Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Cézanne Boutique-Hôtel 4 stars

40 Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France

#10 of 48 hotels in Aix-en-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 814 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    No-go zone. One night stand for those who want to spend money on non-existing comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All of it the hotel has in its Superior room description on Booking.com, all of it DOES NOT HOLD to TRUTH: - "The city view"- never existed, you have a lookout at the nearby house. - The room size was outrageously small. I asked for upgrade and the man on the reception promised me that after the first night, but in the morning there was another man and another "this is not possible never" attitude. - Bathroom: dirty, small, with 24/7 opoen door. All I've asked for was a bath tub, a door to the bathroom that could actually BE CLOSED (never happened to ours for some reason), a hairdryer that would not carry the traces of all the people who've used it. The hairdryer story is particularly amazing, as it remained with a 1cm dust layer for two days even after I specifically told to clean it two times. Cleaned it myself finally.

    Only 1 thing: breakfast and the people who served it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    A pretty good place to hang your hat and see Aix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had one wall painted a funny Easy Jet type red. This was awful and uneccessary.

    Yes, Good breakfast , clean bathroom and shower and good mattresses.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, only 2 blocks to La Rotonde fountain and Cours Mirabeau. Quaint, vert clean, comfortable bed/pillows, very nice room and bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    A nice city to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we visited there seemed to be roadworks everywhere in the centre which made it difficult to drive around, but hopefully once completed the centre will be clear

    Aix is a lovely city to wander around, with a lively nightlife and several classic bistros providing reasonably priced food of high quality. The hotel was ideally placed to visit the centre of the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Location, staff, size of room and being able to open the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was too short !

    Location, staff, size of room and being able to open the windows. Fresh complimentary water and coffee everyday. The bon bon jar in the reception area !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    The room is small but cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The man who worked in the room inside recption at noon on 3rd August was extremely rude. I asked the lady who was the reception desk if it was possible to warm the food I took and open a bottle of wine for me. She asked for the man's help when he was in the small room inside the reception. He opened it but throwed away the cork to the trash can. The lady picked it up so embarrassed and I was so shocked. She was nice and asked me to follow her into the small kitchen. Just one minute later this man shouted at me by the kitchen door that " you can't go inside the kitchen! Get out!" The lady staff was scared and didn't say any word. When I walked out I explained that I will not go in the kitchen if the lady staff didn't allow. But the man was so angry and rude. He argued with me and the way he spoke to me was so infuriating. No customer service or respect at all. Probably not spend time there again. Hope the manager can look into this.

    The room is small but cozy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    strategic position, large room, very mice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is not what I intend by boutique hotel but it is however a hotel that worths good recommendation.

    Very large room, comfy bed, large bathroom, nothing misses. Very good position, next to the Fontaine de la Rotonde. Some details could be fixed (bathroom walls are stained by water I think but it's just a little thing...not really disturbing). Very particular client-oriented details: minibar free (water at least for sure), Netflix, nice room service breakfast system (you can just chose from a list what you want to eat for breakfast and place the cardboard on the door before 3 am, in the morning they will deliver you breakfast as you've asked for with no troubles calling by phone to order it and so on...). I must stress how nice the staff was, very very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A hotel with a little bit more on offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and very comfortable hotel located in a quiet part of town but close enough to feel like you’re part of the action. Beautifully appointed in all aspects with a couple of special touches such as the honesty bar, express breakfast, terraced outdoor area and private secure car park. The staff were helpful and everything was just easy. Would stay here again if back in Aix-en-Provence!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Serene base for Aix visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to reserve a parking place too late, hotel parking already full although alternative parking at station was very handy and in fact cheaper 😁

    Fantastic breakfast in beautiful tranquil terrace setting. Staff were helpful and friendly. Quiet and well equipped adjoining family room. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff attitude can make all the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very surprised to learn that parking was an ‘extra’ = €25 for overnight. Circled around the block in heavy traffic / did not know off -site parking building’s location.. made checking in and establishing ourselves stressful. Poor parking over the division lines by other cars posed serious risk of panel damage to our rental car-no supervision of fellow driver’s parking. Very poor/rude attitude by reception woman upon arrival-we felt like intruders rather than guests who are the lifeblood of any hospitality facility. Second (replacement) reception desk woman then did not find us within their booking system..

    Location-stayed here in 2016 with Back-Road Tours. Easy to find. Nice courtyard

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent room and bathroom (apart from shower, see below),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No seal on door of shower, so as soon as you turn on jet, it pours water all over the floor of the bathroom. This happened in (a different) room last year and is clearly a problem across the whole property. At least this time we had a spare bath mat. Staff on reception were less polite or interested than in previous years. An error on their part meant that another couple was given keys to our room and began trying to let themselves in while we were there. They left in embarrassment very quickly, but reception staff never apologised, either when we asked shortly afterwards at the desk what had happened, nor when we discovered that our own keys had been cancelled when the new ones were issued in error. Would not have cost much to say sorry; we were not impressed.

    Excellent room and bathroom (apart from shower, see below), spotlessly clean, well appointed and spacious (we paid for a junior suite). On an extremely hot day, air conditioning worked well. Great to have free water in fridge, and space to cool our own drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice property. About a 4-6 block walk to the tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room and very comfortable bed. Bath and shower very good. AC good, with a mini bar. We stayed for one night, to see the town and to be close to the airport for morning flight out. Very easy to get to Marseille airport by cab.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when i chekcked in at about 5:30pm July 12 2018 ,i gave my passport to the lady receptionist, she then said without hello or smile " your room is on the 4th floor" , put the key on the counter without looking at us. ABSOLUTELY RUDE and unfriendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good location close to the centre and just a little out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and the bathroom could have been bigger but for a short stay this was fine. The coffee machine in the breakfast room was new and fancy but had some problem producing coffee.

    Very good location close to the centre and just a little out of the main crowds. Unfortunately there are lots of road work around just now. In spite of that and that our room was on the street level and the windows gave to the street no noice, the room really was very quiet. AC pleasant and easily adjustable. Comfortable beds and excellent soft pillows. Nice terrasse in the inner court next to the breakfast room. Obviously everything recently renovated, very clean. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant sitting area and a bar next to the reception. Very good private garage easily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some staff was not that helpful (mainly in the front desk). Staff from kitchen / breakfast is great, same as housekeepers.

    The hotel is very well located. Breakfast is great. Rooms and property are very nice. Room has a good size and nice view. Hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location as we needed to access the train station in town and it was 2 minutes walking from our hotel. Also only 5 minutes from center of town. Loved the room and especialy the refrigetator provided. Shower was exemplary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Boutique hotel near centre. You won’t be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one space to stop with a car to checkin. The space was used by a roadwork truck and there was absolutely nowhere to stop. My husband had to keep driving whilst I hastily got parking information. We asked for car parking, so it would be good if they gave instructions for access prior to checking in so if the parking space at the hotel entrance is used at least there is somewhere to stop.

    Fantastic room. Coffee machine, bathrobes, good seating, comfortable bed. Close to the centre. Easy to drive to. Very good welcome by man at reception. The room was cold and the heating was not working so the reception man brought us a heater immediately without delay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location, with some drawbacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is expensive for the value offered.

    The location is superb--within walking distance of the Cours Mirabeau and some good restaurants. The breakfast, while quite expensive, offers many choices and especially lovely fresh fruit. The alternative Continental breakfast (drink and one pastry) is minimal. Better can be found at a local café. The breakfast hostess, however, is very kind and helpful. The room itself was rather Spartan and lacked charm, but it overlooked a quiet patio with Plane tree. We encountered one very helpful desk person on arrival, but some of the staff could be curt and uninterested in assisting us. Staff did arrange a good taxi for our departure to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an older building there are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms. The smoke detectors are very sensitive to the steam.

    The hotel is very charming and French and the rooms very clean with a very modern bathroom. The location is perfect being close enough to the action but off to the side so it’s quieter. There was construction going on nearby but we never heard any noise. The staff is outstanding! We arrived there with a broken wheel on our new Briggs and Riley roller bag and Onelle immediately ran down to the maintenance room for a screw and a screwdriver. We were able to repair it on the spot. They were always cheerful and helpful with any assistance needed. We will definitely stay there again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Except for the small room the facilities were quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double at the level higher than basic/standard but it was very small. Had to take turns going around the bottom of the bed.

    Except for the small room the facilities were quite nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and informative staff, the service was much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first day a shortage of personnel for the breakfast area impacted the readiness of the tables and resupply of breakfast or utensils

    Very helpful and informative staff, the service was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Sheer comfort and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full, it was the last available room. Nothing to dislike, really. A wonderful top class four star hotel.

    We walked in off the street the first time we stayed and it was 10/10. We got upgraded to the mid-range room (strangely it is called a Junior Room) from the basic (strangely called Superior). It was totally fabulous. To get a booking it was so much easier to do so via Booking.com that we did that and got the last Junior room, hoping for the same experience. Unfortunately not quite as impressive aesthetically, but still fabulous. The shower was superior but no bath. There was, however, a small concreted private courtyard. The parking is booked and totally necessary and easy to use. The coffee machine is a capsule device that makes really good espresso. The bed is the most comfortable huge king bed in the business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations. Spotless room. Excellent value in a prime location in Aix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If driving your own car, the check-in process can be a little difficult. There is limited space on the busy street that the hotel fronts to unload bags. If another car-driving party is checking in at the same time, you may need to circle the block a few times before the space frees up.

    The room was exceptionally clean. Front desk and breakfast room staff were extremely friendly. Upgrade to a junior suite. It is well worth the extra bit of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place, well located, very friendly staff, definitely good place to go
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was awaken every 6 AM by, although pleasant, smell of the fresh breakfast...

    The rooms were great, Nespresso is free throughout the whole hotel, including rooms! Very good location, nicely served breakfasts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Standard rooms not good value - pay more for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room not ready when we arrived at 3.30pm- left bags and went walking for 90 minutes. Eventually given a small room. Noisy with window open and too hot with it closed! Not able to sleep. Tea making jug, but only herbal tea provided. Needed to wash hair but unable to because the hairdryer broken. Staff initially not helpful or understanding when I complained which was stressful - however within minutes, after we went out for the day, received a call to say we could move to a bigger room. We returned and moved into a lovely large, comfortable and well equipped room with a Nespresso and tea making facilities for which we were very grateful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    A delightful hotel in a delightful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and impossible to cool down at night without opening windows , which was difficult due to early morning noise.

    Great position with easy walk to main avenue. Very helpful staff who suggested excellent restaurants. Well furnished room with delightful balcony and luxurious bed Bathroom with all high end toiletries and fabulous shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Would definitely come back if I could make a cup of tea in my room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most important thing I would change is to provide tea/coffee making facilities on room. The current arrangement is that you use a little machine in the lobby to make a paper thimble full of tea. The staff were very nice and provided an actual cup when asked -but it is a bit of a palaver to have to go down four floors every time you want a cup of tea! The pillows on the bed are enormous and good for sitting up and reading- but hell for sleeping on. Didn’t try the breakfast as 20 Euro per person seemed a little much. Lots of cafes nearby.

    Comfortable and large room (top floor), Double glazing -no noise from street. V good shower. Nice touch to have free soft drinks in fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small moan,the bathroom was very cold!,to avoid this the door to the bathroom would have to be left open,and obviously this only applies in the winter months. The other point is the breakfast,very nice in a very attractive room,but at 20 euros,I found it a bit pricey. A point for those who expect tea and coffee in the rooms-there is not-there are some facilities at reception,but I've seen many critiques where this is a very important point!!

    The warmth of the welcome, the situation of the hotel,the cleanliness,the room size the very good bed and bedding,the great shower and high quality products in the bathroom,a separate toilet(not very common in hotels),the insulation,and the light killing curtains,the closeness of the garage,and the ease of entry and exit,the free soft drinks in the mini bar,all in all a pleasant visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel . . . perfect location . . . wonderful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We picked this hotel because our son recommended it based on his last stay there a couple of years ago . . . he said we would really like the place. He was not entirely correct because we loved the place. Our room was spacious, very clean and very comfortable and surprisingly quiet given that it is located in a busy part of the city. Hotel staff was very pleasant, always accommodating and knowledgeable . . . they were all very nice people to deal with. The location of the hotel is exceptional, very close to the train station (easy access to Marseille and other Provence towns) and Centre-Ville (lots of great restaurants and local sightseeing). We had a rental car and hotel provided a very convenient parking place for a daily charge. Aix-en-Provence and Hotel Cezanne Boutique-Hotel were both perfect as far as we were concerned and will definitively go back. We got a chance to visit many nearby towns during our four days there (Arles, Pont-du-Garde, Avignon, L’Isle sue Sourgue, Abaye de Senaques, Gordes, Roussillon, Lourmain, Cassis, La Ciotat and Bandol), which were all fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, great location with little extras that made it stand out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise from corridor when other guests opened doors.

    Loved the Location, just off the Cours Mirabeau. Really comfortable room, and the coffee machines and honesty bar in nice little bar area were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very comfy and clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is too expensive (20 euros).

    The rooms are very well isolated (even though we had the window over a busy street, we could not hear anything). Free soft drinks from the minibar. The bed was super comfortable (best pillows ever!). Both the room and the bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    20 euros for breakfast - too high for this level of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    20 euros for breakfast - too high for this level of hotel. Heat unadjustable. At 27.6, room was too warm for moderate outside temp. Heat made sleeping difficult, even with window open. Some great staff, some snarky

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    A great location! Fantastic having onsite parking. One of the most comfortable beds of my 5 week hol
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smile on the face of one receptionist and one person serving breakfast but .....

    The bed was divine! So comfy! The room worked really well for 2 of us....I was travelling with my sister. Breakfast wasn't included but it offered plenty of good options. Loved the fact you could help yourself to a glass of wine, coffee / tea downstairs and fill in a form to say what you'd had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Location great as within walking distance to train station, cafes, restaurants and Tourism Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member on reception on our arrival and I unfortunately our departure also was very rude, unfriendly and made the experience unpleasant. She needs some education in customer service!

    Location is great right opposite station however we arrived by bus and that stop is not in that area so got a bit lost on arrival. We departed by train so that was very convenient. Room was spacious and comfortable bed. Quiet area close to central fountain and town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location for a two-night stay in Aix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were especially welcoming and helpful. We received a room upgrade upon arrival, and they helped us with booking two great dinners. Rooms are modern, light and spacious. Even though the hotel is on a busy corner, the rooms are quiet. There is a convenient parking space in front for unloading before accessing the parking garage. Best hotel hairdryer ever.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Good option close to historic center attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in an underground garage about 150 meters away. Spaces inside are tight.

    Located a short walk from Cours Mirabeau and the historic center of Aix-en-Provence. Breakfast was above average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location, great room and free coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location to main township and transport. Spacious, clean, bright rooms with some funky decor and comfy beds. Loved having free coffee machine in room and hallway. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    great location for walking around central Aix
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel very comfortable and wonderfully situated near the downtown area -- great secure underground parking -- did not use the breakfast service (too pricey) but enjoyed everything else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable but disappointed about the musty room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of our rooms smelled horribly, musty and the AC did not work well. We believe the smell was due to a shower stall in the room that is not sealed; therefore water runs all over the bathroom floor. Nice shower, just not properly sealed. The smell that this problem created was most unpleasant.

    The beds were fantastic! The location was excellent. Loved the Nespresso coffee makers on each floor and the stocked bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Very helpful staff- helped us converse in French with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff- helped us converse in French with airline who had lost our bag. Took the time to help us plan vegetarian food options. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    This hotel was very stylish and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful rooms, great location for walking into the centre, lovely breakfast, great coffee, amazing french toast. Loved the Honesty Bar! Would stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, good location, easy to access the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We made a mistake not reserving a parking place; do that since it´s difficult to find one.

    Nice place, good location, easy to access the city centre. The staff was very kind and helpful, helped us with warming up the baby food and everything we needed for the little one. The rooms are small, but very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location with great family rooms but lacks a bit of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lights for the outside area went out at 10.30. You were allowed to sit out there, but in darkness. I understand they are trying to keep neighbours happy but that's too early. In fact the whole of the communal areas were a little soulless. I guess that's because there isn't a bar or restaurant.

    We had two connecting rooms on the 5th floor so it was perfect for a family of five. The rooms were spacious and the free soft drinks were a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    The property is conveniently located in short walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of wi-fi. The signal strength is weak and the security options low, which prevented me from using wi-fi on my phone. This feature needs improvement.

    The property is conveniently located in short walking distance from the city centre. Very clean and well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent home-made breakfast served until noon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in an excellent location. Will definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The junior suite has good products such as shower gel and shampoo but the normal rooms don't have good products available.

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Location was excellent! Honesty bar for aperitif time was great and well stocked. The staff were friendly and made a great effort to tell us what to visit around the city and which restaurants to eat at. Parking was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.5
    The location was good for us because we could easily walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good for us because we could easily walk to the places where we needed to go such as the tourist office, the Cours, the Caumont Art Center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The breakfast was delicious-best croissants I have had in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was delicious-best croissants I have had in France and the smell of them baking in the morning -as early as 5am was intoxicating. The staff who worked breakfast were so friendly. The property is lovely-old hotel feel very close to the main meeting point at Apple store

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location for short stay in beautiful city. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion at check-in regarding breakfast. Was told it was included with rate and then told it was 20 euro later in stay. Not well versed in providing directions to common sightseeing locations (i.e lavender fields).

    Clean white linens. Clean bathroom. Close to bus station. Friendly staff. Parking available (for a fee). Fairly spacious. Complimentary mini bar offerings - assortment of water and juice. Near the Office of Tourism. Overall felt clean and well-maintained - didn't feel the need to wear my socks in hotel room :) would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location, great service and very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked hair conditioner, wasn't supplied.

    Location location location- excellent! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was clean, airy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the basement was so humide and smelled like mold, really difficult to sleep, aircondition did not dry the room at all

    Great location, good staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing Place to Stay in Aix-en-Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We appreciated the parking facility which was close and very secure. However, it was a bit tricky getting out with a manual transmission as the drive was at a very steep incline and you had to stop and put in a code to activate the gate.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was very flexible with our vacation schedule and did an excellent job. It was nice that the hotel was well established and known in the area. The guide who came to pick us up had no trouble finding us. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel room 1059, was small and stark white. Also, the door lock was worn out, we had trouble getting into our room. Staff had to repeatedly unlock the door for us. In the morning we could not open the door to get out, which was a safety concern since the our shower steam set off a smoke alarm.

    The breakfast was good. We loved the outdoor courtyard and ate breakfast there. Also had wine there during the evening. The hotel provided gluten-free bread and pastries for me, which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    The facilities in the room were very good and the parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c unit did not seem to be working properly and the internet was sometimes down or not connecting properly.

    The facilities in the room were very good and the parking was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    comfortable, well managed hotel close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    strange design of bathroom: basin too high with towel bar in front of it very tiny toilet

    location close to center ans all relevant tourist places. Very professional personnel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    brilliant location but disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reception staff were poor. Rooms were very small and stained carpets. Website said free transportation to train station without any restrictions but when we arranged it we were told it was unavailable to us as we booked through you. I would not recommend the hotel.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi service slow - not good enough. Breakfast could be better.

    Excellent Location, helpful & friendly staff. Lovely room overlooking the courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.2
    Callous and Greedy Owner Ruined a Birthday Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Totally disgusted by the attitude of owner to our genuine booking mistake (I pressed 04 instead of 03 for the month), which gave him the opportunity to double charge us, which he did. While sitting in the back room, he sent his staff out to lie to us. The bedroom and bathroom and view were all inadequate for a 4* hotel. The uncaring superior attitude of the manager demonstrated a complete and callous lack of customer care.

    The bed and bed linen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a little too warm sleeping in the room and wish the air conditioning was available, but it is only turned on certain times of the year.

    The entire staff was extraordinary! Very, very helpful and accommodating. Praxide was wonderful and gave us great suggestions for things to do in Aix. The room was lovely ~ very modern and updated. We always love having a fridge in the room, and we LOVED having a Nespresso machine at our fingertips! We would absolutely stay at Hotel Cezanne again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    We are planning to return next year; the hotel was clean and smart; everyone was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, we enjoyed our stay and were happy with the room

    Breakfast was great; staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and accommodate our needs; room was very clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Everything was amazing! Staff, location, rooms, and the Gin bar at reception! Clarins products in the bathrooms and super comfy bed! Such a great hotel!! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome, nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very orange room :-). Matter of taste of course.

    Very warm welcome that continued throughout our stay. Free minibar and Nespresso, and candy for the kids. Nice family room. Champagne breakfast until very late - for the next time without kids! 3-4 minutes walk from Cours Mirabeau.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location in Aix
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains too thin and didn't keep out any light. A bit noisy at night from street noise

    Free coffee and drinks; great location; great room; friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Great welcome, good location, good quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym too small to make it inviting. Breakfast expensive. Bed too soft.

    Afternoon front desk staff super helpful and nice. Honesty Bar unusual drinks. Terrace pretty, rooms comfortable. Unique touches.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast cooked by Christian was delicious & she was so welcoming & accomodating. Lovely lady 😊 Also afternoon reception lady very welcoming & helpful spoke English & organised our dinner reservations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.1
    Good but expensive 3* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is never a 4* hotel, but a good 3* hotel. Therfore the room is overpriced and breakfast is also very expensive. There is no free car parking available.

    The location of hotel is just fiew steps from the railway station and walking distance to city center. Hotel is actually a 3* and an old building, with rather small rooms. Brekafast is not included and very expensive with 20€/person(!), but it is delicious. Free available coffe on the gangways is also very nice. For parking the car, you have to use the public parking beside the railroad station or even more expensive hotel parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Location: very close to everything buts still in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location: very close to everything buts still in a quiet side street. Own private parking a few meters away. Lovely back yard terrace, very clean and comfy. Staff is very welcoming, went over and above to help us get around, book restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Old cityArles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was troublesome with repairs, could have refunded fee for inconvenience ormat least suggested alternative parking.

    Perfect location, nespressso in the halls. Staff helpful, spoke english.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Aix-en-Provence, many things to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a bit small but that's common in Europe. Everything worked well.

    very near to downtown area, walking distance, and parking was available for a price. Front desk staff, Praxen, was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location, pretty and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff was not the friendliest but did answer questions politely when asked.

    The coffee machine down the hall was great to have. The coffee was very good and so convenient The woman who ran the breakfast downstairs was a perfect delight!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the center of Aix-en-Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower leaked considerably, but when we complained they said it had already been fixed (which it definitely wasn't). The only solution seemed to be extra towels to mop up the water after each use.

    Great location on a relatively quiet street. Staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Details and details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A faster elevator, free or discounted parking for motorbikes (at 18,00 it was quite expensive...).

    Excellent care in details, as well as delightful sets of amenities: Nespresso coffee, free (yes, free!!!) minibar in-room, and an amazing breakfast. Location perfect, especially if you travel by car or motorbike.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Great value and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The picture of the terrace looked so inviting in the promo, but in reality it was not quite so. Kind of too much white plastic and concrete. Of course there is no lack of inviting cafes and brasseries just around the corner, so no big deal.

    Our room was fresh and modern with a touch of Provence and Cézanne. The double glazed windows kept the noise from the busy street out while we could enjoy the look of the lovely terra-cotta colored buildings across. The adjacent, covered parking was convenient and clean. Easy access to unload bags just infront of the hotel. I would happily stay at his property next time as well. Ps. I wish people would stop complaining about the separation of toilet and wash basin; it's France, get over it!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great location, central but quiet, friendly service. A stylish boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smiley welcome by a man who also gave us lots of tourist information and offered coupe file tickets for the Turner exhibition we had gone to see. Secure parking (book in advance) two steps away and we were able to leave our car after the check out time on the last day. Breakfast excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    An excellent hotel close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the bathroom facilities - especially the hand basin - looked good but were not as functional (ie designed to retain water) as they could have been.

    This was a superb hotel with excellent staff and facilities (eg a dedicated room with five PCs). We are seldom accommodated as well as this.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    A wonderful place to stay in the heart of AIX!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very nice but a little expensive for what is offered compared to the other hotels that we stayed in.

    An excellent little hotel where the staff is the best feature. They make you feel at home and the location is great!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: