Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Cartier 3 stars

1, Rue de la Corne de Cerf, Intra Muros, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#31 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The Hotel was well located within the city walls with easy walks to shops, restaurants, bars, and public transport. Location was the winner. The staff were found to be extremely helpful with recommendations on where to dine. The room was found to be very comfortable with a view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I started off with one dim light in the room, and by the time I left there was none Room was very small

    Stayed 3 nights - for a 2*/3* hotel the breakfast was good TV choice was excellent Location was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very small and I would recommend getting breakfast in the city. The rooms windows were very poor quality so we heard everything from the street.

    Good location in the city for a decent price. They put a kids bed into the room already what was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious rooms, and very clean. Great balcony view of the city! Lift access was great since we have a small toddler. Staff were helpful in restaurant recommendation and booking dinner for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right in the heart of the centre, perfect hide away. Great staff and helpful in every way. Right next to the lovely restaurants aswell. And great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. We were given an outstanding - and spacious - room overlooking the main concourse and the cathedral; we liked it so much we extended our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were fantastic. When we arrived they were happy to look after our bags and even got our room ready 2 hours earlier than we were expecting. We were given a map of St Malo and shown where the main attractions were. We made a few requests (extra pillows, storing milk in the fridge) and they were always happy to help. The room well decorated and very comfortable. Fantastic location, 5 minutes from the gate, cafes, restaurants and a convenience store.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    This was 2nd visit to the Cartier, but 1st in premium rooms which really nice. Breakfast has good selection. Location is brilliant, park outside the walls ,200m walk into walls and hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The booking was troublesome because the Booking.com website claimed that there was nothing to pay until arrival and then demanded a 10% charge to cancel. Others have experienced similar false information from the site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really it was pretty good. Outrageous parking charges in underground garage nearby. €60 for a day and a half for a motorbike!

    Fantastic location and incredibly helpful staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little 'tired' looking and the room, although ver clean, was quite small.

    The location of the hotel inside the St. Malo walls is very convenient and very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room....couldn't open the door without it hitting the bed.Asked if we could be changed to a bigger room and got a curt 'We're full'.

    Location....right in the centre of Saint Malo

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may get noisy in a busy night

    Excellent location to grasp the intramuros experience of Saint-Malo and sneak in for a quick nap :) Staff very friendly and flexible, recommended for first timers in Saint-Malo!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think it was worth the price I paid.. Breakfast wasn't included which was my mistake but €11 I felt was stepe for a continental breakfast

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic location right in centre of old town. Difficult to get a taxi though as annual Braderie meant the taxis could not come in. Comfy room and welcoming staff who were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy at night down the street when the drunken people making a lot of noises on the street.

    It's very close to the entrance of Intra Murros and a short 2min walking distsnce to Carefour and a bakery open early morning and dessert shop close late at night just in time for supper!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many people in the pedestrian zone, sometimes late in the night, implies some noise, but no trafic in the evening. Weather is unpredictable in Brittany, rain is always an option.

    Located inside the fortress, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Staff very helpful and very kind. Breakfast was ok. Traveling with small children, we had a quite large room for a reasonable price. Temperature in July was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights and had a lovely view of the main street inside the walls of St Malo. We were traveling with a baby and the hotel were very accommodating - they provided a travel cot and allows us to use the fridge and freezer to store milk. The room was spacious which allowed us to keep the pushchair in our room. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice staff, spacious room, clean bathroom

    The room and bathroom were large and very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. Overall everything was made to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel is very well located on one of the many shopping streets and 5 min from the information center and the bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    In ideal place - very central. Lots of good places to eat within easy walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful - particularly Nicholas. All contributed to a lovely holiday. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Only minus point was the internet connection. It was not capable of connection in the room and we had to go to the foyer to use it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a short walk away and cost Euro 25 for one night

    Well located, modest Hotel but good value for money. You could not get more central in St Malo!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it located in the centre, there was no parking. We had to park outside of the wall of old town, which actually about 5 mins walk. We were lucky that the first night, we could park in front of the hotel as we arrived quit late. Second night, we had to park in the parking which was hardly to find as it was busy. Luckily, we didn't have to pay for the parking as it was re-organised at the moment.

    We stayed there for 2 nights in a family room (2 connecting rooms) which was perfect for us with 2 children of 5 and 2. We stayed on the 4th floor which we had great view, seeing city from our bed. Although it located right in the centre, but we did hear nothing from outside, it was perfectly soundproof room. The room size was big enough, everything was clean and so comfortable. The bathroom was very nice even though we missed bathtub. The staff was very friendly. If we ever be back in Saint-malo, we surely would stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of handicap issues, manager said could drive to hotel. It looked like that entrance was blocked so eventually parked after a long walk with another hotel by the church giving incorrect information I found the hotel. His direction about entrance were very good and drove to hotel to unload!!

    Hotel by many shops

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A revamp of the rooms.

    The hotel was in a great location in the old part of St Malo. If travelling by train it is about a 25 minute walk. Although in need of a makeover the hotel was pleasant enough. The room was adequate and was serviced well. Breakfast was good for the price and the staff were marvellous, especially Grabriel. They were ever so helpful and friendly. We had a corner suite which was great to look out on the streets below.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the service at the Hotel Cartier really stood out for us...everyone with whom we interacted was exceptionally friendly and helpful (especially those at the front desk who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible...from suggesting great restaurants, to offering to let us check out late so we didn't have to hurry back from the beach on our last day). We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay in a fantastic location in Saint Malo.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt badly of smelly drains and the carpet had not been cleaned, plus the radiator was coming off the wall and did not really work well. But the member of staff I spoke to put right the dirty carpet but the smell is a problem.

    It was a good location and the staff member I spoke to was helpful and did offer us a different room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked that the staff were warm and welcoming. They spoke with me in French and even tho I don't have a big French vocabulary, I could understand them and vice versa. My husband doesn't speak French but the staff were all good natured and the whole ambience of the hotel was friendly. Had requested a room with a view, and got one with 5 windows and overlooking the streets...perfect! A charming hotel, comfortable room, a great breakfast and perfect central location...thankyou!.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent position within the walled city. very close to parking and good restaurants. very friendly and attentive staff. Sensibly priced. We have stayed several times and would not consider anywhere else.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ... but you won't try to open the window, because you're right next to a buskers corner and the main tourist tract. Do not expect a three star room either.

    The location is spot-on, in the very centre of the old town...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all great!

    The staff were friendly and helpful! It was clean and modern! I took a business card so I could make sure that that is where I stay when I am next in St Malo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room (no room for an open suitcase except on the bed), a/c made plenty of noise but didn't cool the air, disposable cups for inroom tea and coffee.

    Intra Muros location is perfect, tea and coffee in room, comfortable bed, clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making facilities in the room the only draw back was the cups were disposable which does not help the environment. China cups would have been preferable.

    Location was excellent . The room was a generous size and the shower was the best we have had on our trip. Very comfortable bed the room had a table two chairs and a settee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel in great location. Staff were helpful, rooms were great and breakfasts very generous. We loved our stay at Hotel Cartier and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow twin bed .Think breakfast should be included for the price . Hairdryer terrible.

    Good access to everything. Friendly & helpful staff. Cleanliness . Free wifi .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost £135 a night without breakfast was quite expensive for what was quite a small room and the location was fantastic but it can be subject to late night noise and a lot of buskers !!Having said that we would visit again.

    The staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful.The location was great for the beach ,shops, restaurants etc fantastic for our brief two night stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although it might not suit people looking for total peace & quiet.

    The location was perfect, right in the centre of the old town. The staff were friendly & helpful and happy for guests to use the fridge for any purchases. Tea & coffee making facilities are also always welcome in Eurpean hotels and they were happy to restock if you needed. We arrived on bikes and these were safely stored for us in the basement level. No traffic in the town meant it was bustling, but not noisy. All in all a nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea/coffee and a light over the bathroom mirror would be useful. Room was really small but for 1 night it wasn't an issue.

    Fab location- staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large bright comfortable clean room in excellent location within city walls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from people walking in the street.

    Location. Service. Spacious room. Cleanliness. Facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor pillow.

    Centrally located, quiet room with comfy bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more selections. Scrambled Eggs were cold. Bread/pastries were hard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Beds really comfortable -rooms nicely decorated and exceptionally clean - friendly welcome from staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean. Bathroom very old

    Staff and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is inside the walls of St Malo, with all the streets and shops around it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with a nice view of St Malo

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room , within the walls of St Malo, close to arrivals of ferry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely place to stay in a great location of St Malo. The breakfast was very varied and good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff brilliant asked for a room with balcony lovely stayed here a few times

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great, friendly, and helpful service; a mini concierge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic all round :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy in the early mornings.

    Great Central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning noisy and not very cooling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not kuch

    Close to all amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleaness and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not cooling.

    Great staff and excellent location. Accomodation was good except for the air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location

    Clean and tidy room, staff very polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kindness of the reception staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corner room in family suite is lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great location, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was great. Staff professional helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not a big problem but nearest secure parking approx 100 mtrs from hotel.

    economic, basic hotel smack in the middle of St Malo.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't park anywhere near but we knew this in advance

    The location within the walls was easy to find

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff. Great breakfast with tasty local specialities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very adequate breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups in bedroom. Very small room for a double

    Location was excellent but car parking poor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family and I love the breakfast ,the room was good, and tidy. I hope in the future,go back and we will stay there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is little bit small

    Excellent lication

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional staff. Wonderful breakfast. Very clean and fabulous location. Couldn't ask for anythingmore.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely narrow!

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great room overlooking the shopping street, windows all around but quiet after hours. modern bathroom, great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of some refurbishment.

    Our room at the corner overlooking the street was wonderful. Excellent location inside city walls.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great also the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Perfect location. Rooms a little small. Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: