Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau d'Augerville 5 stars

Place du Chateau, 45330 Augerville-la-Rivière, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Augerville-la-Rivière

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utterly appaling service at breakfast with cold, solidified, inedible scrambled egg, cold bacon, cold stewed coffee and and lukewarm hot milk full of skin. Requests for remedial action produced a rude response and management did not care when failings brought specifically to their to attention with photographs. No action and no apology. Just not acceptable in a 5 star hotel.

    Wonderful dinner with magnificent service. A special evening. Excellent spar. How can evening service be so good and breakfast SO dreadful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues: interestingly enough our room was not ready until 04:00pm. Not a big deal but it’s later than in other hotels. Given the cold climate of these days, a slightly warmer room would have been appreciated.

    Overall it’s a beautiful place, with very attentive, professional and kind personnel. The Spa, the restaurant, the rooms and the atmosphere are very well suited for a romantic weekend in this area of France.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We stayed in a beautifully furnished room in the Chateau's annex. Impeccable service from the waiters at the gastronomic restaurant - they treated us practically like royalty. The whole place has been expertly renovated. The on-sight spa was clean, new and well-functioning. Beautiful grounds around the chateau

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that they were using plastic-backed mattress protectors. A hotel of this calibre should stick to cotton!

    We loved the castle, the atmosphere, the friendly staff, the food and the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, as usual in France, the quality of the mattress and bed linens were not in accordance with the price of the room nor with the image they want to project and yet it is such an important part of being in a room.

    Everything except the bed. Large rooms, modern bathrooms (although the hot water supply was lacking - hot/cold/hot/cold), great view over the golf course, beautiful appointed rooms in the main floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible bedding (I had springs in my back all night), poor view of the parking lot, and breakfast buffet with cold pancakes (deepfreeze?) and bad service.

    Lovely Castle in a beautiful area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically asked for dinner outside when we made reservation earlier that day. No problem they said. We double checked when we checked in. Of course they said. When time for dinner came we could not sit outside. They were not able to serve us. The weather was great. This was very disappointing.

    Beautiful castle, with a great on site restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could only stay one night. Wanted to stay more.

    The location. The staff, friendly and efficient The restaurant, excellent food and attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my own fault that I did not realise that we would be staying in an annex, but being told we had to eat in the outside restaurant was too much.

    This is a wonderful chateau, but we were disappointed after check-in to discover that our rooms were in the annex (I had not realised this when booking) and we could not eat in the chateau restaurant as it was booked out, so we had to eat in the restaurant on the grounds. It was like booking into a chateau and being told to eat and sleep in an outhouse. When I complained on the second day that guests should have access to the chateau dining room, we were allowed to eat there on the second night. But overall, we were dissatisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent staff, took the time to show me my room, and gave me a hystory lesson about the chateau. It showed that the crew loved working here. The complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room was much appreciated. The view over the golf course was mesmerizing! I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ended at 9:30am. We arrived at 9:15am (my husband let me sleep in) and the staff person was quite annoyed. She made a lot of noise. The food was already quite cold. It's a little thing considering the place and wonderful deal you get to stay there. But having been a server myself once upon a time, I knew that she didnt need to make the amount of noise (she didn't even clear the tables, but just moved things around, so I assume it was just annoyance at us.)

    Upon our arrival, we were told they had upgraded us to the castle itself (note there are 14 bedrooms there and the rest are in the cottages around the castle.) The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The history and premises (including paintings, beams, mote, gates, furnishings) feel like you've gone back in time. We really enjoyed our dinner and found the place really charming and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived for breakfast half an hour before the end, and when we wanted to get a second cup of coffee, there was none left. Everything was removed just before ten o'oclock by the rather unfriendly serving lady!

    We love this beautiful castle hotel. The rooms are superb, the food excellent and the facilities simply wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh fruit juice for breakfast please !

    Very nice hotel. Simple but very chic decoration. Lovely place. Very nice staff. Great golf course and great spa.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee making facilities - mini bar but no glasses! Bath no separate shower cubicle only hand held although could have had a party for 100 in the bathroom as so large!

    Staff extremely helpful, rooms very large and clean, well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunatly unless you are a Golfer there is very little if nothing to do during your stay here.. Whilst there are huge grounds more could have been done to establish walking trails on the grounds and bicycles could have been made available to explore the surrounding small villages. Maybe even a 'Putting Green' that was open to all guests and not just Golfers.

    We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding we attended close by. The location is stunning. Huge grounds, magnificent Chateau and historical setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have had some outside seating that was not just uncomfortable metal chairs on the terrace. A few loungers in a quiet corner or even park type benches with views of the chateau and surroundings. As it was we felt that we had to go out rather than enjoy the atmosphere of the place. Maybe we need to take up golf.

    The whole ambience was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single facility included. No gym or pool. You have to pay on top 30 euro for Spa. No refreshments in the room like water, tea and coffee. All very basic for a hotel with 4 stars.

    Beautifull big rooms. Very nice spot with inpressive building. Good breakfast and kids eat for free.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do there, except golfing. The SPA is charged separately and no swimming pool is available. If you are not going to play golf,not worth going at all...

    Nice staff...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an amazing medivial French castle. Though we travelled as a group, I can imagine this to be a lovely location for a honeymoon. We stayed in a junior suite and we stayed in Chamber 1 which has a lovely fire place. And if you golf, this is the perfect place. Hire a car though and you should visit the nearby Chateau d Fontanablue and the morning market on Thurs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Golf course is fantastic, played great golf

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    All that you would expect from a grand chateau.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Breakfast and Free Access to the GOLF - Unlimited according to availability
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service is really great. Rooms are big and comfortable. The restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed the real baguettes during the breackfast

    The 'French Cuisine' is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average rooms. Surly staff. Slow service.

    Great golf course.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flash Sale Traditional Room with Breakfast and Access to SPA
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel from every point of view. Will always go back. Lovely staff, great food, superb rooms etc etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The SPA is not included! 30€ per person!

    Very nice staff, great place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were outstanding. On site restaurant: food and prices were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. And your staff was outstanding!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE PEOPLE WHO WORKING THERE. FÁBIO , PAOLO E MUNIERE.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great stay!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room away from main building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was plainly bad, nothing natural in it, orange juice from a can, hot chocolate which tasted like diluted Nesquik and also there was an appalling lack of fruit. The room's furniture and decoration suffered from a huge lack of charm, it was plain, I expected it to be old in a good way with antique furniture but it was just old. The interior of the Château lacked grandeur in every floor but the ground level and the elevator made awful sounds. The room service was never on time, they were 30 minutes late for a breakfast scheduled at 9:00 a.m. They also forgot my dinner altogether, I had to go all the way to the reception to know why my food hadn't arrive after 1 hour and a half only to find out they had forgotten my order. They did fix it and promptly delivered the meal to my room with complimentary champagne and an apology from the person who had forgotten it. The menu options at their restaurant are so limited that if you don't like foie gras, fish or beef, you are left with no options for food.

    The room was big and with lots of light, the views to the golf course were nice. The exterior of the Château was grand and beautiful, and the gardens kind of dreamy. The reception workers were kind and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good and so was the wine even though the items on the menu were very limited.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Meal at dinner was served cold and overall was not very good. Meal selection could be improved.

    Overall ambiance. Beautiful property with nice quite setting. Dinning areas for both breakfast and dinner were nicely appointed.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa was not open as building work had not been finalised Breakfast was disappointing

    Stunning setting, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular location, amazing Chateau and the staff were fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit overpriced to my opinion

    A beautiful castle surrounded by green fields, very romantic

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Patio not open. No area to sit outside. Shower leaking.

    Lovely clean, new decor in room (#25). Modern bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very helpful staff fabulous breakfast amazing location

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    remote location.

    The tranquil environment , the castle, the garden and the golf . Breakfast is good, better still if included in the room rate.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort, cleanliness, size of suite, bathroom and bedroom. Very friendly staff. Good food, good wine list. Overall, great location.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Chateau d'Augerville traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: