Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Central Saint Germain 3 stars

3, Rue Champollion, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#658 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I accept it was my fault, the main tap in the shower cubicle is very easy to knock whilst taking a shower and resulted in me almost scolding myself. Could be dangerous for children.

    When looking for a hotel in a major city you really want a good location, comfort, and service - this hotel has all of these. Although not a five star hotel it nevertheless is a good value 3 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phoned to ask about parking, no one ever answers phone. Chinese girl on reception who could not speak English. Kettle broken in room and took two days to fix. Internet basically doesnt work and neither does the TV- signal keeps dropping out. The location is good and the rooms were clean but this hotel needs to invest some money in the facilities and train their staff.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in room. Old furnitures. Small room for 3 persons. In photo looked diferently.

    Location was very good. Near metro and shops and interesting turist objects. Quiet place. Tea in room. Hot water in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smelly, a mold like smell every time you went in. There was a overall carpet which did not appear to be very clean. The colors, wallpaper etc. are from history. The hairdryer was useless; the blown air was not hot enough even if you select the hottest option. The lobby is nicely decorated but also there the carpet and the armchairs appeared dirty.

    Location is good. Near Luxembourg RER B station, also walking distance to Latin quarter, Pantheon,Saint Germain, Notre Dame etc. The bathroom was good with plenty of hot water. The street was fairly quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    clean.close to everything.easy to get to from airport,easy to walk everywhere from shop museum .notre dame de Paris, area is near la sorbonne,le pantheon, luxembourg garden so its the perfext location to stay ib center without spending time in transport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In my opinion, breacfasts were pretty OK, especially home-made croissans. But it would be nice if it had a better choise for hot meals.

    That is was just perfect location: near metro station with direct train to CDG airport in particular. But yet, it is on the calm street, so no noise at all. Walking distance to Notre-Dame, Sorbonne and Jardin de Luxembourg .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room itself was clean. But the best part of the hotel is its convenient location, which is in easy walking distance to the metro and several bus stops, as well as many of the main tourist attractions (e.g. Notre Dame Cathedral, Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre, Pantheon, etc.)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was poor. Very hard to go online and plan anything with a poor connection.

    Location is great. Public transport at your doorstep. Nice and quiet during the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more offered items for the petite dejuener. Scrambled or fried eggs, oatmeal or hot cereal ,etc.

    The location was convenient to many locations, including the Metro, Latin Quarter shops and Restaurants, Notre Dame and Louvre. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff helped us book Internet reservations for tours and shows!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a twin room but was shown a double. When I told the hotel they offered another room said to be an executive suite but consisted of a double bed and a sofa bed on which one of us was expected to sleep! There was nothing else available apparently so we had little choice but to accept.

    The receptionist was very helpful and polite. Sadly she did not have a very good product to offer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    - No enough sound insulation, you can hear the tv from the room next to you, and can hear everything in the corridor - Bathroom very small - Bed a bit small but it's comfortable - Wifi was very poor in the room but it was good in the reception area

    - Great location, very close (walking distance) to many interesting places, restaurants, shops, transportations, cinemas,... - Staff are nice and always polite and smiling - Very good daily cleaning - The bed is comfortable but a bit small despite reasonable room size - Helped me have special arrangements in the room before I arrive which I really appreciate..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was only served from 07:30. A little late for some business travellers.

    Excellent staff, great room with spacious bathroom, very central loccation. Rooms overviewing a quiet street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge for cold water, and no iron so we had to ask for an iron and ironing board and carry it ourselves up to the room and bring it back down again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight problem one day with housekeeping. Other than that, no real problems.

    You can't beat the location. Walking distance to the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame, Pantheon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was old and there was a smell of dirty socks in the room.

    The location is great, near Saint-Michel and Jardin de Luxembourg. Many independent cinemas are just around the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, adjacent to Sorbonne, several cinemas, Gibert Joseph and some very nice restaurants. The room had a quiet and cosy atmosphere. The staff was very helpful and really made us all feel welcome. A perfect stay in every way. We are looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but I expected that in Paris and we just used it as somewhere to shower and get your head down, so didn't impact on our holiday. Would benefit from a mirror over the dressing table table, luckily I brought a small one with me.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location for sightseeing, not far from Notre Dame. Most things within walking distance, Sacre Coeur was a little further out but we still walked there and back. Lots of places to eat out nearby. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved the location! We were able to walk to all the sites because the hotel is right down the street from Notre Dame. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it was clean and comfy! I would recommend this to anyone who is in Paris for a couple days and wants to be around the sites.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great! Exactly what I was looking for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional air conditioner dripping water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extra-small, everything was old and dirty. I would never recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room

    Amazing location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They need new windows. Hotel is across street from Bar. Very loud in rooms until 2am

    Nice beds and rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location and courtesy of staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm rang a couple of times by mistake

    Amazing location at Quartier Latin district. You can reach almost everywhere on foot. Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens were not plush or soft.

    Location is fantastic, San Michele station a 3 minutes walk away with direct access to CDG airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation isn’t the best

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location, hotel, time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location my favorite place in Paris ❤️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a leak near the bathroom and the closet....through all the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high but with the excellent location it is worth the price

    Great staff. Great location. I recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    As above, we loved it all The location outstanding Yummy breakkie & wonderful staff in the dining room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We travelled with a 7-months old baby. The staff was very helpful with baby-cod, storing our baby food in the kitchen's fridge etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    L'isolation phonique de l'immeuble

    La situation dans le quartier latin, proche de Saint-Germain-des-Prés

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its location الموقع

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No working heating system. An additional electronic heating system was installed but with no hot air circulation. So very cold during winter night !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small, though they a great shower

    Great staff. Great breakfast. Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet service was regular to bad.

    I would like to have breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Actually nothing.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Comfort. Staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above, it truly was excelkant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furniture in the room is quite old. But everything is maintained well and super clean, so it's not a problem at all.

    Everything was just perfect! People who work at the hotel are very nice and friendly. The receptionists were very helpful and the guy working at the breakfast was amazingly polite and nice. The room was cleaned super well! Special thanks to these cleaning ladies who do their job incredibly well (it's not the easiest job ever). The location is perfect as well. It's close to everything and the metro station is just 3 minutes away. Perfect place to enjoy Paris.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There could have been more English language stations on TV. Soundproof windows would minimise the noise of bin lorries at 7am every morning.

    Lovely quiet hotel inside. Relaxing experience and ideally situated.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had an odd shaped room with the toilet at the end of a corridor (all within the room).

    All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast croissants and Pain au chocolat were straight out of the oven and tasted lovely.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice if the windows had closed to be more soundproof, to block off the noise of people chatting on the street late at night & early in the morning. The curtains didn't block out all of the light at night, so we found it not quite dark enough to fall asleep easily.

    Loved the location, the friendly & very helpful staff, the fact that the elevator was big enough for us AND our suitcases, the colour scheme and decor of the room and the updated bathroom. Also liked the area the hotel is located in - a lively student area, with great restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When the people in the room above us used their sink or shower, we got a terrible screeching sound through their pipes. We reported the problem on Day 1 of our 3-day stay but it still wasn't sorted when we left.convenient

    The staff were particularly helpful and went out of their way to be of assistance for an unusual request...helping get to a remote gravesite!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I slept in the third bed which wasn't the most comfortable and kept breaking. Wish there were more channels on the TV. Overall it was a great place for the money in a great location.

    Great location, nice helpful staff, wifi was free and actually worked, was easy to get to airports via RER which was a block away.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    did not have a fridge in the room minor detail, but still our coffee and tea supplies were not renewed every day

    walking distance from metro 2 bicycle Velib stations

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise from the rooms above was a bit off putting but luckily it didn't last for too long.

    I loved the price and the location. The room was comfortable and clean and not too bad sizewise for Paris.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There could have been more variety at breakfast.

    Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Location excellent. Rooms really clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Decor in rooms a little dated

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, friendly staff

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: