Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Château de Castel Novel - Les Collectionneurs 4 stars

Route D'objat, 19240 Varetz, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Varetz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    More expensive than we first thought!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed to have to pay an extra €50 to enable us to actually stay in the Chateau. When we booked we thought that's where our room was and that a garden room merely meant a room overlooking the garden. Additionally we found €12 pricey for our morning cup of tea. It would have been nice to have the facility to make a cup of tea in our room and I feel this should have have been included in the room price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Old fashioned chateau hotel - excellent dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a gloomy dark room for drinks before dinner & left so long that in the end we walked into the restaurant to find out our table. They didn't offer a Fench menu even though the entire meal was conducted in French.

    Dinner and the location were lovely. It's a very old fashioned French chateau hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    The castle is beautiful the grounds are enchanting and the pool! I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A taster menu at the restaurant would be a good idea, the restaurant is in the upper price bracket however the food was out of this world. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be nice.

    The lady on reception was so welcoming, the swimming pool is just perfect, the Castle is just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    A beutiful place in a lovely location - ideal for a romantic long weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It is a beautiful Chateau in a wonderful location - we stayed in an annexe and not in the main hotel - the rooms in the annexe are a little small - I imagine the rooms actually in the chateau are much better . But the dinner was superb and the dining room wonderful The standard of the cooking was outstanding - and produced with such ease and professionalism. This style cannot be found in the UK A very worthwhile experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.5
    After hours of driving towards Bordeaux we just wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After hours of driving towards Bordeaux we just wanted to relax and get dinner în a nice place. We Booked a room and, for our surprize , we can not eat at our hotel because they said we don t have a place. În Booking website it is not menționed that even we are staing at the hotel we need to rezerve a table. So, now because it was no restaurant around the area, we end up going to sleep without eating, în a room with one towell for two persons:)). When we talked to the Lady manager, she said she doesn t care about Booking and she was no helpfull at all. At least she could have offered us something to eat! Very inapropriete abordation towards the clients

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Quiet and comfortable but could be so much more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular. Breakfast room is long and narrow. Breakfast is ok. Room was large and comfortable enough but nothing to write home bout given it was a suite. Common parts are a little dated but clean and in fair condition.

    Overall a pretty good proposition. VERY quiet and private. Comfortably enough. I am arguably a bit spoilt so it can be hard to impress me. In this instance I did not find anything to rave about or anything to feel let down by. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    So relaxing and an oasis of calm, and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, an o

    Wonderful hotel, great food, amazing views, one of my favorite places to stay. Top of my list

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    The food & drinks although lovely we’re overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food & drinks although lovely we’re overpriced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Totally recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location, beautiful building and park, and super helpful staff! The breakfast was also great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Dinner not good and very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner not good and very expensive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    We discovered we had a turret room with a wrap-around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's rather expensive.

    We discovered we had a turret room with a wrap-around balcony and a sensational view. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was high quality.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    It was nice, peaceful, and had a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was nice, peaceful, and had a great restaurant. The Collette gardens were nice and next door to the Castle, and it was interesting to learn that Collette had lived there at one time. The staff was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    We booked this hotel en route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel en route. It was absolutely amazing. We could easily have stayed another night (or more!). Great value for money. We were treated like royalty! The restaurant was equally as amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed it and we will definitely be back. 10 out of 10!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The property and decoration inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No so far

    The property and decoration inside

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    Gorgeous castle with beautiful public spaces & grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave

    Gorgeous castle with beautiful public spaces & grounds. We loved our room, the staff, the service -- everything!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff, owner and the place were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rain, but it looked great even in the damp.

    Staff, owner and the place were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    We loved everything at this luxury hotel.
    • Couple

    We loved everything at this luxury hotel.The Staff were so very kind and polite,fabulous location. Perfect in every way.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.8
    The excellent dinner and the grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As with so many French hotels the lavatories are not good and have no basin in them

    The excellent dinner and the grounds.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming staff. Outstanding location. Excellent restaurant, but differentiated tariff would be a bonus

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! The ambiance, staff, history, location and the Michelin Restaurant

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: