Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Caumartin Opéra - Astotel 3 stars

27 rue Caumartin, 9th arr., 75009 Paris, France

#631 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 498 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After staying in another hotel just up the street, this particular hotel did not meet my standards. Main reception was tiny with a ramp that was not wide enough for your wheeled luggage. No bellman, no assistance. Although the room was clean it had plastic chairs, bed was comfy but I just felt it was not worth the amount we spent for a 2 nite stay. It is a go get what you need yourselves because there is no assistance, with your luggage, if you need more linens or towels, TP,, you need to go down to reception area and collect it. Even the lite breakfast you had to get your own coffee and make it yourself. If you did not like American Coffee, well make a Nescafe cup of I'm not sure what kind of coffee/teas. and the breakfast staff was not very helpful either. The receptionist was very nice but.. this hotel has very narrow hallways, an elevator that can just about fit 3 and heaven forbid if you had your luggage too. BTW, if you don't use the safe in the room, there's a piece of paper that says the hotel is not responsible for anything taken out of your room! Would I return? Absolutely.. positively NOT!

    Only positive is this hotel is located in the center city of Paris with easy walking to anywhere. The receptionist was very nice during our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had stayed at the hotel before and find it to be very convenient for everything with friendly and helpful staff in a quiet location only minutes from the Paris Opera House. There are a number of very good and friendly restaurants literally on the door step.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the first floor. As soon as we arrived at the room, we noticed that there are filthy water coming out of the bathtub. We reported to the reception and she said she will find someone to fix it. But a guy came and did not do much. They only poured some chemical stuff in the trainage and we had to step out for 30 min because of the strong smell. When we came back it was not better. As soon as someone else Is using water there will be filthy stuff coming out of the bathtub as well as toilet. We reported this issue for the 2nd time and they repeated the same process. We decided not To use the bathroom given we are leaving the next day. However around 9pm we got flooded by the toilet water. There are a lot of dirty water quickly coming out of the bathroom and flooded the whole room. We had to put all stuff on the beds and called the receptionist to got us out. As the filthy water is almost over our ankle. Very disgusting. We were moved to a hotel next door in the end. But still very in pleasant experience.

    Location is good. Free snacks are good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scaffolding all outside the window so couldn’t open the window. Very small compared to website view. Pillows had no pillowcases on until maid then came to room after i check into room. Couldn’t get wifi to work was overly complicated

    Breakfast was cute

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    such a crampy place.....

    we liked nothing except the location, this is fooling people, dont go by photo of hotels and rating, they are all wrong, and try to avoid booking.com, they give you worst places, this is second such experience.... pathetic hotel....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little on the small side, given what we know now we should have upgraded.

    The staff were extremely helpful, especially Christina the receptionist. Excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection was very good, but it ended there. There is a lack of process management in the breakfast room. Constantly running out of juice glasses, bowls, plates, and the wait for coffee was insane. It appeared that no one was assigned to a single task. They were all running around doing everything while plates, bowls ran out, tables left uncleared, juice running out, and the coffee wait was longer than a TSA airport line. The dining room personnel were very hard working and friendly. They need structure and responsible management to make their jobs easier. A curious observation, why do the tables have a complete set up with the fork always missing. You have to go retrieve a fork to complete the table set up. Never experienced that before. Strange. One more thing, clean and stretch or replace the hotel room carpets. Conversations with other guest revealed our room was not the only one with carpets that left a negative impression.

    The location was very good. The front desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbishing ongoing on the outside of the hotel Our room requires some cleanup but the one from our daughters was in a better condition Income requires some clean-up

    Nice breakfast for a 3-star hotel even if the breakfast room is small Clean rooms with all required comfort Great location with access to various metro lines, major attractions in walking distance, and shopping

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby area was very run down. Hotel seemed to be under construction.

    Excellent location, most main attractions are a short walk away. Reception staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very good as hot food was unappetising so just pastries, cereal or toast.

    Location was perfect and comfortable bed and bathroom Facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms themselves could benefit from some work to be at the same quality of the bathrooms and lobby.

    Nice lobby/lounge in entry; bathrooms new and quite nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really accommodating. It was quiet and relaxing. Far aware from the hustle and bustle of a city, but close enough to walk to the major attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I juat came back from a 1 week stay at hotel caumartin.. me and my daughter loved it .. i think everything was soooo good about the hotel .. very cosy very clean perfect location very central also very safe .. i loved the staff they were very sweet and helpeful. Really if u r thinking about it go ahead.. ofcourse rooms r small as all paris rooms but comfortable ... my only problem with the room was that i had no shelves in the closet and not a single drawer in the room.. as i really love to unpackin hotels .. overall estimation LOVED it and will be my hotel in paris .. oh not to forget if u stay there there is this great little resto called FIRENZE just infront ... u shouldn't miss..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only shower room without curtain therefore we had to be very careful to avoid water flowing out from the shower area. The flow speed of shower was also very weak.

    The receptionist of Cristina was done very well. Her hospitality and assistance to us during our stay was far beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and halls were very dated. They advertise a free open bar but it's really just refreshments. The train station nearby does not easily access main attractions in Paris.

    The hotel was very clean and the pastries were delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was pretty saggy. Room needed some maintenance

    Breakfast was good. Coffee great. Especially considering it was included. Afternoon tea also free was good too. Free mini bar great idea. Didn’t use it much but very welcome Very clean room. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 27 of Hotel Caumartin ,the bath tub did not drain properly and this needs to be addressed...otherwise no issues!

    The astotel group with many properties in Paris offers excellent value,extremely helpful service,a good breakfast included and a hospitality oasis in all their hotels for coffee,soft drinks,snacks etc.in addition free drinks ..water ,sodas,juice everyday in your room mini bar.. You can't beat this chain for value,location,service and amenities..I will stay here when in Paris!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival they tried to cheat us into a cheaper room than booked (they were oversold but dis not care even to mention or to proactively deduct the price difference) it took a lot of effort to get what we paid for. A bad experience. Other than this friendly staff but the attempted rip-off voids the good impression completely.

    Excellent location, but the hotel itself is average at best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check-in, I was told the breakfast was included. I got puzzled since I don't normally book a room plan that includes breakfast, but decided to have it on the following morning. I ended up with being charged €10. (Their breakfast was not something you would want to pay €10.)

    It's in a convenient location. 3-minute walk from the Opera and Galeries Lafayette Men. There are multiple metro and train stations nearby. The room was small, but clean. They offer free drinks and snacks at the group hotels in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -the rooms are way too small, and the view is towards an inner area which is not maintained. -the fridge beverages are free but very limited, one small water, one Pepsi and one orange juice (all in 33 cl) /day /room. -hotel is partly renovated, leaving some debris at the entrance ramp, old elevator making noise. -bad smell from the carpet on the corridors, like from the time where it was permitted to smoke inside hotels. - cleaning staff is noisy, discussing loudly, while the doors of the rooms are not soundproofed at all. - sometimes the debris are left for days on the crammed hallways, close to the elevator, making it even more difficult to navigate the small corridors. - during the morning, the area where they served food is full of noise from the kitchen (door left opened almost always), you can eat enjoying the sounds of dishes washed in the kitchen - for several days, there was no option for decaffeinated coffee, and milk for coffee had to be requested from the staff. -employees seem unhappy and discussing in front of the customers with the hotel manager their issues, regarding their complaints, not a great atmosphere.

    Friendly reception staff. Comfortable big size bed, good size bathroom. Acceptable breakfast offer, although more fresh fruits options are welcome full time open cafeteria, water, caffee, tea, some food ( cant call it open bar without any alcohoolic drink in it no?) placed near to a 4* hotel where you also have free open bar, also not including the alcohool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise of the elevator and the doors slammed shut was heard rather loud. The housekeeping staff often entered the room. To refill the mini bar, understand, but they entered and took away a pen while I was out. It didn't feel nice.

    Location is good. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally the place was a good value for money. The location was perfect, the room was clean and had a nice view, albeit small, but this is common for Paris. The breakfast was very good. Totally would recommend as a good place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English speaking TV channels should be installed.

    The location. It is highly accessible to many shopping districts & historic monuments. The room is spacious & with strong AC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't honestly complain about anything.

    Hotel was in a perfect location. I've visited Paris about eight times and stayed in three different hotels. I found Hotel Caumartin the best overall. Location - great , staff extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel impeccably clean. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Painting on my floor and changing mattress in the room during my stay.

    Excellent Location, good breakfast, free bar in the room and in the hotel lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great place to stay as it's within walking distance to a number of the main attractions. The lady with blonde hair (sorry we didn't get her name) was very helpful and ensured we knew where we were going etc. The bar snacks and free mini bar is a bonus and a really nice touch. There's also some lovely little bars and restaurants on the same road. Thanks for a great stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are thin and the people in the next room kept me awake late and then woke me up early.

    Location is perfect when you use the Roissybus from the airport. Metros and RER at 2 minute walk. The staff is lovely and very professional. The room and the bathroom were bigger than I expected.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was spotless! The staff was friendly and helpful and hotel was conveniently located. Free water and drinks in the room and snacks provided. Nice touch!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under construction

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porter to help with bags but I know it’s a smaller boutique hotel.

    Bed was comfortable; breakfast was plentiful! Location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit odd and not very welcoming in the restaurant opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower pressure is very poor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive for the type of room

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hearing the neighbours sometimes.

    Friendliness of the staff, comfortable room, great mini bar and close to lovely restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service coming in filling up fridge and tea abd coffe after we was in the room.

    Ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was a bit disappointing.

    Breakfast was good. They had a free bar through out the night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is too weak and it is hard to adjust the temperature, too.

    Very convenient location. The room has a kettle and tea, drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness, privacy and comfort of bed are poor.

    Staff are amazing. The complimentary good and drinks is a huge bonus for staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Is was really convenient to have available free softdrinks and snacks all the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy because of renovation.

    Very polite staff. Great location. Everything is near. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast, snack bar during the afternoon. Double room with perfect size. Real value for money!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather little rooms

    Excellent located in the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The everyday cleaning was late and not so clean!

    Great location & wonderful welcoming staff!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missing cappuccino in breakfast

    Smoking facility in the room Free mini bar Free bar at lobby Nice staff Excellent atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room , the staff everything really good value. Nothing to much trouble. Will go again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink in the bathroom seemed a little used

    Complimentary bar in the lobby and mini bar Nice room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a smoking room, smelt and felt very unclean

    Great complimentary snacks and drinks in lobby

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very central

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to change rooms since it was cold.bad wi fi. Charged my card although I said I will be back with cash to pay. The front desk guy was sleeping in the dark at the lobby when I came in late... Bad experience.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, good breakfast, kind staff.. What else?

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor staff... :(

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location - Staff was excellent

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    location and everything

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awkward location of toilet paper

    Great location, clean room, personal handwritten welcome note, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cleaning lady in the lobby area had an attitude.

    It was thoughtful of the hotel to offer free drinks at the lobby area.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    room and lift are small

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnitures in the room are old

    Location , wi-fi speed in rooms

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Caumartin Opéra - Astotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: