Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château d'Urtubie 3 stars

RD 810, 64122 Urrugne, France

#2 of 11 hotels in Urrugne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Where history meets elegant accommodation to create memorable moments
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This was our second visit and we look forward to returning again.

    We very much enjoy the opportunity to stay in a this ancient Château, maintained so sympathetically by the owner, Le comte Laurent de Coral (Laurent to his guests) a charming and knowledgeable custodian committed to the Château’s preservation. les seigneurs d’Urtubie, the Coral family have lived here for 24 generations, so it is more than accommodation as it provides guests with the unique experience of being part of living history. It is a memorable experience where one can feel quite at home, given the relaxed atmosphere created by the welcoming owner and attentive, friendly staff. The ambiance created by the elegant rooms and the splendid gardens makes one oblivious to any small imperfections (whatever they may have been - we didn’t notice). Situated approximately midway between Biarritz and San Sebastián (very close to Saint-Jean-de-Luz) with easy access to the connecting motorway the location is perfect for exploring the region and enjoying food heaven under the informed guidance of (“le châtelain”) Laurent, who has an intimate knowledge of where to dine in the region.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    very relaxing and enjoyable week at a beautiful chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very warm welcome from the Count who looked after us and was very helpful throughout our stay. Very friendly staff. Extremely relaxing atmosphere, beautiful gardens and the added bonus of a swimmng pool. An excellent holiday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    A memorable experience, will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Proximity of the Autoroute. A modern intrusion on the environment.

    Geographic location is special, the experience of spending a few nights in a 'donjon" or castle keep was very memorable as was the personal welcome by the owner. Excellent pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding chateau experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all excellent!!!!

    Gorgeous room in a beautiful chateau. The location was perfect to explore the wider area. Incredible value for the price to stay in a historic building. The breakfast was very good and the setting for it in the Hunting Room was special.The service and advice was beyond anything we have previously experienced. We highly recommend this as not just a place to stay, but also an amazing experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Not long enough and exceeded all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property on beautiful grounds! The owner was very nice and gave us a tour of the unique castle. I am surprised the price is so low, and will definitely come back for longer again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We will be returning and will recommend to all of our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ambience, tranquility and attention to detail were excellent. Lived up to our expectations of a privately owned historic French Chateau in every way. Service was impeccable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Our stay was much enjoyed and we would recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was on a very busy and noisy road. Breakfast was adequate but not special. As the chateau was open to the public, a small sitting-room for guests would be welcome should the weather be unsuitable for being outdoors.

    The fascinating old building with very interesting family history. Lovely extensive gardens and beautiful swimming pool. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant across the fields and a good one in the nearby village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Staying in a museum not really a guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner insisted on giving us a guided tour after a 7 hour journey and my wife was needing the toilet sink waste was not working and no hot water in the morning

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Lovely Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool was closed for the winter season, it wasn't made clear during the booking process.

    The owner gave us a guided tour and told us about the history of the chateau. We really appreciated this additional hospitality. I found the chateau owner and staff very charming and they gave us great recommendations for activities and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Guests in a French Chateau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was problematic, only available in public areas. I had to constantly re-register to the site to stay online, or go to the ground level at night to check/send mail. Given the historic nature of the place, I hesitate to mention that the water in the shower changed rapidly from cold to hot. OUr room had very dim light, with two burned out bulbs...but after mentioning the problem they were both replaced the next day.

    We were greeted by the owner, a charmIng man who has done a fine job turning his family Chateau into a historic monument with lovely rooms to stay in as well as a daily tour business. As guests of the hotel, a member of the Chateau et Hotels group, we never felt like we were staying in a public place, but rather that we were private guests of the family! Breakfast is lovely, served in the hunters room, and the grounds are great for wandering around. Laurent recommended several great restaurants for dinners and had maps and suggestions for touring the Basque coast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    A warm welcome in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea or coffee in the room would have been helpful, rather than having to go to the room at the bottom of the stairs.

    The Chateau is an incredible property and a real credit to the owner. The Count was very welcoming and helpful, especially with recommendations for days out and local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The ambience & the host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little to dislike.

    The ambience & the host

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    It’s authenticity
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little difficult to find

    It’s authenticity

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Greeting by host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting by host

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely historical castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner of the Chateau was very welcoming and helpful. The garden was neatly maintained and peaceful. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful garden, castle... owner Is friendly and will give you tips to enhance your stay in Urrugne.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    The accommodation with all its facilities, as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a little expensive.

    The accommodation with all its facilities, as well as the authenticity of the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    The owner greeted us when we checked in and gave us a tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner greeted us when we checked in and gave us a tour of the facilities, as well as a suggested game plan for places to visit. The whole experience was personal and unique.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    Character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fabulous just a shame it is so close to two major busy roads. This did not affect the stay as rooms were quiet

    Character. History. Facilities. Friendliness & curtasy of owner & staff

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    The owner met & greeted me in person on late arrival -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Chateau has lots of history behind, do not expect all the benefits of modern digital life :)

    The owner met & greeted me in person on late arrival - more like an old friend, not another hotel guest. Very kind!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    We visited both French (St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We visited both French (St. Jean de Luz, Bayonne,) and Spanish Basque regions( Bilbao and San Sebastián) and the Chateau was a perfect starting point for each. Our host, an authentic count, was so proud of his heritage and home that we almost felt a part of it all. Our room was magnificent with high ceilings and a great bathroom and bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    This is a unique property where your stay includes a guided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a unique property where your stay includes a guided tour of the historic public rooms. We were received by the owner personally and he was very helpful during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    A unique experience staying in someone's home, made to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A unique experience staying in someone's home, made to feel very welcome. Professional and first class service, lovely breakfast - didn't get chance to use the swimming pool but the grounds are fantastic place to relax

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Personal welcome, historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal welcome, historic building

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.5
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Perfect. The owner had a lift installed which was very welcome as I was not really capable of climbing steps after a recent major operation.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    The room was spacious and decorated old world .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was spacious and decorated old world . The proprietor was so helpful in giving us maps and route suggestions.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful and informative host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and informative host. Chateau ambience and experience. Swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff and history of the structure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Staff and history of the structure

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    A wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative comments

    A wonderful place to stay. The Count (owner)extremely welcoming. Quite an experience

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: