Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Chamonix Centre 4 stars

39 rue des Allobroges, Chamonix City Centre, 74400 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, France

#34 of 47 hotels in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1467 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Superb place to stay in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful comfy clean room with a clever floor plan suitable for 3 people. Own balcony with stunning view onto the mountains. All in all warm cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    So Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've been to this place several times over the past years but this time it was the worst No room services The phone is out of order in our rooms No AC or at least an electric Fan would help and we couldn't open the windows because there is no window screen to protect us from bugs and insects, ,seriously the whole trip we couldn't have a good night sleep rooms are not clean and have a weird smell The WiFi is BAD

    Only location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Family stay - Room full of problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neither of the two televisions worked (one didn't even turn on and the other was just static). The safe didn't lock - which we advised within the first 10 minutes of checking in, (not good when your travelling with money and passports) and there wasn't a mini bar (no where to keep a bottle of water cool), there also wasn't any air-conditioning (which I knew - however it was ridiculously hot). A 4 star hotel should have a television, safety box and a mini bar. I did speak to the staff about this and explained I could have spent half of the money we did for accomodation in a 2 star hotel which was essentially what we were getting. The staff person was apologetic and offered us a free breakfast for the following morning. I feel it was an expensive night in a substandard room - I think a better solution would have been to offer to move us to another room with working facilities, even an upgrade.

    Chamonix is visually mind blowing! The Mercure is a nice hotel, however I expected more from their star rating, more from this level of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and willing to communicate in English which was helpful. We were able to store our luggage while we did a 7 day hike. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were helpful & friendly, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the what was on offer. No air conditioning & most importantly. No Fridge in the room. Very disappointed with that.

    Staff were helpful & friendly, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Next to train station (sncf).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid group tourists at breakfast time (7-7:30 am). Foods gone fast, and we should have waited for staffs refilled the baskets. Still, good quality food and extremely helpful restaurant staffs.

    Next to train station (sncf). Very close to Montenvers-Mer De Glace station. Breakfast buffet was great! We were staying family room with balcony and could see sun-rise/set at our balcony. Staffs were kind and professional. Renovated, and clean facility. Appreciated staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location but maybe another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast has limited selection for healthy food (no brown bread, almost no fresh vegetables, cold cuts are only from pork etc), so for us it was not worth the price. We were also disappointed that we had our room on the first floor with street view - the mountains you could see only if stepping out to the terrace, not really like on the presented pictures from the bed etc. One night we could not sleep till 2am as there is a jazz club across the street and there was loud music & screaming, staff at reception did not care much about our concern. There was no fridge in the room.

    Location is beautiful, view around the hotel is perfect, restaurants, shops, hiking options are in easy reach. Room is well equipped, nicely furnished and comfortable. Staff at the breakfast was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift didn’t work and we had to climb 3 flights of stairs- staff in the morning didn’t offer any apology - maybe a reduction on the breakfast would have made us feel better

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    A magical place with so much to do and see, a perfect location to see Mont Blanc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It was so convenient to the centre and easy to find, I would definetly recommend this property and will return for a longer period of time. Loved the whole area and experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old furniture The receptionist was not professional The standard room has two mattresses linked together

    The location The hotel lobby Tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    The facade is pretty, typical Swiss/French chalet with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was dumped in the second older building across the street. Rooms were tiny and in need of major renovations. The balcony was bigger than the room but my view was of a rotting old wooden outhouse. The balcony had old peeling paint, musty wood with no flower boxes. Parking is Super expensive. Park at Allobroges 20m from the hotel it’s free for first hour. Unload luggage, check into the hotel and then move it to parking Montenvers 8min walk away, it’s free for 24hrs.

    The facade is pretty, typical Swiss/French chalet with flower boxes in the balcony. Great location. Always wanted to stay here UNFORTUNATELY we were not in the main building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Front desk staff is nice and very courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was close to railway track & there was no Air conditioning. Room size was just average but considering sizes elsewhere it is fine.

    Front desk staff is nice and very courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was very expensive and very tight (small park spaces) there was no refrigerator in the room

    location was perfect room was very spacious and a nice balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely ski village in great mountain location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired motel in need of a revamp. Wifi didn't work in rooms so people congregating in reception to use wifi Breakfast was chaotic and poor staff couldn't keep up with food running out. Told we had free parking for car then had to pay large fee in departure!

    location was great. Spectacular mountain views all around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Chamonix
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no minibar in the room. Never seen this even in lower budget hotels anywhere in the world; and this is the sole reason why I didn't give the hotel a 10.Hotel didn't provide individual shampoo and other amenities.

    Spacious and very comfortable room. Perfect location. Bathtub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Unforgettable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Stay was perfect.

    The view of the mont blanc from our room was absolutely stunning! Excellent location bang in the city centre with easy access to restaurants cafes and the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea how this is a 4 star. Dirty shower with hair in tub, shower curtain yellow/ orange from the bottom, mold in the corners of the tub... So thankful we didn't have to stay longer than 10h.

    It's in the Alps, the employees at the front desk are very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just next to the SCNF Chamonix-Mont-Blanc station, and also very near to the station where you can take a train to go to Montenvers. Spacious room with a balcony, which let me had a very relaxed time there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Everything specially staff and chef were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything specially staff and chef were excellent. They upgraded our room.A purely vegeterian person like me who don't take even egg was pampered with a purely vegeterian breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Free transport voucher from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Halfboard dinner one night, 2/4-2018, had no special theme. Same food as the days before with minor changes. Had a feeling of leftovers from earlier nights.

    Free transport voucher from the hotel. Short walk to train station to take Mont Blanc Express train to Vallorcine for skiing in that area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Good ski room with ski boots drier, friendly staff, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is to expensive for what is offered. No minibar in the room.

    Good ski room with ski boots drier, friendly staff, clean and spacious room, nice balcony with good views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a muslim we need a bidet in the toilet.

    Every thing about this property was perfect. The cleaness the size of the rooms the freindly staff the buffet . I would diffinetly chose it again in my next visit to chamonix ❤ The decore of the room was very warm i fall in love with my room and the view was another story ❤❤❤ The hotel is very near to the city centre and the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location, with a friendly staff, and a great Chamonix ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On several occasions, the staff needed to be more helpful on directions, especially being from another country and not speaking French and not being familiar with local signs. A suggestion would be to use a map and draw out exact locations

    The staff was really nice and accommodating and the rooms were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Fit-for-purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast toaster was drop-in kind with only two of four drop-ins working, and of the other two only one side toasted. Why such a poor facility. Did not understand why the lift could not be used for skis and boots - there was a sign preventing this but it was difficult going up and down stairs with all our gear. I next checked in at Novote Geneve. Here they use Fairtrade products in bathroom. Why did Mercury not use same ?

    There was a ski rental shop with 25% discount available for guests pus locker storage for equipment in hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good diner was nice so half board option...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not very convenient location for skying

    Breakfast was very good diner was nice so half board option is good. Bar and restaurant staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.8
    Most expensive and worst motel of our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was expensive and not worthy. old dated building and corridors had musty smell. rooms were cramped. toiletries consisted of one small soap tablet between 3 persons for 4 days. had to ask for extra towel each day as only left 2 for 3 persons. receptionist was rude and unhelpful. breakfast and dining was nice. long walk to shuttle buses to ski fields. close to railway station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy with stay, would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Insufficient storage space for clothes and no trouser hangers.

    Excellent location close to station where you can catch a train to Valorcine and get straight on the ski lift. Also close to Chamonix centre for restaurants, bars etc. Rooms are fine, beds comfortable, a bit short on storage space for clothes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    did not like the connection room, sound insulation weak, heard everything what is going on next room which was annoying

    great location, cozy home atmosphere, friendly personnel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Very close to the centre, staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the centre, staff was nice. Can be a bit noisy outside at night so if you’re a light sleeper I wouldn’t recommend it. Room was nice with beautiful view. Towel heater didn’t work and shower head was broken and kept falling as well. Otherwise everything was awesome. Breakfast was great too. More on the pricey side. Everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Good reliable perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent reliable Mercure service as usual Pleasant, helpful staff, comfy bed in a clean cozy room, and wonderful breakfast Really good town centre position, close to train station and all amenities A bit pricey but it was a bit last minute and school holidays so I guess it was to be expected!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no ski lockers available in the ski room so we had to take all our equipment to our room each night.

    Comfortable bed. Lovely to have a bath as well as shower. Location excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unorganized and got several things wrong. They are a very expensive hotel for the kind of service you get here. I would not stay here again and do not recommend it to anyone.

    Location. They probably can charge exorbitant rates with such poor service because of their location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone especially to families with children. Staff were really helpful and the Location of the hotel is excellent. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they need to have more and enough resources like water to drink, it looks to ask for still water and the answer we don't have (: Finished! though this didn't affect my experience

    The location of the hotel is amazing, in the center with a view on mont blanc .. The cost of the hotel is reasonable compared to other higher cost. What i mean, i give the rate value of money 9 out 10. you receive what you paid for. Rooms has nice balcony to watch ice and snow while drinking hot drink (:

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Great Location and Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    they need to have more and enough resources like water to drink, it looks to ask for still water and the answer we don't have (: Finished! though this didn't affect my experience

    The location of the hotel is amazing, in the center with a view on mont blanc .. The cost of the hotel is reasonable compared to other higher cost. What i mean, i give the rate value of money 9 out 10. you receive what you paid for. Rooms has nice balcony to watch ice and snow while drinking hot drink (:

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall a conveniently located hotel with reasonable comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for breakfast for every day while there and not having had breakfast. Had to have all breakfast charges removed when checking out and still had to claim refund for nearly €300. This was done about two weeks later

    Convenient and close to town and some ski slopes as well as the Mont Blanc and train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.2
    Location is great close to city centre and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms outdated. They try to refurbish an old hotel with limited investment. Personnel looks too have no proper hospitality training. They are friendly, but seem clueless, which is in line with how Mercure refurbishes, low investment to optimize profit. Price/quality is not correct. Rooms are really hot with dry air.

    Location is great close to city centre and train station. Breakfast is good. Parking under hotel or next to hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    Will not recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was crap, the room were super small. No teaspoons at the coffee station, the staff could not communicate with non french speaking guests. The room did not have enough pillows for all the guests. The bathroom were dirty and smelled weird.

    The area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    I didn´t feel as I was in a Mercure Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked a early check-in and a room with montain view that was not notice. We arrived 11a.m. and the front desk atendent gently told us that would prepare our room until 12 and said that had a buffet for lunch. When we came back, the restaurant staff said that the buffet wasn´t available that day for guests. The lifts were out of order the weekend.

    The breakfast was the good experience that we have. Many options of fruits, juices, bakeries and an excellent cooker to make pancakes or fried eggs, The restaurant is big and confortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was very nice with big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not friendly and not helpful at all, we asked the reception about the activities in town she replied that there is no activities, as this was our first visit and first ski experience then we Google it and find it

    The hotel was very nice with big rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice pleasant hotel with good comfy rooms amazing breakfast menu & nice views. Has a ski room & clos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the toiletieres as there’s no soap/cream/shampo/gel packed separately. Parking fee was expensive Otherwise that’s it

    I liked the design of the hotel & rooms which were quite with nice views. It also had balconies & there was a kitchenette in the room. The beds were small but comfy with nice linens. The breakfast I thought was extremely good as it had so many options eggs, quiches, cereal, tarts, cakes pancakes & much more!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the bathtub didn't have much pressure. During our stay the elevator was not working as it was being replaces, so we had to curry our luggage on the stairs. The breakfast was expensive (but delicious). Ski rental facilities were closed.

    Our room was fantastic! It had an amazing view, looking at the mountains! The interior was great! I liked the carpet on the floor and in general the size of our room. It even had a balcony! The location of the hotel was good, close to the city centre and the train station. My favourite part was the big variety of food in breakfast (it even had macarons)!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Loved Chamonix! Location was great !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was a hit and miss :( sometimes it would work and other times it was cold showers !

    Bed was comfy and breakfast was the best we have had yet! Great view with a balcony and good heating :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    Not honest with its customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the ongoing renovations during my stay, I was not informed during my booking. Elevator was not working, dirty carpets on the stairs and corridor, smell of painted surfaces.

    Location and the proximity to the city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are a little tired, better lighting would probably help brighten up the rooms.

    The hotel is in the most stunning setting with mountainous views all around, the staff were very friendly and all spoke perfect English. The room had a balcony overlooking one of the mountains which was beautiful. The centre of Chamonix is less than a 5 minute walk away with an array of restaurants and bars. Although the hotel has parking we were traveling in a van which wouldn't fit into the garage but there is a large public car park next door (that's cheaper than the hotel parking). Breakfast was excellent with something for every taste and culture, there was even an omelette chef on-hand to cook eggs to your liking. The bar area was very relaxed and opened late with a large selection of drinks

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    They had works in the hotel, I think the lift, and the noise...
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had works in the hotel, I think the lift, and the noise was to much. Also, I was out of water for almost half a day because of works too. Finally the breakfast rate is high.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Simply Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything and will be coming back soon!

    The location was perfect, minutes away from train station, magnifying views of the mountains, near the center of everything & I hope my breakfast was included in the booking 😀😀😀food was superb!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Near the mont blanc and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was not working and we were not informed ahead of time. They cleaned the room the first nught but didnt replace the towels we used they just left us the ones we didnt although we were 4 in the room. Same for the toilet paper.they left whatever was there on arrival.and same for the bedding sheets.no fridge in the room

    Near the mont blanc and downtown. Breakfast excellent. Parking nearby the hotel.helpful at the desk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly nice and v well located .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    By the juice machine there were a lot of fruit flies BUT they were trying to solve the problem. Might be better just to get rid of the machines and bring fresh pressed juice from the kitchen on demand . Staff clearly didn’t like the issue either.

    Really nice staff . Stayed off season and price was reasonable room 350 was v comfy and quiet . They couldn’t have been more helpful . Staff at breakfast were also very nice . Despite being a chain hotel they were very personal ..and pleasant .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking at hotel as indicated, have to park at free car park 10mins walk. Elevator was not working suring time we were there, have to lug luggage one level.

    Staff service level high, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is of 5 star standard hotel. Thankful we were upgraded to a better room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.9
    NO COMMENTS ON WHAT I LIKE
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFFS ARE VERY RUDE AND RACISTS, IN PARTICULAR ON MY STAY THE DUTY NIGHT MANAGER ASKED ME TO DRINK WATER FROM THE TOILET . NO RESPONSE OR APOLOGIES ON HIS BEHAVIOUR . HE ALSO REPLIED GET AWAY FROM MY HOTEL . IT IS TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT IN FRONT OF MY FAMILY . THIS KIND OF STAFFS WILL SURELY SPOIL ACCOR REPUTATIONS . STILL I'M WONDERING HOW THIS KIND BEHAVIOUR IS TOLERATED BY MYSELF. I SHOULD HAVE GIVEN A POLICE COMPLIMENT ON HIS VERBAL HARASSMENT BUT I DON'T WANT TO SPOIL MY ENTIRE FAMILY HOLIDAY TRIP. ALL THIS HAPPEN ON REQUESTING A DRINKING WATER IN MIDDLE OF NIGHT. I'M ALSO A PERSONAL TRAVEL BLOGGER WITH LARGE COMMUNITIES FOLLOWERS AND DON'T WANT TO EXPOSE MUCH ON THIS HOTEL STAFFS BEHAVIOUR. ONCE AGAIN PLEASE TAKE EXTRA CAUTIOUS IN RECRUITING THIS KIND OF STAFFS FOR YOUR ACCORHOTEL GROUP. IT IS NOT A COMPLAINT AND IT IS AN ADVICE.

    NO COMMENTS ON WHAT I LIKE

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Chambre pour Sheldon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room with mountain view was replaced with view of railway operations. That's ok if you fancy Märklin trains. Balconies, bathrooms & floors need up scaling.

    One of the best breakfasts I've enjoyed in Chamonix. €20,- pp is seems rather pricey - however it was worth it. Cleaning - usually one notices that cleaning has been performed (Basically OK but some spot has been missed/ remains dirty). Here everything was done by perfection - hopefully management has also noticed this! Seems that hotel is trying to update the rooms -renovating the rooms should also cover toilet & room floors (suggestion: please remove the carpet & replace with -for instance- wooden floor). Great location close to city center. Will highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park full so had to park on street. Elevator not working. Bar closed if nobody was there!!

    Location excellent, view on Mont Blanc and Aguille du Midi. Proximity to cable car. We had a first floor room with a huge terrace. Excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    First rate service, location and views - a surprising budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately, our kettle kept blowing the outlet fuse, but this wasn't a huge issue for us.

    We booked this hotel because we were arriving after 11pm and it was the only one listed with a 24 hour check-in - and as it turned out, we couldn't have been happier with our choice; the customer service at the front desk was first rate - we had various requests during our stay, including a bottle of wine after hours and help with a blown outlet fuse, and all were handled quickly and without hassle - we were treated like VIPs. The room was great - for 3 adults, there was a large double bed in a separate space for my folks, and amazingly comfy couches that uncovered to be single beds in the main area - and the lodge/chalet decor was very cozy. Every room had it's own terrace with chairs and a view of mountains. The hotel is located next to the Chamonix train station, so 5 minutes walking to the town center, and 5 minutes the other direction to the Aiguille du Midi cable cars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    This experience was top notch in all areas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our accommodations were spacious & first class; the breakfast buffet included crepes made to order & the selections were better than any we've experienced elsewhere. The staff's customer service was also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Good lcoation with some nice views but not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a meal in the restaurant in the evening but we were the only ones there and this should have been a warning to us. It was not good and I made a bad selection too. Overall very disappointing although probably in part due to my choice of dish. Probably should have walked the 5 minutes into a town restaurant of which there were plenty that looked very good.

    The room was fine and even numbered rooms will face the mountains and the railway whereas the odd numbered will face the town and perhaps be noisier? Had a room looking up to the mountains which was quite spectacular even in the summer. Trains did pass through but didn't really bother us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    Poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Speed of Wifi has to be improved as it's very very very slow and unstable, even not able to browse yahoo.com 2. Temperature of the shower was extremely not stable. Water was not hot enough but it turned to very hot suddenly when you turn it to left slightly. The water supply was also small. 3. Staff were not helpful and friendly. 4. Very noisy in the night as a lot of cars ran on the street and people kept singing in the pub just next to the hotel. 5. Breakfast costed 20€ but it's not worthwhile.

    Location was good as walking for 5 mins from the rail station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, nice room with wonderful vue over Mont...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, nice room with wonderful vue over Mont Blanc (sadly the weather wasn't so nice).Very good breakfast .We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Comfy stay in Chamonix centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check in with room not ready till 4.30. Bath sealant (caulk in US) mouldy (I am asthmatic and allergic to moulds). Hot summer day but no air con or minibar . Parking spaces tight but I managed with a large MPV. Public car park next door was completely full when we arrived so don't rely on that being available

    Good sized family room with two large screen TVs with netflix. Hotel well located near station and easy to find by car. Found beds to be very comfy. Nice drinks in bar with friendly barman while waiting for room to be ready- grazie Maurizio!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    View from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the bus station. Breakfast buffet is expensive.

    View from our balcony. A super market nearby. Staff helped us buying bus tickets back to Geneva.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com booked our room as 4 adults, instead of a family with 2 children. Because of that, we would not get free breakfast for children offered by the hotel. Staff was extremely understandable and friendly. They changed the reservation so we could get free breakfast for our children. Next time I will be sure I reserve with Mercure hotel directly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fridge in the room would have been handy.

    Excellent location and a great base to explore the beautiful mountains around Chamonix. Good value for money and it was a good room size to accommodate the 4 of us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    The location was very good, the property was well kept, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the configuration of the room, there was no air circulation in the bed alcove and sleeping was difficult even with only a bed sheet. The interior of the hotel itself was way too warm and I commented on this to the reception staff but there wasn't much interest shown. There were some issues in the restaurant when we were there with staff yelling at other staff, customers complaining and staff crying. The cooking station was really not able to be used by us due to these confrontations.

    The location was very good, the property was well kept, nice bar and lounge area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a building across the street that was old and dilapidated. The room was remodeled though. Maybe they had just acquired the new building. The room was perfect though. Some front desk people were nice and some not so nice and a bit sarcastic.

    The location was fantastic. Some staff members and the size of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is in a beautiful location, just a few things would have made it perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely hot, and wish the hotel had air-con. We had an issue with parking, where our request for a space had not been received (with 2 disabled guests this was an issue), but we managed to resolve it with underground car parking allocated. Although if you have a very small car, this would be suitable. I had to undertake a 20 point turn to get the car in the only space available, and was quite apprehensive about getting it out.

    We liked the rooms we were allocated, across the road from the main hotel, as they had terrific views. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom, although small, was quite adequate for a one night stay. Our cases were taken over to the hotel from the reception, which was appreciated. Breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Chaminox amazing place to go and would stay at the mecure again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, breakfast way too expensive for adults and especially for children over 6, 19euro! Car park too expensive , wi fi available, but not great. Go out for breakfast if you stay here and use public car park next door

    Room was nice, plenty of room for family of 4, bar was nice, nice decor throughout hotel , mountain view room amazing, staff where lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that my Accor priviledge card would not be even acknowledged because I booked the room from booking.com. Both Mercure and booking.com should inform travelers of this.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely base for Gorgeous Chamonix
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Staff overwhelmed by coach parties, both at reception and especially at breakfast. The hotel needs to plan more staff at breakfast peak times and also rethink the set-up, like not just having one half-working toaster and one person trying to cook all eggs and pancakes to order.

    Lovely room, very well set up for a family with separate sleeping areas. Great decor throughout the hotel. Good location. Kettle in room, nice small balcony, comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    I enjoyed my time in Chamonix, nice location and good weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and mountain views
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Negative attitude or replies from one of the desk staff, and non avalability of iron in the room and hotel could not arrange for five days !!! No cooperation no positive reply.

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice Hotel in good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good Location: close to Train Station, City and cable Cars. Friendly personell. Very nice room (Prestige) with Mont blanc view and Little balcony! Nice decoration, all Mountain themes. Storage for luggage and gear.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small for four of us (though comfortable)....fortunately we didn't spend much time inside.

    The views from the balcony were breathtaking. We had one dinner and it was fabulous. Underground secure parking was a bonus. Walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Average, 'meh' stay at high prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a sore disappointment. At 19.50 per person, it was ridiculous priced for what was offered, plus no discounts for children. The 'chef' at the omelette station served us burnt omelettes, with an attitude. Anything to do with food or drinks were over-priced and we wish we had gone down the road to the city center with much better food options.

    Spacious rooms, fabulous location, Nice views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Good night sleep but don't take breakfast unless you are hungry to death
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain Views (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small reception had to wait for a long time to check in. Receptionist recommended to take a breakfast . It was ..horrible... bnb 2 stars would do better. Hotel worker told me they were expecting a big group after that's why they don't prepare the normal breakfast ( don't know what that means)

    Stayed in the family room , 3 adults, 1 infant (13months old) , a very short distance to ccenter. Underground parking ( very small so if you have a big car or not used to with narrow European road be careful )

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Great view and location but........
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    35 degree temperatures with no air-conditioning & especially NO REFRIGERATOR. Room was to small, couldn't open the balcony door properly as it hit the bed. No bathroom amenities. As we had made this booking 6 months earlier, we felt others were given priorities and we were given what was left.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Give this one a miss! And do NOT use car park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park full(we'd booked parking) and so small could not turn car around so almost completely burnt clutch out reversing uphill round 90 degree ramp only a few inches wider than the car. Staff not knowledgeable about venues in town. Toilet seat replaced but not fitting.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: