Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais & Châteaux-Hotel Cazaudehore - La Forestière

1 Avenue Kennedy, 78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France

#9 of 13 hotels in Saint-Germain-en-Laye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are s bit dated. Needs freshening up—update needed on bathrooms and decor. Looks very 80ish. WiFi needs an update too.

    Good location. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Please don't give up on attention quality during busy periods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time is the first time my wife and I were disappointed with the diner. Because of the nice weather we were installed in the garden and because there were lots of customers, the service was rushed so the experience was not very pleasant. Evidently the food didn't taste as usual. Is highly possible that we come back so we hope not to have this kind of experience ever again

    I am almost a regular customer so I like the idea of getting back there as that brings very nice memories

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly tranquil oasis in the forest so close to Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was less than helpful in every encounter with her. She sent us off to a chateau in reconstruction, grumbled about calling taxis and never cracked a smile. She didn't fit with the rest of the great service team.

    We had a lovely view from our patio on to the flower gardens. The hotel is tranquil oasis in the forest so close to Paris. We spent Saturday afternoon lingering over a wonderful lunch on the patio - over four hours enjoying delicious food, wine and contentment. The best was the wonderful service from our waiter Alejandro and the junior manager Thomas. They both made our stay special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.6
    Location is attractive, hotel fairly attractive, but limited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having discovered that the smoked parma ham displayed in the self service cabinet with ham and other breakfast meats was in fact raw bacon, I needed to call a staff member over to inform him of the raw bacon mixed with the charcuterie. He agreed it was raw bacon, then he walked to the cabinet and inspected the contents. When we left and walked past the cabinet ten minutes later the bacon was still there! Later I developed mild tummy upset which I think was linked to the raw meat? The other complaint was the room was very hot, and there is no air con. We could not sleep and the following day was ruined as we were unable to drive safely and had to keep stopping for rest. When we came back to the hotel the staff told us that they had many complaints about the room being too hot and they offered a fan. The fan was noisy and the horizontal sweep mode did not work so we were stuck with part of the room getting some air and the noise. We also had problems opening the window as there were a lot of people outside talking loudly till past 3am. Also if you opened the curtains to get more air this was also a problem, the outside tree illumination light shone directly into the room! I find it hard to believe that hotel owners do not "test" their rooms, or in this case if they did they did nothing to remedy the problems. I also got the impression that senior management did not care, as I was telling this story to front desk and a senior manager was standing nearby counting petty cash, but took no notice of what I was saying to the junior staff member less than a metre away?

    Location is attractive, hotel fairly attractive, but limited facilities. Lunch and evening meal good. Staff mostly very good, some were not (possibly the most senior staff/owner?).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Luxury in the St Germain forest.
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not well maintained: Shower making an unpleasant noise One towel with stains.Some towels showing signs of age(worn out).

    Situation of the hôtel in the St Germain forest Perfect service Excellent dinner and breakfast Very comfortable and elegant bedroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was very cold. We went for New Years Eve. The radiators did not heat up completely. Bad insulation, especially from the balcony doors. The bathroom water was brown to begin with. (The staff should run the water before guests arrive)

    Nice location. Nice view. Nice decoration. Friendly staff. Nice food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful, organised and delicious ....
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the location in a the woods near the chateau and park and the dinner and breakfast are vv good indeed..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Quiet & relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location (if travelling without a car)

    Quiet & relaxing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.6
    Roooms Need Renovating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really old and not very clean.

    Location and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    staff is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff is fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.0
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs refurbishing

    The Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.0
    On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was really disappointing. The breakfast was mediocre croissants and boiled eggs, with some cold meats and tinned pineapple. It said in the book in our room that there was the option of a cooked breakfast however this was not offered. On the first day we asked for this and the waiter said he could probably make omelettes. We ordered three - all were cooked differently from running off the plate to being tough as rubber. This option wasn't available again. The restaurant did not open until 7.30pm which was a bit late as we had our young son with us. We decided to order room service - 32 euro for wild boar stew with dauphinoise potatoes. It had clearly just been reheated and in the process burnt and dried out. It was simply a bowl of dry hunks of meat in an oily sauce - nothing else. A small bowl of under seasoned, cold dauphinoise came with it. The monkfish curry was no better and the fish was dried out from reheating. The following day we asked if it would be possible to order steak hache from the main menu for our son as there were only four options on the room service menu and were told no. Overall a very underwhelming experience. Poor food, average room, average cleanliness. Very expensive for what it was. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and I wouldn't go back.

    On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    On the whole the staff were great and very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we entered the restaurant, myself and my wife walked in ahead of a family, who in assume we're local or regulars. The Head waiter acknowledged us briefly but then went straight to the family and took them to their table, leaving us standing like a couple of lemons. It took a couple of minutes for anyone else to come over to us to show us to ours. If there had been another restaurant locally or within walking distance, I would have gone there immediately. That said, this was the only blemish on very attentive and hospitable staff.

    On the whole the staff were great and very attentive. We had a garden room, so able to enjoy breakfast on the terrace in the sun. Food in dining room was expensive but as you would expect in this type of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    5.0
    Convenient for meetings in local area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very expensive for what you get. Rooms are clean and ok, food is ok. But it's all very expensive for what you get. Average starter in the restaurant is 30 Euro (e.g. for a square of pate with toast!!) . High end pricing for an overall average package.

    Convenient for meetings in local area

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Helpful stafff comfy roof dog bed and bowl provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful stafff comfy roof dog bed and bowl provided... Wonderful restaurant, minutes from centre of St germain en laye but in the forest, pretty secure garden, near N184 with good access to motorways.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    Arrived in the evening and was very well taken care of.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived in the evening and was very well taken care of. The recommendation to, even though I was a bit tired,to go and have dinner in the restaurant was a real treat. Absolute delight and what a tasting sensation. Slept like a baby in the room. Will come back whenever IM in the area.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.9
    The restaurant, the food is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much heating Breakfast was not good, took it in the lounge so maybe it's why it wasn't as good as last year.

    The restaurant, the food is fantastic The hotel location is quiet Bathroom is nice

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    6.3
    Location: right by the forest - lovely walk into St Germain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food. Breakfast was disappointing, not 4* standard. Room service food was poor.

    Location: right by the forest - lovely walk into St Germain.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.9
    Location of the Hotel, very nice rooms and size was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air condition. Breakfast range wasn't that freat

    Location of the Hotel, very nice rooms and size was great. Very nice restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    8.3
    Location & staff performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location & staff performance

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: