Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Château de la Tour 3 stars

Chemin du Château de la Tour, 60270 Gouvieux, France

#2 of 6 hotels in Gouvieux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food pricey - breakfast in particular- bathroom could do with an update. You must approach the hotel from outside the town on the D162. Our sat nav drove us mental trying to get thee from the town itself.

    Really ice setting - good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall appearance of the hotel is underwhelming - walking past catering fridges on your way to the front door is always an interesting one.... The tennis court shouldn't really be listed as a facility, as it's virtually beyond repair. Attention to detail lacking by the bucketload, and the well-reviewed breakfast was disappointing. Service was poor - the barman was never there, the concierge essentially non-existent, and the room service would be amusing if it were not so tragic!

    The location is good, and the surrounding area full of character and with lots of interesting things to do. Chantilly, Senlis etc. make for a nice day out, and there are plenty of good restaurants around (you'll have to find these yourself, though, because you can bet your bottom dollar the reception staff won't be of service!).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a real experience itself. I look forward to returning and staying here again. The receptionist had excellent excellent French that was easy to understand and good level of English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told our standard room had been upgraded to superior and although spacious,and beds comfy, the decor was a bit too contemporary and bland considering the wonderful decor in the public areas. Bathroom quite dated.

    Really good bed and spacious room. Grounds beautiful and venue set in a peaceful landscape. Had a fabulous meal in the evening, beautiful food and wine and very attentive service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    The stay would have been a 100% perfect, except for one glitch at the restaurant. Don't get me wrong the meal was tremendous albeit a little pricey. The steak I ordered was supposed to be rare to medium rare it came out medium at best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was fine but an aspect that might merit improvement

    the room (12) met exactly our request; the room was light, airy, high, with probably the best available view, which was greatly appreciated, the pool was heated, staff invariably pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We fell in love with this property - the facilities are amazing and it's fantastic for little ones. They especially loved the swimming pool and huge gardens!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tatty but clean .. bathroom fine .Breakfast a real let down ...last nights fruit salad,undercooked croissants , bread ( was told morning delivery) not fresh ... pity as hotel fine for 3 star !!

    Unusual hotel ! 4 star food (and food prices) in a 3 star hotel...Great environment and close to Chantilly !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited food selections in the bar.

    Great location, fairly close to the airport, we were traveling the next day. Beautiful inn, room and grounds. Restaurant was closed for dinner, but we ate in the bar and it was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception , room for 4 was large but sofa bed was very poor and uncomfortable.. considering it New Year's Eve there was no activity or provision for residents. Breakfast was good but overall this hotel is over rated and expensive.

    Location and grounds are fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just 40 minutes or less to get to Charles De Gaulle Airport. A beautiful spot if you are driving from elsewhere and need a hotel for the night before going to the airport. Would also be a great destination for a restful weekend. Right near the chateau at Chantilly if you want some activities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I knew I booked the least expensive room, I had expected a little more comfort in the bathroom. The bathtub is high to step over when you take a shower. They either need to remove the tub and replace with a walkin shower or replace with a more accessible tub/shower combination.

    The ambiance, the location and the food were all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - quite pricey;

    Beautiful, quiet location, in a park surrounded by trees; ample parking space (even though we arrived when they were hosting a wedding); not necessarily impressed by the attic room, the window was quite small and high so could not really enjoy the view; did not try out any of the facilities or services, therefore can't comment; within very easy driving distance of Chantilly and a number of restaurant options (if you don't wanna eat it); all in all very correct, but without the "wow" factor I would have expected from spending a night in a chateau.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bike I borrowed broke and I ended up having to call the hotel to get them to collect me and cut my day short.

    The setting & building was lovely, peaceful & quiet. The range of leisure options was good too with cycling, badminton, tennis, the pool, table tennis & pool table, all of which were free of charge.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check-in after long overnight flight with kids was much appreciated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel setting in beautiful landscape Excellent bread for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was just superb and the accommodation and service excellent. I only stayed for one night, but would love to return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms

    Restaurant decorations and log burning fires

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a little tired

    Grounds are amazing, food was amazing, staff was very friendly. in All everything made a great experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous place, great food, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food. You HAVE to try it! Grounds and heated pool were excellent. Breakfast was great. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely grounds, lovely setting, a very inviting heated swimming pool. The restaurant was expensive, but the quality of the food was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather tired.

    Close proximity to CDG airport. Chantilly is a beautiful area. Large pool and gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs updating, not easy to get in and out.

    Beautiful setting and grounds. Relaxing lawn chairs for a nap in the shade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is really not worth the money

    room was really beautiful and super confortable, staff was nice, pool and spa are a must

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told we had breakfast included in my room rate

    Pool and terrace

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have love to spend few more days.

    Bed and pillows extra comfy, great meal at the restaurant, very helpful staff at reception especially Orlando, thank you very much with your help with the problems with our rental car, very much appreciated. Thank you also to the girl who checked us in early as we arrived very early from Sydney Australia flight. Will recommend this hotel you will definitely be looked after. Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a cozy and nice chateau wich is easily reachable if you are driving in a car and a GPS. We rented a car in CDG airport and drove there. It is a 30 min drive. The facilities are really good and the rooms, beds and bathroom very spacious. Staff is nice and gave us good advice on restaurantes and how to get around. The pool area is great and the rooms with a view to the gardens are trully special.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to remember.

    Quiet location minutes away fom Chateau de Chantilly only 1/2 hour to CDG Airport. Comfortable dining room with excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful hotel in a stunning location . We stayed with our dog and the grounds and surrounding area , were perfect for walking with him . Restuarant was excellent and staff very , very nice . We stayed in the suite and it was just perfect .

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked largely due to the beautiful photographs of the building, it's grounds and that it was pet-friendly. The grounds were indeed nice, but the hotel ambiance is severely lacking and the decor tired. On the pet front, shortly after booking we received notice that pets are not allowed in the restaurant (understandable), the outside terrace (?!), nor in the bar (despite it being deserted). So for our €20 excess, we could let our small dog out on the grass on a lead or keep her in our room at all times. Throughout our tour of France, we experienced far more welcoming staff and accommodation, for more money, and for far less. All in all, we were underwhelmed at best and were grateful for having booked only one night.

    We slept comfortably and the upgraded room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One receptionist as we arrived had apparently no class training for a welcoming attitude, on border line with arrogance. Everybody else then was helpful and pleasant.

    The site at no extravagant rates.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Couple

    Incredibly noisy, because of wedding disco from 12 to 3am. The hotel told us a few days ahead of our stay that there would be a wedding, but only said that the restaurant would be closed. It was too late to change reservations, and it sounded OK-- we didn't want to eat at the hotel restaurant anyway. They didn't say a word about the planned all-night rave. The worst hotel stay we have had in many years. Superficially friendly but smug and unhelpful staff.

    Nice grounds.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Set menu at €98 was a bit steep and not the best I've had in France. Staff OK but could have been a bit nicer when we asked questions about the food they didnt really want to discuss it.

    It was like living in a fairytale for the night. We went to the dinning room and had the set meal which was a bit overpriced, but nice. Really wonderful grounds for our dogs and a good location for our travel down to the South of France.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent customer service Very courteous and thoughtful staff It was pouring down with rain when we left to visit the castle....Receptionist Eloise gave us an umbrella that we could keep!!! It was so nice of her!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hotel with a good restaurant. It is difficult to find the way, the US Garmin is hard for non-existent road

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing special

    Staff , cleanliness , quiet place

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How comfortable the hotel is. How friendly and helpful all the staff are.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind staff

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Electricity kept going off in some of the rooms

    Beautiful hotel, comfy beds, we enjoyed the pool!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful. We had one of the set menus in the evening and the food was excellent, and great value.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I couldn't feel that the room was like chateau. The room was quite common as same as the other hotel.

    It was comfortable the room and the garden.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast rather boring buffet.

    Beautiful old chateaux - staff excellent - lovely room and excellent facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Shower tap, watrer preasure

    Very pleasant and peacfull, Clean and home like

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: