Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Central 3 stars

31/33 Rue De La République, 84000 Avignon, France

#13 of 48 hotels in Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2165 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Great service, beautiful room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found some pills on the floor near the bed. I'm not sure what they were but our baby picked one up and almost ate it.

    Great service, beautiful room! Nice bathroom and shower. Very attentive and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great value and great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Great location. Staff friendly and helpful. Great cocktail bar. Room was bigger than expected although 2nd twin bed was a very squeaky sofa bed. View from window of a wall of adjacent building and had to carry heavy suitcase up narrow, windy stairs but overall good value and brilliant location. Would go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    A week in provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior room was on 1st floor, low window in toilet directly looks onto courtyard...could watch people eat breakfast whilst on toilet...and vice versa. Only blackout curtains (no daylight linen) meant share your room with the courtyard or turn on the lights...

    Very convenient location. Close to rail and tourist beurea

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Except able for a short stay but spend more and pay for more space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room is way to small with a terribly small toilet and shower. You elbows hit everything. I would have given more for an extra inch of space.

    Good staff clean fresh rooms but I have used Booking.com to find almost 100 rooms and this on got buy my pickyness. A three floor walk up and a 107 sq foot room is ideal for your young backpackers but I wish I had read more carefully.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in central Avignon, charming hotel with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be more accurate to state No parking facilities; the public parking advised by the hotel was quite a distance away and in addition full when I got there. I found a closer parking not more than 2-300 meters away, but at a higher price, around 20 EUR/day.

    Excellent location in central Avignon, charming hotel with a little Courtyard next to the bar , very pleasant. Room on the small side but perfectly comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Conveniently located to visit the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located to visit the city. The staff is very kind. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed a continental breakfast in the patio: lovely way to start the day. Should we visit the city again, we would choose the hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Central Cave in Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a cave. Humid and hot without proper ventilation. We really suffered. You have the air con bit it is right next to the bed.. which made us both wake up with sore throat next morning.

    Location. It is really central. Avignon is so amazing!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Location, room and restroom spacious, neat and clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, and one night we found a homeless person sleeping right in front of our door.

    Location, room and restroom spacious, neat and clean, building is also very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was very cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was many floors up on a narrow and winding stair. It was fine for us.

    The room was very cozy. The people were great. It is in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    location was great - center of town, close to attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on 2 floor with no elevator, not recommended for older people or those with lots of luggage

    location was great - center of town, close to attractions and restaurants Staff was very friendly, with great suggestions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleased with the location and room generally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Were put into a disabled persons room, the shower obviously was open. Room very light for sleeping.

    The location was excellent and staff very helpful. Large room overlooking main street,. There was a problem with the plug in the washbasin but this was rectified promptly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stopover in Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in a great location for exploring the old town. Just one train stop from Avignon TGV to Avignon Central and a short walk. Lots of breakfast options nearby from about 7.30 am.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky sofa bed.

    The staff were so helpful- they recommended a couple of restaurants for us (we went to le Pili which was perfect with two tired children after a long day of travelling), and also ordered us a taxi for the morning. The room was perfectly adequate, the sofa bed was noisy but comfortable for the kids. All in all, this was perfect for what we needed- one night stop off, in the heart of Avignon at an easy walk to the main sights. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Really cute hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THERE IS NO PARKING. This hotel came up as an option for "free parking on premises" - there is no parking here. There is a paid lot a couple of blocks down.

    Really cute hotel in a good location. The room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was good, close to the main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contrary to the information provided, the public parking was really far away. The room was rather small (and apparently we had a ‘superior’). The breakfast was poor considering the price.

    The location was good, close to the main sights. The bar/patio was quite nice. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at the Hotel Central was excellent in every way, with the staff especially, being an absolute delight. They were friendly, courteous, well-presented, helpful, and knowledgeable, being a valuable source of information of the places of interest to visit plus an insight into the local history of Avignon, as well as practical information with with regard to public transport and local shops etc. The room was immaculate and the hotel had a charming and wonderfully relaxing ambiance in the midst of a busy city. Well done Hotel Central, 5-stars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    The room is too small and the bathroom is definitely new but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not turn the air off because of the noise outside and for such a small room the air was too cold.

    The room is too small and the bathroom is definitely new but so so small. The staf were super friendly and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location to station and old town
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bedding were damp and musty-smelling from the air conditioner. It was humid outside and the ground floor room window opened up onto a public path so I didn’t feel comfortable opening it to air out the room. I stayed two nights and next time I would consider finding a different hotel in that same area.

    The location was everything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfotable, convenient, very good staff, quiet, generally well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 towels rather than just one very large one

    We stayed there for 8 nights in early summer, happy to have good air-conditioning (although I think it goes off late at night). The room was of good size, with two chairs at a kind of desk, with very good lighting, and it had plenty of electric outlets. The bathroom had a good shower stall, but only one very large towel per person, and no actual soap but rather tubes of shower gel and shampoo. Additional tubes are available from the receptionist. There is a hair dryer. The staff are very nice and efficient. The hotel is located on the principal street that leads from the Gare (railroad station) Central into the heart of town; it is about a 5-7 minute walk if you have luggage. Diagonally opposite are several brasseries and cafes. We had most breakfasts in one of them, and several dinners in another, but the receptionist recommended also having dinner in a less touristic part of town and gave good directions to the area. Within a block of the hotel are a Monoprix department store, a bakery for quick short breakfasts, a bar-cocktail lounge that may belong to the hotel, ice cream and crepes shops, a pharmacy, and the very capable tourist office. The hotel itself is set back from the busy street, arranged around a quiet little courtyard where hotel guests can have breakfast or converse at leisure. If you do not require luxury but just cleanliness, convenience, a good staff, air-conditioning, a good shower, and wi-fi, ---and how much more do you really need>---this is an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is so cozy and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so cozy and beautiful! The staff is the most friendly we have ever met in Provance! Room is tidy and very spacious. All is on top level. It’s not 3 stars but much more, compare to hotels in France! It’s pity that we stayed there just for 1 day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    It could be so much better with a little more effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cosy; not enough storage space for an 8 night stay. The attention to detail was sometimes lacking; having to fetch towels from reception because they had not been replaced - not providing the right number of pillows until reminded - bedside light that didn't work, and wasn't fixed all week. Couldn't open the curtains when getting dressed in the morning as next door could look in. Providing only one drawer-across curtain made this worse. For me, it would have been polite to advise us that the very loud maintenance work would start at 7.30 each weekday morning. The staff attitude was summed up for me when I checked out. The gentleman on the desk didn't ask how we were that morning, or how our stay had been. Frankly he didn't seem to care at all.

    Great, great location. Fantastic bathroom. Happy, friendly bar staff. Most importantly comfy bed, and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    It's decent value for money, nice location and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's decent value for money, nice location and nice staff. Not particularly great facilities and my room was quite small but all perfoectly functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is close to the center and train station as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift in hotel so would be a little bit tough for you if you are carrying heavy luggage.

    The hotel is close to the center and train station as well. Location is extremely good. Staff are nice and provide the city map with introduction. I am surprised there is air conditioner in room which is the only one in my whole trip

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, I could hear everything going on in the rooms beside me, all night long.

    Excellent location, short distance to train station and to Pope's Palace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    A night in Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV did not work, but that wasn't a problem. Would have been good to see the news. Coffee would have been nice instead of tea.

    Small but comfortable and very clean. Central location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable. We would use this hotel again........and perhaps ask for an extra towel.😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one towel per person in the room. Hand towels are necessary. Just a small oversite but an important one.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Close to all historical attractions plus endless restaurants. Very clean throughout. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    We liked this hotel. Our room was a good size and was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bed was comfortable and the hotel was well located. You could open the windows for fresh air. The air conditioner was quiet and effective.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    For travelers on a limited budget and can manage the stairs it would be adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tiny. No place to hang a towel in the bath. A small closet but no knob on the door to open the closet. No elevator.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Good to see but wouldn’t hurry back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare, streets are narrow and one way. With nowhere to park near the site. No English signs to offer any suggestions drove around for ages looking for somewhere. Had to drag cases to and from off the premise park

    Good position just a short walk from all major attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Need to pay for larger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was so tiny we could not undo our suitcases. We went back to reception to request a larger room. We could not get a larger room the first night but were promised a larger room with a bath for the next 3 nights at a considerabe price increase. The next morning we were told that the room we had been promised was no longer available and we were given another room. This room was very spacious and the view onto the main street was wonderful even though it was a little noisy. Well worth the extra money to get the larger room.

    The larger room we paid for was great. Spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Comfort, courtesy and thorough grounding in touristic dynamics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later hours at the bar! Lol

    Central location and staff were exceptional to advise and arrange excursions. The hotel bar was top notch not from a design POV but the drink design. Adrian is a master mixer and we enjoyed a few evenings sampling his work. Avignon is walkable and has much to see. Try dinner at Terra des Sauviers very near the hotel or walk to the Rue de tienturies and supper at either Vezzo the pizza place or Le Zinzolin. So many options. Hotel Central advised us each day and we were astonished at the professionalism of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice small hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the centre of town and although I had a back bedroom, building work started very early right above my room. Also walls are thin and you could hear next door. There was also a pair of socks and some peanuts under my bed from a previous occupant unfortunately. Was given two earl grey teabags but no milk and the lamp didn't work.

    Small but perfectly functional room with good shower. Lovely courtyard entrance and place to sit. Staff very helpful and let me leave a bag until I needed to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel in the heart of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was on the smaller side, so if you had a lot of luggage and were staying more than a couple of days it might be a little tight. There was a kettle provided, but only chamomile tea which i found odd. some regular tea or coffee would have been appreciated.

    you cannot beat this location, it is amazing. The room was nicely decorated and had lovely carpet. The hotel itself has a cute courtyard where you could have drinks. The air conditioning was super and for once the hotel hairdryer actually dried my hair in less than half an hour. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay. Room bright and airy with windows wide opening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towels provided Room and. Bathroom small and only small space to manaouver past bed. No fridge. Stairs quite narrow Had to carry luggage up stairs (no lift), but we knew this in advsnce

    Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quaint old hotel which was clean and tidy Room and bathroom very small but adequate. No hand towels provided for bathroom. Bar area in courtyard and front of hotel, great for relaxing and having an afternoon drink Bar staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in well located and well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Small and perfectly kept hotel. Breakfasts plentiful and delicious. Relaxed atmosphere, professional and helpful staff. We will go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Bed very comfy, hotel staff every friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very comfy, hotel staff every friendly and helpful. Location is so close to train station and hotel is just 3 min. walk to tourist office in Avignon. Close to restaurants and very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Great WiFi nice breakfast but cleanliness lacking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean enough. Pillow smelled and stain on extra comforter. And bathroom floor not clean and faucet was wobbly and a pain to use.

    WiFi here was the best..no problem from the moment we stepped in.room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again but perhaps ask for a room facing the side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on Republican and very noisy at times during the night, especially Friday and Saturday nights.

    Good breakfast. Very nice room, we had one with the elevator. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the idea of parking 10-1 minutes away from the place. I think this information should be made up front. I also now know why it had to better way but I never knew that until after I arrived.

    The court yard was cute. The little restaurant next door was good. The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Bed bugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs! We woke up with insect bites all over our bodies, checked under the bed and found at least 7 alive bed bugs and more that were dead. We brought them to the receptionist and told her they should decontaminate the room, I hope they do so, it’s a matter of health and salubrity! We only got a “je suis desoleé” as an appology for the horrible itchy night we had. We even had to buy a cortisone cream and after 4 days, we still have the itchy bites!

    It’s in the city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    Very bad experience - room 29 too small - noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) the size of the room is embarassing, we could barely move. Usually when such small rooms are proposed, hosts give the change of viewing them BEFORE paying them. They only proposed me an upgrade (not for free, of course) after I had paid...no thanks. 2) The room is at the third floor, no lift, nobody offered any help to carry the luggages upstairs. 3) The parking for the motorbike (not included in the price) is more than half km away, and it is a normal multi-level parking, not sure of its safety...even because the employees told me that it is only for cars, and that I could leave the motorbike there as an "exception". The hotel's management should be fully aware of this, and should seek other rider-friendly solutions, in my opinion. 4) NOISE: we have been awaken at 7 am by some restructuring works, going on (allegedly) within the hotel itself. The noise was unbearable (heavy hammering). 5) I picked up the phone to call the reception, but of course the phone of the room doesn't work 6) I went downstairs (3 floors) to complain. I clearly stated that I wanted a refund - the noise disappeared for 15 minutes or so, than... noise again. 3 floors up... fix your phone!! 7) I left the hotel without a full refund, without a partial refund, without even what could have been an apologetic gesture (complimentary breakfast, for example)

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable hotel in keeping with this beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems to report.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Building older like the city, but many wonderful updates. Elevator to our room on 2nd floor. Very comfortable bed, updated bath, luggage rack, refrigerator, desk and comfy chair. Windows open, and when closed gave good soundproofing. There is a lovely sitting area in the shady courtyard just off the bar. Good drinks from the bar. There is also a well stocked breakfast room just off the reception area. All this is located a short walk from Gare Avignon Centre! Shopping and restaurants near by. Stayed here prior to a river cruise. The hotel kept our luggage and called a taxi for us when it was time to board. Merci!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    9,5/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of the Hotel is perfect, in the centre of the town on the main avenue. 10 minutes of slow walk from all the main attractions. There is a big supermarket 2 mins away so it is easy to get the little things you might need. Did not eat breakfast so can not comment on that

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for a short stay near the centre of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee available in room (only tea), couldn't control the air-conditioning properly, didn't like the view from our particular room

    Central location, ease of booking, convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay! The location is out-of-question super good: supermarket, tourist info center, bakery, shopping stores...everything is within 5mins walk, the train station is also only 10mins walk. Staff are really friendly, speak English, rooms are small but sweet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    perfect location, nice rooms, comfortable bed, perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very loud in the early morning due to renovation reparations/working on the roof. during the night very loud room neighbors. it was easy to understand every single work. for curious minds maybe cool, for someone who wants to sleep very bad. but I think this was simply bad luck.

    perfect location, nice rooms, comfortable bed, perfect for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great value, comfy hotel close to railway station and sights. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel. Great location for both train station and city sights. Room was modern and very comfy. Shower was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful, also giving useful local advice. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Great little hotel. 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs with backpacks. No lift. Shower/bathroom was badly designed. The water from the shower would spill out into the bathroom. It's also VERY small.🚽😣😨 Scaffolding outside the bedroom window.

    Location is brilliant. 5 mins from the train station. You can walk to all the attractions. It's on the high street, so you have all the shops , restaurants , supermarkets, literally, on your doorstep. The staff are very friendly. We were given a larger room than what we should have been given from our reservation, which was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Very clean room, comfortable bed, very nice staff, great location (just 5 mins walk from the train station and next to the office tourism. 10 mins walk from the palace. Would highly recommend it for anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic central hotel to explore Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room #29 was good value for money (winter rates) but was compact and up 3 flights of stairs. Would not suit guest with large suitcases or up for stairs. They do have bigger rooms for a little more, and even several with lift access for those that require this. All this info was provided in room profiles.

    Fantastic hotel located within old city precinct in Avignon. Staff are friendly and helpful - even let us sit in lounge area near reception to drink our bottle of Chateauneuf-du-pape wine (and got us glasses and bottle opener.) Our room was #29 on the 3rd floor and was compact but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Avignon—very central, fresh, clean , good breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish room for twin beds but perfectly adequate.

    staff very helpful, great central location within easy walking distance of all main sites, good breakfast in lovely, light space. Very clean everywhere. Would recommend it highly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Simple but reliable in Avignon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room on the first floor that smelled quite musty and the wifi was a bit unreliable, but otherwise I was well satisfied considering the low price.

    Very nice staff and great hotel bar. Central location close to both the train station and central Avignon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Attractive small hotel, close to the tourist sites, plenty of restaurants nearby , very agreeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only remark that needs to be made is that the lounge area next to the reception had an odd smell (toilets?) so the hotel management should make an effort to eliminate it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Adorable hotel in the heart of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are a but slim and noise, whether from neighbours or staff, is easily heard. We were lucky and the hotel staff took care of our noisy neighbours promptly and without need to repeat.

    Terrific location, main street but with inner court (quiet), very cozy and cute.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, gave good advice on where to dine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is complicated. Although staff went out of their way to explain how to access a public parking lot, we still had trouble. Nevertheless, this is an old and very touristic city. Any European city with those characteristics has parking challenges.

    Friendly staff, gave good advice on where to dine. Clean and comfortable. Close to most touristic attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice located hotel with a comfortable personal style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small and had a bad smell. There was no lift available in the building.

    Hotel located a very nice location near to the tourist information center. The hotel entrance and reception looks cozy. The bedroom on itself was sufficiently spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    It was a pretty room, generally comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather cold in the room and the air conditioner, though did an ok job warming it up, was noisy.

    It was a pretty room, generally comfortable. Very nice location, great staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    A very brief but most pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough time in Avignon. We are planning to explore it more later during our travels.

    Very friendly and helpful staff in this small charming hotel which is located right in the heart of the City that has a quaint village feel to it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    A delight!
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little shelf or something, maybe under the basin, to put things on in the bathroom.

    A delightful little hotel very nicely designed. I'm sure it'll really shine in summer with the lovely garden area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in Avignon! My only disappointment was that the restaurant L’Epice and Love is no more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t think of anything.

    The location was idea! Situated on the main boulevard bisecting the city and leading up to the main shopping and sightseeing areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, pleasant room in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of breakfast too high - instead, we chose a café nearby offering much better value.

    Ideal location: easy walk from Avignon Central train station, near to tourist information office. Desk staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    The hotel is ideally located, close to the train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, there were no negatives at all about my stay, except it should have been longer.

    The hotel is ideally located, close to the train station, and easy walking distance to practically everything else. It's a charming establishment, picturesque and staffed with friendly, helpful people. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Short stay, but very pleasant....especially the staff.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, it was more than expected....but especially clean and well maintained.

    Staff fantastic and extremely helpful with problem we had personally. Very centrally located, easy access to everything, and shops, and transportation. Breakfast was very good and presented in appealing way. Nice area to sit in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    This is the first time I’ve had a bag experience while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first time I’ve had a bag experience while staying at hotel central, it is my favorite hotel in Avignon including the 5 star hotels in the area, it is a great hotel with great location , lovely helpful staff and great atmosphere. Although my last stay I experienced being completely eaten by insects which seemed to have been living inside the room so I have left Avignon sported and itchy, not nice at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    A good location, comfy bed but not much contact with the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle but no coffee. 1 shower gel for 2 to share. Convenient location but as the lift is nearer the street than the reception we had little contact with the staff and felt a bit exposed to the world outside.

    The hotel was conveniently located. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Parking was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Parking was terrible. We had a Van and it wouldn't fit under bar at parking garage. Had to park at train station and it was very expensive b

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    I loved this boutique hotel I booked a superior room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved this boutique hotel I booked a superior room which had lift access and my room was so cute with a beautiful French feel a very modern bathroom. Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Stay here but go elsewhere for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pathetic and they’d put price up from 10 euros to 14 euros. Only used first morning and went across road to numerous places where got better breakfast for less than 7 euros. No where to even put soap in shower other than on floor of shower. Cleaning and towel changing spasmodic. No coffee. Only one camomile teabag per person per day. No other type of tea. Staff were very friendly and obliging.

    Location is excellent in Main Street near tourist office.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great friendly hotel in heart of old city and close the Central train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in heart of Avignon. Staff very helpful and bright. Very content with everything. A supermarket is nearby. If arriving by fast train then take local train into Central Station (6 minutes) and walk a couple of hundred metres up Main Street)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent central location in a very safe area with reasonable rates!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Lift Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The room is exactly how it looked at booking.com. Originally, the room had just a tiny courtyard view but I asked to get a room that looks like the booking.com picture and Philippe, the manager was so accommodating! Very nice and gentle guy and he makes one feel very welcome. The following morning, I got moved to the room with a great courtyard view. Philippe said to pack my things and do my sightseeing and they will move my luggage for me. When I got back- voila- moved! The bed was very comfortable. Most importantly, the hotel was so close to everything- central station and bus station( less than 5 min), Pope's Palace ( maybe ten but shorter if you walk fast like me), Avignon Bridge( maybe 12-15 min), little squares ( plazas/places) with good, reasonably priced restaurants). It's a fantastic value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. We got a free upgrade which was wonderful! Great location for exploring Avignon. We were traveling by train so the hotel was conveniently close to the station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Go stay there, its lovely and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much, room was a little small as we had a cot but nothing that we couldn't live with for 2 days!

    Very good place to stay in Avignon, very central indeed and about 5 mins from the train station by foot which is very handy! Room was a tiny bit on the small side but very clean and comfy! Recommended!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel smack in the center of Avignon just a few blocks from the Avignon Center train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a bit small but serviceable none the less.

    Easy walking distance to Pope's palace, train station, restaurants, night life, etc. Note that "Avignon Center" train station != "Avignon TGV" train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A perfect spot for visiting Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was perfect for my one-night stay. Everything was really clean. The adjoining cafe/bar was bright, extremely well designed and comfortable. The little patio was a perfect place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Its central location and the fact that there was a bar so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the 4th floor with 7 flights of narrow stairs and no lift! The room was very small and breakfast (14 euros) was extortionate!

    Its central location and the fact that there was a bar so we could get a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: