Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet de l'Ancolie 2 stars

1295, Route De Sallanches, 74120 Megève, France

#28 of 63 hotels in Megève

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok hotel with good access
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit high at 80€ / night. To which have to add the price of breakfast. With the price you have to consider the imperfections of the room and bathroom. Paint was chipping in the room and the bathroom renowation was missing the final pieces.

    Very friendly staff and a good location if traveling through the region. Room was ok sized and bathroom looked quite newly renowated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Good choice of continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double beds are comfy but on the small side.

    Good choice of continental breakfast. Chalet is in walking distance from princesses lift to main ski area. Plenty of parking available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hosts, good location and tremendous food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done without the protective plastic bed cover. We understand why they use them but it doesn’t make for the most comfortable nights sleep.

    The Staff were very welcoming, nothing was too much for them. Cleanliness great and the food was awesome both in the restaurant and the breakfast. Good off road parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    We had a great stay. The staff were friendly and we would love to go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The decor could of been better (paintwork etc) but the rooms were very clean but quite small. P.S. Fix the step up to the front door.

    It was lovely and warm after a long day skiing up in the mountains!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is a 2 stars but it’s better than many 3 stars hotels ! Lovely stay , very clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having hot water !! Several showers with cold water ! Stairs up ( there is no elevator ) Forgotten to replace shower gel in the toilets ! One day my room was not done ! I left the room at noon , should have been checked !

    Cleanliness and décoration , very mountain style

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location, great breakfast, cosy chalet hotel with good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room that we had on the top floor had no window, just a 'velux' window in the roof which we could not open (heavy snow), hence no way to get fresh air in the room. The hotel did not provide guest information (e.g. about buses and ski storage).....we had to ask. A guest information folder in reception would have been useful.

    Very good breakfast and coffee. Helpful and pleasant staff. Close enough to walk (250m) to the Princess telecabine and the chalet have arranged a discount at the ski hire shop by the lift so you can store your boots and skis each day after skiing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the Princess Lift was closed due to Technical Difficulties, however the hotel manager was more than happy to run us into Megeve centre where the lifts were all running. It would have been nice to have a hair drier in the room and tea/coffee facilities.

    Staff were eager to ensure our stay was good and to welcome us for future visits. This is a great location for economical access into Megeve ski area via the Princess lift, although it is very quiet with regard to bars etc. Pedestrian access to the Princess lift is a 5 minute walk along a busy road, however the hotel provides parking and there is a free carpark at the bottom of the Princess lift just a 1 or 2 minute drive from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice location for skiers, but pretty limited facailities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee is from a machine. This is not something I prefer especially when I pay extra for the breakfast. There is no lobby area even to wait for friends. Sunday afternoon and evening the whole reception area was locked. We wanted to leave our luggage in the hotel on our last day, as we wanted to ski until 4:00 pm. As the reception gets closed between 2:00 and 5:00 pm during a weekday we could not leave our luggage.

    Location, cleanliness and bedrooms are really nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Great value, close to Megeve - good choice for our Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is outside of Megeve but close to the "Princesse" lift if you are skiing. The area around the Chalet is very quiet though - leaving you at the mercy of the Megeve taxi drivers (extortionately priced!) unless you're travelling with a car....

    We had a very pleasant stay in Chalet De L'Ancolie. The room was basic but very clean and nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient location, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was a little tricky occasionally as the hotel was full and the overflow car park was icy.

    Water always hot, room clean and comfortable and quiet, walkable to Princesse ski lift, only ~2-3 km from centre of Megeve

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Great position for local ski areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Megeve Taxis scarce and unreliable, so need a car to get to a from town.

    Great position for local ski areas. Comfortable hotel. Very well run. Everything is clean and it works. Friendly feel. Good food. Great value for Megeve.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Little jewel in the snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is not for giants like myself. :)

    The place is very nice and easily accessible. The rooms are nice and very clean. Its much more than a 2 star hotel would provide in towns. The owners are great, friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my short stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Oh I believe everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it was little bit expensive compare with the competition, but it was Worthwhile

    Oh I believe everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    2.9
    It’s to far from megève and old room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s to far from megève and old room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On the main road so there is some traffic noise

    Welcoming and helpful staff, rooms comfortable, tasty breakfast and close to the ski-lift

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Lovely little Hotel just a few minutes drive from Megeve, Great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room and great food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was very hot and the radiator was leaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and the radiator was leaking. As positioned on the main road the traffic noise was quite loud and disturbed our sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    great breakfast, the staff is very very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast, the staff is very very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Cosy hotel done well.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy hotel done well. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. Great find.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with bathroom but nobody informed us the bathroom was in the corridor, not in the room...

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for the Princess cable car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.3
    A short drive to the ski lift with a free car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car is essential. Nowhere lounge to sit in after skiing. No WiFi on 2nd floor.

    A short drive to the ski lift with a free car park

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is close to the ski lifts but not on the ski...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi only works in the restaurant.

    The hotel is close to the ski lifts but not on the ski slopes. However it is good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    great place for a skiing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, free parking and easy to get to the slopes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Very cozy, clean and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cozy, clean and warm

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A walk to town in winter not practical. But taxi available. Breakfast a little bland but ok.

    Great value for money. It isn't plush but it is clean, spacious, friendly and convenient. Great food too. Nothing too much trouble for the owners. Close to Princessa ski lift and hire and a bar too.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.6
    This is the second time we have used this accomadation, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is the second time we have used this accomadation, the friendly welcome the cleanliness, the food and the way they help you enjoy your trip is second to none.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    The location is perfect - just 5 min on foot from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is perfect - just 5 min on foot from the Princesse ski lift! The breakfast excellent - great croissants, excellent cheese selection... Staff very friendly - our plane was delayed - we arrived at nearly midnight but Sandrine left a message for us and everything was ready when we arrive! All the team is friendly :) Merci pour tout

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.1
    White towels and sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom was out of the room!it was written on the reservation but we haven't read..so it was a bad surprise. We were with 2 kids and cross the corridor to reach the bathroom wasn't that easy.

    White towels and sheets. New bathroom. All clean!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.8
    Location - 200m from Princesse lift - ideal for maximising...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location - 200m from Princesse lift - ideal for maximising time on the slopes. Helpful accommodating staff with late night arrival and need to stow bags on Sunday. Atmosphere. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.5
    Homy, family run cottage, room was in rustic style with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator (old chalet), no coffee/tea maker in room, but staff kindly provided us with cups and a kettle. They didn't speak much English, but at least they tried (unlike many French).

    Homy, family run cottage, room was in rustic style with views of snowy mountains, so it really had the "alpine feel". Clean and comfortable, a bit out of the town centre, but very close to the Princess gondola which connects a main ski area. Wifi was free, but had a week connection.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.8
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Best location. 5 mins walk to lift. Good breakfast and delicious dinner. We had half board which is very good value. Simple but comfortable rooms. Comfy beds. Helpful staff. Would definitely stay here next time if go skiing in megeve again. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.5
    Superb location for the Princess lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Understood that we wouldn't be able to check in to our rooms until 5pm, but didn't realise that we wouldn't be able to even enter the hotel to drop our bags until 5pm. We're very lucky that by chance someone unlocked the door for us and we left the bags in the hall.

    Superb location for the Princess lift. Food was really good and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.6
    Great location for us, a 35 minute walk from the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for us, a 35 minute walk from the centre of Megeve but a 5 minute walk from the Princess telecabine. Simple but very clean room, decorated in a lovely chalet-style. Charming owners and wonderful dinners served each night (we stayed on a half-board basis) - really top quality dining.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast, Easy late checkin - they left a note and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stairs

    Great breakfast, Easy late checkin - they left a note and the key.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    5.4
    The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the ski lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For a 2 star hotel both the accomodation and the food were very expensive.

    The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the ski lift

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice and cozy, but I hope they change the old smelly carpet...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nice and cozy, but I hope they change the old smelly carpet in the rooms and hallways. It's located near the road so it was a bit noisy.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    6.3
    It was too cold in the room, the heaters worked occasionally
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was too cold in the room, the heaters worked occasionally

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.6
    Friendly owners and staff, vaule for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly owners and staff, vaule for money

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.5
    only one option for half board food more choice would have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    only one option for half board food more choice would have been useful, food is very nice but british kids not used to French cooking!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: