returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not specific to this hotel, but we wish duvets were used on beds. As it is, you have to find a way to get in to bed and if you have a bad back as I do, it entails pulling out bedclothes and remaking the bed which is painfully uncomfortable!!

    Everything was to our taste. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds. Cleanliness. Breakfast excellent and relaxed with views and people watching if you have time and enjoy it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    I asked reception to call a taxi for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked reception to call a taxi for me. It took about 30 minutes until the taxi arrived. As I was in a hurry to get to the airport I asked several times whether they could check again with the taxi company to find out when the taxi could be expected to arrive. They said "It will arrive" several times without helping me or checking any further. This is not the level of service I do expect from a hotel in this price range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness centre is quite a small room with basic equipment - perfectly fine, but not really worthy of being called a 'fitness centre'. My room was cleaned but tea and milk wasn't topped up, which would have been nice. The TV comes on automatically when the room key slots in which made me jump every. single. time.

    The bed was perfect, and the bathroom/shower was great too. Pretty clean room with good facilities in a nicely decorated building. Lots of light. The sauna in the fitness centre was great. The location is utterly perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was in the heart of Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking, and no place to drop off. After circling several times, we had to park blocking the street to get our bags out.

    This hotel was in the heart of Lille. It reminded me of Belle Epoque era. I loved the French doors over looking the street. There was quite a number of restaurants nearby. The staff was friendly and got us rooms together. I can't overstate how valuable that is to a family with children, where most hotels think nothing of putting us on different floors on different ends of the hotel. Walking distance to trains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was difficult There should have been another bin in the toilet

    The coffee machine in the room. We had inter-connecting rooms which was lovely. The view over the town was excellent The slippers and the bathrobes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Classic building at great location on square downtown by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    renos were underway on some rooms. ours smelled like fresh paint and some finishing touches were pending.

    Classic building at great location on square downtown by opera. Huge breakfast buffet of many choices. walking distance to rail station and car rental. several good restaurants nearby. basically in the middle of old town sites. A slight error in booking had the staff improve our room to a fantastic view of the square and tower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    the bed was comfy but if you sat up in bed and leaned back...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room service was very poorly carried out with a torn sheet put on the bed by the house keeper and tea and coffee not replaced and no soap or shower gel in the bath room.

    the bed was comfy but if you sat up in bed and leaned back on the head board the bed slid across the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    excellent hotel , well located with a colourful history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful city centre hotel in quite a vibrant part of town, not too noisy at night, i would say its definitely the place to stay in lille having tried 3 other hotels on previous trips

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be more abundant for the standards of this very nice hotel

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff; despite some misunderstanding/miscommunication in the reservation, the hotel team was very flexible and positive to find a prompt alternative solution, to the best of our satisfaction. Rooms and beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.2
    Terrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When leaving we were charged extra for a child s bed, although this was not clear from any of the confirmation received both in the app nor in the email communication. I booked through booking and clearly stated traveling with 2 adults and 1 child and was quoted a total price. When I asked the hotel manager about this he was very rude and among other things told me that he has no clue what's in the booking app and takes no responsibility for the information sent through that medium. I felt treated very poorly, rude and unjust.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast, though a little pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilites are poor for quality hotel - fitness room doesn't open until 8.00 am. Not much space in the bar area.

    Excellent breakfast, though a little pricey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    A surprising place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really! to be picky ... really picky, the curtains had here and there some holes, did not bother me, but can be a detail to take care of in such a hotel.

    I loved the location, you can just walk from the train stations really easy, and everywhere else! right @ the old town, staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was super comfy! balcony with double doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    best location in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed a mirror of some sort, preferably a long one. The only mirror was in the bathroom, which was completely misted up after even a quick shower. There was some renovation going on and no carpet on part of the corridor.

    Fabulous location for proximity to station, visiting the sights, views from the room. I booked 2 twin rooms: one had a safe and one had a fridge - neither of these are listed under Classic room so it was a bonus to have them. Comfortable bed; effective air-conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.2
    Not recomendable. Not a 4 stars
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recomendable. It's not a 4 star. Pictures have nothing to do with reality. The roof was broken. A door connecting the room next to was open (no security or privacy), the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen. In fact it was impossible to close the door. Corridors all dirty and carpet Destroyed. The price was extremely high for what it is. It should cost half of the price. Only good thing is the location.

    Not recomendable. The placement is the only good thing of the hotel. It's not a 4 star. And pictures have nothing to do with reality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation, not really 4star, but because of location, very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decoration was dated, curtains not functioning well, no refrigerator, a/c did not react to the thermostat, not even sure there was a/c. Fortunately, the tropical heat of the earlier days had passed, and opening the window was the solution.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay at the heart of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4 star hotel, I was expecting higher standard rooms. The batroom had some broken tiles and very few toiletries and the closet door didn't fully close. The hotel is undergoing renovations and it is a beautiful building full of potential, so I believe it'll be in much better shape when we come back.

    Excellent location right at the heart of Lille. A short walking distance from all major landmarks and nice cafes/ restaurants. The staff was very warm and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Darkness of foyer. Bathrooms poor Breakfast , too long a wait to be seated. Breakfast staff unfriendly Food was ok but had much better across the street.

    Location Bright bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    A "has been" hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lousy AC: we first were told "stories" about it and then moved to another room. - No mini bar in the first room - No safe in either rooms - No appropriate pen or pencil (broken) - Extremely small bathroom with poor toiletries... Staff at reception desk....did not care too much.

    Location, breakfast, size of rooom.....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.0
    location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old toilet and broken door handles, non functional door locks in bathroom. old stains in curtains. over rated for a 4 star hotel.

    location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location right in the centre and on the edge of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was valet parking but at 60 Euros a day. It was in a narrow road and you had to park your car outside. Causes congestion when the valet cannot be found. Sat nav did not like it as it kept trying to take me around the one way system the wrong way - not easy to find

    Good location right in the centre and on the edge of the historic quarter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Classy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel decor: foyer was stylish with a cosy bar area where we had a nice nightcap or two. Rooms large, airy and grand. We all enjoyed breakfast, especially the view of the beautiful buildings outside. Lastly, it was great that we were able to check into our rooms immediately on arrival 👍

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    No safe in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No safe in the room. We were in a "classic" double room on the top floor. It was rather dreary, with no pictures on the walls. The hotel decor is very much in need of an update, and this seems to be under way.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Smart and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little noisy. A bit of street noise, which you'd expect given the location, but also from other rooms TV sound etc

    Excellent spacious room and very clean in a very central location just off the Grand Place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.8
    The location, in Lille main square, is extraordinary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fridge/minibar in the room. Breakfast too expensive. Wifi not supporting iPhone5 and too slow

    The location, in Lille main square, is extraordinary

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We were welcomed on arrival by the hotel staff at reception in a very friendly manner. Everyone was efficient and helpful. We chose the valet parking which was really good but, a bit pricey. Our room and in general, this hotel is nicely furnished. The breakfast was excellent and very well presented, with a variety of choices to cater for all. A great location in the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.1
    Stylish historic hotel in Lille city centre, — big rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room screams of a renovation — quite old beds and bathroom facilities (hairdryer was definitely older than me!).

    Stylish historic hotel in Lille city centre, — big rooms!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was nice, the beds very comfortable and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast (not included in my room rate) was disappointing. It was charged at 20 euros and there wasn't so much to choose from. I couldn't eat the scrambled eggs, they were so wet and tasted slimey.

    The hotel was nice, the beds very comfortable and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Good Hotel but needs improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room completely lacked of soundproofing, quite embarassing to hear every single sound of the couple in the room next to ours....The room was quite cold thus I asked to the reception for assistance, but even after that I noticed no big changes in the temperature.

    Spacious room and very clean. Staff is polite but not that proactive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    An old favourite is getting a full refurbishment as of Jan 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furnishings are in need of repair and refurbishment. This is ongoing through the hotel at the moment (floor by floor) though it didn't cause us any inconvenience on the 1st floor.

    We've stayed many times in this hotel over the last 5 years or so and we love the location, the ample and varied breakfast and the value for money. However much of the hotel is in need of refurbishment - this is finally underway.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right in the centre and only 10/15 minutes walk from the Eurostar. Hotel currently upgrading the rooms, which were large and comfortable. Did not have breakfast as thought over 100 Euros a day for 5 of us to have breakfast was too expensive, especially as there are plenty of restaurants and cafes on the doorstep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Old glamour in Vieuille Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare driving in the Lille one way system made it very hard to find in the dark. The hotel name could be better lit. Bathroom fittings were very clean but tired and the hairdryer was nearly dead!

    Comfortable slightly faded glamorous. Great view of the old city from our room . Good eating close by. Comfortable, spacious room. Efficient valet parking. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel. Breakfast pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is definitely over priced. Although a lot of options were available, I would recommend going to cafe Paul which is literally across the road. This would save you money.

    The location was fantastic. The room was clean and very comfortable. It was also extremely quiet which made it a home from home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Hotel was excellent value for money and is one I would be readily prepared to recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in bedroom no 214 was faulty but usable.

    Breakfast good quality and wide choice. Relaxing dining area. The room overlooking the main square was very quiet due to the superb window glazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    The hotel has a well mantained retrò interior design.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt' have breakfast, too expensive

    The hotel has a well mantained retrò interior design. Rooms was perfect. Staff really kind. Five minutes walk from the train station and close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel, good quality, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon in the room was good but couldn't control the set point, so could only be too cold or too hot. Street noise was quiet but little soundproofing between rooms.

    Good hotel, good quality, great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Great place if you get discounted rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No easy (nor cheap) parking, and outrageously expensive breakfast (25 euros)... but don't worry there is a PAUL café seconds away from the hotel, and for 8 euros you get a decent breakfast.

    Location is just perfect if you want to be in central Lille. The hotel has the charm of early 20th century hotels, and provides excellent bedding. Staff was very helpful and kind, and arranged special needs with care (late arrival, extra bed for child etc.)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.8
    Great historic location near plazas, shopping, and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel did hit us for a mini-bar charge that we did not cause but they quickly found their error and apologized. Otherwise a great stay! I always appreciate staff that listen to any complaint and fix it!

    Excellent location right on a city plaza and near historic sites. Easy 10 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfirst was somewhat expensive but is not necessary take at the hotel given the many good cafes nearby

    Beautiful and elegant Hotel .The floor to ceiling windows of the room overlooked the grand historic square The staff were extremely patient went out of their way to be helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    Impressive classic exterior with modern updated interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Central location of hotel was excellent. Reception staff were very helpful in phoning to make a restaurant booking for us (as some of our party had special dietary needs) and provided us with information on the Metro and getting around in general. Other staff were all very friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Excellent. Can't fault it.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift briefly broke down but was quickly mended.

    The hotel is very comfortable and grand without being unfriendly. They supplied us with a bed for our six year old daughter with no extra charge and initially allocated us a lovely room overlooking the square. The only problem with the room was that one of the two huge windows did not have a blackout curtain so we were afraid that the light would wake our daughter early. We asked about a blackout curtain and they moved us to an adjacent even nicer room with even more of a view over the square. This involved moving the bed but they did this with no complaint and no fuss. The staff were friendly throughout (we had a problem with a cancelled eurostar train and they were helpful, sympathetic and practical in the extreme. The breakfasts are generous and not expensive and the decor is plush, well maintained and very grand. The air conditioning is very effective (it was extremely hot when we stayed but the room was comfortably cool. I cannot praise this hotel too much. We attend the ceremony at Fromelles every year and we always stay here. The hotel is right in the centre but not noisy and is convenient for everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    The location was excellent, staff really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt for the 4 star rating and the money I paid I didn't feel it was up to standard, as a old hotel the interior was lovely and vintage but the rooms were very basic and didn't have a lot of character

    The location was excellent, staff really nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Location and best bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male staff upon checkin not very welcoming

    Location and best bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent find would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 20 euros . So gave it a miss.

    Boutique style. Very chic hltel in heart of Lille old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Location, service, breakfast all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nightclub opposite was very noisy

    Location, service, breakfast all great...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Great position, comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated internally

    Great location, spacious room, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Close to all tourist attractions. Best bakery across from the hotel. Happy to stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Really nice breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    No connecting rooms with young children despite my request
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No connecting rooms with young children despite my request

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Jem in the heart of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    The location, the room, the view, the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Carlton traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: