Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau De La Barre

Chateau De La Barre, 72120 Conflans-sur-Anille, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Conflans-sur-Anille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 8 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - "Fleurs"
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a nite light in our bathroom.

    My husband and I rank our stay at Chateau De La Barre as a highlight in our recent 23 day French vacation. We've stayed in Chateaux before and sadly too often these chateaux were in a neglected condition. Chateau De La Barre sparkles by comparison. It's well maintained, has beautifully appointed rooms yet retains the comfy feel of staying in a home. One feels like part of the family when staying there. Our hosts, the Count and Countess de Vanssay are warm engaging people. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. I appreciated the break from not having to think in French as our hosts speak fluent English and were happy to accommodate us. The grounds are vast and contain a huge garden that is loving tended. The profusion of flowers only adds to the beauty of the property. I appreciated the fresh vase of flowers in our room. An unexpected perk was the The Countess, Marnie, gave us an itinerary for sightseeing that she had mapped out for guests who wished to visit "The Little Loir Valley, Medieval France on the road of St. Jacques of Compostella." This made for a most delightful, day of sightseeing. My husband enjoyed chatting at the end of the day with Count, Guy about wine and visiting The Count's well stocked wine cellar. Chateau De La Barre is not to be missed if you are looking for Relais & Chateaux quality without the stuffiness. Thanks Guy and Marnie for a truly memorable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - "Fleurs"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our hosts--the Count and Countess (Marnie and Guy) were delightful! They showed interest in their guests and were helpful in so many ways. This is a truly special Chateau to visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambre Esprit de Jouy Verte
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meals were wonderful, the owners/staff were very friendly and attentive. Beautiful location and chateau history very interesting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for us, nothing really!

    Very comfortable room. beautifully decorated with antiques and wonderful colour scheme. Views form the room were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were very rude and made us feel not welcome. They tried to make us drink our very expensive champagne and wine in plastic cups. Eat our food on paper plates and cut our bread with plastic knives. We were a nuisance to them !!! Very very disappointed. And very expensive for a very poor welcome

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soft drinks would be nice to offer .

    If you'd like a true chateau experience this is the place . It has 12 generations of history dating back to the 14th century. The chandelier in the dining room is older then our country for historical perspective.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath with only hand held shower. Also one had to drive to nearest restuarant when it was advertised as serving light meals /brasserie. A little misleading

    Peace.. Meeting some lovely other travellers over leisurely and excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Yes this place is beautiful, but the real treat is meeting the owners and hosts, both extremely interesting, delightful and entertaining. You will feel like visiting old friends with a very nice home in heart of France. It's a MUST! We only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find at night.

    Magnificent property. Loved the breakfasts-talking with proprietor and other guests. The pastoral surroundings were calming. So many baby sheep!

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: