Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Castel Marie Louise 5 stars

1, avenue Andrieu, BP 409, 44504 La Baule, France

#4 of 25 hotels in La Baule

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    disappointing would be mild, overpriced for sure, we always stay at 4 and 5 stars and it's neither
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was totally outdated, no air conditioning , suffocating inside the room at night, the bathroom was very small, the shower door was falling apart hitting a bidet so you could not open it fully, the shower was extremely small with mildew around the hinges. and this was supposed to be a nicer room than originally booked and had to pay extra!! this hotel needs a major make-over, it felt like 1970 and the staff knows it, unacceptable, overpriced!!!!

    the staff was helpful and friendly, the location and grounds were very nice but the hotel does not deserve a 5 stars. we understood the location is prime but so outdated!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Very Disaapointing Poor Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, Hotel was tired and in need of a major revamp Had a table booking for 19:30 arrived slightly early for a pre dinner drink, then took over an hour for us to be shown to our table. Asked for details of the food we ate in the restaurant together with the wines which were paired with each course but although promised were never produced. Breakfast was ridiculously expensive at Euros 33 per head

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nespresso coffee machine provided but with paper cups!!! This is a 5 *hotel. Sure they could provide real cups and saucers. Restaurant and drinks very expensive.

    Room good size. Perfect sea view. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    My fantasy 19th C French beach hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish our room overlooked the garden not the street.

    The interior decoration was very appropriate to the era of the hotel. I loved it. We had a very fine antique armoire in our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to answer our satisfaction questionnaire for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement. My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning your stay. The level of quality at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur. And to prove our commitment, I would like to offer you a free night in a double room, including breakfast, during your next stay at Hôtel Castel Marie Louise, at your convenience and subject to availability. We hope you will take full advantage of this, as regaining your trust is essential to us. We hope you will accept our invitation and we remain at your service for future reservations. I will personally supervise your next stay to ensure that each instant spent at our hotel is perfect. Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon, Yours sincerely Lionel MASSONNEAU General Manager Castel Marie-Louise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent but expensive stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, particularly for a solo traveller.. €28 for breakfast!! Even though of high standard. I have had equally good breakfasts for much less.

    Location. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Luxury accommodation in a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    125ml of Muscadet (warm) at 13 euros was a bit steep! Everything else was excellent

    The hotel was luxurious and very appealing if a touch on the expensive side

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with outstanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC but they did bring us a portable unit, no pool or gym on site. We had to go to another hotel close by for gym and pool which was a bit awkward. We didn't even eat at the restaurant because the prices were much more expensive than great places in town. We would have appreciated having breakfast included in our rate but not for an additional $28 a day.

    The staff, location to beach and town, and free use of bicycles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Birthday Treat.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Room was a fabulous size and treats had been provided for our 2 dogs who were staying with us. Food was amazing, staff were charming and very attentive. Opposite the beach and promenade. Very quiet and comfortable at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable and well appointed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the time the staff were first class but service for dinner on Saturday night was slow and patchy.

    Food excellent. Room well appointed and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Arrived at hotel, a wicket gate? Cannot be true,drive around block but there is no other one!,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street or pay for parking.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Very good place to stay! Will be back definitively
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, room, staff, front to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Having stayed at the Hermitage on 2 occasions the Castel is full of French charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom requires up dating:difficult to fully open shower door as the space is restricted.

    Professional staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff at the reception, wonderful location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff at the reception, wonderful location in the better part of La Baule, nice and spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.0
    t
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Vert good breakfast, we can use the lol near the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked online the price said it was inclusive of breakfast. When we arrived we where told it wasn't.

    Very good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    very friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In spite of checking in advance that my bill would be paid in euros I later discovered that it had been transacted in sterling. As a result I paid £22 more on the exchange rate. Non Eurozone clients beware.

    Great location. Luxury accommodation. Very good food.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.4
    THE ROOM WAS MUCH TOO EXPENSIVE THE ROOM WAS IN NO...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE ROOM WAS MUCH TOO EXPENSIVE THE ROOM WAS IN NO RELATION TO THE PRICE

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    9.6
    Charming location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming location.Lovely private garden.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: