Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau De La Caze 4 stars

Route Des Gorges Du Tarn, 48210 Sainte-Énimie, France

#1 of 5 hotels in Sainte-Énimie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful building in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very uncomfortable as it was an old mattress. Our towels smelt of cigarette smoke and unfortunately the staff would smoke below our bedroom window and it would blow into our room.

    Beautiful building in a beautiful location. Very good quality restaurant with good wines.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful location and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was good but we expected slightly better considering the price.

    The hotel is beautiful and in a lovely location. The pool is excellent. The staff at check-in were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    If you have ever dreamt of being part of the French nobility, then this is the place for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything. The staff dressed in 14 century costume would have been a nice touch!

    Ever imagined yourself to be French nobility or have you been put off by the silly shoes and wigs and the prospect of getting your head chopped off! Well if this is your dream, Chateau de la Caze could bring it to reality. It is a small 15th century chateau, about 8 km from Sainte-Enimie, set in a stunning environment, with sand stone cliffs and forests towering above and the River Tarn flowing below, although the latter is almost more stone than water. It is an authentic chateau, surrounded by your own moat to keep out the terrorists, with stone walls, cobbled passageways and old timber floors polished smooth over the centuries, but all meticulously restored and maintained. Our room had a separate toilet and bathroom, the latter, very modern and functional, and a bedroom with lots of character (stone walls, large timber fireplace, exposed beams) and a very comfortable bed. Nice gardens and swimming pool, gym in a cave (where else) and kayaks if you fancy a trip along a lazy river. Restaurant available for meals if your kitchen staff have declared that she is on holiday. Check-in at 3.00 but we assume you can use the pool beforehand and check-out at 12.00. SO HIGHLY RECOMMENDED but don't forget your wig and avoid anything with a sharp blade! Ever imagined yourself to be French nobility or have you been put off by the silly shoes and wigs and the prospect of getting your head chopped off! Well if this is your dream, Chateau de la Caze could bring it to reality. It is a small 15th century chateau, about 14km from Sainte-Enimie, set in a stunning environment, with sand stone cliffs and forests towering above and the River Tarn flowing below, although the latter is almost more stone than water. It is an authentic chateau, surrounded by your own moat to keep out the terrorists, with stone walls, cobbled passageways and old timber floors polished smooth over the centuries, but all meticulously restored and maintained.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing three nights thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing three nights thank you. We first saw this place 12 years ago whilst camping and promised ourselves we would stay there one day! Now we have and it lived up to all expectations. A great way to spend our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Set in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms overlooking the pool. For some, that may be a bonus however many us expect it for emails , browsing, even work. The manageress explained that they "couldn't get wifi in that location ". It was 50 yards from the castle which had a full connection ?. So, disappointed at £200.00 per night with no wifi.

    Set in an amazing location. Pool was fantastic & room was spotless & had ample space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    pleasant with short comings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Lift At 70+years having a bedroom on the top floor and having to carry our own bags was not good break fast not wonderful for a Chateau of this standing

    The restaurant / service / food outstanding The setting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    A magnificent property in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot so we needed just a sheet, but often in France they provide only a Doona which is too hot! The square pillows are for us not as comfortable as the oblong. The first receptionist was very vague and not a promising welcome. The other staff were polite and very helpful.

    Location. The chateau and grounds were magnificent. Dinner was also excellent. We would stay again. This was an expensive choice for us but it was a unique experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A chanson of beauty and romance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a treat! An ancient chateau in a sublime setting - if this doesn't inspire romance then you're made of stone! Friendly professional team and delicious offerings from the chef. Beautiful gardens and pleasant strolling within the property avoiding the road. The geography means poor mobile reception and wifi only works on the ground floor - upgrading this to work in all rooms would be good. A delightful drive to Sainte Enimie which is well worth it. There are still trout to be had from the Tarn river and they are delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic all the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been improved

    The chateau de la Caze was excellent from the amazing drive into the Gorge and then out to the Millau Viaduct , just sensational

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room with awesome views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable , noisy and mattress needs to be renewed (room les hourtours)

    Spacious room with awesome views Delicious restaurant in castle next door Quiet area and great starting point to explore George du Tarn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very different to most hotels being an old chateau in a great setting in the beautiful Tarn valley. The good folk in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Very relaxed setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Magnificent splurge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is definitely a splurge, but most wonderfully worth it. Setting is magnificent in the gorge along the riverside, and our suite (stay in the main building, not the annex) was spacious, wonderfully updated but feeling entirely original. Dinner presented some of the best food we found in the SW of France, and the winelist is extensive and not unreasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay! Would love to go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning location next to the river, with beautifully maintained grounds. The Chateau itself is delightful and the rooms are really nicely decorated with traditional, period furniture. This is a must-stay, if you are travelling in this area!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Charming Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming Hotel. Great food. Very nice rooms and overall lovely looking hotel. Very helpful friendly and above all very professional staff. Fab location. Overall good value for money given overall standards and exclusivity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely chateau, Great place but revolting habit of the wine waiter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine waiters method of collecting ice from the ice bucket was by hand, totally revolting and most unhygienic. He then placed the ice from his hand in to customers drinks. Disgraceful for any hotel.

    A true chateau experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location, Gorgeous castle with a few minor hick-ups.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The deck around the pool was a bit dangerous, the pool itself a bit small for a hotel. WiFi is a bit problematic and only works in certain areas. The decoration inside was a bit like a fairground haunted castle, which was a shame because it could be so much better with so little effort:for example if they would take greater care when buying lightbulbs (and choosing the warmer colour bulbs) it already would be so much more welcoming. We liked it but all in all a little bit too expensive.

    Gorgeous location, fairytale like castle, the restaurant offers a small but delicious menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gorges du Tarn is a spectacular area in southern France and the Chateau de la Caze is a wonderful hotel in a stunning setting. The grounds are lovely, the pool is very nice and there is access to the river which our dog loved. The staff, especially Jeff, were excellent and made our stay even more enjoyable. We had good meals at the restaurant and breakfast was tops. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful chateau in the stunning Gorge du Tarn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was mostly outstanding but a couple of times there was no one to be found when we needed something.

    Beautiful location in a hugely characterful property. Very large, comfortable room with a unique bathroom in a turret.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Setting - You must try it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car received a small dink - Not the Hotels Fault I might add!

    Lovely setting - Great Food - Friendly Staff When you take the drinks and dinner into consideration its expensive but well worth it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    A superb location in the most beautiful setting let down by mediocre food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let down by the food. Breakfast which was an extra 16€ per person was a real let down. An identical choice each day with just one choice of packet sliced cheese, 2 choices of ham a so so selection of bread and prepared fruit salad. Coffe was cold on 2 occasions and once the orange juice was gone that was it it was never refilled. What a opportunity missed to offer the excellent local products. Evening meals were over fussy presentations missing some real local flavours and over priced. Our room was beautifully furnished but there simply was not enough places to put our clothes

    The location of the hotel is just outstanding. It really is the most superb setting and the castle has been extremely sympathetically restored as a hotel I.e. You still feel you are staying in a castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is much less good than before. It is a bit disappointing at this price range.

    Exceptional place, not overdone up. A personal favorite which I keep returning to. The walking track the other side of the river (which you can cross on foot) is an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location on the Tarn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a little disappointing but served overlooking the river. Dining room not so attractive if you are not able to eat on the terrace.

    Location is superb on the Tarn. Fabulous views all around. Pleasant grounds and pool. Rooms are atmospheric in the Chateau itself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful setting and lovely old castle and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farmhouse Suite - Terrace with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in our room. Only available in common areas in main building which was separate from our rooms and wasnt working well. Staff did apologise and tried to reset but still difficult to access. We were there on a public holiday so restaurant meal choice very limited.

    Beautiful setting and lovely old castle and grounds. Lovely restaurant and nice breakfast service. Room had lovely balcony and very spacious with small lounge separate to bedroom. Large bathroom with spa bath and separate toilet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location: DREADFUL food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate the first night in the restaurant and it was VERY poor. There were no fresh vegetables and only 2 mouthfuls. of meat in the main course. My husband could not eat his starter and after a half hour wait, my "lemon meringue pie" was a piece of hard, warm meringue with crushed ice on the top (to cool it down maybe?) with 2 teaspoons of lemon curd on the side. The 2nd night we ate in a nearby auberge at less than half the price and vastly superior.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.5
    Amazing chateaux staying experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, I hope it's a normal shower instead of a tub without enclosure.

    Beautiful chateaux to get a great experience for stay at a chateaux, great location for touring Gorge du Tarne, close to major attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    A magical Chateau on the Tarn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the restaurant staff were in training, so it was a little hard to get a drink, or the correct menu. But they have to learn on the job sometime, so no complaints.

    A delightful Chateau in the heart of the Gorges du Tarn. An almost mystical, magical setting, this hotel offers a sensitive, tasteful renovation of a 16th century chateau. The rooms are more than comfortable with modern amenities alongside original features, such as the oak floors and the fireplaces. An absolute must if visiting the Tarn region.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful with a unique history and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower, in the bath, was uncomfortable and impractical as there was no splash barrier. We were told that the restaurant was closed on the night we were to stay and were not advised of this when booking. There was a cat roaming in the public areas. This is extremely disagreeable as it means that the public areas for people, like me, who suffer from cat allergies, cannot be enjoyed.

    Wonderful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great place for a romantic stay overlooking the Tarn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been better. It was a bit old and worn down on one side.

    The hotel is very nice and looks like an old castle. The room was small but that's what you expect for something built in medieval times! The food was fantastic and staff very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this chateau.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, but improvement is needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating was insufficient. It was freezing in the room. Hot water always took more than 10 minutes to get hot. No internet in the room. Was supposed to be available in the lobby, but also did not work there. However staff was kind and let me use their Wifi. Breakfast is very basic (no cheese ! But it was served on request)

    Location is excellent for visiting Gorges du Tarn Castle is nicely decorated Room is spacious Bar is cozy Food is quite good (although rather standard, no regional dishes)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed Sunday night, Oct. 2, 2016. The young lady that checked us in and showed us to our rooms, the chef, the young man that was our waiter, and Monsieur Geoff (sp?) were all lovely people, very friendly, and exceedingly gracious hosts. Our dinner and night there could not have been nicer. Out of a wonderful 30 day trip this is our favorite night. We arrived later than planned but they were ready for us and did not rush us to dinner, insisted that we relax and enjoy. We did. Loved every moment. Thank you to a wonderful staff. The castle itself is beautiful and could not be more comfortable. This was my husband's and my second stay, returned this time with our daughter and her husband and appreciated the warm welcome and personal attention we all received. It's the kind of night that everyone should experience at least once. Dinner was delicious, our room was beautiful, cozy, and comfortable, and service was impeccable. Merci beaucoup.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely chateau in ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a little cold and formal. The room was small and the toilet room was on the opposite side of the bedroom as the sink and tub, so you had to get to both places to wash your hands after using the toilet.

    Beautiful setting in a convenient spot for exploring the gorges du Tarn.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location, disappointing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you are there, you are so far from anything else that going out for meals is not an option. The chateau has a restaurant which serves a large meal but we very extremely disappointed in the food. It was pretentious: the chef imagines himself ready for a visit from the Michelin people, so there were lots of artsy little efforts with every course, but most very tasteless, and some were just not good and we didn't eat them. I would have to say that the dinner there was memorable... But NOT in a good way!

    The Tarn River Gorge is spectacular scenery. It's a great place for hiking and just looking at the impressive scenery. The chateau itself is in a perfect location, and it's fun to stay in a real castle.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    It’s beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    It’s beautiful setting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    History and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a little dusty. Garden need maintaining, staff smoking on grounds, worn carpets...

    History and setting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The castle is well situated and the staff and food were excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed needs replacing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely stunning - one of those few places where the reality is better than anything on the photo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely stunning - one of those few places where the reality is better than anything on the photos.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    1 night stay at Chateau de la Caze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location and wonderful staff. Had a great dinner sat on the balcony overlooking the grounds. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Best location I have ever been to !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything !

    Best location I have ever been to !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A great overnight on the way South. If you haven’t seen the Tarn gorge you should
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much... bit pricey but fair value

    Fabulous location with fine food. Beautiful building with good parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous location - magical place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location - magical place. Staff nice and relaxed. Great pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Stunning Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning Location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Really great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything first class

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    A really fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position is very dramatic, the building is beautiful, the rooms are quirky and the food was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely place no real service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where were the staff?Not as good as it was. Mainly due to lack of service

    Location and wonderful building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay in the Gorges du Tarn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The place to stay in Gorges du Tarn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Fantastic location, fantastic property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Luxury in quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish that the hot tub were hotter.

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Unique trip highlight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation..we stayed in the castle ...and a shower..maybe

    Stunning location....stunning drive there and to the next place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a short special treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all

    Everything! The setting, friendly staff, swimming pool, meals, very comfortable room, special building and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    A nightmare experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (Maison de Martine)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customet service was horrible, they were extremely rude.

    Nothing, this place waz terrible. We left after our first night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was only in public areas

    Gorgeous location on the banks of the Tarn in a lovely old castle. Fabulous restaurant and lovely pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    The food in the restaurant was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Had a walk around the property in the morning as there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a walk around the property in the morning as there was a huge rainstorm the evening that we arrived. Very cozy inside the Chateau.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Life in a French castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening access is an issue. No lights, difficult gate.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.7
    Some room facilities need modernising. Double bed needs to be at least queen size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of double bed. Bath surrounds and shower attachment.

    Position and history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Exquisite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room with a ceiling painted in the 1600s-"Les Nymphs". Unforgettable walk along the Tarn!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful old castle and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old castle and very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful old chateau, tastefully restored, with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old chateau, tastefully restored, with lots of original features. Excellent outdoor swimming pool. Gastronomic restaurant, pricy but worth the visit. Unique place to stay in the Gorges du Tarn.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.7
    Location, setting open fire in bar, service in bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food not up to the facility. Another chef needed. Seated opposite wall with window view available for breakfast. Difficult to heat building.

    Location, setting open fire in bar, service in bar and reception

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.8
    The setting, the friendly staff and the good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building was beautiful inside but just a fraction cold at times early in the season. In the height of summer the thick stone walls would be a blessing from the heat.

    The setting, the friendly staff and the good food.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.9
    The castle itself and the setting are stunningly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, the little heater in the bathroom could not keep the room warm enough to use and we froze each time we went in. The bedroom was not any too warm either though we had the heat on high for 2 days. The wifi does not work at all on the 2nd floor. Neither of our laptops could even detect a network. It worked fine in the bar downstairs. Dinner was chilly as the heaters in the small dining room are not up to their task. We ate dinner in our sweaters. The staff seemed quite indifferent to all of the above.

    The castle itself and the setting are stunningly beautiful. Our room was large and the bathroom quite spectacular - it's in the top level of one of the lovely turrets and has a glass ceiling so that you can see the old rock and wood structure. Wonderful views.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Restaurant food was good but service was shambolic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food was good but service was shambolic and ridiculously slow. We left after main course as the meal was taking too long.(another couple waited a full hour for their starter and wine despite having ordered everything in the bar beforehand!)

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    This chateau was "the real deal".
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was seriously poor, especially for the price. Bread was stale - was replaced but should not have been served and overall left a bad final impression of what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

    This chateau was "the real deal". Great ambience and location with friendly staff. Staff tried hard but clearly lacked training as waiting staff - confused orders etc.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    fairy tale castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing wrong with the dinner except we were told there was no table available in the dining room,so we had a table in the breakfast room with one other couple.The dinner was good but I was expecting something a bit more special.

    fairy tale castle. room was fantastic good value

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Really felt like we were staying in a 15th century castle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really felt like we were staying in a 15th century castle, especially as we had a turret for our bathroom! Fantastic setting and views from our room. Friendly, helpful staff and all the meals were prepared to a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The chateau was situated in a stunning spot on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi does not work.

    The chateau was situated in a stunning spot on the river's edge surrounded by hills, with gorgeous grounds to wander in and a sizeable swimming pool with plenty of comfortable seating around it. It was great to be able to relax here after a long drive on winding roads .The chateau has been thoroughly restored and the whole experience was a real treat.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Location, Service, Room, Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road (D998) into Sainte Enimie from the north west (A75 - La Carnourgue) is not for the faint-hearted, neither is the D907BIS to the hotel from Sainte Enimie!

    Location, Service, Room, Food...a true authentic chateau-hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Great location right on the river, we stayed one night in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi sucks, it's almost impossible to stay online. The restaurant is not as good as it could be, food looks good, but it lacks flavour and portions are way to large.

    Great location right on the river, we stayed one night in the tower in the main hotel and the second in the annex (which is much nicer).

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.5
    Fabulous location, sympathetic staff, incredible room (les...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant is overpriced even if the food is good. It's an incredible shame given the hotels quality. The food is local produce and has some quality, but the pricing and choice are surprisingly poor. A shame, this could be a magical place, and this is the same feedback of others year after year

    Fabulous location, sympathetic staff, incredible room (les detroits), dream like location

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole place feels a bit like a letdown - especially for the price: old, discoloured and dirty tablecloths, dark rooms with insufficient lighting, old mattresses etc. And most of all: avoid to have dinner there. The restaurant is ridiculously overpriced for the quality they have to offer. 18 euro for a gin-tonic or coupe of champagne is the price one would pay for a top cuvee in a 2 or 3 michelin-star restaurant, but not for a run-of-the-mill champagne or a simple gin (bombay?) and tonic (standard schweppes) in a poor restaurant like this. The food was very, very average; except perhaps for the desert, which seems to prepared by a separate, somewhwat more talented chef (but still not even close to gourmet-quality - just better than the dried-out, morning-prepared, over-chilled, tasteless stuff that we had as a starter and main!)

    Beautiful location!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked the beautiful scenery in the Tarn gorge, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the beautiful scenery in the Tarn gorge, the crystal clear water, the somewhat rough castle building, the quietness of the night, the exquisite (although a bit small) breakfast, the simple garden in front of the castle.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic place to stay, huge room with turret bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi in the room ! why not there was an extra empty telephone socket no air con, no mini bar or fridge they have room service but why not both in a 4star ****?

    Fantastic place to stay, huge room with turret bathroom, bath big enough for 2. Cannot fault atmosphere, decor, ect. The breakfast was not 4 star average continental. Perfect for a romantic stay. Unfortunatly we had to leave the hotel before 10 am as the road was closed after then for the tour de France ! the tour comes first

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this place. The staff were exceptional - always with a friendly smile. Beautiful spacious room, excellent dinner and breakfasts, all in a wonderful location.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a spectacular location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi needs a booster added to the system, even in the downstairs lounge area we were unable to connect our iPhones some of the time. Friends with Samsung phones had no problems. Staff did re boot the system but it was still a problem for us. This was the only flaw and not a big problem for us but should be easy for them to fix.

    Wonderful hotel in a spectacular location. Fabulous restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Location is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi in rooms, but staff happy to organise WiFi in the bar. Difficult access road.

    Location is brilliant. Staff helpful, relaxed and friendly. Retaurant on chateau terrace, superb summer evening location. Spacious, well appointed room.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: