Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Brindos 5 stars

1, Allée Du Château, 64600 Anglet, France

#3 of 15 hotels in Anglet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room. Excellent dinner. Wonderful view over the lake from dining room. We were travelling with 3 Labrador dogs, who were received without fuss.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    we came three years ago very nice but now looks like old without proper maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed not comfortable room service very light nobody to handle luggage swimming pool not clean

    location very quiet beautiful location with lake space in executive room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    The only thing 5 star about this place is the price...please pay an extra 100€ and stay in Biarritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin.....rude bar staff, rude Maitre’d at dinner, grounds in need of TLC, broken loungers, broken decking over the lake, unable to order a drink from the pool. No AC in room even though advertised. Nespresso machine in room but no capsules to use on day 2. Turn down service- never happened. Towels thread bare. Had to walk to bar to get a bottle of champagne for room as no room service available. Food overpriced and tasteless. Surprised at so many positive reviews as when I complained I was told by staff that they understood and they hear this from many guests.

    The reception staff were lovely and the location was good. Parking was also good as we were travelling with our dogs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful room with views over the nearby lake, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged us to call a taxi, and because there were two of us, we got charged twice! An unnecessary charge, which soured an otherwise lovely stay.

    Beautiful room with views over the nearby lake, nice facilities, and a hotel with real character. Restaurant is also brilliant, though beware of ordering a la carte as it gets very expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Picturesque and exquisite chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    I liked the food in the restaurant. The bathroom was super shiny clean and the staff very friendly. Peaceful. Setting fantastic.The grounds well kept. Piscine good. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Worth it for the restaurant but not the room or services...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two single beds stuck together. There was no extra toilet roll and there was an old fashioned hairdryer and no iron and ironing board.

    Beautiful food in the restaurant and fabulous staff. Room was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice building and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Château de Brindos is an impressive building full of history and beautifully located, the rooms are of good side and the bed is confortable. Sadly, the hotel is understaffed and the air conditioning was not working. We were told it had been looked at and could not be fixed in time for our stay so, a fan was provided. Not very 5 star. Now, We drove from Le Mans and we booked this hotel as a treat. We had to continue our journey to the south of Spain (some 1100Km) the next day and, wanted something special before the long drive. For a 5 star hotel to have their bars both inside the building and the swimming pool unmanned is bad enough but, the air on not working in late July is unforgivable. Moreover and, upon digging deeper, we found, to our dismay that the aircon has not worked in the hotel for at least a year. This is totally unacceptable in a hotel of this standing. We slept badly and because we had the doors to the balcony open, we got bitten several times by mosquitoes. With so little sleep, the drive to Malaga was, to say the least, challenging, not to mention dangerous!. The staff was sympathetic but, unable to offer compensation on the fly, and coincidentally, the manager was not available so, we were charged for everything! They did treat us to a coffee and a (store bought) soggy croissant. But, that was hardly compensation for the bad night we had. All in, a nice building and location. Sadly, not consumer friendly and we left feeling cheated and insulted. Not worthy of 5 stars at all! We are confident that the aircon issue will not be resolved anytime soon and therefore, we can’t recommend this hotel.

    Nice building and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant, excellent location, great views and excellent swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Fabulous building, great location. Staff speak perfect English and we're very helpful.. couldn't eat in restaurant on night of our arrival, because France were playing football in the World Cup ! Thought a property of this quality would have still had restaurants open. They did provided room service, but was a very limited menu.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Excellent experience, beautiful property. Would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Incredible property - beautiful lake. Fantastic restaurant. Just a wonderful experience overall. Yes it's pricey, but worth every penny. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    everything was really good, but it i havé to chose one think...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was only this one girl that shouldn't be working in such a nice hotel. for the rest nothing to complain

    everything was really good, but it i havé to chose one think to say it was great i will choose the chef. don't miss the surprise six course dinner and take the wine pairing option. you will not regret at all! Other than that the property is super beautiful. Staff, cleanliness and maintenance are good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Worth to be visited again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Hotel with a feeling of ancient spirit. Everything was either original or well-designed with appropriate furniture. Huge room with incredible view and comfort bed. Breakfast was tasty with wide assortment of snacks and picture square view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic ambiance and great food. Would recommend for staying in the area or just for the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot and the ac wasn't working which we reported 3 times and nothing was done about it. The curtains were ill-fitting and I kept having to get up on a chair to rehang one of the hooks. There was a BMW sales weekend on and they tried to control where we parked in the carpark which we ignored tbh. The location was about 10 mins drive outside Biarritz, it was a difficult drive into town and to park and the taxis were a bit of a rip-off at E18 each way.

    The ambiance (1920s chatueau) and the food were absolutely brilliant. We had the 3 course wine tasting menu and we both thought it was one of the best meals we have ever had. It seemed pricey at first at E100 each but when we saw the work that had gone into it it seemed good value. The staff were very accommodating including letting us have room service delivered to the bar because it was so nice in there and the restaurant had a private party.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    Had the best dinner - the chef is one of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel seemed under staffed.

    Lovely dining room, and the chef is truly excellent (and we mean the best!). We'd go back their for the food. However the Hotel service wasn't up to standard for the level of Hotel. Though pleasant, no one to help with bags, no valet etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    nice setting, but difficult to keep up with 5* standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got an upgrade the first night, but then had to leave the room for the second night, although the upgraded room was not booked by anyone else. Moreover, they tried to charge us more for this second night than their online rates. We don't consider this customer friendly at all.

    calm atmosphere near the lake, good restaurant (although personnel, except maître d'hôtel, can be quite clumpsy)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, hotel a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks a bit tired. We had a spider in our dressing gown, the shower was great but water almost overflowed from the shower tray. The pillows were lumpy and the bedding (duvet with no sheet meant either you were too hot or too cold at night. The restaurant was nice but the chairs were dirty. It would have been nice to have breakfast in another location (not the same restaurant as dinner) and the selection/diy experience was very underwhelming, especially at 26 euros per person for essentially a yoghurt, coffee and croissant.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    The otters were a bonus, charming and unexpected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon did not work at all upon our arrival. Aircon centrally controlled. Nobody ever came to put the system right or even mentioned it again. I suspect it just doesn't work or turned off. Thus it was hot at night with a quilt. Ground floor room therefore the windows had to be closed. Given a fan for our stay as temps 33C (not as we expected) No lunch on Mondays or Tuesday & no food available of any kind after 3 pm until dinner, as we tried. Kitchen closed! Not good enough for 5 stars. My son drove from UK to Madrid and we hoped to give him lunch on the Tuesday. They could not offer anything, the staff, and there were plenty about, could not make a sandwich for us. The bedroom was rather tired - needs a makeover. With a less slippery shower floor - dangerous! I had to place a towel on the floor of the shower to stand safely. The music at breakfast was always the same, an old style & tedious woman's wailing voice; better without or something soft & gentle to match the general ambience.

    Beautiful spot on lake. Charming building. Very tranquil if peace & quiet important. Breakfast very nice. Helpful & very friendly staff. Otters swimming close in the lake. Easy to get to Biarritz. We did like it BUT...... if given 5 star rating, we expect just that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    Ideal for plane spotters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor management, the little things were not good, like the toaster not being plugged in for breakfast, the air conditioning was not working and we heard different excuses as to why that was so, none of which were believable. In short we felt like we were in the way as if they weren't ready for the holiday season in France, indeed one of the staff said they weren't planning to fix the AC until mid June!

    Clean throughout, nice pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic and extraordinary confortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service room for dinner was very limited and expensive. Restaurant was closed.

    Extraordinary room, bathroom and breakfast. One of the best hotels we have been to and we have large experience...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should not have a Chateau Relaix seal. Tacky decor, synthetic duvet and pillows, poorly trained staff and despite being right on the Spanish border, no one spoke Spanish.. Chef was amazing, but that is it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast although very nice should be a bit less for what they offer.

    Everything, perfect for us and our dog . Beautiful setting by the lake , big room, secure car park. Fantastic restaurant but the best of the hotel is the staff, really professional and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    6.7
    Needs a shake up
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is need of refurbishment, it is looking quite tired. Breakfast options have reduced. Price not justified by the experience

    Great location for our trip and good location for he dogs to be walked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small gym

    Amazing castle, very attentive and friendly staff, beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff and surroundings.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air Conditioning

    Lovely staff and surroundings. Rooms are big and they take pets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great old chateau on the lake

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Property is well located, attractive but needing refurbishment as a little tired.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property tired and would benefit from a refurbishment

    Excellent location close to Biarritz airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    OK
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find property and arrived very late.

    Room ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Super staff, loved every minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff, loved every minute!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Green lake spot within Biarritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at times

    Fantastic building and garden. Great food and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    relaxing and peacefull stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not good choice for breakfast

    very relaxing atomsphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely perfect ! Great stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.9
    a really good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant

    The space of room and bathroom. The service in the bar!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    The room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was great. Very comfortable but look out for the bathroom floor, very slippy. Restaurant was good but could have been better for the price. Staff were excellent though.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.1
    Ground floor room with access to the outside for the dogs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of coffee for the machine, only 2 capsules Internet very slow Restaurant very expensive for what you get Need to look a the detail of the room, the floor was slippery as it had been polished to a mirror but then the rug that was in it was curled up at the sides and kept on tripping over it Bathroom needed more refinement, it looked tired 5 star hotel but without the service 25 euro per dog per night and we have 2 of them, this is not listed on Bookings.com so that was a delightful surprise

    Ground floor room with access to the outside for the dogs Outlook over the lake was nice and peaceful once the aeroplanes had stopped

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    4.2
    The lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the staff seems unhappy or depressed Concierge staff needs more training in how to give information to guests. They were unable to direct me to a small, quiet beach with a restaurant. i had to find one on the internet. They need training regarding allergies. (Twice in one meal they served food containg nuts - after learning I am allergic to nuts. The hotel needs a new gardener. Many plants are dead or half dead. The maintenence staff needs changing. In my room a door knob fell off, the cupboard door knobs were loose and lmost fell off, the curtains had holes. The kitchen needs a new , more talented chef. The kitchen staff and chef needs more training on how to receive and feed a vegetarian guest. The current staff has no idea. They knew in advance I was a vegetarian and did not prepare. on the first night at dinner I ordered some mixed vegetables and a side irder of potatoes. It was a simple request. The maitre d said the kitchen did not have many vegetables. A verv small plate of bland vegetables arrived. And no potatoes. i was told i couldnt have potatoes because all the potatoes were mixed with ham. i asked if the cook could simply slice a fresh potato and boil for ten minutes. Half an hour later a small dish of half raw potatoes appeared . i took a bite. There was a strange undertaste of smoked ham. The next few days my husband and I ate in other restaurants which were marvellous. We consudered finding another hotel but did not find another on with rooms.

    The lake view.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Very quiet location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con ineffective .you cannot open the window at night on the ground floor due to cats etc to,cool the room down.

    Very quiet location .lovely staff.nice restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    FANTASTIC PLACE, VERY RELAXING, PET FRIENDLY, NICE WALK...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    FANTASTIC PLACE, VERY RELAXING, PET FRIENDLY, NICE WALK AROUND THE LAKE, ALL PERFECT!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive for a pet

    All good

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed 5 or 6 times and it is consistently good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner is pricey

    We have stayed 5 or 6 times and it is consistently good

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    Location, near to the motorway , great for pets, we had 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, near to the motorway , great for pets, we had 2 dogs, they gave us a garden room

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    We have stayed there many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed there many times.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Good advice on dining recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good advice on dining recommendations. Room size is great and is very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Specifically this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Specifically this one. Lovely grounds. Excellent restaurant. Beautiful, atmospheric, large room. Comfortable bed. Great for a short visit or long.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    7.9
    Location and staff plus room
    • Solo traveller

    Monday resturant and bar closed however I was told before checking in

    Location and staff plus room

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: