Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Bellefontaine 4 stars

49, Rue de Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France

#7 of 19 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1128 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.7
    Black and white swans in the lake, calm area, spacious room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more rather 3 star hotel, I feel that I have overpaid. The plan of 2 floor suite was strange, toilet one first floor, shower etc in second. The hairdryer it should be changed, it is more as decoration at the wall. (It had low energy). Bad television (if it is for somebody important) Tiles as a floor covering - very cold, and the room could not be heated up good enough. Radio didn’t work. I mean if there are things in room they should be in working condition otherwise it should be put away.

    Black and white swans in the lake, calm area, spacious room, good WIFI , noce surrounding

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water , coffee or tea in the room, difficult to get any of the above. The room was nothing compared to the photos that we had booked although they apologized there was nothing they could do . No working elevator our entire stay, minimal help, had to carry luggage up 3 flights of stairs Towels were very sub standard, and everything seemed to be on the cheap, small effort toward a few inexpensive details would have been nice.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    A lovely countryside accomadation in the Normandy region. Tres magifique!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was all good.

    We loved our 3 night stay at this quaint country estate, mini French chateau. Lovely setting with a tranquil waterway, ducks and swans as well as lovely flowers and garden in a calm country landscape just outside the town of Bayeux. We stayed in the stable converted to a contemporary European style hotel. very clean with kind and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast and dinner available. It was nice to start our day in the breakfast room and also end a long day of tours in the main dining room with a wonderful French cuisine. The location is perfect for trips to the Normandy sights, ie. St. Michel & the D-Day beaches and museums. I highly recommend a stay here to enjoy the Normandy region of France. Tres bien!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    A very nice, comfortable hotel with good accommodation, and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to criticise.

    The location is idyllic and just a ten minute walk to the town centre. Helpful staff and a good restaurant. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall a nice stay but would reconsider somewhere with fan or aircon in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air conditioner in the room. I felt a little stuffy in the room...

    I liked the friendliness of staff. Enjoyed my dinner. The grounds were very relaxing. Room was very nice but having no fan or aircon let this rating down...other than that I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay at this chateau hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken but we were offered a help for our luggage. The coffee and tea bags were missing in the hot drink making tray.

    Very pleasant stay at this chateau hotel. Quiet and a sense of private place as it should give. The room and the bathroom were very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet was on the first floor, bed on the third, shower on the second. Problem for an old guy that has to get up multiple times during the night. No wash cloths. No place to put soap in the shower except the floor. Breakfast was a very small cut above Hampton Inn. Did not have hot water at all one day.

    Grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Very nice room with view of trees, delicious breakfast with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room with view of trees, delicious breakfast with self cook pancakes. Dinner also very nice. Easy location to towns attractions, museums etc

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful Chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner was average and a bit pricey. The building is a little old, but is clean and nice.

    Gorgeous and charming chateaux with beautiful grounds and ambience. It was a pleasant stay. Free parking and no dog fee was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    An all round great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift was broken, which doesn't help folks even older than us getting up stairs.

    Bayeux as a town was a revelation and the Chateau, being a few minutes walk from the centre, was the perfect place to return to after our days out. 10 minutes form the pick up place for Normandy Tours and if you wish an olde worlde town centre that exudes charm and the usual French forte of cafes, restaurants and atmosphere. The staff are hardworking and always obliging, with great food (Dont drink myself, but my brother enjoyed the selection of wine)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in nice surroundings but need more staff in the restaurant when busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift was out of order during our stay. Also the restaurant was understaffed. There was a large party in on one night and we had to wait an hour for our meal and ask 3 times to get some water. There was only one waitress on duty - she was quite efficient but just had too much to do and she was dispensing drinks and manning reception as well.

    The situation. Plenty of hot water. Handy for Bayeux on our bikes but would take about 20 mins. to walk in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find - to walk into town is across a very busy dual carriage way! 184 euros for a pokey attic room is expensive. it was meant to be a birthday treat but wasnt. non stop sound of traffic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Quite and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family duplex lacked a second toilet upstairs considering the fact that we were 5. The floors were creaky which can create disturbances especially during the night. There was a lack of serving staff however, the young lady did an AMAZING job.

    The atmosphere was relaxing and quiet. It is close to the train station which makes it accessible by foot. The food was excellent and had a French feel in terms of taste and presentation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoors, at times, there is traffic noise, but it can’t be heard in the house, is the only negative.

    This is a beautiful chateau hotel. The setting is amazing, wrap around lake, swans black and white on the lawn with a variety of outdoor furniture to relax on. The interior is in top condition, light and airy with a very comfortable atmosphere. Wonderful works of art by a local artist throughout the hotel. Beds comfy, lovely linen, large bathroom. Breakfast is good, service excellent, likewise dinner which was very well cooked, presented and priced. Staff friendly and helpful. Sound perfect, it really nearly is, I would stay there again anytime, for more than two nights next time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Small and friendly chateau hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is served in a lovely dining room and breakfast is served in a different breakfast room that's a little more basic. That was the arrangement on our first night but on the second we had to eat dinner in the breakfast room as there was a party of cyclists in the main dinning room which I thought a little unfair!

    Lovely setting and gardens, perfect for travelling with dogs as we had an annexe room that opened straight out into the grounds. Large comfy bed and nice to have dressing gowns and slippers. The food was very good with a range of dishes to suit most. The breakfast was also very good with excellent scrambled eggs, bacon and hash browns if you wanted a cooked one. There were fresh oranges and squeezer and plenty of pastries, bread, jams, selection of teas and even an Espresso coffee machine. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    -Rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Rooms need updating -Decor doesn’t match a French country Château -grounds/gardens are overgrown & need maintenance -restaurant needs ventilation- bad smell - property has potential if someone invested in it, NOT a 4 star property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and fittings in the room were outdated and in need of refurbishment. The toiletries weren’t as nice as other hotels. Headboards on all beds would have been nice. Also dinner wasn’t available to us as it was fully booked, most hotels reserve tables for residents. No offer of drinks was made or where to go to get one. They aren’t maximising the potential of the place.

    The location and overall first impressions of the exterior were excellent. Close to the town centre and a romantic setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two reservations due to the size of our group. One of our group stayed in the new duplex and the other in the old chateau. The duplex of the old carriage house which exceeded our expectations! Amazing! The chateau was a little disappointing, dark color was overwhelming and the room needed a refresher.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The ease for a family of five and the wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have done with an extra toilet but the general hotel toilets were not too far away.

    The ease for a family of five and the wonderful location. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    A haven ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only faint criticism would be the presence of a noisy fridge in the breakfast room. The buzzing, humming and juddering of this infernal machine was hard on the pre-caffeinated nerves. But it's a quibble.

    A haven on the edge of Bayeux, with swans (black and white) on the lazily flowing stream. Staff exceptionally helpful. I asked for a change of room and it was effected with a minimum of fuss. Dinner was excellent. Also breakfast, except for limp, under-cooked bacon. But then nobody in France knows how to cook bacon. (And few elsewhere.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Great Family stay in a traditional French Chateau Hotel a short walk out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family suite has two bathrooms, but only one toilet. A second toilet would have made life a little easier.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very family friendly. The family suite we had was very well suited to a family of 4. A quick walk in to the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location, great staff but food only average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and very dark with dark wallpaper not helping. Breakfast was poor value for money with little choice of food and overall the food was only average quality but quite expensive.

    Fabulous hotel in lovely grounds and very tranquil.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    The photos of the garden and the buildings does to represent the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was broken and we had to lug suitcases up to the 3rd floor. We thought the rooms were pokey, and old fashioned. The shower nozzle was so low that you had to sit in the bath for a shower. We immediately asked if we could change from two nights to a one night booking but were refused and told that the payment had already gone through. This was not true as payment only went through after that request. We moved to another hotel in town after one night, despite paying for two. On check out we were told that they were going to compensate us by offering us a free breakfast. This was never offered to us. I will definitely not recommend this hotel. Small, cheap bath towels

    Nice garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Relaxed with the right level of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not big and decorations a bit sombre. Pity that the garden is out of control; it creates the impression that the property is run down but that is far from the truth - the building has been beautifully renovated.

    Relaxed ambience, despite being quite a formal setting. Excellent food and short but good wine list. Very nice staff. We were travelling with a dog and everyone was very accommodating and pleasant. The public rooms are really beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful garden in Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely grounds. Beautiful garden with waterfowl: swans, geese, ducks. Very quiet and peaceful. Great staff. Good breakfast and various activities available (tennis, game/reading rooms) Stayed in two different rooms. Loved the first in the main house.. Antique style and huge bathroom. The second in the detached building was o.k. but style too modern for our taste compared to the previous room and had to go up and down stairs for bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel within walking distance of the city centre. Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had a bath and handheld shower. This meant that using the handheld shower resulted in the bathroom becoming quite wet. A shower curtain would have prevented this problem.

    Lovely grounds and an easy 20 minute walk to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Loved Bayeaux but feel a bit disappointed with the hotel for the price that we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our ensuite (room 4) was very poor. It was attached to the wall at the top of the bath at waist height and it required that you climbed in to the bath (no hand rail provided) and hold the shower head over your head. There was no shower curtain so water went everywhere. The tiles were very wet as a result and were very slippy. For the price we paid (300 eur per night) I would have expected better bathroom facilities. In addition, there were no complimentary extras provided in the room e.g. water, biscuits etc - again, for the price per night I would have expected a few extras. I did not feel we got value for money at all at this hotel.

    The setting - the gardens and river around the hotel were beautiful. We loved that it was so close to the town and the surrounding historical DDay sites. Bayeaux is beautiful and full of history. We would love to return to the town again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Location and overall rooms were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. The food was good, not great.

    Nice to have a coffee maker in the room. Breakfast was nice. Could have offered more fruit, melons, etc, bacon was not cooked well. Eggs super one day, too runny the next.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant but below par
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good, ran out of food twice in the breakfast, no clean towels given (even when left of floor) and very old hard uncomfortable bed mattresses. Need an upgrade of bedding, clean towels daily if requested, and better breakfast for the prices charged.

    Beautiful surroundings, buildings, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful house and gardens, quiet location, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A place like this takes a lot of upkeep, there were a few jobs that needed to be done - like the decoration above the dining room door where the plaster facade/wallpaper is missing. None of the jobs detracted much from our stay, but they just need kept in check. The breakfast items are arranged so that everything is away from the thing it goes with: like the bread and jam being at opposite ends, or the plates being in the middle rather than at the end of the table, and I still don't know where the forks were. Makes for a lot of milling about. A gem for people watching tho!

    Lovely old Chateaux with views of Bayeux cathedral spires/dome from the dining room window. Beautiful grounds with sun-loungers and patio chairs. The stream even has swans on it. So pretty. Ample parking, quiet location. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Shame it isn't as good as it could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general upkeep of the building suggests a lack of commitment. Our room had three bulbs that were failed. After reporting, two were still dead. This is a good three star not a four star. It is clear from the comments book. Most of the clientele speak English yet most of the guides in the room is only in French.

    The location and gardens are superb. The staff were welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful. Would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downside is that there is no place to hang the shower head. So you could only go in bath.

    Beautiful grounds, very friendly staff who are helpfull. Good room. Good bed. Nice sitting room. Would come back. Had some bicycles with us which we were allowed to park inside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Very nice setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located in another building (not the chateau itself) due to issues with the original room. Curtain was not very effective, so a lot of light came through by morning. No air conditioning and the room was located at the top of the building, so the room was pretty hot.

    Very nice setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    beautiful grounds, attentive staff, well appointed room and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bath room had no hooks on the wall to hang clothing, robe. in sower, no where to put soap, shampoo or anything else. had to put shampoo bottle on the floor of shower. no windows to open--prefer fresh air

    staff was excellent, breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issues was the bathroom towel heater would not shut off and an older gentleman thought my room was his in the middle of the night. He was attempting to get in my room. Eventually he figured out what I was trying to tell him. He only spoke French.

    Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Room was clean and the overall place was very nice. Close to Normandy beach for d-day stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and expensive chateau experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For Euros 180.00 per night outside Bayeu did not appreciate 4th floor attic room, with cheap furniture, red carpet, peacock coloured blue walls and brown headboard-ghastly mix. Small window aperture. Scrambled egg and bacon for breakfast revolting. But dinner OK. Room worth about Euros80.00.

    Er no croissants on either morning we had breakfast. Bed OK however. Conveniently situated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    A most agreeable establishment with staff to match - our thanks to all,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are very pleasant and most helpful at all times. The hotel is situated in a most attractive riverside garden with fine trees and space for children to play. Interesting swans and ducks abound and the food and wines match the surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful old estate with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great!

    The place was charming, the grounds beautiful and staff exceptional, especially the gentleman who worked evenings/ night. He handled the front desk and waited on us for dinner. I was extremely impressed with his professionalism and patience and great recommendations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    The property is beautiful and very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought breakfast was included, but found out upon checkout it was 14 euros per person, which I thought was steep for breakfast.

    The property is beautiful and very peaceful. We ended up with a duplex and had more room than needed. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay and feels like a fairy tale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little overpriced and there was no cappuccino available like other places we have stayed. It was a little disappointing not having better coffee options but we survived!l

    This was our first time in a chateau and we were very pleased. From first entering the grounds past the wrought iron gate, the chateau is surrounded by a large grassy area and facing a pond with swans, ducks and geese made it look like it was out of a fairytale. Walking around the estate was so calm and serene, and in the neighboring field we had the opportunity to see a herd of cows passing by. We were fortunate to see this since we are from a busy urban area. Our room was in the annex building near the chateau and we were very pleased with our room. It felt like a very spacious area with 3 levels. The bedroom area with a flat screen TV is on the lower level with a small half bathroom (toilet and sink), the shower and double sinks on the middle level, and a small sitting area with a couch, desk and another flat screen TV on the third level. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy the sitting area. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast but I felt like it was somewhat overpriced since we had the same or more variety at other places for less money and better coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous property and perfect spot to stay if you want to visit Normandy!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room only had a bathtub so a shower would have been nice.

    The property was gorgeous and not far from the center of town. Free parking and a lovely breakfast!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was out of order; my friend is elderly and had trouble climbing stairs to 3rd floor where our room was. We ordered tea but teapots only half full of hot water.

    The hotel was a lovely green oasis; I particularly liked the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    The actual Chateau was beautiful and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was of poor quality for a supposed 4 star hotel, only a handshower in the bathtub. The door to the toilet, separate from the bathroom, led directly to the bedroom and would not close or latch. Very little bathroom privacy.

    The actual Chateau was beautiful and charming. Good location. Large room. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    The whole ambiance was very attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the restaurant was reserved for a meeting, we had to have dinner downtown. The approx. half an hour walk was not very pleasant.

    The whole ambiance was very attractive. Big comfortable room with terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Chateau Experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, even though it was cool in the evening the windows had no screens so leaving the windows open at night was a bit of a concern.

    Our room was in the Chateau and it was just lovely! Large room, lots of space!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot. An overhead fan or table fan would have helped. The tub was hard for seniors to get up into to use. The bathroom floors were dangerously slippery when wet.

    The grounds were beautiful. The food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    A green oasis in Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower curtains means that the bathroom gets quite wet!

    Dinner was very nice. Breakfast was great, and included possibly the best gluten-free bread I have ever had. Scrambled eggs were super too! A small green oasis near the city - and only 5 minutes drive to the Bayeux tapestry museum. A great option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Needs more work outside and in to bring it up to a higher standard but we would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to make more of the outside area.The setting is wonderful with the river and black swans swimming along but the borders need flowers pot plants hanging baskets etc. Plenty of tables and chairs outside all made of metal but very uncomfortable if you are sitting out for along time.Need CUSHIONS. The bathrooms are spacious with a bath and shower over but the shower is small and you have to hold it with one hand while you manoeuvre shower gel or soap with the other hand and try and wash yourself .Not practical at all. Ok if you like a bath ! We ate in the restaurant although the food was presented well and the waiter service was excellent the standard of food was poor. Steak well done and tough.Duck over cooked.Too much dressing on salad.

    Staff warm and friendly.Large rooms including bathroom.Large comfy bed..all had o good nights sleep..breakfast excellent choice but you do have to pay extra for this. Overall a good experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner could have been tastier and hotter(although pudding was perfect) Some noise from road. Would have liked a decent shower(not the short version) - presumably meant for hair washing only?

    It was a very special place to stay. The atmosphere, and the ambience of the place made it stand out. It wasn't perfect but it didn't matter because overall we loved it and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Atmosphere of chateau, beautiful nature around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some small details can be improved- the plastic accessories in the toilet, better hairdryer in the bathroom :-)

    Atmosphere of chateau, beautiful nature around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Fairytale place to stay and perfectly located for Bayeux
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Surprisingly beautiful beyond our expectations - especially the gardens and the dining area, however the ambience was comfortable and welcoming. Lake and river so children need supervision and antiques style with sculptures on show so I would have been on edge if I'd had young children with me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    We have really enjoy the stay and the beauty of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where walking around the chateau and we have noties that during the night it has blue lights in the garden... it looks a little messy with the beauty of the rest. Small tip: if you adjust the lights above the water this will look stunning with a small with light above the water.

    We have really enjoy the stay and the beauty of the stay. The crew was so nice !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth going. I have already recommended to all my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening dinner took quite long, but there was obviously an unexpected shortage of staff that night. The staff were very sorry about this and compensated, which was an appreciated gesture.

    The environment was absolutely lovely: the park around the premises, the whole building had an atmosphere of lux. The breakfast was excellent. The teens enjoyed especially for making their own crepes and squeezing their own orange juice. And that they could play football in the park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The place is gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two days- the first was perfect! On the second, we were in a different room (because we didnt book in advance), which was also very nice, but the toilet was problematic (wouldn't flush). The staff tried to help, but the problem shortly returned.

    The place is gorgeous!!! A great mansion surrounded by grass, a stream with ducks and swans running right through the estate. The rooms look like they're taken right out of a film about the life of royals/aristocrats. Nice fireplace in the lobby, good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    A very unique, beautiful location with loads of old-world charme and modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location in the vicinity of Bayeux is simply fabulous when travelling by car. The rooms are spacious, the hosts go the extra mile with, inter alia, a stunning breakfast buffet including numerous local specialities from Normandy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms in the main house !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We also booked duplex room in the other building. Beside it was a big room the heating was not working properly and it was less (much less) cozy compering to the rooms in the main house

    The rooms in the main house !!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this and will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that would have been nice would have been a grab bar in the bathroom. For safety reasons. But that's it.

    Everything was excellent; location,property itself,room,dinner and staff. So very happy I chose this place.The dinner was delicious,superior.Everything about this place was wonderful, just wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Just one night, but very enjoyable, coming back soon, I hope!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dull dinner menu, albeit well prepared and served.

    Main house is a lovely building bug on a manageable scale. The cold wet weather outside was happily counteracted by a huge log fire in a large, comfortable room. Dinner was of a reasonable, if not gourmet standard, but breakfast was among the best you'd ever find in France. The gardens, 3/4 moat, and many species of duck, goose and swan made for a lovely environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Delightful short break in Normandy, taking advantage of excellent low season price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu was very reasonably priced but limited choice and the steak was not the best quality.

    Beautiful location on the outskirts of Bayeux, within walking distance of the historic centre. Landscaped grounds most attractive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful French escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a little hard for our taste and the hot breakfast seemed expensive for the quality of the eggs and bacon.

    This place is beautiful! We reserved the family duplex and it had plenty of space for our family of 5. The breakfast buffet had plenty of beverage options, including fresh squeezed orange juice and local jams and juices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    The road & railway line at the end of the garden...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road & railway line at the end of the garden slightly spoil the bucolic setting. The short walk on roads into Bayeux after sunset is very dark.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Peaceful and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The beds were superb, best beds we've ever slept in, so comfortable. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was idealic, so peaceful and quite close to the town but far enough away so we could enjoy the tranquility. Beautiful grounds with lovely cherry tree and blacks swans on the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    The black swans in the moat were something I will always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked our hotel room on a Monday evening in March and expected that it would not be necessary to reserve a table in the restaurant but, on arrival at 5 PM, found it was full. It would be helpful to know at the time of booking that reservation is recommended. It cost €12.50 for a taxi into the city, despite it being only about 1 mile.

    The black swans in the moat were something I will always remember. Not an everyday sight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly lovely. The grounds are delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the entrecote and scallops was poor.

    Breakfast was superb - sensational in fact. Especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. The salad and apple tart at dinner the night before was great and so was the red table wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable grandeur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    Lovely big room overlooking a stream. Delicious dinner at a reasonable price and friendly staff. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, would come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were quite expensive. (A pint of beer was 10 euros. But was a good beer) x

    Hotel was lovely. We stayed in the apartments which were lovely. Staff were very helpful with giving ideas for pla as to go for food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful visit - can't wait to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the most wonderful experience at this chateau. The location is relaxing and quiet, the staff was wonderful, free parking on premise and the room was so unique. We had dinner at the attached restaurant and had a two-course meal with a nice bottle of wine. We finished the wine near the fireplace and had the room to ourselves. The facilities are wonderful and we felt we got a great value for what we paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    This cozy chateau in the woods was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This cozy chateau in the woods was gorgeous. We woke up to quiet serenity and had a lovely, quiet breakfast. The staff was incredibly accommodating — greeting us warmly even though we arrived much later than expected (12AM). The room was beautifully furnished and all amenities were great. We would definitely recommend this location if you’re touring Normandy. We only wish we could’ve stayed for longer. So peaceful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Charming chateau on the quiet edge of Bayeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bring an appetite with you to the restaurant. The food was delicious, and the portions were generous. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The city center was easy to reach within minutes by car from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    I would have liked to buy this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did find that that for me, the breakfast was a bit disappointing. It happens to me at most hotels I visit in France, so I think it is more a cultural problem than a problem with the hotel. I did however manage to still my hunger.

    Travelled here for one night all by myself - to see the surroundings of the Normandy landings. Made a late booking a this hotel, as it was located close to the area I wanted to see - was not to pricy, and had parking. The web-page said latest arrival 18:00 - called the hotel and asked for 22:00, witch was no problems at all. When I arrived, the restaurant was about to close, but they still offered to serve me. The room was spacious, with a comfy bed and a bathtub. The view from my room was very calming, with geese swimming in the stream/pond next to the hotel. All in all, I could have liked to stay here for longer just to relax - but that was not what I was there for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Country elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You had to drive everywhere but it is not far

    Very clean and helpful cheerful staff. Rooms were decorated in period decor. It was quiet and country elegant. We would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Food options were over priced for what was offered, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options were over priced for what was offered, but everything else about the stay was lovely. Wish the room would have had an electric kettle to make tea though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely site, room price very good value but drinks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced drinks.

    Lovely site, room price very good value but drinks outrageously priced. 1 beer, 3 glasses of wine 57 euros. The drinks cost nearly as much as the room for the night. Breakfast fine perhaps a bit overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Great Building, Great Staff, Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of anything really. One can't really walk into town, but its not far to drive and parking was easy when we were there. Shame there was not a shower, first time I have had a bath in years, but that's just personal preference

    Great building grounds and our room in the roof was very memorable with beams etc... Very clean, comfortable and staff were fantastic. Couldn't have done more for us, even lent us THIER kettle (hotel one didn't work lol) for our stay so we could make a coffee in our room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was a very long wait between plate per the lack of staffing. Only one person was taking care of the entire dining experience.

    My husband and I loved our stay at belle fontaine chateau. The staff was great. The place was wonderful, clean, amazing breakfast for the price. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: