Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Charing Cross 3 stars

39, rue Pasquier, 8th arr., 75008 Paris, France

#1451 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy. I was cold as there was only a blanket and not a duvet on the bed and the bedspread kept falling off in the night. There was no hot water (had I been warned I would have changed my booking). Wifi was €5 euros, I only found out when I checked out that it was included in the room. There was road work going on in the street which went on until 11pm, I was then woken by the bin men at 5am! I didn't bother with the breakfast because it was €12.

    The location is good, close to St Lazarre. I was given a discount because of the problems during my stay. The bathroom had a good supply of towels. There was a kettle and tea bags.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is extremely rude. They were harrasing us the next day trying to charge us more money after they said werent allowed to stay in a room with our 2 children after having told us we were allowed the day before.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The worst hotel we’ve ever stayed in. Rooms are tiny, old and unclean. All extra facilities are for additional pay (WiFi, safe). Not suitable for babies at all

    The location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    do not put high hope of the hotel (2-3 star hotel) but overall it was great and okay. nice & friendly staff. nice area. near to metro station - St Lazare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds had bedbucks. So please don’t sleep there!! You can better pay slightly more than having bumps all over your body

    I think the hotel is very close to the centre of Paris

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a terrible experience. We booked a room for two persons, but for some reasons we had an extra bed which reduced space of the room. Room was in a bad condition. Photos of the room were much better than it was in reality. Personnel on the reception was unfriendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning and the small room with no windows

    The room very old with no windows at all or emergency exit, the room not safe at all and didn’t meet the health and safety standards. The room very dirty with very old carpet which smell bad. The bed sheet and blanket very light and old too. It says on advertis that it’s free WiFi and in hotel they ask for charge The only good thing about this hotel is the location .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but still comfortable if you do a lot of things in the city and go back to the hotel just to sleep or have a bath.

    The Staff was really nice and helpful !! Also the hotel was very near the St.Lazare metro station which takes you everywhere. I also liked the balcony view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I paid for my room while making a reservation, the hotel also requested payment. I originally said I would return the payment, but the hotel still hasn't returned it to me. How come you don't return the money after two weeks?

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi did not work properly, kids in the room next to mine were partying and I heard it very clearly and the place needs an uplift (dirty carpets) But: ok

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and shabby, thin plastic cups in the room for hot drinks, no milk provided so only black tea and coffee.

    Location good near St Lazare. Comfortable beds and nice sheets. Staff generally helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have the problem with the payment because the hotel has take the money form my credit card 19,10. - 250 euros and also that, it has bloced this same amount ( 250 euros) until today. It is posible that I will pay twice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in a state of disrepair - filthy carpets and peeling/ flaking paint in the room. It struck me as a two star hotel rather than three...

    Location was absolutely perfect - close to key destinations and metro stations, lots of nice restaurants and bars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. There was no wifi on the 5th floor because the closest wifi router (w/o antennas) is located on the 3d floor. 2. The rooms are small

    The location is good if you want to go shopping in Galeries Lafayette

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpets were in need of a good deep cleaning. That being said - the hotel over all was clean and well kept.

    The staff was amazing. Everyone at the front desk was welcoming and even though our stay was short, they knew us by name!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drama between the booking and hotels when they offer you the hotel you will see Totally different in every thing and the price is was not the same witch off by booking

    Just Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked different than on photos, it was very small and the temperature in room was higher than outside and it was hard to breathe!

    The room was clean and bathroom was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and humid and no air conditioning. There are no fans in the room that contribute to the humidity in the room. The breakfast was expensive for the value of the food when you could go elsewhere for the same price and get more. You had to pay extra for wifi only to be kicked off every couple hours. They insisted cleaning the rooms everyday even though it states in a sign that they change the bed sheets every 3 days and was not necessary. You can get a do not disturb sign, but they will still come in the room. You have to leave the your key at the desk when leaving. They were very nice, but appear to be in some financial trouble.

    The beds were nice and comfortable and there were fans. It was also near the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny, old and very uncomfortable room. No electric points in the room, so I had to place the kettle on the toilet in order to use the only one electric point in the bath. The fan was taped and fell almost apart. There were public works just in front of the hotel, so it was very loud. All in one, the hotel is not worth the money that it costs.

    Location is okay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion wifi at a hotel should be free of charge.

    In Paris you pay for location. The location is excellent. Near a subway and bus station and just a five minute walk from Madelaine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect accommodation in great neighborhood! Staff very kind and helpful! The room was very clean and smelled really nice! Location EXCELLENT!! I recomend this hotel, we had great time there :) :) :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not expected, the facilities its very old, the bathroom have a weird smell, the room is very old. Need a new renovation.

    The staffs are really nice, friendly and helpful. The lobby it very simple and classic. Very good location. The housekeeping is very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were very noisy construction works just outside the hotel. It was impossible to sleep or work in the morning, in fact it was impossible to stay in the whole day. The hotel should have warned about it before accepting the booking. The Internet is for additional payment, rather weird for 2017.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to make the shower work. Had to pay for wifi. Room was dusty. Room was very small.

    Everything was mediocre except the location and pleasant concierges.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot I would have preferred 3 single beds rather than a double & single Hotel was very loud

    The staff were very helpful The coffee was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty much everything. Good room, warm and clean. Very well situated. I highly recommend it. Hotel staff super friendly. I took a 9 year old boy and everything went very well, I was late arriving at the hotel and I had no problems.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please read the negative reviews of this hotel prior to booking. These are an accurate assessment of this hotel. We stayed here looking for a boutique Parisien hotel. This is not. It is a 1 star hotel. The staff are helpful, however the hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. I would strongly suggest spending a little extra and staying in a hotel where you will enjoy Paris.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was full of insects and very dirty, we had to change our room, the bed sheets were also dirty! For the prive we paid, it was really bad. It was the worst experience ever! I dont recommand this hotel at all! Will never go back again.

    Nothing at all! The worst hotel ever!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and grim. The walls and bathroom were in desperate need of decorating. The room was full of dust everywhere. No air conditioning, they had a fan on which didn't blow any air, it was like being in reverse. The bath tub was very dangerous - it was high and slippery. No non slip mats were provided. The Wi-Fi was non-existent. I was warned that the signal on the 6th floor would be poor, however when I went downstairs it was no better. The man at the desk restarted it twice and I still couldn't connect. He said he was able to connect and it was fine, at which point he stopped trying. There was absolutely no urgency or concern in his mind that a customer couldn't access the network. A service which you have to pay extra I might add. You can do much better else where. This is not a 3 star hotel. Very disappointed.

    The location was good but nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and bathroom looked a tiny bit tired, but for the location and price is more than liveable with.

    Comfy bed, well equipped for the price, staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and not clean enough

    Bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi need to be paid in extra price. Water pressure for shower is relatively low.

    Good location. Near metro station. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, room very basic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small .

    Close to train metro bus station (Saint Lazarre) walking distance to Galerie Lafayette

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and kitch bedroom, awful view

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask me for credit my card instead of i paid from booking.com before.

    Cheap price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is the worst

    Nothing at all very bad and arrogant staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    location is centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and excellent location and staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value fore money Superb location Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small dirty hotel room

    A good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying Wifi seriously?! Breakfast terrible Mattress old and not confortable Terrible style in decoration

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow wi-fi network

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Very small room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value and location!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .....

    Very nice and helpful owner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small.

    Great and very helpfull hotel staff, also the location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Location, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit in interior.

    Great location. Location does matter in Paris. And it was clean. Cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flexibility to check in early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never again! It's horrible!

    Only location mattered for me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but it wouldn't stop me staying here again

    Location of the hotel was very good and location felt safe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not free

    The staff were really helpful. The location was so great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi internet is not free, we need to pay 5 euro to get the wifi access.

    Best location, good services, really clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It has bed bugs, it is not clean.

    It is in a nice neighbourhood .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy late at night when trying to sleep with children

    Fantastic friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like smoke

    No hot water room 508.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    staff were warm and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and convenient with good transport links close by.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds

    The best thing was the owner "David " he was such a great person and was helping us all the time to get the best of Paris

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is excellent! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for wifi

    Was convenient location for my various trips out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was horrible inside of hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Nice and close to station, well placed in Paris, nice clean tidy room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Save 10 % - Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tempreature of the room

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of. Got what I paid for.

    Perfect location. Centre of Paris but did not notice any noise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and it is old fashion decorated.

    Location is the best thing that hotel offers

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist used to smoke at his desk at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Save 10% - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location and staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Save 10% - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet

    Location,

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: