Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Marmotte Hôtels-Chalets de Tradition 4 stars

61, Rue du Chêne, 74260 Les Gets, France

#12 of 37 hotels in Les Gets

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 2 tea bags with tea making tray, no shampoo etc in bathroom, water from the shower pools on bathroom floor, no telephone link to reception, and no washbasin in separate WC.

    Well fitted bedroom. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that this was a family-run place really shone through in the helpful attitude of the staff. We were made to feel especially welcome and no request was too difficult.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The organization of the breakfast was not optimal. They were always missing something ( plate, food...).it was just a question of pro activity of the staff I think. But when you asked for help they were very service oriented. The Ammam was not running

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to replace chunky room keys with card acess; only having one room key between two was a bit inconvenient at times. Our room was rather small for 2 tallish adults; the photos of the rooms were much better than the actual room itself. But it was kept very clean.

    Perfect location at the foot of the Chavannes piste and a 1 min walk to the chair lift each morning. Staff were super helpful and friendly. Good choice at breakfast and they had provided a few gluten free alternatives too. 20m pool great for swimming. Wifi speed good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the scrambled eggs at breakfast could be improved. Would have liked to be have been able to bring a limited number my grand children, staying elsewhere, as guest to the swimming pool.

    Bedroom were very comfortable with excellent en suite and well serviced. Self service Breakfast very good in a nice light spacious room. Also enjoyed the choice of dining rooms and menus available. Nice to have a swimming pool and sauna and also working out how to get to them!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedrooms are outdated and need some modernisation, mainly in the bathrooms. There is very low water pressure so the bath takes a long time to fill and the shower is very weak. It's difficult to regulate the room temperature so we slept with the patio door open. The problem with that is - Les Gets doesn't sleep for long, so either did we.

    Superb location directly opposite the ski lift with wonderful views on to the slopes. We could watch the early starters and late finishers from our balcony. The boot room is excellent with direct access from the street and the ski hire shop is next door. The bar/restaurants are stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better - porridge/oatmeal, grapefruit juice, Spa could have been better - hot tub decidedly not hot.

    The location, the atmosphere,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are incredibly dated, compared to the main communal areas which have been recently renovated. Our room had a balcony and was also very cold at night.

    Breakfast was great, especially considering this is a French hotel with croissants, a continental selection and hot food. Good choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was poor

    The friendly and helpful staff where so of the best I've come across and would be sure to recommend this hotel to friends. Location and service is also totally on point and your won't get a better hotel in the area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was our second visit to the hotel as we loved it so much, great location for mountain biking/sking as very close to the lift and for wandering around the town, lovely spa and swimming area, very comfy beds, great spacious family room, staff very polite, delicious food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Exception
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this at short notice , more expensive than we would Of liked at £300 per night but we were so impressed with the apartment we booked another night , really lovely place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very accommodating about the bicycles, which could be locked a room. They looked after our bags and we could have taken a shower at the end of the day (having checked out in the morning).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was just before the season commenced, there were only 16 staying in the hotel. So they did not open the bar or lounge area. Also the facilities for bike storage are poor. The hotel was extremely expensive when this is taken into consideration.

    The hotel room was really nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in the hotel was very hot at times .

    Great location, facilities were very good , and the restaurant was fantastic - especially the rib of beef !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were not very helpful or friendly. We asked several times for a kettle which was never delivered, the amenities in the bathroom were never refilled, we waited over 30 minutes every time we ordered a drink and the orders were repeatedly wrong. The hotel seemed tired and dated as though it was relying on former times. We did not feel respected or valued as guests-it felt very much as though we have your money now we go through an automated process. No real care or interest from anyone.

    The location to the ski slopes is fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children) Tapiaz
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked this hotel and overpaid for it as we decided to take our 2 boys (ages 9 & 12) on a last minute surprise ski trip. We chose this hotel from the short availability that was on offer due to its facilities (indoor pool/spa). So it was to our great surprise that after our first day of skiing when we hit the pool we found out that the water was not as warm as we had been accustomed to in other hotels that we had stayed in and also we were gobsmacked that my kids were not allowed to use the jaccuzi nor the sauna under my supervision as there was a minimum allowed aged restriction of 16 years which I wasn't aware of and it wasn't mentioned on Booking.com. Needless to say that we never went back to the pool during our stay which was extremely disappointing for them. Also the photo of the room that was shown in your website when I booked the hotel was the Chalet Room (for 4 people as per the hotel website). But when I made the reservation it said that I had booked a family room at the Tapiaz hotel which is situated right opposite the La Marmotte and of course I only realized this when I checked the reservation when we walked into the room and it looked nothing to what was shown in the booking.com website. I think the fault here falls on Booking.com as well as the Hotel's and for this reason I would like some sort of compensation.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff were super friendly and helpful! The hotel is really pretty and decorated very nicely. The restautant offered a good selection of food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a rear facing room, would have preferred a mountain view. We were not offered any choice in room selection.

    Comfy bed, lovely sheets! Very clean rooms and bathroom. Good bar with lots of comfy chairs. Tasty and plentiful breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to an Irish pub - made some noise during the night

    In the middle of the town, very good breakfast and the restaurant served excellent food. Perfect with a sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giving information about the resort facilities in summer, for example the discounts for bike hire and golf. Reception staff were pleasant but not very good at volunteering information.

    The location and the friendliness of Thierry - nothing too much trouble!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is excellent. In particular, the main bar and breakfast waiter is very helpful, friendly and efficient. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Secure underground parking is good. Pool and sauna area are very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we were being picky we would say that the decor is getting a bit dated in the bedrooms but they are still very comfortable!

    Lovely breakfasts. Monsieur Thierry in the restaurant was so friendly, efficient and kind. All the staff at the hotel were most helpful. Our rooms this time (we have been twice before during the ski season) were traditionally decorated and comfortable with a balcony and very pleasant view over the village and the mountains. The large indoor pool and Decleor spa are amazing and a very relaxing way to spend time after a day hiking or mountain biking. The lounge bar overlooking the pistes at the front is incredibly welcoming summer or winter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'Do not disturb sign' on the door, meant nothing and was ignored. A little annoying when you request privacy, But a small thing relatively speaking.

    The staff were amazingly welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The host could not to enough to help you. The location was perfect for us at the start of the ski lift. Perfect for biking. Good bike storage in the garage. Great hotel! The pool, jacuzzi and Sauna were fabulous after a hard days biking, for the weary muscles.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children) Tapiaz
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have been more fresh fruit at breakfast such as a fruit salad

    Delicious continental breakfast. Very friendly service. Lovely rooms and excellent location for mountain biking - directly opposite the lift.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful The location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the room was very comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic, staff were lovely and the food in the Piste Noire restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, some of the staff doesnt speak any English!!

    The room was quite small, otherwise all was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasnt as perfect as everything else, but it wasnt bad...

    Everything was good! Breakfast, the facilities etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children) Tapiaz
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking. Service slow at Biskatcha restaurant.

    Beautiful junior suite. Excellent location. Super pool. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bargain only paid £74 euros for room with breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar service was poor. We constantly had to get staff to come to the bar to serve us.

    Hotel is very nice & in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was a bit on the cold side for our liking.

    The brassiere food and service was excellent. Good selection of wine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad wifi. Simple rooms

    Good breakfast, Very nice spa. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children) Tapiaz
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was too short

    Thierry is the waiter of the century

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not their strong point and the 8.00am start of the reception staff meant we had to leave without finalising the bill-but nobody seemed to mind

    The service from all the staff was really helpful and from the head barman was exceptional. The food at dinner was also excellent. The location with a view of the slopes was the best in Les Gets.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is necessary for us to keep in close touch with our business and the wi-fi in our room (305 - otherwise excellent) was very spasmodic and often disconnected. A small but important matter - Marmotte, please improve.

    The staff were all excellent and helpful and in particular is the manager, Thierri, who works ceaselessly for the benefit of his guests. He is also efficient and always has a kind word for guests and for their children also. He should be awarded the Legion d'Honneur!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location to the chair lifts was perfect, the hotel was lovely and they have a great bar manager who is so helpful polite and hard working:-) thank you.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At 420 euros per night one would expect a more helpful reception staff, assistance with luggage, drinks facilities in rooms - no tea, coffee or water - more than one ridiculous soap and one body lotion sample size for 2 people and more refined rooms.

    Excellent location, good choice of restaurants,

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warmer scrambled egg at breakfast. Slightly cleaner carpet. Slow service in the bar.

    A great welcome. Brilliant location, and an attractive room with chairs and a table on a balcony overlooking the slopes. Good size bath. Such a comfortable bed and lovely sheets. Nice lounge with Scrabble and books. Excellent changing room with shower for the day of departure. Plenty of cooked and fresh fruit at breakfast, and bacon and egg too.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The jacuzzi was broken

    Lovely location of the village in the Alps, spectacular scenery and walks. Excellent position of the hotel and range of facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ONLY suggestion would be to provide drink facilities in the bedroom but not critical.

    An excellent Hotel in a prime location and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had requested rooms near one another but one was in the main hotel and the other in the annexe.

    Lovely relaxed bar and lounge and great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service could be quite slow.

    La Marmotte was in a fabulous location, directly opposite the ski lifts and slopes. Highly recommend getting a room with a view over the slopes. The spa was a glorious end to the day and the bar area was very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were somewhat surprised that the pool and sauna facilities were quite often closed(one of the reason of booking this hotel). In our opinion does the pricelevel not meet the quality received. More than € 400,00 per night is a highe price anywhere in the world.

    Location of hotel is excellent

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only issue for our group of 7 was still being given one double not twin room despite having confirmed our request by email and phone.

    The Marmotte has the best location in Les Gets - directly facing the slopes and a 1 minute walk from the main lifts. It has the ambience of a luxury ski lodge - log fires and masses of comfortable and stylish sofas in the huge lounge, and a homely feel with touches like photos of the owner family and old black and white photos of the village on the walls. The spa and swimming pool provide the perfect place to relax at the end of the day and were never crowded and the massage treatments that several of us had were excellent. There is a choice of 3 good a la carte restaurants which means you really don't have to go anywhere else if you don't want to! We liked the Pivotte in particular. Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds and linens have to be renewed to match a 4 star standart.

    Excellent location in Les Gets, right in front of the main lifts. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Showers in our family suite were a bit confusing, but worked so not really an issue! Also, it was odd that no toiletries were provided, just soap in an unlabelled dispenser for the sink and in the shower, not great for a 4 star hotel.

    The location was excellent, right at the bottom of the slopes, in the heart of the village. We ate in one of the hotels three restaurants one evening and the food was fabulous, as were the waiting staff, incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. The Cosy Bar was just that, very cosy, with sheepskin rugs and cushions, just the thing after a hard day on the slopes. The swimming pool was beautiful, perfect for relaxing at the end of the day. Also. great boot room for skis and boots.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much, all good

    Great room, great breakfast and really helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More parking facility

    The bar area with its comfortable sofas contributed to a very relaxing evening. The spa and its warm swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Hotel, Great location Thiery is one of the best and most friendly members of staff that a hotel could hope for

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Speed of internet access was slow

    Perfect location Overall look and feel of the property Great breakfast Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere and location in the centre

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was a bit small for a cot as well as twin beds.

    Excellent location for skiing. Very family friendly. Great and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good storage for mountain bikes. Excellent swimming pool and sauna area.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel and will be staying again! Thierry the manager is a super star!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating v hot at night

    Staff friendly and helpful .

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    uncomfortable bed! no tea & coffee facility in rooms

    Nice staff, location fantastic

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor wi Fi poor follow up on minor complaints

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is a bit flakey

    Fantastic breakfast, lovely bar and excellent location steps from the piste. Sister restaurant La Paika on slopes is stunning

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakasf service must improve. Very simple tables, dirty plates are not removed during the service.

    Lovely living room. Nice bar service.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: