Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Languedoc-Roussillon hotel reviews
  4. Amélie-les-Bains-Palalda hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude

Reviews of Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude

Route de la Corniche, 66110 Amélie-les-Bains-Palalda, France

#1 of 17 hotels in Amélie-les-Bains-Palalda

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1464 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    10
    Good value clean budget stay, with some facilities of a bigger hotel and adjacent a lovely river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vegetation could be cleared more to allow better views of the river from the rooms as for us this was a major feature of the hotel. Render above our balcony needed repair.

    We self catered & this was excellent value for money. The room was good with two balconies. There wasn't a comfy chair, but we used the relaxed lounge area of the hotel in the evenings which worked well. We especially enjoyed wading/floating down the adjacent river which is an ideal activity on a hot day. Some staff spoke good English..

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent modern hotel in brilliant riverside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although overall I really liked the place, I have a few gripes: The WiFi didn’t work on my iPhone which was a bit frustrating. There was a little kitchenette in my room but it had absolutely no utensils, crockery or cutlery in it so it was of no use really. Plastic beakers wrapped in plastic bags were provided in the bathroom which doesn’t seem a good idea to me: too much plastic!

    This is a high quality, but not snobbish, modern hotel, with spacious, well-equipped rooms and helpful staff, in a superb location by the river, about 15 minutes walk from the town. Strangely it seemed at least half empty and presumably that’s why I got the room at what seemed a bargain rate. The breakfast is quite expensive but worth it with plenty of good quality local produce to choose from in the buffet.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    10
    Great Break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    . Can’t fault this hotel for value. Staff were delightful. Location is amazing. Studios were spacious. It really is a little gem in a quaint French Spa town. Perfect also for a trip across the border to Spain

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    10
    Friendly and peaceful atmosphere; all our needs taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was just fine

    Very peaceful place with a friendly and positive atmosphere. Comfortable and private. We would like to come back for a couple of weeks next time.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    Amazing place right next to a nice river with clean air and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be improved adding more varieties.

    Amazing place right next to a nice river with clean air and sounds of birds and water. The hotel has a variety of options for different rooms. it is higly recommended for a small retreat to disconnect yourself from outer world. It is in my favourites list and surely I will return in future.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was down and not accessible during our 2 day stay. Didn't think breakfast was worth 10€/person. Although it was a buffet there were no hot dishes - eggs, bacon, sausages.

    Location, staff, room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.5
    Beautiful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location next to the river. Peace and beauty. Easy check-in, clean & spacious rooms. Lots of parking. Pretty 15 minute walk into Amelie Les Bains.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    6.3
    Looks better than it is
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor Aircon. Shared terrace ... difficult with dogs (ours and others) as the terrace was the only way into the 4/5 rooms on the top floor there, so people passed the room's double glass doors entrance disturbing the dogs - and us. Not as much of a garden as shown in the pictures. Not enough sockets in the bedroom, only 1 each side of the bed which was taken up with the side lights, so nowhere for the fan or phone charger to plug in in the room without unplugging the bedside lights.

    Quite well equipped kitchen. Tapas food in bar was nice. Staff friendly. Dogs welcome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful by river
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast too expensive to hard bread and some cheese with coffee-automat. No orange-juice. Connect the internet was difficult, have to go to recepcion and they maked it ok.

    Room fantastic. Good walking facilities. Fresh climate. Love to have a long hot bath.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Good value place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything fine.

    Friendly staff. A secure room to put bike in overnight. (And if you follow the cycle route through town, really easy to find Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude right on the route) All very good at the price. Wi-fi worked well. Lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars 10 minutes peaceful walk away in town. Breakfast at Castel Emeraude had plenty of choice and being self-service as much or little as one wished.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    All great but it took three phone calls at least to find the...
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting there, in the pouring rain (not booking.com’s fault), at night and with not enough instructions for people driving alone, and as I say above, with CRAP Waze.

    All great but it took three phone calls at least to find the hotel. I will stay there again and next time I will know the way. It is very hard to find if you are driving on your own with a bloody minded silent Waze app. The staff were great and smoothed down my ruffled feathers very patiently. Booking.com need to get to grips with hotels off the beaten track. EVERY time I stay in such a place I have a similar issue. Your instructions need to be more thoughtful than lazy, depending on inadequate technology. And need to be far more helpful and exact - and the google map element won’t load, it’s too full of junk and unnecessary information - keep things simple and accurate and helpful. If not, delightful places like this will miss out because they are too hard to find.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great, beautiful, quiet location right next to an ideal spot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just nitpicking, but some areas feel a bit old.

    Great, beautiful, quiet location right next to an ideal spot of the river and surrounded by mountains. Spacious, well equipped rooms with soft, comfortable beds. Breakfast and staff are okay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good facilities for self catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was along the passage from the lift. Wrote to the hotel saying that Mr. Burton had walking difficulties but did not receive a reply. Not possible to change room on arrival although I am sure this could have been possible. People arriving and leaving all the time. Breakfast overpriced for what was offered. Poor selection No fresh fruit, only two types of tiny croissants. Only used this facility once. Wifi absolutely useless

    Surrounding area. The grounds at the hotel. Pet friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location. Hotel next to the mountains river. Very comfy beds and quiet place to sleep. It was no problem for late arriving. Woman from the hotel gave me a door code by the phone. Good value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy bed but a bit small. No big deal anyway.

    Great atmosphere, very quiet, lovely place. The relaxing sound of the river! Very complete kitchen, all super clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing for romantic trip and for the weekend relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plates and others kitchen facilities in the room.

    Very beautiful place. Parking included. Very modern style of rooms. Amazing view. Tasty breakfast (included for the extra charge). Good internet connection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely overnight stay - wish we'd had more time to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast coffee machine, despite several options none provided a good cup of coffee to our taste, with the cappuccino option overwhelmed with hot chocolate added to the mix!

    The location and the hotel with apartment style rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable and well-run hotel, excellent value - much better than its star rating.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only disappointment was finding that my studio room (305) had a communal terrace not a private one. There were short dividing walls between each studio's outside sitting space (a table and chairs for each room) but it was wide open at the front and also the terrace was used as a corridor by other guests moving round the hotel, so eating or relaxing outside wasn't very private at all. I found it rather awkward to go past other the other rooms with my dog when fellow guests were outside trying to have a meal or read a book in peace. It also meant that I could not use the terrace as a space where I could sit and eat or relax with my dog off her lead, as I had anticipated. It was effectively a public corridor with sitting areas, so I felt obliged to keep her on a lead, especially as there were other dogs staying in several of the other rooms. Nor could I leave the patio doors to my room, which led onto this terrace/corridor, open for my dog to go in and out into the fresh air on her own. She had to remain tethered whilst on the terrace or if the doors were open. I think it should have been made clearer when booking that these particular studio rooms do not have a private terrace, so that dog owners like me could book accommodation with a private balcony or terrace if they wished. Because it also served as a corridor, the whole terrace area was covered with a glass roof with quite an overhang. This certainly restricted the views of the mountains opposite from the room itself and from the outside sitting area. A pity that each room's outside space couldn't have been made more private and enclosed in some way - perhaps a screen or trellis fencing - whilst still leaving space for a corridor for other guests moving around. It didn't spoilt my stay -there were lots of plus points to this hotel - it was just a disappointing niggle to find I hadn't got what I thought I had booked and paid for.

    A little gem! Real value for money. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable accommodation, easy to self-cater if you wish. Only a short walk or two minute drive to Amelie town centre. Pleasantly situated by a river, where you can paddle or swim, and plenty of places in grounds to sit in the shade or relax in the sun, also a small bar and lounge area inside. Views of river and mountains. Walks directly from hotel for dog owners. Breakfast extra but very good quality - serve yourself, all you can eat cold buffet with bio/organic products - ham, cheeses, jams, honey, fruit juices, fresh fruit etc. All croissants, breads, beautifully fresh each morning. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Felt very safe as a single traveller. The air conditioning was excellent - a boon with the high temperatures during my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.7
    Looks better on photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No trust in the customer. You pay before you see the room. Bad sound proofing in the rooms.

    Breakfast is OK (for france). The river is right beside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't really understand why Booking.com give an access code number. I - wrongly - assumed that it was an access code for the door to the hotel. I was very lucky that someone was there to let us in!

    Beds were very comfortable. Garden was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    9.2
    Very good,but...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not wi-fi signal,that is intolerable in 21 century) The kitchen in the room is good, but without necessary small items: knife, sponge, washing liquid, board, kitchen towel.

    Friendly personal, quick check-in, good quality of linen and towels. The place is picturesque, near a mountain river. Comfortable parking. Good for a pet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good hotel away from city rush and highway in the middle of forest. Beautiful view and river in front of hotel. Very modern rooms are more studio with everything you need small kitchen,fridge and all necessities .Parking in front, away from the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money comfortable, quiet and clean room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great. Maybe we were surprised that we were assigned a self-catering apartment with a sign that more or less came to say "you can not use the kitchen because you have not paid for it". If you do not pay for a self-catered apartment, you should be assigned one without a kitchen. If not, it's as if they put a jacuzzi in a superior room with a sign that you can not use it because you paid for a standard room.

    Nice hotel with an unbeatable value for money. For 35 euros you have a room with river view, clean, quiet, with private bathroom with bathtub, TV and a very comfortable sofa-bed. Better than a F1 hotel for less money. The restaurant for the tasty buffet breakfast has a nice terrace and the staff is very friendly. We will come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.2
    Nice and quiet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't spend money on the breakfast we were very dissatisfied because it was so basic.

    We had a balcony whith a wonderful view over mountain, threes and we saw a little bit of the river too. Very quiet. Only 10-15 minutes to restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    Friendly staff, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything

    Friendly staff, clean room. A place to store our bikes.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    Nice location
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nice location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    No tea or coffee making facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    5.8
    Breakfast good but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real restaurant on site. Nothing close by without a long walk

    Breakfast good but expensive

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet location. The rooms are spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    A couple of days in the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little far from the town if you need shops. A car is necessary.

    Good sized room. Very clean. Friendly staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    Todo en general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Todo en general..... excelente lugar para descansar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.5
    Bar prices were too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar prices were too high

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Location was very tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar closes early

    Location was very tranquil. We travelled by bike and easy acces on greenway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    5.8
    Very basic, small, would not stay again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small ,Very basic, booked for 4 people got put in a 1 bedroom with a sofa bed in the kitchen, no hot food

    Staff were good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    Good price for all our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Twin Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Peace and quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, it was quite beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything, even vending machines were not a rip off, it was all a pleasant shock

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. A/C was very efficient. 10-15 minute walk to town. Nice location next to the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    6.7
    dog smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    dog smell

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    good place to stay, but beware of extra fees
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi malo. sin servicio de de habitacion para cambio de toallas, etc.

    very quiet rooms..nice view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Las vistas de la montaña desde la habitacion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Las vistas de la montaña desde la habitacion

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    9.2
    Motorbike Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good facilities air con in room 👌

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great area, comfortable hotel, friendly staff, always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great area, comfortable hotel, friendly staff, always helpful but never intrusive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar and restaurant.

    Location and very friendly. Could improve on bar and restaurant services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.9
    Nice personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit difficult to find.

    Nice personnel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Clean room, nice location by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't really work, which isn't really a problem if you stay just for a night.

    Clean room, nice location by the river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Entorn natural agradable i tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Twin Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entorn natural agradable i tranquil. Confortable i el personal amable i atent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    8.3
    Pillowcase was clean but had some marks on it.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillowcase was clean but had some marks on it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    In a lovely setting. I took cheaper room which did not have a balcony but the views were still grea
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.2
    Nice to have a quiet roon with just the sound of the little...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice to have a quiet roon with just the sound of the little river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed

    Swimming un the River !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice quiet location. Easy walk to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a good outside area to sit in and the staff spoke English and were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    5.4
    Fit for purpose and would use again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the end of the day its just a hotel.

    The location was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    10
    I loved the near creek.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I loved the near creek. The room was really well-equipped, there was even a big fridge, a microwave and an electric stove. I mentioned to the receptionist that I am looking for a place to buy a writable CD and she got me one by the evening. She really went the extra mile. And the price is really not steep, either.

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is somewhat out of town - good I had my own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    -

    The hotel is somewhat out of town - good I had my own transport. It has a private access to the river bank. In the morning, I heard birds singing rather than traffic noise. I was there in off-season and the place felt a little empty. Still it was well-kept, with friendly and attentive staff. Also the breakfast buffet was ok value for money.

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2016

    8.8
    We were visiting to experience and familiarise ourselves...
    • Couple

    For some guests dinner (not available during our stay.) Bar and night manager/reception services beyond 7 pm not available during our stay - Self key coded entry may not be evey visitors cup of tea!

    We were visiting to experience and familiarise ourselves with the area rather than a holiday visit. With this in mind the location and the hotels limited facilities suited us perfectly. This may not suite everyone looking for a holiday full hotel board and lodgings beyond B & B at the time of our stay (March 2016) Be aware that some of the rooms offer full self catering facilities for those who are minded to go shopping, cook and prepare lunch/dinner for themselves.

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2015

    6.7
    the river which is so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we got a room full of flies however they changed it after a while, and did the best they could taking into account the language barrier!

    the river which is so nice..

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2015

    9.2
    Reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No bad experience at all personally but be aware that while each room has a very useful little kitchen (fridge, mini cooker & sink) there is absolutely nothing useful to go with it - not so much as a teaspoon. Hair drier? Bring your own!

    Reception. Super healthy part of the world - mountains, forests, wonderful air, crystal river, and a night sky teeming with stars. Exceptionally comfortable bed, good central heating, shower etc. Decent and very ample breakfast. Silence. A laughably French rational minimalism - I mean the place is intelligently thought out. I liked it a lot and stayed both going and coming from Spain

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    4.2
    Good facilities, nice location by river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had stay spoiled by guest above us. Evening decided to hang their washing out over the balcony (Despite sign saying NO washing in rooms) Water dripped down onto our balcony during our evening meal. Following morning they decided it was OK to sweep their room out over their balcony which landed back into ours. WHY ARE PEOPLE SO IGNORANT!!!!! I reported it to reception, they couldn't care less. No hotel staff after 7pm. Bar closed, never did see the restaurant open..

    Good facilities, nice location by river. Get river view room, others are a bit pokey. You'll pay extra for this, 5€ p/d Get top floor, see bad points !!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    8.3
    The location, quiet and not far from the city centre and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The filthy carpet in the corridor giving a bad impression even if the rooms are correct.

    The location, quiet and not far from the city centre and the swimming pool The kindness of the staff The flexibility of the concept (be able to have breakfast at the hotel or prepare it in the room with the availabel devices) The wide car park, the building The atmosphere

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    9.2
    Relaxed aparthotel in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed aparthotel in a lovely town. A 15 minute walk to restaurants and shops. It would have scored even higher with us if there had been the opportunity to eat in the hotel each evening.

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and highly organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful and highly organized. We arrived at the hotel at 2am -after a long road trip- and we found the keys and the hotel instructions based on a very detailed email which we got from the hotel. Cleanliness and comfort was superb. We had to return home earlier than the date we had originally planned (due to unexpected business at work). But the hotel manager was very kind and did not charge us for the remaining days, although we had booked the room for the entire week.

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    9.6
    We had a studio confort for 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a studio confort for 3 nights. It was very clean and the personal is very nice. Near to the hotel is a small river with a path beside so u can walk near to the river.

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    9.2
    Air conditioning was amazingly efficient considering it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a small oven.

    Air conditioning was amazingly efficient considering it was 39 degrees outside! Everything we needed for a short stay was provided.

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    9.2
    Very very helpful staff and manager very attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very very helpful staff and manager very attentive and caring. Quiet and beautiful location, nice spot with a stream at the end of the garden, great parking facility.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    9.6
    The setting beside the river is lovely, just a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one small point that would really make a difference is the TV, I realise that most customers are French but the facility to adjust the language options were disabled so we couldn't use the TV...oh and no dish drying towels...

    The setting beside the river is lovely, just a short walk from the town which gives visitors all amenities but also peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meals available but not an issue for us. The wi-fi is quite poor, but I think this may be more of a French thing. We could get on the wi-fi but not possible to download any attachments.

    Very friendly staff. Nice clean rooms with a great view from the balcony. We took out dog and the staff were all fine with that. Nice clean rooms and good breakfast. Our room had cooking facilities and a fridge so it was all very handy.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2016

    10
    Trato e instalaciones estupendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trato e instalaciones estupendo

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    7.5
    Super quiet and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super quiet and friendly staff. Very cheap, clean and with onsite parking.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotell, with good personal.
    • Family with older children

    Nice hotell, with good personal. We had a dog with us, no problem. I would definitivly consider staying there again.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    7.9
    Inexpensive, clean & good location, quiet, along the...
    • Solo traveler

    ~

    Inexpensive, clean & good location, quiet, along the riverside, lovely!

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2015

    7.5
    Nice spacious room and a great, fresh breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice spacious room and a great, fresh breakfast buffet!

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    7.5
    This is a no frills hotel, comfortable, but not fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a no frills hotel, comfortable, but not fancy. There was free parking.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    7.9
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sofa bed

    Staff

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Appart'Hotel Castel Emeraude Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: