Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Celtic Hotel 3 stars

38 rue Clémenceau, 56400 Auray, France

#11 of 13 hotels in Auray

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Authentic hotel with well-equipped rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have a shelf in a bathroom. The trip to the train station of to the river is not very short but it's a sweet spot right between of them.

    Beautiful and atmospheric room, good and roomy bathroom. We were provided with tea and coffee. There are a kettle, hairdryer and bath things, good wi-fi. The staff was attentive to our things (we thought that we have lost a piece of lovely soap but it was well preserved in a corner of a bathroom). There is a cafe inside the hotel (didn't try it).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Could be a nice hotel but in urgent need of updating and thoroughly cleaning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general areas of the hotel needed a thorough clean. Unless you were first down for breakfast not much was available. The orange jioce and cerisls were empty and no eggs for boiling with the egg boiler being switched off.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location easy reach of surround
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs and hallways were always filthy,the carpets were shabby, and in need of a good clean. It's town centre location attracked a local crowd who were noisey, and put us off.It seemed that there was a group of young men resident in the hotel who were noisy at times kept late hours.

    The location was good easy to walk to the bridge and quayside and around Auray.The room was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of free public car parking very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    love the area, liked the hotel , good selection of restaurants local and in the harbour area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    first room we were shown was very small and unacceptable . second room shown was a handicap room and had another persons clothing laying on the bed . the third room shown was completely satisfactory and was taken by us the breakfast was patchy if you were not there at the very start . the hotel seemed to have staffing problems . we were much more pleased with the hotel when we stayed there 7 or 8 years earlier . the hotel chain who purchased it were not as sharp .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived early afternoon to be told by a person sitting in the TV room that the receptionist would return in 2/3 hours , not a good first impression . After we eventually checked there were now a group of people in the TV area ( staff ?) who had a very loud argument with the receptionist which could be heard from our room a few floors up . Even though I passed through this area with my bags no attempt was made to stop. I had planned to stop 2 nights but left after 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    great location, very good staff, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location is very good, 5 minutes and you are in the city center. staff are kind, nice and speak English very well. the room was clean and spacious. bathroom very clean and spacious too. recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Convenient but not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not be able to rate the staff... as we did not meet anyone! Nobody during the check-in, Nobody during the check out! It is the first time ever I see that! The facilities were quite smelly, probably due to bad air conditioning in the kitchen. Rooms are very small and overall quite noisy

    The location is very good, very close from city center and 20 min walk from the station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced and under delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very awkward breakfast room with flies and no fresh air Shower room so small you couldn't bend down to pick up dropped soap Shower door leaked all over the floor Very noisy in street outside but it was so hot we had to keep windows open

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.6
    Great location, not great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel! No air con, noisy traffic right outside window that had to be open as there was no air con. I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone, more like a basic guest house than hotel.

    Location at top of Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Value hotel in Auray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us but the stairs to our 2nd floor room were really steep. Help was offered with luggage though.

    Nice size room, with a sofa and kettle/tea and coffee which we hadn't expected. Very good buffet breakfast. The location is close to the centre of Auray but is quiet. 10 mins walk down to the livelier port area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A really good find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really good find. Cosy nicely decorated in a contemporary style. Friendly staff. A short walk to the town square and then down the cobbled streets to the lovely riverside with bars and restaurants. Excellent all round.Small friendly smart hotel in lovely town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.8
    Placed at the top of the town but not the top of my list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room must have been above a kitchen as the chimney was making our room smell of food. Although the room was big but it was "full" of beds hence we could hardly move about the place and that's with 1 case put in the cupboard. The décor left a lot to be desired but that's a different matter.

    Very handy for visiting Auray although get ready for a steep downhill and a very steep return following a nice meal in the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.0
    Basic hotel with no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given ground floor room with a door leading out onto the street which made me feel nervous. The hotel is no more than a group of bedrooms tacked onto a bar with no facilities bar a breakfast room. It is quite a walk to the port area where most of the restaurants are. I would not recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.9
    The above likes and dislikes sum up our stay. No complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel recommended a restaurant which we used but which was otherwise empty. This was not the hotel's fault and we should have gone down to the port but we were too tired for the long walk.

    Having stayed there before, we knew what to expect and it was fine. The bar is busy and enjoyable between 5 and 7pm

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The street outside the hotel was noisy. Breakfast was charged as an extra - as there appeared to be no cafes or bakeries nearby, there was no choice but to use the hotel. It would be more honest for the hotel/website to quote a higher charge for the hotel that is inclusive of breakfast.

    Friendly staff, modern spacious room and good quality breakfast. No problems in finding free parking opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Best value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there on one of the hottest days of summer which is a rare occurance but a small fan would have been great as the room was a little hot.

    Great location close to everything and walking distance to the best locations. Room was clean and tidy and well priced. Restaurant food was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The towels were frayed and ripped and the whole place stank of fried food. The carpets on the stairs were filthy. Don't stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    If you don't mind noise suppose it's a good overnight hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For any air the window must be open, but as this room is right over a busy road and bar this is not possible.

    The room was well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Citotel Auray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs

    Central location, secure bike parking. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    As comment above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just what was needed. Comfortable,convenient just Right.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Position was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position was excellent . Price point good. Comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent acceuil and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar open later

    Proximity to the port

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small.

    The manager was excellent, spoke English, friendly, and very helpful. Hotel and room were clean, loved the décor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom sliding door had gaps either side and was a couple of inches away from wall, so no privacy.

    Lovely hotel in good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff, free parking, within easy reach of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the prettiest of locations, but OK. The comfort plus double room was too cramped. The sliding door for the ensuite facilities did not cover the space. Bar closed early.

    Friendly, helpful staff, free parking, within easy reach of wide range of restaurants. Good breakfast. A problem regarding room maintenance was dealt with immediately.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    9.2
    The Hotel is ideally located in the town centre, within...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast starts at 7. It would have been even better at 6:30

    The Hotel is ideally located in the town centre, within walking distance of saint gouston's picturesque harbour. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a kettle to make tea and coffee. The owners are welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly owners and staff and locals using this hotel bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the top floor, no lift. A bit like climbing Mont Blanc, especially with heavy cases. Couldn't get a drink in the bar after 9.30.

    Friendly owners and staff and locals using this hotel bar made this stay a happy one. Overall a good holiday.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    Good restaurants close by and only short walk to St Goustan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room way too small for the king size bed. Stairs very narrow and steep with no lift option.

    Good restaurants close by and only short walk to St Goustan. Comfortable bed and great shower. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little small but the bathroom was great. Centre of the town location so it was sometimes a bit noisy.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    4.6
    The hotel was dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was dirty. The stairs are never cleaned and are a nightmare to get up and down with a suitcase they are narrow and on a turn. When you check in you are given the remote control for the TV with your keys. Obviously expecting some dodgy clients. Definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location location location

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    superb disabled facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no restrauant but others with discount close by.

    superb disabled facilities. Lots of room great shower

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet door was not done properly.

    Very good location

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    6.7
    Leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of service

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Close to centre of town, really comfortable bed and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficult to locate because of one way system.

    Close to centre of town, really comfortable bed and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    small friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rooms are a bit small

    small friendly hotel. the staff helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent value for money and great location in the town -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Excellent value for money and great location in the town - really great feel to the place

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff Good entral location

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: