Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château & Spa De La Commanderie 3 stars

17 Avenue d'Echirolles, 38320 Eybens, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Eybens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed stay just outside the city center of Grenoble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricey breakfast!

    Friendly staff, nice surrounding with pool, nice atmosphere at the restaurant with a great view and good food, spacious rooms with comfy beds and close to great cycling area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely welcome and food. Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive and fully booked. There was not a lot of choice of places to eat locally without driving into Grenoble.

    Lovely welcome, staff warm and friendly. Great breakfast. Lovely welcome by the owner who personally came to ask if everything was ok. Great nights sleep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Second time we have stayed here. restaurant is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No flannels provided. Damp smell in bathroom. Shower diverter did not work. Missing handle on basin pop up waste.

    Good place to stay on the way, driving to Italy or S of France.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    A lovely hotel in a good location with a luxurious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived in the restaurant for breakfast most of it was already gone and we had to ask for it to be topped up which took 15-20 minutes to do. When we enquired about a bus into Grenoble we were told that it was too far to walk and would need a taxi. On our return we found that the bus stopped at the end of the road and was only a 5-10 minute walk. There was some confusion over what was charged to which room on check-out.

    A lovely hotel in a good location with a luxurious bedroom. Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent. Parking was good. After complaining about the breakfast, one charge was removed from our bill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not fair to comment

    Looks like a good hotel but unfortunately they had a wedding on the weekend we stayed (which we had been previously warned about so no problem). Staff excellent got us a local restaurant booking which in itself was excellent. Pool was great but did not use any of the facilities. Bride was very pretty and young (so says a 70 year old man with his wife in tow). Breakfast was good. Would go back again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in the room was very strangely laid out with the toilet separate, on the opposite side of the room far away from the basin to wash your hands. The carpet really could do with a update as well as some of the in room facilities and the balcony (which didn't feel very sturdy).

    The grounds and building are gorgeous, the staff very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was delicious! We paid to use the spa and were pleasantly surprised with the facilities and offering. I also had a massage and thought it was top-notch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Good restaurant. Services for hotelguests could improve. Nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, specially the bathroom, was poorly renovated. The room was not clean. A lot of dust. No proper cleaning. After our comment they improved a bit. No excuses were made.

    We liked the bed and the swimmingpool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to find with gps, signage almost non-existent. Grounds are not extensive, bit hemmed in by roads and other properties.

    Nice enough hotel in attractive grounds. Restaurant was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location with good food and the ideal "stop over" during a long trip.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst trying to enjoy the tranquil environment, this was ruined by the boy who I believe may live there playing up and down on his skateboard! However when we asked a member of staff if he could stop, they did so immediately.

    Excellent restaurant and breakfast. Rooms are comfortable, although our wardrobe door was hanging off, they could do with a little updating. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    Chateau with good facilities and OK for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although breakfast is a help yourself the food spread is good however there did not appear to be any member of staff available to direct one. Coffee for the Nespresso could have been labeled up otherwise you seemed to take pot luck at what you got! In the restaurant we were requested to choose our desert at the beginning of the meal, not a usual procedure in a quality restaurant!

    Comfortable good sized room. Staff at reception very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is very good. Large car park behind closed gates at night however there is no lighting in the car park and there is signage indicating no surveillance!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    The first given to us overlooking kitchen roof
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first given to us overlooking kitchen roof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old dated decoration

    Nothing special

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable, quiet and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast appeared expensive. We did not partake .

    Large comfortable room Good and plentiful parking on site Quiet Easy to get to shopping mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Not as pet friendly as we would have liked
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although pet friendly there was no where we could eat with our dog so we eat off site for dinner and breakfast.

    Nice room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Room's furniture old and worn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's furniture old and worn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Stylish hotel with elegant rooms and good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful, the dining room was elegant and the food very good, the room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A quite retreat in bustling city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n.a.

    Breakfast is very good. Large choice. The hotel park gives you the feeling, that you are in the country not in suburbes of Grenobnle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    The rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous building with great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff! Excellent restaurant - the sommelier was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Very cool hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi.

    The grounds are very pretty, the flowers smell amazing. The meringue dessert with basil ice cream blew my mind. The owner is very cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant 3* hotel in a good location for exploring this stunningly beautiful region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool unavailable during our stay

    Comfortable room, peaceful surroundings, good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.9
    Very good experience, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No spa treatments available albeit at short notice and quite small although not crowded

    Very comfortable room and excellent restaurant / food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel in wooded grounds a very convenient culinary stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    top for a Grenoble outing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool for the kids a very nice outdoor restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    It was the perfect wedding venue
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    The beds were extra comfy and the food superb. The staff were very helpful and good at speaking English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.3
    Restaurant was really terrific, very delicious, quite a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms could be a bit more plush but certainly very nice.

    Restaurant was really terrific, very delicious, quite a variety of specialty dishes and the wait staff related to the owners who have owned the place for hundreds of years. Our's was extremely funny and entertaining.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    The room was beautiful and nicely decorated and the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only minor thing that I didn't like was the waiters in the restaurant; we waited more that half n hour for the bill, even though we asked for it three times.

    The room was beautiful and nicely decorated and the view from the room was amazing. We tried the spa which was clean and nice. We also tried the restaurant; the owner was very polite, the food was really tasty and I must say that I loved the decoration.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent bedroom, plenty of space, well heated and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed with our dinner, nothing specific, we just thought that the quality did not match our expectations. The waiter's dress was odd - denims and blue trainers with white piping & laces?

    Excellent bedroom, plenty of space, well heated and quiet. Good welcome and farewell from the receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    3.3
    We booked a room and one of the important parameters was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room and one of the important parameters was the restaurant and to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. The restaurant didn't open any of the three nights that we were staying at the hotel. No employee does not know English except in the lobby. Cleaning of the room was far worse than dirt and cobwebs The lighting in the room was very weak. We could not read at the evening in the room The hotel is not an accessible hotel, not to the lobby or the dining room

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Very nice Chateau hotel and extremely helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surrounding area outside the Chateau

    Very nice Chateau hotel and extremely helpful friendly staff. Our second visit. We were kindly warned by the reception staff well in advance that a wedding would be taking place the night of our stay. However it did not intrude on our stay and we were made to feel welcome. Had dinner at a local establishment as the restaurant was closed. Nicely appointed room although at the back of the hotel due to the wedding. Convenient pleasant place to stay before travelling south to Provence.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Perfectly sited for Route Napoleon travellers with mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was haphazard; not all dinner dishes were successful; not sure staff dress code or some decor well thought through.

    Perfectly sited for Route Napoleon travellers with mountain views, gardens and pool; grateful for excellent room upgrade; friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    Excellent grounds with good lounging areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were very poor and no cooperation from staff. No food available in the evening on one if the nights we stayed.

    Excellent grounds with good lounging areas

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Exterior of building cool - it's a chateau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast not included, A/C not optimal, furnishings not impressive - no better than a motel 6 (sorry to say).

    Exterior of building cool - it's a chateau! Staff was responsive.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location in a park outside town center of Grenoble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Coffee machine out of order, cheese beginning to sweat, no good bread, long walk from buffet to terrace. Very small pool with kids jumping close to you.

    Great location in a park outside town center of Grenoble. 5 minutes walk to bus which takes you easily to the old town. Free parking. Nice château building. Great dinner, had the less expensive menu. Good room, though view just to the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.5
    El sitio es precioso, y levantarse pudiendo ver el castillo,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pudimos cenar ningún día en el restaurante y el desayuno era un poco caro por persona

    El sitio es precioso, y levantarse pudiendo ver el castillo, la piscina y los Alpes es una maravilla. nosotros cogimos una habitación superior para 3 y el tamaño era excelente. Además, el baño era amplio y estaba muy bien teniendo en cuenta que estamos en Francia

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    4.2
    Castle looks nice from the outside.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was cold on arrival, the bathroom stayed freezingly cold during the whole stay, while in the shower, the water was turned off for some plumbing going on on the premise. The staff was cold and arrogant. The restaurant was closed during our stay, the spa costs extra and was already closed at our arrival at 8 PM.

    Castle looks nice from the outside...

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, the food excellent and the service in top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel, the food excellent and the service in top.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Easy to find, very easy to park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a slight must smell. It was otherwise comfortable.

    Easy to find, very easy to park.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Very pleasant traditional French hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pleasant traditional French hotel. Lovely buildings and grounds. I had a very large room in the annexe. Very peaceful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Room was very comfortable with a stunning view
    • Couple

    Room was very comfortable with a stunning view

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff and restaurant were wonderful is the hotel and its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and restaurant were wonderful is the hotel and its grounds.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Great rooms, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi Fi didn't work on the 2nd floor

    Great rooms, friendly staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.4
    The looks and place itself is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Prices are very high for the quality standards of the old fashioned rooms and bad small beds

    The looks and place itself is nice

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent room and all areas very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent room and all areas very clean

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The rooms were more like 4/5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi Fi wasn't available on the 2nd floor.

    The rooms were more like 4/5 star. The service was excellent The facilities are great

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal was very poor.

    Large room. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable with nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No. Only slept here and checked out on way to Provence.

    Clean and comfortable with nice surroundings

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice place. We really enjoyed staying there.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    8.3
    Hotel buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High prices at the restaurant

    Hotel buildings Garden Free parking Large room View

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    Most things about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee facility's in room Boiled egg machine didn't boil the eggs

    Most things about it

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Gym Free up grade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Gym Free up grade. We could not eat in the restaurant due to a party, however the staff were helpful suggesting other places to eat.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: