Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château de Candie 4 stars

Rue du Bois De Candie, 73000 Chambéry, France

#6 of 26 hotels in Chambéry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Paradise in the Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was difficult to locate the address on our Tom Tom - used Google app instead.

    This is the best kept secret in France. I want to keep it all to myself but I am not that mean :) My partner and I loved every minute of this trip. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations and we relished our quiet time at the pool. We made lovely new friends, eat and drunk like kings and queens and will return time-and-time again. Eat at both fabulous restaurants, visit the nearby lakes, take a drive or cycle (for the more adventurous) to the viewing deck on the mountain behind. Drink the local Chartreuse and enjoy the breathtaking views of this amazing areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Food was excellent, room comfortable and big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting wasn't great in the room and could have done with a shower instead of sitting in bath with shower head

    Food was excellent, room comfortable and big

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location near to the autoroute but also in a peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major grumbles. The electricity in the room wasn’t working in the morning for some reason, but this didn’t pose any problems

    Great location near to the autoroute but also in a peaceful setting. Decent food in the bistro

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    Needs a refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many things to state. Room dusty & needs a full clean, not a surface clean. No sound proofing as advertised, heard the couple in the next room. Hairdryer does not work, found extension lead under the bed to try to plug bedside lamp in. Room very dark. Needed to put the tv on for light. Room by an evening event going on. Midnight cars slamming doors under window as they all left. Had to move pedal bike out of disable parking bay to park the car. Staff not helpful. Was an inconvenience. Looked at us and assumed we would not want to eat in the Gastronomic restaurant!!! Did not want to serve us dinner at our chosen time due to event. We left & had dinner in town.

    View

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    High price sets high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (too hot to sleep well), poor shower, insufficient restaurant capacity (Staff appeared extremely busy and were running around, we had to eat inside where it was hot when most other guests could have dinner outside)

    Lovely chateau, beautiful area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.2
    The building , swimming pool and the park are nice, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very old and don’t give the impression of being very clean. Our room on the ground floor was so dark we had to turn on the lights even during the day. There is no air conditioning and no mosquito nets on the windows (clearly a lot of insects outside due to being in the middle of the park). A lot of mess at the breakfast and in the lounge area outside as the tables are not being cleaned immediately. We were charged 100 euro more by mistake of the receptionist, who promised we will be contacted by email the same day to arrange the refund, and two days have pssed without an email. When we called to the hotel to resolve the problem they asked to describe the problem in written at the email address different from the one on the website, promised to send the new address by email, and still no letter. What a shame about such level of service!

    The building , swimming pool and the park are nice, the breakfast was of good quility and choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Tranquil and beautiful location and most staff helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. No hot water on 2 days. Fixed within one hour both times. Minibar not cold enough.

    Free upgrade to premium room 104, great bed, fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a quiet, tranquil location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing I would have improved on.

    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel wasn't full when we stayed and the receptionist upgraded us to a beautiful chalet at no extra charge. We stayed for just one night on our way home after touring Italy for 3 weeks and the breakfast was the best we'd had from all of the hotels we had stayed in during our trip. Lovely quiet location on the outskirts of Chambery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views peaceful surroundings great staff fab mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower though a large bath. No facilities in room for making hot drinks but this is normal for European countries lounge provided for making your own drinks.

    Great location, welcoming staff, very comfy bed, spacious room with plenty of facilities for clothes etc. large bathroom. Lift. Great views. Peaceful. Lounge for sitting with complimentary coffee tea facilities and cake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Great property, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unwilling to rectify WiFi access issue for the rooms next to the breakfast area. When questioned, the front desk clerk stated we could come to her area to use the WiFi. I don't understand the unwillingness to address the issue especially if the response was to simply turn the router off then on. This is quite puzzling considering the caliber of the property.

    The property and amenities offered. This was my second stay at this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely chateau break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was excellent. It overlooked the courtyard of the gourmet restaurant, had its own balcony and terrace and was light and airy. Meal at the gourmet restaurant was also excellent- good value and lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice entrance, it gives the impression you are going to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment in advance. When going out during the night I tried to reach the hotel for some information but the number on the booking reference was the one of a central switchboard in another city who was not able to connect me back to the hotel.

    Very nice entrance, it gives the impression you are going to a special place with private road and entrance gate. Free parking space. Very green around. Very nice staff willing to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the breakfast the cappuccino from office-like button coffee machine was just some dirty milk liquid, perhaps we expected too much comparing it with Italian stadards. We had one of the simpler rooms, that have not been renovated recently, some details needed maintenance, but it did not affect the comfort.

    Beautiful location. For the special discount price that we caught it was fabulous. We were lucky with the weather, so could enjoy the swimming pool. We have appreciated Nespresso in the room to use for free and a nice breakfast which was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting, excellent outdoor pool, wonderful food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!

    Lovely setting, excellent outdoor pool, wonderful food and restaurant setting in the courtyard of the Orangerie. Jazz trio playing, coloured fountain in the beautiful garden - and their own wine. A very nice stay indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, nice rooms, great breakfast and excelent service with nice restaurant on property (did not use) and beautiful gardens and pool, i’m Gluten free and they had gluten free bread for me at breakfast (I let them know the night before and they facilitated it )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Overrated.. not worth 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled unpleasantly of carpet cleaner. It was dark & stuffy. The only common area was a dark & musty lounge where tea from a machine was on offer. Breakfast was ok although no eggs or anything hot on offer & all drinks from a hated machine!

    Nice gardens... the hotel is in a very peaceful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This particular room has a window over the tub that has a trail right below it. The trail was not busy at all, but it's just a good thing to be aware of this. The room is also right next to the kitchen, so got a little noisy quite early in the morning.

    The chateau and surrounding area are beautiful. We liked being able to eat breakfast and dinner on site. Dinner is quite expensive, but the staff was wonderful. The room was unique and very comfortable, with all the amenities we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Infra structure of the bedroom was very old... Apparently some rooms have already been renovated, but unfortunately not ours.

    Very good breakfast and garden of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great night in wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic deal. Wonderful room - we were upgraded. The restaurant was excellent. Very friendly attentive waiters. All round a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    A château with character near Chambéry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (no 128) had no resemblance with the relevant room on the Booking site. Mismatched furniture. Room has the potential to look more stylish. Access to the room via a little corridor cramped with unused furniture. Being on the ground floor next to the entrance and without net curtains had very little privacy.

    Coffee and tea facilities in the room. Confortable bed. Good quality bed linen and towels. Polite and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Spectacular location, not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we would have stayed longer.

    The hosts were excellent and tried to do everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Also, they gave us an excellent meal on site that evening. The location is spectacular and not to be missed. The photos can't do it justice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a personal thing but ultimately the bath in the room was less than comfortable. I’d rather have a little privacy. The floor got wet. Staff walked by the window. One even peeked in. We had to close the curtain which kind of obviates the whole bath-by-beautiful-window experience.

    The rooms are individually decorated. We got the room with the bath in the room near the window. It’s beautiful. The check in was great. We got a great guy with a great sense of humor. Sorry I didn’t get his name. There was a room where you could get coffee or tea at any hour. The whole place is absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and a fantastic restaurant in a great location - I'll definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi didn't work well in the room, and the password provided was wrong - but this is a common problem in all hotels.

    Great location, up on a hill in the old part of Chambery. Minutes from the autoroute and the town, but it feels like you're in the middle of the countryside. The rooms are all well appointed and each one is different. The fine dining restaurant is excellent - fantastic food, great ambience and very friendly and knowledgable staff. We were able to eat outside and had a truly memorable evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly efficient welcome at reception. Lovely large quiet room with antique furnishings. Good bathroom with separate toilet. Big deep bath but I do like a separate shower. Fantastic old building well restored. Good restaurant, and excellent service but not a lot of choice and expensive. Wine expensive but a nice dining experience. Lovely continental breakfast best croissants ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    An amazing experience in Chambéry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    This is a fantastic hotel, quirky but very comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel happy. My room was very spacious , very clean and the bathroom had a great bath to relax in. The food was sourced locally and of great quality , beautiful service in the restaurant and breakfast with delicious croissants and coffee ....I would go there again tomorrow!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting and well-managed establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was a little slow and difficult to get in to; bath didn't have a proper shower, just a hand-held sprayer.

    Lovely setting, very nice room with personal touch and spacious bathroom too, breakfast buffet was great, and the restaurant on-site is very high end and exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location for Chambery Airport. General air of tiredness about the hotel, but restaurant good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very big and furniture old. Bathroom average. Nowhere to hang towels so damp in the morning. Unused furniture (chairs) scattered about the public areas.

    Food good. Breakfast average. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Romantic stay in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the bathroom , as there was no heater in it. Not a problem when outside temperature is warm, but not at the end of March with 8C outside. Wifi is very chaotic. Gastronomic restaurant wasn’t what I call gastronomic for France.

    Location is outside the city, but romantic, in a real old castle. Staff is very friendly. Room is clean and authentic. Parking is easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Excellent. Will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was beautiful. The Apartment was more than expected for the price we paid. It exceeded our expectation in terms of comfort and space. The breakfast was also include which is rare to find!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Elegant hotel in quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful, multi-lingual, reception staff. Our ground floor room was large and attractively furnished including a large bath with plenty of Elemis products to enjoy after a long days drive across France. Breakfast was a feast with a selection of breads, cakes, croissants, preserves, pancakes, cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit and yoghurts. Easy access to the motorway but quiet and peaceful in private parkland. Secure on-site parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    More than exceeded expectations - from the staff to the rooms to the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like - except the weather unfortunately.

    We had a wonderful duplex room with lovely views of the woods. The bed was super comfy with enough space for two motorways 😊 It was spotlessly clean and a touch of luxury with Elemis products in the bathroom. From the time of checking in by an exceptionally friendly Florian to checking out nothing was too much trouble. You were made to feel very welcome and I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough. The Restaurant food was great with the Orangerie meal being to die for if a little expensive but so worth the extra pennies and it was for a special occasion. Breakfast was more than expected with a continental breakfast. Very tasty indeed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Good but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in an an annex, not the main Château and the only heating was a noisy fan heater. The restaurant serves very nice food but it is very expensive and portions are very small. Wine by the glass is €9 for 12cl. And the charge for 75cl of mineral water was €6. So, if you are in a budget, don’t eat here.

    Comfortable bed. Quiet location. Interesting building. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to break a journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived later than hoped and were delighted to get an upgrade to a superb room, with a nice view over the forest. Being late, we went for the basic menu and had the best meal of our three week trip!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Great rooms and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    France doesn't do vegan very well and the restaurant at the hotel doesn't really accommodate vegetarians let alone vegans! It is a great restaurant if you are non vegetarian though. Just be warned if you are vegan perhaps notify them ahead of time

    The staff were more than accommodating. Very friendly and welcoming. The room was stunning and very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Great customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eventually the place will be upgraded, fresh paint on the walls. I wish there were a shower in addition to the bath tub . An Italian style shower in addition would be excellent!

    Great customer service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    A hidden gem in the French Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located for the Cottian Alps and the Frejus tunnel to Italy, Chateau de Candie is close to the motorway and easy to find but wonderfully quiet and peaceful. Chateau de Candie is a unique 4 star hotel with plenty of charm and personality. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with complimentary mineral water, tea, coffee and cookies. Robes, slippers, a huge bath and a fabulous selection of Elemis products added to the luxury. Despite the information on the Booking.com website we were pleasantly surprised to find that the L'Orangerie restaurant was open when we arrived on Sunday evening. Dinner was a gastronomique experience and the service was impeccable. Breakfast was an absolute feast served in La Cantine; bacon and scrambled eggs; pancakes and maple syrup; charcuterie, cheeses and smoked salmon; home made breads and pastries; fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals; juices, teas and coffees. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Thank you, we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little downside...toilet was not flashing properly and lighting was not amazing in the room.

    Beautiful room, extra large and comfortable bed, amazing breakfast , huge tv , nice coffe machine and lovely tea, top quality toiletries, bathrobe and slipers .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely will try and return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looked after so well. The restaurant is excellent, would highly recommend it. The staff are friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place, fantastic staff, some TLC needed in places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 112 very dark. The Bath was in front of the lounge window, no net curtain or blinds so NOT very private ! Some light bulbs out made it even darker when curtains had to be shut. Room next to breakfast room and kitchen a little too noisy. Everything made up for by very attentive staff who sorted things and helped us throughout.

    Staff and Manager very helpful and excellent throughout the stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Charmed by the chateau
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra bed cover would have been a useful addition.

    The entrance to the room, the bathroom and the bedroom were all spacious. The room, with exposed beams, was simply though elegantly furnished. The buildings and the grounds - which included an area of vines and woodland- were enchanting. The staff in the dining room were very attentive and friendly without being intrusive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like stones we had to walk through to our room. Hard to pull our suitcases each weighing 23 kgs! Breakfast overall was good but chef needs to learn to cook scambled eggs. They should be hot.

    Beautiful countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Though the property is a chateau our room was large and clean but very ordinary located in annexe
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody at reception when someone (the manager?) appeared his first remark was "you have to pay in advance because in August we have some bad people". Not exactly welcoming.

    Nice position, lovely dining terrace and gardens with lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Close to Perfection
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection is a bit spotty, but they're working on that I was told.

    Perfect location, close to everything but far away to be in the countryside. Gorgeous building and rooms, friendly and discrete staff, one of the best breakfasts I ever had in a hotel, and also the restaurant is worth a visit: it deserves at least one Michelin star! This was the first time that I stayed here, but I surely will stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Park setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few KM away from the main highway an a peaceful wooded area. The room was very pleasant and the food in the Orangerie restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful French Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be great .. apart from that it's pretty much a perfect venue to stay

    Beautiful location , beautiful chateau , well worth the visit and one to remember , great staff very helpful , lovely location ..and very traditional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Book now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike!

    Don't know where to start! Location is terrific in a park setting with outside pool and vineyard. Lots of history some of which shocked the uk monarchy as it was here that King Edward married Wallis Simpson. Staff were just terrific and have a great knack of making you feel very special. They also all speak great English. We had a very large room (103) as a free upgrade but would happily have paid for the privilege as it was very comfortable with a super king size bed luxuriously decked out. We ate dinner and breakfast which were first class. Their dinner matching any Michelin stared restaurant Where I have had the pleasure to dine! Cannot recommend this hotel enough, it will now become a regular stop off on the way to Italy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.8
    Never go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable views advertised. I had two conifer trees in front of my window. Hot as hell and no air con

    Terrible grumpy staff. Understaffed no restaurant even though advertised

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional accommodation in nature!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communication was quite hard with the staff as they did not speak English well, however they did their best to help us with everything we managed to communicate.

    Very good breakfast with both quality and variety of ingredients! Set in a very tranquil environment, in nature, very beautiful surroundings! The rooms were nice, very clean, with all amenities available (slippers, bathrobes, elemis bath shampoo, conditioner, foam, soap etc., even a pillow spray from the same brand!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage to hotel Booking.com sold me dinner x 2 on the site at 2 x €30 which the hotel didn't recognize In the end I sorted it but you need to liaise better with hotel please Food in Cantine not that good

    Peaceful location. Room 111 nice with big shower Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Royal treatment at the Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing!

    The family suite was very spacious, breakfast was the best we had in our 2 week travels, and the salon was an excellent leisurely place to grab coffee, tea, and cake in front of the TV with friends. Staff were excellent and very accommodating to English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without Sat Nav I don't think we would have found it - the final approach to the hotel off the main road was stressful after a long hot drive.

    The swimjmking pool was delightful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel to stay for a romance and/or with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is an remote aera and not much to do around. Center of Chambéry is 10min by car, and Lake of Bourget is 15min. Hotel and Restaurant are very popular for wedding dinner/party, and it is best to check if applicable for your booking. We were lucky it did not apply to us

    Boutique hotel outside Chambéry. Very quick and efficient check-in/out. Large room with comfy bed. Breakfast with good choice of foods. Restaurant: limited choice of food (3 menus) but service is good (service can be slow-see below) and atmosphere great. Restaurant is small, with guests from outside hotel coming as well, and I strongly recommend to reserve immediately at check-in. Swimming pool is nice but we did not try because of cloudy weather.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Superb castle suite. Superb evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were first allocated, which was not in the castle, was on the ground floor, had sliding windows with flimsy locks, which were broken. Therefore, we could not secure the room from outside. The room safe was broken and could not be used. When these faults were pointed out to the receptionist, we were upgraded to the room in the castle itself.

    We were upgraded to a room in the castle for our 3 nights stay. This was large and elegant, but due for redecoration, which I understand is happening throughout the hotel. It was very comfortable and the bathroom large but without a separate shower. It also had its own entrance lobby, instead of walking straight into the suite straight from the corridor. We had the most superb evening meal which, as it was a warm evening, we dined on the terrace. The service was impeccable as was the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Chateau de Candie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    What a fabulous hotel, our room was amazing. Beautiful pool, which was peaceful in excellent surroundings. we ate in the restaurant out on the terrace, the food was fantastic and beautifully presented. The chateau de Candie wine was good too. the staff were courteous and nothing was too much trouble. This was an anniversary treat for us, and it was very special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Fit for a King
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which was a bit of a problem I didnt know how to get connected to wifi and asked the checkin clerk who had difficulty too then I gound instructions in my room.

    I have travelled to many places in the world for business and pleasure but arriving at this beautiful chateau after a tiring days drive was the most exhilarating experience. The bed was very comfortable, I immediately took an elemis bath then used the rest of the elemis products in the bathroom. The staff were great. We booked a table at the restaurant, the chef was Italian, the food truly French, the service was excellent, we dined outside under pegolas, watching the fountain change colours. It was a dream but best of all I got the room at special offer of half price. Id love to go again and stay a coupke of nights so I can use the pool"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed , historic chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we had been upgraded. I take that with a pinch of salt. We had a ground floor room. Very chateauish. Certain amount of refurb had been done especially to the bathroom. When checking out I noticed on the screen behind the receptionist that there were far more modern refurbed rooms than the one we had. Had we been upgraded??????? I doubt it. The rooms start at €250 and go on up from there, so really no idea what level of room we had. I don't like dark rooms and this was a bit too dark for me. Also the place is a little difficult to find, even with satnav.

    The antiquity. The setting in the woods. Big room, big bed, big bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Sleep in a castle in chambery!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Error in the invoice - overcharged my cc - fortunately I realized and waiting for the owner to rectify

    Amazing - a castle in a a forest with private drive in ... lovely ... and the room was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stopover and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a palatial suite, which was really beautiful with a solid marble bath! In the restaurant Fabrizio was very professional and friendly and the food as usual was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    A charming escape above the town of Chambery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was extremely slow, but this was the only disappointment / frustration in an otherwise charming stay.

    This was a last-minute impulse stay and I am very happy for having made the decision to visit. The chateau is charming and the location is ideal ... on beautiful grounds above the historic town of Chambery (where driving and parking are a nightmare). Visit in warm weather and relax next to the pool or on long walks around the manicured grounds. The restaurant is also good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    very happy with the hotel in general, would return but would avoid breakfast next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool opened at 0900 -too late for us; the breakfast was considerably over-priced for the range on offer-poor value for money.

    Quality of the room and cuisine

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    For a short stay anytime!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 128 allocated to us was OK particularily with dog, but bathroom was too small, could not open window as it led into the courtyard ( no provacy)

    excellent and friendly service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice location but disappointing in terms of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very well trained in hospitality. Price of breakfast OTT ...... Restaurant trying to be gourmet standard but not quite making it :(

    Good quiet location and nice premises with convenient coffee lounge

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice location, rooms and a service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner and breakfast were unfortunately a totally different standard. Poor selection and the quality of the food were minor.

    Nice location, rooms and a service minded staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, perfect location, excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    This place is a perfect stopover for north-europeans travelling to Italy. We like a quiet place with parking facilities, a decent bed and good food. We were not disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    Delightful relaxed base for touring the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal very weak.

    Great quiet location, large rooms, nice to walk around the grounds and a beautiful pool. Restaurant very good. Lovely meals and good service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    a wonderful and charming castle with a lot of touching history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditon and no shower.

    Everything is perfect, more than we expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall not fresch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall not fresch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely French Alps Chalet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very unique French chalet. Lovely. All facilities were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Everything, the views, the cuisine, even the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the views, the cuisine, even the staff were excellent. This place is a gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.0
    Superb stay, felt very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower required maintenance.

    Beautiful historic building, large rooms, well equiped, very clean, superb resturant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    It is really fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    A fabulous way to break the journey between France and Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much!

    Set in beautiful parkland. Very convenient for motorway. Impressive chateau, stunning suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful food. Fabulous place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Internet was sometimes slow and faulty
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was sometimes slow and faulty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great exterior but the interior design is poor

    great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: