Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Cavalière Surplage 3 stars

2 Avenue Du Cap Negre, Cavalière, 83980 Le Lavandou, France

Review score

Based on 1166 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful Place By the Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the room was missing a refrigerator

    Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, very friendly, helpful and and nice host... The view was pretty great, the breakfast was also quite nice... The location is really great as you get a view of the beach and you're very close to lots of restaurants and some shops... The room also had a balcony which was pretty cool... And the washrooms were pretty big...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay at this Hotel we did not have a car but managed to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there were cushions on seats on the balcony and the pillows on the bed were not too good

    The food was very nice Dinner at night was very good excellent Menu beautifully cooked

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Amazing location - could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    But very dated deco. Rooms badly in need of refurb and very disappointing. No Wifi in bedrooms (disaster when travelling with teenagers); pool table was missing balls and broken cue; indoor pool unavailable after 7pm; high prices for sun loungers and often unavailable. Also alarm went off twice for no reason in the middle of our second night. Very traumatic. Can understand once but twice ..?

    Amazing location - could not be better. Great location of rooms with beach patios. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.0
    Very disappointed , did not give value for money @ €185 per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very small it had replaced original and was not comfortable, smell of drains contantly, poor furnishings every where, in need of a make over - photos on web site does not reflect actual conditions

    Location on beach, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Last minute baggers can’t be choosers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms definitely need update. Old and poor decor, although we got the suite which was giant and side ocean view. Not so bad for one night only.

    Last minute baggers can’t be choosers. Breakfast was ok, ocean view is worth, and it’s just in front the beach. That’s cool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    not value for money they charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire hotel needs updating.

    The hotel looks tired and could do with some updating. The staff were not very helpful; I called a day before I set to join them from Nice and asked how to travel to the Hotel but received no help. Breakfast was average and beds not very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Next to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    quite old style, bathroom is terrible staff was not kind and they were bored serving dinner was crazy and time consuming no any vegetables served for breakfast and no local food offered (eg. cheese, olives) just very simple and boring things and no fresh juice no free sunbeds for guests

    good location (own beach), pretty but not too busy surrounding nice dinner place nice clean sea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel in an awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks really old, it looks like it has not been renewed in the last 20 years, the bathroom is poorly illuminated. Upon arrival we where told about the breakfast and that we could head to the breach from the lower floor, but we never thought the we had to pay to use the private beach from the hotel on which we where staying. Also we could not order any food since the kitchen was closed already and would only open again 18:30.

    The localization is awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    We loved staying here and would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we had stayed longer!

    Right on the breathtaking Mediterranean in a small, less crowded town in the south of France this hotel is relatively secluded and quiet. Great place for a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Best Weekend Trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked the hotel but the only dissapointment was the Sunbeds were extra charge. I think if a hotel says it has a private beach, sunbeds should be included in your stay.

    I definitely recommend the hotel. Staff are very kind and welcoming. The beach and sea is beautifuf, clean, calm. We loved the breakfast with the french pastries. There were many options and all delicous. Room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a great weekend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    A friendly hotel in a fantastic location in need of updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tiny toilet in bedroom. Condition of bathroom very worn - bath with a shower handset with nowhere to hang it for a shower!

    Location on the beach was fantastic (no roads to cross!) Staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking was fine as we were lucky enough to find a space in the hotel carpark - otherwise the walk to a public carpark would have been frustrating. Aircon in room a bonus (and quiet). Super breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice views but lacking a personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there on the night of our wedding and the next night, I rang ahead to tell them we will be checking in late as we will be at our wedding reception at the restaurant le cannier beach club, they told me I am staying in room 78. Our bags had been left in our rooms, when we arrived the security guard let us in, My wife was currently in her wedding dress at the time, we told him the room number but told us there is no room 78, he then started to rudely question who we are and accuse us of trying to stay there without a booking, I was furious as was my wife, what did he think like? He then brought us to a room number 7, with 8 adjoining on to it on the sea front. Overall I was shocked by his behaviour, we also had told the staff ahead of our stay that we were staying there for our wedding night, but we didn't even find a congratulations card or flowers in our room.

    Our Hotel Room which was directly on the beach. The Buffet breakfast with the sea view. The man on the beach who takes care of the sun beds was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.9
    Served a purpose of a bed to sleep in and that’s it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful dark room, run down. I left my kindle in the room after checkout and rang the hotel twice after I’d left to check if they had it and they were rude, made no effort to find it for me so had to buy a new one. Breakfast was depressing.

    Right on the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Great beach location for a visit to the Cote d'azur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've stayed at this property before (4 times) and we feel that there has been a general deterioration in the maintenance of the building, the décor and the standard of the food on offer.

    The location and very helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Awesome location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is really tired and in need of an overhaul. Everything feels like it was last updated in the ‘80s.

    Awesome location right on the beach. Staff were great and really helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    A little overpriced I would say!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room felt 'lost' it didn't have any ambiance and with some effort it could have had, they did somewhat try with music but!!!! the staff were understaffed for the dinners in the room and this impacted on the service they were able to give which was poor, the evening meal was good for my husband but poor for me the meat was uneatable full of gristle, so we ate elsewhere the night after, the breakfast was poor ' cut your own bread is a good idea but no napkins/protection to put round bread when cutting is a hygiene issue for me', there was very little for the waiter to organise for the start of breakfast as there was not much of it there, but had to be reminded to get the teabags over half an hour after breakfast had commenced.

    The hotel had a shabby chic back to its hey day feel, the balconies overlooking the beach had the original doors/fittings very quaint, separate toilet from the bathroom was a nice change, a lift to the rooms and easy access in and out of the hotel and in the dining room was good as I use a frame to walk, there was parking for the car on the hotel grounds, and the location was very nice, having mobility problems and using a frame to walk it was good to be able to walk out to shops and restaurants and watch the locals playing Petanqe in the small park area across the road from the hotel, we didn't use the pool but it was nice to see an indoor pool when its not beach weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful.This hotel is in a beautiful location, we had the room with a sea view and it was perfect. The hotel room was nice and spacious with a large and comfortable bed. We enjoyed the breakfast options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Not value for Money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At one point in time, I believe the Hotel had a 3 star rating . It's state of repair and upgrade does not warrant such a rating. The location right on the beach and the staff are great. those two element keep the place afloat. The hotel infrastructure is falling apart, wicker chairs without holes in the seat area are hard to come buy. The rooms need a lot of work to bring them back to a 3 star hotel rating. If it were not for being right on the beach and the off season rate we would have moved on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were planing to stay one night, but we take + 2 night. For me, it is petect hotel whit sool. They have indo pool, nice bech snd corect food. If you need the place for relax the Cavaliete can be good. Maybe they can invest some euro in smool things but for me it is not necesery...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    The Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The smell in the pool room was atrocious to the point it made me sick. The rooms need updating and the breakfast could have been better. The price of the sunbeds were ridiculously expensive.

    The Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a stay at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the restaurant was a bit like "Fawlty Towers". Food was served before the wine - even though we waited 30 minutes for the food. Beach man was rude and tried to make us pay twice, after clarification he was very helpful.

    Perfect situated on the beach in Cavaliere sur Mer. Fantastic balcony with seaview to the south. Nice restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    Brilliant location, but really must improve in other areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in need of a top to bottom upgrade. Guest facilities need to be improved significantly inside the hotel, e.g. comfortable seating, better dining facilities. Strong smell from drains here and there.

    The staff were pleasant and courteous. Superb beachside location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    Back to 1970s but worse than you remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else about this hotel is horrible the room sad no fridge coffee maker hair dryer that wouldn't dry a bald head. Cold showers ever evening, breakfast is a joke you have to hunt for a tray and take it down stairs to get away from the hideous vacuumlous dining room, the receptions pretends not to speak English the furniture is worm out. Oh and the smell from the swimming pool stinks 😷 this hotel is the poorest we have ever ever stayed in.

    The position of the hotel is fabulous,the view is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Very sad that a hotel situated on a lovely beach with amazing.views has been left to deteriorate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a total refurbishment the dining room was the most depressing place I have ever seen. The breakfast was disgusting with 2 choices of hot food fatty bacon and scrambled eggs which were like rubber. Cereals available had to be eaten with teaspoons as no larger spoons were available. On arrival for breakfast we had to queue at the bar to collect a tray then once we had placed our food on the tray and to escape from the depressing dining room we climbed down several steep steps ( very dangerous when carrying a tray) so we could sit outside.The only one positive thing about the hotel is the view.

    The location on the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Needs a bit of improvement, but the beach is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else. Where should I begin? The check in was awful. The staff seemed to be disturbed by us wanting to check in. I think that is why they checked another couple into our room just minutes before we arrived. Maybe they wanted us to leave right away? And we understand that mistakes can happen, but the way they responded to this wasn't good service. And how about the breakfast? I think they wanted to serve scrambled eggs, however, I would never call that an egg product of any kind. Maybe it was another hint for us to leave? We certainly spent enough time in the toilet after it, and not on the beach. And would it kill them to smile? I think this was a penal colony rather than a job for the staff... If so, the warden is doing a great job keeping his staff miserable... However, if I'm mistaken, and this was a hotel after all, I think the management needs to improve or at least visit a real 3 star hotel, to see how things should be done. So, we hope that someone reads this review, because there is a lot of potential there, and with just a little bit of improvement, this could be a great place to stay in.

    The location. Right on the beach, with a nice view overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    The hotel was tired and a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired and a little run down. We were hardly given any toilet roll in the room and there wasn't a safe or a hairdryer in the room. The sink also leaked and the cleaners never locked our room once it was cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Go elsewhere, Management read all your Trip advisor comments and do something about it! Or reduced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was awful, in need of re decoration, nothing like the photos on booking.com. No pillows on 2nd/3rd bed, 2 hangers in wardrobe, bathroom was dirty, 3 bed area reminded us of a prison cell. Room was No 301

    The beach and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is on the beach, thus you have an excellent sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the restaurant staff and food were great, the waiting time for the dinner was too long. You could finish eating in about 1.5-2 hours due to this. Also, the furniture and the hotel itself looks kind of rusty, but the bed is comfortable and there are so many things that could compensate this. Another thing, breakfast was lacking variety and the buffet was taken away at 10am. If one would arrive at 5 mins past 10, not even coffee was available no more.

    The hotel is on the beach, thus you have an excellent sea view. The food was exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Family hotel right on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room wasn't very clean and had to ask for it to be cleaned. The hotel is old and a bit drab, but the location right on the beach makes up for everything!

    The location is excellent and perfect for a family holiday. The 'outdoor beach' service was really above expectation. Located close to restaurants, boulangerie, laundry services and basic general store.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Run away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No customer focus! We didn't get a sunbed on the beach. Hotel staff is selling the beds to the outside customers not keeping priority for the hotel guests. Food was bad and they closed the breakfast at 10 am sharp not considering if customers were still in the restaurant. Room was not clean. Bathtub and towels were dirty. Warm water was arriving after 10 min. Cleaning lady entered in the room while we were still there without checking. Should not be a 3 stars hotel. Nice location but avoid this hotel !

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location directly on the beach but the hotel is very tired and quite basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the hotel is in a good location and beach access superb, the hotel is very tired indeed. It could really do with a complete renovation. The rooms are quite basic and the bath/shower etc really need replacing. However, the hotel is apparently very full all year round with many people coming back year after year. There is no room service.

    The location, which is directly on the beach, was excellent. The terrace bar and restaurant on the beach was very good. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was a good buffet which you can take down to the beach terrace rather than sit inside the breakfast area. The beds were comfortable and the balconies if you have a sea facing room were of a good size. Great to be able to leave your windows open if you are on the sea side and listen to the gentle sound of the waves as you sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Splendid view, hotel a bit outdated. All in all a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the room, the hotel is a bit outdated. This is particularly the case for the outside furniture (holes in the chairs) and the hallway which is sad given the splendor the hotel must once have had. Breakfast is ok but not super. After three days, the latte machiatto in the machine was still finished. For sunbeds, the hotel charges separately

    Direct access to the beach, large spacious room with a nice balcony (and splendor view), private parking with surveillance. Inside swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Great accommodation! Dreadful service in the Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The restaurant service was dreadful. 1st night we were shown to a table and ignored for ages while others who arrived after us were attended to. We only got served when we made a move to leave. We didn't eat there again. We saw another couple walk out as they were completely ignored...not even given a menu or offered a drink. Had our breakfast table cleared as we while we were still eating & the 2 servers just laughed. Terrible attitude. The hotel is great but the restaurant needs a serious looking to!

    Love the location! The room with balcony & sea view was great! After seeing bad reviews on the rooms we were pleasantly surprised to find them really nice. The bed was a bit low and not very comfy but adequate. A fridge would be helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    The location and the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast coffee was out of a machine with powdered milk......really not up to standard....especially when the coffee in all bars and cafes and restaurants in France is normally wonderful.

    The location and the balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Hotel on nice sandy beach - and nearly no neighbors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think everybody is doing their best

    This hotel is directly to the beach - that is so perfect. It was built in the sixties when it was possible to build so close to the sea. The hotel has its own parking and it was free and shaded. The reception was friendly and helpful, as I asked for an extra pillow. The room was big size and bed and pillow was quite good. Bathroom has had an update 10 years ago - the shower works well, but it is quite complicated. The balcony is shaded and you have some very decorative chairs and table so you can enjoy the fantastic view of the sea. The balcony shows that the hotel is of older age. The breakfast was quite good - (though I think the omelet was a bit dry and the bacon quite salt- maybe fried eggs would be better). You can take you breakfast outside on a tray as there are tables downstairs/outside - and enjoy the sound of the waves. The music from the loudspeakers was a bit stressful/noisy - I would have preferred som soft - Hawaii music as this hotel was just like being in Hawaii or Bali. The beach has perfect sand and the waves are really small because of the islands . The hotel is quite alone

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    3.8
    Sardine Can Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on time with the room still being cleaned. No WiFi in our room. We had to go to the hall way to receive some. No hot water for the first night. They apologized the next day. The door to the balcony the glass was cracked in two places, with the putty securing it in place eroded and missing and was dangerous to close. The toilet smelt like wee. As guests we had to pay for sun lounge hire. (I have never heard of this charge before for guests of a hotel). Parking our car in the hotel parking lot was like putting an elephant into a sardine can. Would not recommend for young people. Hotel full of retired geriatrics.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.8
    Look for something else please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I mean are you serious? The rooms are like from the 60's. Such ugly bathrooms. Old brown tiles and old sanitary. Broken window glasses just taped up. Muffy lounge, swimmingpool not inviting, very mediocre breakfast. Matrasses and cushions so worn out, as if you are just sleeping on a pile of blankets. the rooms were really crap. The whole place needs to be knocked down and to be rebuilt.

    Only plus point is that the hotel is located at the beach in a quite area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated and not the cleanest.

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Location superb, right on a lovely beach. Kids loved the indoor pool. Breakfast pleasant enough. On a nice strip of shops and restaurants. Great views from the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Must see !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been better if i stayed for longer :), basically I can't complain about the property or staff or anything :)

    The view to the sea is just great and the property location the same. Its one of those places that says you have to return !! Also the rooms are big and have a balcony. I also liked the restaurant and the beach in front of the hotel. The beach was not crowded and the water looks amazing. Loved it and I will return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV size and no channel for English speakers. No mini bar. There are a lot of mosquitoes so you have to come well armed...

    excellent location on the beach with excellent sea view; nice and helpful staff; breakfast included; free parking (although on a first came first served basis) Warmed swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Wasted opportunities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The decoration in the passages upstairs were awful. the paintwork was out of date and dreadful and the carpet needed to be rolled up and thrown away. there was a bar downstairs by the swimming pool and the delightful patio, but it was not staffed very often. We had the evening meal on the day of our arrival. It was not good and overpriced. We did not eat there again. We did go back however to spend 4 more days there as the rooms were clean and staff pleasant and the view.......amazing

    The view and location were second to none

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful private beach and clean clear calm sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do near hotel.

    Wonderful private beach and clean clear calm sea. Great place to relax

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and tired. You even had to pay for the hotels own beach chairs which was located in the hotel property ???

    Location. Only the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    The property was very tired in need of a complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very tired in need of a complete refurbishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Very kind and helpful staff, beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very kind and helpful staff, beautiful property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    The view from the room and the proximity to the ocean are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are in need of renovation and smell moldy

    The view from the room and the proximity to the ocean are fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Could do with a little more furniture and fittings in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a little more furniture and fittings in the bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    No wifi during the 4 days highly inconvenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi during the 4 days highly inconvenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a few events over the weekend and this was close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few events over the weekend and this was close to all of them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent location, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A perfect location , very good value for money ! The room was spacious, the breakfast could be a real, complete meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Needs some changes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were miserable. Had to pay for sun beds at the hotel and were expensive.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with major refurbishment

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.2
    One of the scars of the 60's development on a nice beach. Rundown, no vintage charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs serious refurbishment: it is scruffy and rundown with no sign of any intention to improve it

    Location on the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Quiet place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wery quiet place, nice beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tired furniture shabby for 3 star nowhere to sit in the evening at the hotel

    Location lovely se view on the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.4
    Could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    old, old, old

    Location is superb and has great potential

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Will happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes. Not the fault of the hotel. They didn't bite my partner, just me. But, be warned.

    Just perfect for a break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    An off peak gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals,lift going all the way to top floor

    Location,breakfast, staff and beautiful room with views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.8
    free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    need mini bar in rooms. not enough towels in room.no information in room re services and facilities.hotel décor very dull, needs redecorating.

    free parking. terrace and beachside facilities were very good. comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice location on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Could have had a mini bar or coffee/ tea making facilities in rooms to benefit having the balcony. What could be a lovely hotel lacks a bit of love, clean but a bit shabby, wouldn't take much to have a bit more style.Staying half board you are given the fixed menu. Food simple but ok. Rooms are a bit noisy but view and the sound of the sea compensates!

    Nice location on the beach. Rooms with balconies overlooking sea.Buffet style breakfast and plenty of it. Nice sea view from restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff. Good value for a night. Perfect for beach lovers. Indoor heated pool a bonus this time of year but is mainly for younger families as a lot of children.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    Excellent beach front location, very close to the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad. New ownership is gradually upgrading the rooms. Nicely improved since 3 years ago.

    Excellent beach front location, very close to the water. Private parking lot just a few feet to the side. Handy "Spar" grocery within 5 minutes walk. Nice views from balconies.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.0
    The location on the beach was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a sour smell in the room. It was so unpleasant we had to buy an aid freshener. As many other guests have commented the hotel was somewhat tired and needs a refund. It has great potential but first they need to do something about that sour smell in the rooms.

    The location on the beach was great. The room was large and had a nice terrace overlooking the sea. The Irish receptionist was really pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    Beach location is great, you literally could not get closer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is not the best if you're planning on visiting other places... Decor is a little worn and in need of updating..

    Beach location is great, you literally could not get closer...the views from the balcony are great... Staff very friendly and helpful..

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    The beach in front of the room is very nice, but location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The smell!! Its awfull and its everyvwhere - in your room, at the lobby. After we l couldn't get rid of the smell. We have a not bad room on the first floor, but in order to get to this room you need to go throue kitchen. It's so unprofeccionaly.

    The beach in front of the room is very nice, but location.... It's a small village. You can't find there even the dissent restaurant. The stuff is very nice! Super nce cary people.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.3
    Private beach (but you need to book a sun lounger in advance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the top floor and the lift stopped at the floor below. Curtains and blinds in the room were very tatty so didn't keep out the light.

    Private beach (but you need to book a sun lounger in advance, and they're quite pricy)

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.7
    The location was terrific so close to the lovely Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the bedroom a bit dated and balcony chairs very uncomfortable There was an unpleasant smell in the are with the indoor pool.

    The location was terrific so close to the lovely Beach

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    In front of beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is hard to find out entrance way by car. Navigation is guided.But narrow way and one direction prevent to go in for the first time.

    In front of beautiful beach.kind and friendly service.Nice restaurant. Not so much formal style is comfort for family stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Tird floor room with the sea view i can say was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Bad wireless connection. Weak signal on varies places. Didn't work with my laptop windows 8.1 .Another problem was that they change my booking sea view room without my knowledge, Without trying to solve payment problem that i had with my credit card before making some changes and of course Didn't advice me about this move before.

    Tird floor room with the sea view i can say was amazing. Breakfast very good, staff excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On arrival despite booking ahead by 6 months the rooms booked weren't ready and the first night our party had to share and be in a room type not booked.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    6.3
    The location was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The first night in restaurant dog poo under the next table to us, so we didn't eat there again. Far to many dogs in hotel for our liking won't be going back.

    The location was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.6
    We likes the big rooms with large balconies and the amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad experience. Wifi was no great, extremely slow and you had to ask for a code for each device but we were not there to be stuck to our tablets anyway.

    We likes the big rooms with large balconies and the amazing sea view. The breakfast was very good and copious. Great to have a heated indoor pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.5
    The comfort of the bed, pillows and the location, step out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired looking interior that has seen better days. Could be a fabulous hotel with some time, attention and money spent on it and still cost a reasonable price. Very basic room facilities, no tea and coffee in the room. No complimentary shampoo, conditioner or bathing equipment. I booked this on a deal but would have been extremely disappointed if I paid full price.

    The comfort of the bed, pillows and the location, step out of your room straight onto the beach. Easy to find, right on the edge of town but within easy strolling distance to restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.3
    Location, friendliness, good breakfast buffet, reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendliness, good breakfast buffet, reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.1
    Location excellent bus stop at door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food

    Location excellent bus stop at door

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: