Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons 4 stars

81 Cours Saint-Louis, 33300 Bordeaux, France

#51 of 69 hotels in Bordeaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 616 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel with difficult access by car. Room was clean but the equipment was tired.

    The hotel is in a part of Bordeaux that I did not know and the exploration was very satisfying, but it is far from the normal centre of Bordeaux. There are several good restaurants about 15 minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants did seem extra flaky. Great breakfasts every morning and we had one of our best evening meals in France at the Chateau. The landscaping was immaculate and breathtaking. We loved the black swans.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel didn't receive my booking. Be aware that there is nothing to do around the hotel. No nearby tramstation to the Centre

    The bed was excellent. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This Hotel is dedicated to Conference Clients and Continental Coach Party Tours. Located in a quiet Suburb of Bordeaux it is not convenient for Individual Tourists. Our Dinner experience there was a disaster.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Catering facilities. Staff seemed tense and not enjoying their roles. Food -breakfact ok but hot food ooptions served cold. Evening menu restrictive. Not an offering which would retain the customer inhotel but encourage search for external options

    beds very confortable. Rooms ok. parking good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The distance to the tram is a bit long, 10 minutes walking.

    Excellent parking under the hotel, just €10 per day. A choice between full breakfast €17 or a continental, but still ample, at €8 is a good solution for a family with teenagers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel internal signage or lack of at the start of the stay could have been clearer.,

    The breakfast provided consisted of a wide variety of dishes, well stocked with quality ingredients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were cordial, but they were not forthcoming with information on tourist information, maps, recommendations on dinner, etc. Customer service could be improved to allow a more positive introduction to the property, amenities offered and location to local attractions and transport options. There were only two small pillows on the bed for our use. Room and bathroom were very small for the price of the accommodation. Hallway to the room was very intimidating. Poor use of colour (very dark and uninviting) and the smell of the of hallway was very poor. No elevator to/from parking garage (or at least it was not obvious), so taking bags to the car was difficult. Towels were small and not soft. Not many were provided, so we had to request additional (2 small bath towels and 2 small hand towels). Shower was combined with extremely small bath tub. I had to keep feet really close together to stay under shower head. Recommend shower curtain rather than the little glass partition. Also, the shower was very small and is not accommodating for anyone over 6ft due to height of partition and shower head. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night (1am). No alarm sounded within the room. Overheard alarm outside in hallway. Tried to call reception or other numbers for guidance, as we were confused, but all lines were busy. There was no explanation provided upon check out as to what had happened. Breakfast had a good variety, but was expensive for what was offered and the level of service received. The coffee machines caused large lines of people. Recommend that a server visit tables with an option of filtered coffee and carafe of tea to take strain out of the actual machines which can be used for specialty coffees. Scrambled eggs were runny; bacon was cold.

    Complimentary bottle of water was nice upon arrival into room. The kettle was nice and the minibar was fully stocked. Breakfast had a good variety, but it was expensive for what was offered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was dated and shabby and used predominately by groups, especially coach parties. All the corridors had a really 'sweaty' smell, while just outside the door of the hotel there was a smell of bins and fish having gone off! The area is quite far from any tourist streets and is quiet at night. This stay was sold as a luxury deal by booking.com but was anything but! This is not a 4 or even 3 star. The pillows were thin, lumpy and served little purpose , even when using 2. The towels were also really thin. All in all this was a very disappointing experience for the amount of money paid. I have stayed in many hotels with a lower rating and less expensive for far more comfort. A waste of money!

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of town location, although tram stop is around 15 minute walk. Some of the surrounding streets were a little run down so had to keep to the main streets when walking back at night.

    Lovely rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. Great in room facilities. Interesting art work all around the hotel. Perfect for a weekend away or business trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacked in options like muesli and oats. They also didn't offer soy milk.

    My room was very spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. Loved the option of express breakfast at the bar . Desk staff very friendly, goof and wine good. Only negative -airport transport- the choice of either taxi or 2 buses not good.the city needs an airport shuttle to hotels

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor of the hotel is very 80s - could do with refurbishment. A fitness suite with a wet zone would be nice - jaccuzzi, steam room, etc.

    The restaurant was very good - attentive staff, good choice, reasonably priced. Very nice bathroom. Copious breakfast. Baby friendly - high chair, cot...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front staff Manager Mrs Rougi and front office Kristin were excessively rude when i asked to change my plans. Most hotel staff accomodate guests when possible. I was a prior manger at Hyatt .( I know what manager have the ability to do).This front office group did the contraire. Poor mannered and poorly trained. The only guests I saw were large Chinese tour groups. This is a very old (70s) style hotel that hasn't been renovated. Halls smell like stale bread. Rooms are tired and dusty. There are so many lovely hotels in Bordeaux. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

    Bed was comfortable and very quiet. ( Hotel was empty).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive breakfast (we didn't have it); would have liked an inexpensive continental breakfast, such as a coffee and croissant (which we found about 10 minutes walk away, for 4 euros). Some hotels offer free city maps; would have been nice.

    Good dinner, pretty good value. Disabled parking space in front of hotel was much appreciated. Bedside lamps with a discreet spotlight: a good idea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Hotel is 2.2km into the centre of Bordeaux. You can get a tram but the Hotel is an 8 minute walk from both tram routes. Always no scrambled eggs left for breakfast. Colour scheme bit overwhelming...

    Breakfast was good, the room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Very nice refreshments for our meeting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast compared to the price (no freshly-squeezed orange juice the 2nd day, bad eggs made out of powder), bad quality shower/cream accessories.

    Nice bed & shower

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We spent eight nights in this hotel in August and I made the big mistake of choosing two superior rooms. I say mistake because I thought I would benefit from extra comfort. I chose the superior rooms after I analyzed photos published on booking.com. Disillusion was terrible. On the first day the receptionist Timothee has provided us rooms 353 and 354, interconnected rooms (I denied this option when I made the booking) that hasn’t any connection with images published on booking.com for superior rooms. Horrible was that the space for the toilet (the toilet has a separated small room without sink, only with the wc inside, without any connection with the rest of bathroom) was very tight and has no ventilation, placed at the entrance, and to wash your hands after using the toilet had to go across the room. The room was ridiculously small and uncomfortable, totally unfit for a "superior" to a 4 * hotel in the Accor network, looked more like “Ibis budget”. I asked the receptionist to give us the appropriate room reserved a month ago and paid in advance, but we were explained that the spaces we received were the superior rooms reserved. I asked to see the standard rooms, however, to my surprise the standard were presented as the photos presentation to "superior”. I didn’t had the nerves to argue with the staff I was too tired, but the morning after a night in those terrible conditions offered as "superior", after I met all the "advantages" of rooms: dirty walls and peeling wallpaper etc., we tried again to get booked rooms and, surprise, this time, after talking with another person at reception, after I showed photos of presentation and I explained that I booked superior room overlooking the city and received some unsuitable rooms overlooking the park lots, we found that actually superior rooms on the site are presented as "Privilege".

    Coffee

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice hotel let down by its location and the staff though pleasant, were not really on top of the travel options, for example did not know the tram line was undergoing work or how long to get to the airport on the bus.

    a lovely quiet, comfortable room and a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift going up from the parking garage to the ground floor, so you will have to make your way up some flights of stairs to take the elevator from there. The hotel seems older than the photos suggest.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a bit small for a 4 start hotel. You need to walk 15+minutes in order to go to the city center.

    The restaurant downstairs is very good. Good environment, good food and low price. View of the garden is also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior is very old. Not modern and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy street -

    "Pemium" room was large - nice facilities (separate toilet, bath+shower, etc) -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very good experience over all staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the view on the wall was very depressing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bordeaux food is very delicious! And wines are very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants and coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very slow internet no beauty products in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was amazingly comfy, and our dog was allowed in the restaurant, which was a huge bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water wasn't very hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell wasn't good in the room, and the parking is to expensive

    The food at the bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated

    Excellent staff and convenient parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location with exceptionally helpful staff who spoke excellent English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location too far from city center - and 10 minute walk to tram; but is close to wine museum.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the major attractions. Restaurant wasn't very pleasant.

    Staff was really helpful. Nice sized room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor wifi connection The poor air conditioning system No hot breakfast on our second day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the room is kinda old and the smell of the room was weird.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dont like the single beds pushed together in mercure hotels.Very easy to slip between when sex

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated needed a refresh

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor looks a bit dated

    Beds were comfy, plenty choice at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was tepid at night Lighting poorin bedroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Good hotel with car park and convenient location for river port

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Although the hotel was not in a great area its distance from the city centre was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room old and various things broken

    Super breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs empty ... Not refilled until we were ready to leave.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful, its in a nice location and quite quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some what of a walk to the city center.

    The room was very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel states it has air conditioning when we arrived it was so hot in our room and was told they was not turning the air conditioning on.

    The hotel was clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 205 was extremely noisy from kitchen fans right up until 22.30.This would have been totally unacceptable if we had been wanting to use the room during the day, instead of just overnight.

    excellent room service meal

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That I can't be there more often!!!

    It was so super easy to stay there!! It feels like home!! Everything is available and within reach; it is easy to get to the restaurant, the front desk, the bar lounge, the parking etc

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff woke up my 93-year old grandmother-in-law at 2:00 AM. They made her get dressed and switch rooms. The staff offered little apology for the horrifying inconvenience. The next morning, the hotel management was disrespectful with those of us who tried to solicit a reimbursement and an apology. Their arrogance was shocking. Avoid the Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons at all costs.

    The hotel entrance is bright and attractive. Unfortunately the rooms don't live up to the promise.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the beds (2 singles) a little narrow and hard to sleep on as the divans were not soft and giving under body weight.

    We liked the location near to the river and town, an easy 20 min walk to the centre. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location is far away from the airport and very bad experience to the tram. the city is closed at sunday, important to manage your schedule.

    nice room and food.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was awful. Really bad food could not even cut or chew meat. They replaced it with a Ceasars salad and the chicken was really tough. The choice on menu very limited and they had run out of many options

    Car park very convenient and was within walking distance of tram top and could walk into city centre in half an hour.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a short bus ride to town - not walking distance. V Slow internet connection - could not upload photos to facebook etc.

    Everything!! Lovely free breakfast. Massive bed! Friendly staff. Handy little supermarket just across the road.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. It was great to have a hotel with it's own car park, and although you have to walk a few minutes to the tram, it is all level.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location in the middle of nowhere and if you like a huge ikea like building- this is just the ticket. Not the hotel's fault but reviewers and Booking .com etc have no true references for the star ratings- paid way too much thinking that this was 4 star of say old Michelin criteria

    The staff was helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were really small. The elevator from the parking garage to reception was down had to use stairs. Walked to an area recommended by reception for dinner. Most places closed and run down. We took the trolley to center of town which is way better.

    Cheap.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, had problem with wifi reception in bedroom. So was offered A change of room. Car parking was easy and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful throughout our visit over the easter bank holiday. The receptionist Maxime was especially helpful, providing myself and husband with advice on restuarants which were all fantastic. All staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is approx. 5 - 7 mins walk from the train station near the marina. It is slightly outside the tourist centre however this was not a problem as it was very easy to travel in/out ( in a matter of a few minutes). The hotel is was very clean. Myself and my husband had an enjoyable stay of 3 nights at Mecure hotel and we would recommend. It has many resturants nearby and approx. 20 mins walk into the main centre.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decorations in the room very brown

    Hotel is a little dated but location was good

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did NOT dislike anything

    Yes the bed was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacking attention to detail

    The confortable bed

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Saturday morning breakfast was some kind of xtra staff with no clue ...

    Quiet area, very comfortable beds, breakfast buffet, nice staff and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little further from the centre than we thought.

    Large underground car park

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only minor issue with the odour in corridors

    Size of room. Quietness of room Range of breakfast options

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found several hairs in the bed. The welcome envelope, which was on my bed, had been opened before.

    Nice large room, toilet separate from bathroom

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely short walk to the centre, beautiful architecture and well kept fountains and parks.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a large bed but it just two single bed put together. There still have a gap in the middle which is very uncomfortable

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    not much

    The comfortable bed, the spacious room, the separate shower (instead of showering in a batch tub) & the Nespresso coffee machine

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: