Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau d'Ayres - Les Collectionneurs 4 stars

Les Ayres, 48150 Meyrueis, France

#7 of 9 hotels in Meyrueis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Old glory with lots of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old glory that needs a refurbishing inside quite urgently. It’s 20 km away from the kayak rentals, which can be also an advantage because the town is not as crowded as other closer to the Tarn river.

    The surroundings are great; it’s placed in the middle of a natural environment where you can only hear the birds and the breeze rocking the giant redwood trees in the front garden. The building is an old Benedictine monastery that keeps all its character. The staff is nice and helpful. They serve fine cuisine at the restaurant. Nice outdoor pool and entertaining areas with billards, table tennis, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsidelamp and spotlight in bathroom didn't work.

    Location is beautiful. Personel are helpful and forthcoming. Room was very nice with the best hotelbed I have ever slept in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    We were amazed by the beauty of the surroundings and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all.

    We were amazed by the beauty of the surroundings and the beautiful chateau. The exceptional, helpful and friendly staff were wonderful and nothing seemed like too much trouble. The restaurant offered a memorable dining experience with a plentiful and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    It was unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small for us as we used to sleep in King size bed, so I was afraid to feel out of it, but it was comfortable and it would not stop me from staying here again.

    It was unique experience. It is castle and is very very interesting place to stay. Lovely hosts, it was nothing too much to ask him. We arrived late and we have been looked after very well. Restaurant was closed, but he arranged meat and cheese platter with wine for us. Pool was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    lovely charming accommodation, delightful place to stay. lots to occupy children (indoor and outdoor pool, table tennis, table football, pool), dinner served in the garden, serene

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    Far too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the site were very deceptive, and did not correspond to our room. Bathroom was very dated. Far too expensive for what it is.

    The staff was very helpful and helped carrying luggage to the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Charming, off the beaten path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was not available in the room; had to wander around the public rooms in search of a signal. Nice to maintain the historical charm, but rooms (especially bathrooms) need a little modernizing.

    Great location for touring natural areas Tarn / Cevennes. Very quiet, charming, fascinating history. Nice indoor pool. Nice public areas in main floor with conversation spaces and games for families. Dinner in restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Though we took "the long route," it was beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though we took "the long route," it was beautiful and well worth the trip! The chateau is lovely and the food was fantastic ! The staff and proprietors were very friendly and helpful! Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel which is let down by the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing dinner. The chef is clearly ambitious but the dishes were too complex and lacked flavour. But good wines!

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, la grotte d’Aven Armand was beautiful. The dinner was long and the taste was Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food

    The park, the pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    The Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Will not return unless hotel is refurbished and food improves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration very tired. Resteraunt disappointing and over priced given quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture in need of repair Hallways a little bit lacking light

    Garden Terrace Pool Game rooms Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and beautiful chateau and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant Wi-fi variable

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Croissants were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was disappointing. There was no choice for the main course on the €35 menu, although the first and dessert were both delicious and well presented.

    Croissants were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    We were warmly welcomed by the couple running the B&B...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were warmly welcomed by the couple running the B&B and loved our stay in their magical house. Very clean and charming room, excellent breakfast and smooth booking process. Highly recommend for any family, couple or single passing through the area.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.9
    The setting and chateau are stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However, other than in our bedroom, which was very cosy, we were cold, and the two fires that were lit were ineffective. This made breakfast and dinner, although plentiful and delicious an uncomfortable experience. I also found it strange that a charge was made for use of the pool.

    The setting and chateau are stunning. The staff, including the owner and his family were courteous, and the food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff bent over backwards to make us - a group of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff bent over backwards to make us - a group of English friends, feel fully welcome for the their wonderfully French New Year event . Highly friendly and courteous across the board, and I do not often say this. The food was great, the rooms excellent value for money, and the location great as a base for exploring the beautiful Cevennes countryside. We can't wait to return in the Summer when it's clear we will have a totally different but no less unique quality experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    4.2
    interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very basic for the price. they should close out of season as we were the only guest in the hotel. Facilities very basic and the hotel was cold.

    interesting place.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went down for a drink before dinner and couldn't find a soul anywhere. But soon all hands were on deck, a fire lit and all was well.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the grounds and the chateau all covered with autumn colored vines. Our room had the highest ceiling we've seen and a lovely view to the front garden. Dinner was in a beautiful wood panelled room, right in front of the fire. It was delicious and graciously served by the young woman who also checked us in and carried our suitcase upstairs. She was the heart and soul of the place in our experience.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Everything - this place is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing. Wish I was back there now...!

    Everything - this place is fabulous. Old, traditional French Château, staff were superb and the restaurant was awesome..

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    6.7
    Staff were excellent the food was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness of the room left much to be desired, fixtures and fitting were not as the preview of the room on the website depicted

    Staff were excellent the food was superb.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.5
    Very peaceful surrounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small old towels - definitely not 4 star standard! Basic breakfast, awful coffee. Should not have to pay for indoor pool on top of high accommodation cost!

    Very peaceful surrounds. Very good lunch and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    4.6
    Overpriced for what we were charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced for what we were charged. Food was not very good despite the hefty price. Poor value for money. Would not go there again.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.1
    House and friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner very expensive and not very satisfactory

    House and friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.2
    The whole place is like going back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular

    The whole place is like going back in time. Every corner has a story. The restaurant is also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Property felt tired and dull.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive for what it is

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.3
    lovely comfortable beds, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a place for a stopover.

    lovely comfortable beds, quiet. Nice surroundings. Lovely cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    The room was comfortable and food was pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was very erratic.

    The room was comfortable and food was pretty good.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: